Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
40,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tundra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Apr 042010


  • 67,000 miles


Left home to go to work. Interstate is approximately 1/2 mile from house. While attempting to merge on freeway several dash warning lights appeared on my 2007 Toyota Tundra. Truck stopped accelerating on the merge and I was almost rear ended by an eighteen wheeler. Took my Tundra to the dealer service department and was told I had an issue with my emission air induction pumps. Service tech told me that the main computer put my truck into a "limp" mode thus preventing me to complete the acceleration. He also stated that he couldn't give me a reason why Toyota has programmed the computer to fail into limp mode when the problem would not hurt the truck during normal acceleration. After researching the web, I discovered many 2007 to 2010 Toyota Tundra owners have experienced the same issue. Restricting a vehicle to perform up to standards puts the driver in a very dangerous situation. Especially when the "limp" mode has no good reason other than to get the owner into the dealer service department!

- Manteno, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 012007


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph, the accelerator pedal was stuck. There was excessive force applied to the accelerator pedal, and the pedal released. The driver side floor mat was removed prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The vehicle was not repaired for the malfunction. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100. The current mileage was 32,000.

- Mountain View, HI, USA

problem #21

Mar 202010


  • miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Tundra and had the gas pedal fixed last week under the recall. Since the repair my gas pedal is super sensitive to pressure. The friction to push the pedal down is considerably less and causes the truck to lunge as I accelerate unevenly. It is most noticeable on a bumpy road when the pressure from my foot is impossible to maintain at an even pressure. I contacted the dealer and was told that thousands have been repaired and no one has ever complained about this. I have spent the last several hours searching the internet for similar stories and found a couple. In my opinion this is more serious than before the so called fix. I want this fixed and do not seem to be getting anywhere until more people come forward.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #20

Mar 142010


  • 26,300 miles


2007 Tundra gas pedal sticks even after dealer installed a shim in February 2010.

- Green Valley, AZ, USA

problem #19

Feb 122010


  • miles
I took my 2007 Tundra for a modification of the pedal to Toyota. On the date below. I am concern about the way the pedal is working. Every time the truck bounces or hits a bump, my truck accelerates, because of the sensitivity of the pedal. It did not do that before. I am in the process of taking it back. As soon as I can take some time off of work again. I just thought you might want to know how the modification is working on my Tundra. Thank you for your time.

- Smithville, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 242010


  • 35,000 miles
I had my 2007 Tundra into Texas Toyota for warranty work. They installed the "recall" fix. ( I never had any trouble before the "recall fix") since the "fix, " I have had 1 acceleration when I took my foot off the accelerator, and many short burst while I was driving.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 012008

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. I had my Tundra run away with me twice; both times it occurred when I went to passing gear while in cruise control. Prospect motors in jackson ca looked into the problem and said it was the floor mat. I argued with the service guy, but he wouldn't listen. I know for sure that during the first occurrence that the floor mat was secured. And I would bet that it wasn't the issue with the second incident. I use cruise control a lot but no longer leave it on when using passing gear. The first time incident, I was able to regain speed control by stomping on both the brake and gas petals. I was never able to regain speed control during the second incident. I had to stand on the brake pedal with both feet and pull against the steering wheel while trying to get off to the side of the road safely. Once off the road I was able to turn off the engine. We almost crashed into the oncoming traffic. Any information or help would be greatly appreciated. I have no faith in Toyota's remedy for this problem. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 33,000. Updated 03/10/10 the consumer requested that no changes be made to his complaint. Updated 05/10/10

- Jackson , CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 022010


  • 26,000 miles
No official notification of pedal failure on my affective 2007 Toyota Tundra. I thought that companies were required by law to supply official notification sent to you for a safety recall. I also had another recall for driveshaft separation that this VIN was also included, but was told by local dealer that it wasn't.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #15

Oct 312008


  • 31,000 miles
On October 31st 2008 I was in an accident involving my 2007 Toyota Tundra. This accident occurred at 7:30am on I-20 just West of atlanta. I hit another vehicle in the rear and totaled my truck. At the time of the accident I felt like my truck was accelerating even while I was applying the brake. Until the reports starting appearing about the accelerator issue I really didn't think much about my accident. I feel like a stuck accelerator pedal caused my accident.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 052010


  • 29,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) 2007 Toyota Tundra [xxx] sudden acceleration in Nov 2009, brought to Toyota dealer told floormats problem, checked by dealer and ok sudden acceleration in Dec 2009, brought to Toyota dealer told floormats problem, checked by dealer and ok in early Jan 2010 sudden accelerator problem causing vehicle to spin out of control and causing damage to rear bumper and side panel.

- Mt Airy, GA, USA

problem #13

Nov 072009


  • 40,000 miles


2007 Toyota Tundra involved in a rear-end collision in Delaware where a 4 year old girl was killed. Investigating officer has tried unsuccessfully to get Toyota to come out and investigate whether the gas pedal was an issue as there were no skid marks and driver doesn't remember everything that happened. 9/19/2011

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #12

Oct 012007


  • 1,000 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Tundra, the gas pedal has stuck to the floor 2 times "10/07 & 1/10. Is it needed by you for further investigation?

