Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,709 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tundra body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 012015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact did not receive a notification of the limited service campaign letter advising of a frame inspection. The manufacturer was notified; however, the limited service campaign ended last year and there was no reimbursement for taking the vehicle to a dealer to have the frame inspected. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Avon, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 122016


  • miles
In 2014 received a recall notice on my frame I took it to a local dealership classic Toyota of mentor Ohio they said frame needed replaced scheduled them to do all work they said it may be a few months before the frames in so I said okay and waited a few months hadn't heard from them call them ask them if it came in they said no I asked them if there was anyway to check on it they said no but the wait is normal and they would call me when it gets there so I waited a couple more months called them again and the same thing so I waited a couple more months call them again and again same thing so in February 2016 I called them up got the same response by this time it had been over a year so I called Toyota headquarters in California and ask them what was going on they called the dealership and it turned out the dealership never ordered the frame I have been going back and forth between the two and they are both refusing to do anything even though now there is a large rust hole through the frame and components are rusting out

- Burton, OH, USA

problem #14

May 262016


  • 140,000 miles
It started with my gas tank falling off the frame. My wife was driving the truck at the time the gas tank band broke that holds the gas tank to the frame. I then found a hole in the frame on the driver's side, just in front of the sway bar mount, large enough to place my hand in to the center of my palm. Obviously, this vehicle is not safe to drive. I then contacted my dealer that I purchased the vehicle from, down East Toyota of brewer, me. The lady I spoke with (lynn), from down East Toyota of brewer, Maine, was condescending and arrogant eluding that the problem was somehow my fault. I learned from her that apparently there was a recall for rusted frames. I do not recall getting this recall information. But let that go, my dealer that I bought the truck from (down East Toyota in brewer, Maine) has told me that I should feel fortunate that I got 10 years from the truck. Since this is as long as they are supposed to last anyways. My dealer (down East Toyota of brewer, Maine) told me my option was that they have a person that buys used vehicles and I could make an appointment with them to see what the junk buyer would give me for my truck. Or, I could pay to have the frame replaced. Given the severity of this kind of issue, and the safety issues raised with a damaged frame, I would have expected to receive notification through registered mail of the issue. Or at least, a follow up letter to insure the first notice was received. As I said, I do not remember getting such notification. I have written to Toyota and have heard nothing back as of yet.

- Hudson, ME, USA

problem #13

Mar 302016


  • 130,000 miles


Just bought my Tundra low miles nice truck I just found a hole 1 inch by 6 inch on my frame by the engine mount on the right front

- Holmesville, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 192016


  • 180,000 miles
The frame is rusting. I called and was told the notice I received was for air bag issues according to the dealer. So I called corporate and was told the notice on my rust issues expired July of 2015. What I don't understand is why I received the notice for the airbag but not the rust issue" and now that I know about it and want to get it resolved they wont do anything? I have had to replace a ball joint because of this issue and I am surprised there is not a recall. The frames will eventually rust apart til the snap. Are we waiting for a certain amount of people to die before holding them accountable" this isn't some small issue, this can be life threatening. I maintain my vehicle very well. It gets all the routine things done and only a mechanic touches it, it is never worked on at home in the garage. I love my Toyota and I am very shocked they haven't gone further to correct their wrong. They made the mistake and didn't protect it not me. I do everything I am supposed to do to keep my vehicle in tip top condition so I am not left stranded on the side of the road.

- Hillsgrove, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Aug 092015


  • miles
The vehicle frame is showing major signs of rust. This apparently is a very common issue. When I contacted Toyota regarding this matter I was told that they issued a temporary service for this but I was never notified. This is a huge issue since whenever conponents need replacing the bolts must be cut off due to rusting. This is a safety issue as well since certain areas are thinning on the frame.

- Maumelle, AR, USA

problem #10

May 152015


  • 143,000 miles


I recently purchased a 2006 Toyota Tundra from a Toyota dealership in Feb 2015. While doing some routine maintenance in May 2015 to the vehicle I noticed some frame rust. When I took a closer look I noticed that some areas of the frame rails where pieces were connected appeared to be starting to separate due to rusting. I contacted a local Toyota dealership and took it in on June 20, 2015 for them to have a look. After one of the techs on site looked at the truck frame he told his manager that if this truck came into their shop they would have replaced the frame as part of a recall. The manager took some pictures and said that he would get back to me. After not hearing back for a couple weeks I called the dealership and the manager told me that since the frame was previously coated with a protective coating as part of a Toyota recall for rusting frames that there was not much more they could do. I then opened a case with Toyota customer care due to my concern of safety and questions about the decision that was made to take no further action on this vehicle even though the recall was still and active campaign. Toyota basically gave me the same response as the dealership. I asked if they could at least review the truck to make sure it was safe for driving and they told me that the truck was recalled and the frame was coated with a protective coating and that was basically the end of what they could offer. My concern is that the frame is obviously still rusting so whatever fix they performed did not work. Whether it was done improperly or perhaps not the correct decision based on the condition of the frame Toyota should have at least gave this case a second evaluation considering that the campaign was still active when I had it at the dealership. I have serious concerns about the safety of driving this truck considering that the frame continues to rust.

