Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,852 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tundra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 212016

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles


I had all the dash lights flashing and the transfer case stuck in 4wheel drive low, an engine misfire and vibration. I took it to my mechanic and he said it was an air pump valve problem. He cleared the codes in the computer and I drove it home. The next morning it did the same thing. I took it back and he got it running again. The weather has since warmed up and it hasn't done it since. That was a couple months ago. I found out that Toyota was extending the warranty to 10 years and 100,000 miles. So I took it to foss Toyota in casper, wy. They told me they couldn't fix it unless it malfunctioned right there on their lot. I contacted Toyota headquarters by E-mail, I explained the problem and was phoned by someone at Toyota. They told me the same thing. I say bullcookies. Those engine fail codes are still in the computer. And I believe they're stalling until my 10 years are up this coming September. This air pump repair is a $5,000 to $6,000 bill. I think Toyota should repair my truck, I bought it from them in good faith, I had to have a $1,000 + engine belt and a water pump put on it already, and now this" what are my options when dealing with a less than honest company" when the dash lights flashing and the transfer case stuck in 4WD. It was parked in my garage and I just started it up on a cold morning. Thank you

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #16

Nov 022015


  • 91,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. While driving 15 mph, the exterior rearview mirror de-fogger was activated and flames appeared from the windshield of the vehicle. A fire report was not filed. The contact extinguished the fire and there were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,300.

- Kamiah, ID, USA

problem #15

Apr 152010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
All four of my door locks stopped working within a month. All four were replaced under warranty. Now, all four locks have stopped working again within a month. Toyota said that they see nothing out of the ordinary with this. They expect me to pay $2,000. To replace 4 locks again. Toyota said that there is no recall for this item.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #14

Jun 212012

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 129,131 miles


6/20/12 I noticed master power window button on driver"S side door for the rear passenger window was stuck and would not operate. 6/21/12 I started the truck in my driveway and turned on the ac, left the vehicle to grab my briefcase and get in no more than 15 seconds. When I opened the door I noticed smoke at the entryway but couldn?T identify what or where it was coming from. I appeared to go away so I thought I was imagining something. I got in the truck and noticed the smell of burning electrical wires about the time my head turned I saw smoke coming out of the drivers side power window master control and getting big fast, I opened the door and it really came out fast. Turned off the vehicle and immediately tried to see if it was flames or not. It was not in flames but the smoke was still coming out. I grabbed the fuse box panel and tried to identify the fuse for the power windows. It took a call to the dealership to identify the fuse under the dashboard I didn"T know was there I thought thee was only 1 fuse panel box. The dealership was extremely responsive and a lot of help. Service advisor we identified the correct fuse, removed it and the smoke stopped. I have no other problems that I know of. This is a 2007 vehicle with a fire defect. I went on the internet and see that there are identified problems for this exact same problem but the Tundra was not identified as a model affected but it sure should be. There is not a recall as of this time and I have not had it repaired yet. *information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 302012


  • 90,233 miles
Turned the truck on and the check engine and traction control lights were both on, 4 lo and vsc off lights were both flashing, the truck sounded noticeably louder and now has a loss of power. Codes show P2440.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #12

Feb 082012

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
Hello, two day ago I was pulling put of my condo complex when I noticed a burning plastic smell. After about 20 seconds smoke and very small flames started to pour out of the drivers door panel where the switches are located. There was no major fire damage but the car was filled with smoke and the switch that operates the passenger side front window melted down. I fortunately had some tools nearby so I quickly disconnected the battery cables as it was still arcing and sparking. The only switch that works properly is the drivers side front window. The following day I told my co worker about what happened. Today he showed me the article regarding the story about Toyota window switches catching fire. How do I go about reporting this to you guys or someone else. My truck is a 2007 Toyota Tundra double cab 4.7 V8 2wd trd.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 172009


  • 52,499 miles


#25701-38060 emission valve set & clip failed. Vehicle started having hesitation (limp mode) issues....becoming not drivable. It cost our company time and money. It had to be repaired a second time the next year....June 29, 2010. Toyota is letting customers pick up the repair costs for their mis-design. Service depts., both at sioux city ia & Lincoln ne, stated this had been happening to other customers regarding this issue on the 2007 Tundra.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #10

Jun 012011


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that all of the lights on the instrument panel were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the air injection pump was suffering from water intrusion. The contact was also informed that the failure was a common issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Alford, MA, USA

problem #9

May 012011

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Buenas tardes queria apoyo para aplicar una garantia Y ayuda en el traslado desde la ciudad de Mexico de una camineta Tundra 2007 con mumero de VIN [xxx], ya que sufre de una constante perdida de potencia, Y no puede desplazarse a mas de 10 millas por hora hable a mi agencia Y no me quieren cubrir, el raslado desde la ciudad de Mexico ya que ES una reparacion que estuve investigando en este largo periodo, Y encontre cerca de 300 dueÑos con el mismo problema que la verdad deberia ser un recall pero en esta critica de estos varios clientes solo 2 acudieron a ustedes Y les pagaron todos los gastos ya que a mi la grua desde aqui me cobra tan solo a la frontera 2000 usd Y aparte yo tendria que tomar un avion Y nuevamnete pagar otra grua hacia san antonio Y reparara esto en una agencia me costaria mas de 4000usd las criticas que les menciono vienen en espero me puedan ayudar Y que la agencia me pague el traslado Y todos los gastos ya que mi camioneta solo tiene 40,000 millas Y tiene este grave problema muchas gracias mi nombre ES[xxx] mi correo ES [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #8