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 062010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Toyota Tundra. He attempted to stop the vehicle while driving 5 mph into traffic when the vehicle lunged forward. He was able to avoid a collision by shifting into neutral gear while applying pressure to the brake pedal. The dealer was unable to recreate the failure and stated that nothing was wrong with the vehicle. He also stated he is afraid to drive to vehicle. The failure and the current mileages were 16,000. Updated 3/8/10 the consumer stated he had just stopped at a light with his foot on the brake and all of a sudden the vehicle accelerated. The consumer was able to place the gear in neutral to avoid a collision. Updated 06/04/10.

- South Portland , ME, USA

problem #10

Jan 282010


  • 39,961 miles
I was behind a car making a left turn with the left blinker clearly on, I had slowed to about 10 or 15 mph and was about 1 or 2 car lengths behind the car. I applied the brakes and the truck went to a full throttle condition... I glanced down to see if my foot was on the gas"?? it was fully on the brake I then stood on the brake pedal but with the full throttle it continued forward until I hit the car and pushed it like a bulldozer. My truck continued about 20 before finally stopping. About 2 weeks before this incident I had a similar incident while on a down ramp with a car at least 20 car lengths in front of me. I applied the brake and it took off??? I questioned myself as to what had happened" it acts like the resume button is pressed for cruise control but I did not have cruise on either time. In reading Toyota description of the problem they say... sticking and or hard to press on the pedal I have not had any of those talking with Toyota I was asked what I thought the problem might be and I said I think the cruise control module might be involved. It has an input from the gas pedal, an input from the brake pedal and an output to the throttle positioner. It is my feeling that there are more problems than just a gas pedal issue.

- Stone Ridge, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 242008


  • 15,000 miles
Christmas eve 2008 my wife and I were driving our 2007 Toyota Tundra from bel air Maryland to ladson, SC. Just outside of colonial hts, va., I took the Tundra out of cruise control because I was approaching a tractor trailer in front of me but the Tundra kept accelerating toward the semi. I had to stand on the brake with both feet to slow the Tundra down so I could move into the right lane and eventually stop it on the right shoulder of I95. I tried to call aaa but was unable to correctly dial my cell phone as I was still too excited due to the rush of adrenaline I had experienced. My wife and I thought the problem was related to the cruise control so once I calmed down we continued our drive to SC. The next morning I took the truck into the ladson or summerville toyata dealer who kept it that day and finally called to say nothing was wrong. At the time I still thought it was a cruise control issue but now I believe it was part of the Toyota accelerator problem. I still have the truck and have not experienced another incident since the one in December 2008

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 102009


  • 0 miles
07 Toyota Tundra recall - received notice in October - still no solution from Toyota.

- St. Simons Island, GA, USA

problem #7

Jun 012007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Toyota Tundra. He purchased the vehicle brand new in may of 2007. In June of 2007 while he was driving 55 mph on the highway and attempting to pass a vehicle, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He was able to stop the vehicle by putting the gear in neutral and driving on the side walk to avoid a crash in order to turn the vehicle off. He experienced the failure three times. He took the vehicle to two Toyota dealers who stated that nothing was wrong with the vehicle; yet, the floor mat may have caused the vehicle to accelerate. He advised the dealers that he did not have the floor mat in his vehicle when the failure occurred. He took the vehicle to a GMC dealer who stated that it could be a computer failure. He also asked the dealer if he could trade the vehicle when he experienced the first failure. The dealer stated that they could not take the vehicle back. The failure mileage was 9,000 and the current mileage was 75,000. Updated 02/19/10. Updated 07/26/10

- Melrose Park , IL, USA

problem #6

Jun 012008


  • 8,000 miles
Have noted intermittent instances of surging acceleration from a stop, and at highway speeds under load. Occurs 5-10 times a week. Started at about 8K miles. Dealer "says" unable to duplicate. Frequency increasing as mileage increases. Received recall notice in mail last week. Went over 36,000 miles two weeks ago. Recall plus surging makes one question safety of Tundra.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #5

May 112009


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. While attempting to accelerate at approximately 40 mph on normal road conditions, the accelerator pedal became stuck. After repeated application she was able to release the accelerator pedal. An identical failure occurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle has not been inspected. The vehicle identification number was unavailable. The failure mileage was 10,000. The current mileage was 12,000.

- Malibu, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 012007


  • 1 miles
My 2007 Toyota Tundra hesitates when you are stopped at a light making a turn or slowly rolling around a corner and making a sharp turn. No matter how much gas is given it retards it self and then lurch once the wheels start to straiten up. I was told it is a computer issue due to the antislip features. But it is gross over correction at best. And dangerous for sure.

- La Crescenta, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?