- Yardville, NJ, USA

problem #9

May 202015


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. While the vehicle was parked, it was discovered that there was excessive rust on the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 262015


  • miles
My 2006 Toyota Tundra double cab has significant rust, which has resulted in a crack along the frame rail approximately 6 inches long near the passenger side front wheel. The frame has numerous other holes opening up and significant flakes of steel falling of the frame in this same area. I have meticulously cared for this vehicle and have been sure to keep the car and frame clean, particularly during the harsh winter months. Nonetheless the frame has rusted to the point where the sway bar mount on the passenger side has almost rusted through. While Toyota initiated a "limited service campaign" this is not a full recall. I learned of this significant damage 26 days after the conclusion of the campaign on July 31, 2015. As this is not a recall, customers such as myself have no recourse. I contacted Toyota and was rudely informed that there are no exceptions and that my vehicle cannot be covered under the campaign as it has expired. This leaves me with significant damage as a result of Toyota's engineering error. Not only does this significantly reduce the value of my vehicle, but clearly poses a safety hazard as critical components of the front suspension are weakened. Furthermore, an accident could result in serious damage and injury as a result of the weakened structure. The fact that this has not been not been classified as a recall is appalling. Toyota is unwilling to stand behind their vehicles and has left me to fend for myself for their error. I strongly urge the NHTSA to reconsider their closed case on this frame issue and demand a recall. The measures Toyota has taken through this campaign are not sufficient. There are countless other owners whose frames only received the crc coating and have continued to rust. This was clearly a stopgap measure. Toyota should be held accountable for the safety hazard and economic impact of their design flaw.

- Boxford, MA, USA

problem #7

May 302014


  • 235,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the rear frame of the vehicle was corroded. The vehicle was serviced under an unknown recall; however, the remedy failed. The contact mentioned that the sprayed remedy came off and showed that the rear frame and hitch assembling were becoming more corroded. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 235,000.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #6

Jul 212010


  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed that there was water on the floorboard of the front passenger side of the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 09/21/15

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #5

May 272015


  • miles
A 1992 Ford F-250 (2 door) towing a portable cement mixer, estimated weight @350-450 pounds, crossed the center line and struck a 2006 Toyota Tundra crew cab (4 door) head on. Both vehicles estimated speed was 50 mph. All drivers and passenger were wearing seat belts, airbags did deploy. The F-250's driver sustained 1 detached rib plus cuts and bruises. In the Toyota, the following injuries occurred: Passenger: Broken left ankle, 7 broken ribs, sternum and clavicle fractures, 7 inch leg laceration, 5 inch hand laceration, cuts & bruises. Driver: Broken right ankle, brain contusion/concussion (visible impact spot on windshield - see below), broken rib, cuts and bruises. Toyota's occupants confirmed that the engine/transmission intruded about 2 feet into the passenger compartment, consistent with the ankle injuries. It also appears from photos that the windshield was pushed back into the driver, although the belt and airbag could have not provided adequate protection also. Frontal photos of the Toyota show, apparently, that the bodywork detached from the frame - the front of the frame is clearly visible & does not look seriously damaged, with the bodywork (including the bumper) pushed back substantially. It seems to me there are several possible defect/design issues here: 1. engine and transmission came straight back and did not deflect downwards, causing the lower extremity injuries. 2. multiple rib injuries despite occupants being belted suggests excessive airbag inflation pressure. 3. body to frame attachment failure, exacerbating intrusion of engine and frontal collapse/compression. The accident was investigated by the California highway patrol (report available) and occurred on state route 178 on May 27, 2015, about 25 miles East of bakersfield, California.

- Kernville, CA, USA

problem #4

May 122015


  • 125,000 miles
I was leaving a parking lot when the right front ball joint failed. The wheel fell off, the suspension dropped down. I put the vehicle in park, turned off the engine and called for a tow truck.

- Marathon, WI, USA

problem #3

May 012012


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact noticed corrosion on the subframe of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Glenville, NY, USA

problem #2

Jun 172014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 81,340 miles
I brought the above vehicle to superior Toyota of erie, pa this morning for the recall for excessive frame rust, same refused to give me a loaner car without me giving them a credit card, I informed the clerk that I am not renting a car from you - you are providing me a loaner for my trouble with your vehicle. I then left the dealership.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #1

Feb 052014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
(Toyota going places) on wednesdays February 5, 2014 about 5:30pm, I was driving my 2006 Toyota Tundra to work. As I was making a right-hand turn onto I-95 South, the front left-hand side of my truck collapsed. To my surprise the ball joints head separated from the suspension, the left bottom front suspension was dragging the highway and the left front wheel was now stuck under the running board. This accident also damaged the left front bumper, the left front fender and the left front door. Needless to say I was traumatized. I saw no warning that this accident was about to happen. I kept my truck in immaculate condition and had regularly maintenance done at this Toyota dealership. We decided to do a search on the web to see if any recalls existed and there is a recall on the 2006 Toyota Tundra for this exact issue. However when I called Toyota corporate and provided my VIN number - low and behold my truck was not in that recall (my VIN# missed it by 15 days). The Toyota representative asked me to take my truck to the local Toyota dealership and get a written estimate. At my own expense, I had the truck towed and after about two days my repair expenses were denied by Toyota. However, I was offered $750 toward the purchase of a new Toyota for being a loyal customer. I purchased three new vehicles from this Toyota dealership (2006, 2007, & 2008). After fighting with the dealership and Toyota corporate for a day and half, I was asked to move my truck out of their shop. So at my expense my 2006 Tundra was towed back to my house (Toyota going places). Without exaggeration, a lot of people are going to get hurt if fatalities do not occur due to this defect. Toyota need another recall. Toyota going places - if the ball joints don't fall out sincerely yours, 06 Toyota Tundra owner

- Pooler, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?