Apr 022010


  • 70,000 miles
Toy. 2007 5.7 crew-max 4+4 P2440 code came on and truck went into safety mode.greatly reduced speed. 4 lo lt. Comes on as well as engine, traction and anti slip lts. I carry a hand-held code detector and clear the code as soon as it comes up and continuously clear it as I'm driving. Toyota wanted $3400 to fix this defect after I bought 3 new Tundra from them every 3 years. This has gone on for 13 mo. 8 mo. Into it my truck started dying and would not start for several min.while I was driving on interstate and was stranded in middle of road more than once. This went on for 1 week 2 different times than it started running again with just the P2440 code coming up all the time and shutting me down. This has happened to many many people including my brother in law who also had a 2007 Tundra ex. Cab. They fixed his because he was only 1500 mile out of warranty. When my trouble started I was at 70,000+ mi. Defect has nothing to do with amt. Of miles, just time(after 3 yrs.)after 13 mo. Still no help from Toyota and no recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alma, AR, USA

problem #7

Dec 112010

Tundra 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


Purchased 07 Tundra in Aug 2010 and by Dec 2010 we had issues with 4WD gauges blinking/dinging and loss of power/acceleration. Followed the manual and no fix. Problem eventually quit after about 3 days. Problem resumed on 2/14/11 and took to auto shop to have diagnosed. Code P2440 was given and we really do not want to return to the local Toyota dealer due to lack of quality sales and service. Also do not have the estimated $1300+ to fix problem. Help Toyota, why do we read that this seems to be a common problem with Tundra having 50K+ miles?

- Ottawa, KS, USA

problem #6

Jun 032010

(reported on)

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states cruise control does engage and then will not disengage brakes. The consumer stated the brakes would not hold at stop signs and the vehicle would move forward. The vehicle had electrical shorts in the wiring such as; the headlights, clock, cigarette lighter, alarm and door locks. The seat belts would not always latch. The windshield wipers would not activate, there was a severe shake coming from the front of the vehicle as well as when the brakes were applied. There was a noise coming from the 4-wheel drive, the steering would act erratic and the accelerator pedal became stuck which caused the consumer to have an accident while backing out of his driveway..

- Bigelow, AR, USA

problem #5

May 152010


  • 75,100 miles
Water in the air induction pumps causing engine to shut down and have no power at speed. Engine lights come on and truck is disabled or hobbled with low speed only. This has been documented as a common problem with Tundra 2007-2008 owners.

- Norwalk, IA, USA

problem #4

Apr 092010

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 95,880 miles
Toyota Tundra 2007 w/ 4WD. Vehicle went from normal 2 wheel drive into 4 wheel drive low without warning, without touching any controls. Could not drive faster than 30 mph, engine check light came on. Turned into dealer, they said it was a component in the engine that failed. The warranty inspector came by today and the history data on the memory had been erased and could not duplicate. Vehicle is still in the shop. Dealer states it is defective but the warranty does not want to pay for the repair. The dealer stated air pump in the intake manifold failed. The consumer believe the problem may be the ECU. Updated 05/24/10

- Pineville, NC, USA

problem #3

Mar 192010


  • 30,349 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Tundra with 4.7L that doesn't like to start all the time. While this isn't a safety issue I believe you are looking into the possibility of an electrical/electronics problem associated with the sudden acceleration. As a former mechanic/current electrician/as in electrical engineering I believe my problem is definitely electrical in nature. I'm not sure if it is related but I figured I would send a message and give you a heads up. Also this is not an isolated case as another gentleman in town here has the same year make and model with the same problem. We have both been to the dealer 3 times and they still won't do anything about the problem. Today I am sending my paperwork to a law firm who specializes in the pa lemon law. Let me know if I can be of any assistance. They just did the recall on my truck last week and I'm going on a long trip tomorrow so wish me luck! lol thanks!

- Saint Marys, PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 142009

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
2007 Toyota Tundra V-8, 5.7 L. 4 lo light blinks, vsc light blink, check engine light on continuously all three of these lights are coming on. I can take my battery off and they reset. Per Toyota disconnect battery and it will re set. The truck will kick you down to 40 mph or slower when this happens even if you are running 60 at the time. Was told the problem was my secondary air intake. And a tire sensor problem. But that doesn't explain the sudden surges in motor or dieing for no reason. Talked with Toyota and they said they would fix it. To date not done. This has happened for the past 2 months. Have to disconnect my battery several times a day just to drive my truck. I have almost been hit more than 3 times due to this problem. Went to pull out to cross 3 lanes of traffic and it kicked down, had the gas pedal floored and the truck would barely move. My truck now has 40,000 miles and it still is not fixed. My A/C went out, said it was the fuse, what about the blower motor that has never worked right, or the truck wants to die all the time, electronic start wont work was told my battery was no good yet they won't honor the battery because it is now out of their warranty due to them taking so long to get it in and having me to disconnect the battery all the time. Toyota called to day and said my truck would be done in a couple hours, then less than a hour later they said it wouldn't be done because they had ordered the wrong parts and that I would need to bring them a battery.

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #1

Aug 172009

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the radio is inoperative. Also after removing the cd disk from the cd player, the cd disk is melted. She has taken the vehicle to the dealer multiple times and has had the radio: Cd: tape deck replaced. None of the repairs have remedied the failure. She contacted the manufacturer, but was not provided with any assistance. The failure mileage was 1000. The current mileage was 9,000. Updated 10/21/09 updated 10/20/09

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?