Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tundra brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #9

Oct 122011

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 49,715 miles


The ABS actuator failed on my 2008 Toyota Tundra. Which causes all my dash function to fail, no antilock brakes, no 4X4, speedometer inoperable. Cost for repairs. $2500. Trucks only three years old.

- Holyoke , MA, USA

problem #8

Mar 172011

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 88,500 miles
2008 Toyota Tundra double cab 5.7 4X4. Vsc/4hi/4lo/ABS/brake lights all start flashing. Have brought to dealer 3 times. Have 88,500 miles on truck. Warrenty runs out at 100,000. Dealer states they can not reproduce problem. Showed them online articles of same vehicle with same issues and how it was resolved. They refuse becuase there is no code.

- China, ME, USA

problem #7

Dec 272010


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph while applying pressure to the brake pedal when the brake pedal fell to the floorboard and there was a buzzing noise coming from the vehicle. The contact had to shift the gear back to park and stop applying pressure to the brake in order to stop the noise. There were no lights illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for repairs or diagnosis. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 152010


  • 21,625 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. While driving approximately 2-3 mph, the contact applied the front brakes and all the brakes locked up. The contact was pulling a travel trailer and the truck skid forward approximately eight feet as a result. The towing capacity of the truck was 10,300 lbs and the weight of the trailer was 7,000 lb. The contact referenced recall 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) but the recall repair had previously been performed. The dealer could find nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 21,625 and the current mileage was 24,500.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 152010


  • 30,432 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The contact had not experienced a failure prior to the recall repairs. Following repairs, on two occasions while applying the brakes, the vehicle would come to a stop with a sudden, abnormal jolt as if the brakes were locked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and they were unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was left with the dealer for further diagnostic testing. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was approximately 30,432.

- Courtland , VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 112010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 17,500 miles
This is a 2008 Tundra V8, 4.7L. I purchased the vehicle in may of 2009 brand new. It currently has 17,000 miles. Approximately Sept 11, 2010 the dash light warning for brakes started blinking. I stopped turned off engine and restarted. Brake light came on steady. I pushed in the emergency brake and then released. Still brake light on. I drove for couple of hours with light on. Brakes did seem to work correctly. I had an oil and service maintenance completed in July 2010, and nothing was noted. On Sept 20, 2010 the brake light was still solid red, so I took the vehicle to the dealership where I bought it from about 18 months ago. Service rep first checked brake fluid and it was near empty. A few more days and probably no brakes at all according to service rep. I get a call later in day and told "master cylinder and brake booster need replacing, under warranty".

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #3

Jan 152009


  • 9,178 miles


7/29/09 driving on the freeway at 65 mph transmission started shifting gear and mph was moving from 60 to 80 up and back down. Applied emergency brake, shifted gear to neutral but no actions could stop the Toyota truck. My nephew and I jumped from the truck when I determined that it was slowing down and no cars were passing on the freeway. It came to a sudden stop 1/2 mile away from were we jumped. The engine had smoke coming out and it revving up and down. Towed it to dealer and they said no problem found and accused it was the floormats after their master tech looked at it. No repairs were made and they wanted to charge us for worn brakes and bent rotors which were cause by this event. In-disagreement we towed to another Toyota and they determined that the complaint regarding the sudden acceleration, worn brake pads, and bent rotors cannot be found. We took back the car for 6 months and a second incident happen 1/15/10. I was driving on a residential street and suddenly the truck was accelerated from 25 mph to 60 mph. I performed all ways to stop the truck but it would not stop. To avoid hitting a big-rig I had to verge into an embankment. Again police and fire dept were called but no one accident occurred so no reports were taken. Again we towed it to the dealer stating the same situation and again no problem has been found. They still have the truck until today 3/9/10 and have not gave any answer on what is had occurred and no actions had been taken. I have suffered tremendously. Fear haunts me at night and I am afraid to even step foot into the truck. I am emotionally disturbed on the ordeal and how Toyota persisted that nothing happened. My 15 year old nephew who jumped out while we were on the freeway has been traumatized and yet I cannot get answer.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 272008


  • 11,600 miles
Truck was in cruise control. Accelerated to pass slower traffic. Let off throttle. Truck went to full throttle. Could not get truck to decelerate. Had to stand on brakes to bring to a stop. Truck needs new rotors and pads Toyota will not help. Occurred once. The consumer stated the floor mat and gas pedal can interact. When the all weathr mat is not clipped in place, and is moved under the gas pedal, it will become fully depressed. The mat can trap the pedal. Updated 11/13/09 updated 03/29/10

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

May 012008

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 100 miles
Purchases 2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 4X4 5.7 V8 4/30. On 5/1 began hearing loud bang as car changed gears from 2nd to 3rd. The bang noise was often so loud it sounded like I have ran over something metal in the road. Happened most times I entered car and it changed from 2nd to 3rd. Took to dealer to address and they were unable to duplicate. Actually, the service advisor was able to duplicate, but that was not sufficient for the dealer to address the problem as the advisor is not qualified access an issue. Yet, each time I drove the car it happened. Finally after several days I was able to duplicate the problem with the service manager in the car. The bang was loud, and the manager did not know what it was. After several more days they were unable to locate a problem. Many diagnostic tests were performed on the truck yet there were no "codes" showing. I was not satisfied with that answer and went to the dealership owner. After a few days we were able to duplicate the problem with him in the car. Then we had the service director in car and duplicate the issue. I had no less than 4 employees of the dealer duplicate the issue. Finally, after 25 days in the shop, it was determined to be the ABS system. Apparently when the Tundra start up they will do a ABS self test somewhere between 10-20 mph. Mine was apparently overtesting. A part was replaced in my car, around a $3000 part, and away I went. It seems to be less of a bang noise, but it is still there. To show that it was "normal, " the service director and I took ride in a new Tundra off of the lot. It made the same noise. I would have never bought a truck that I knew made a noise like that, never. But it appears they all do. Why di it take the dealer 25 days to figure this out" do the 2008 Tundra have an ABS problem"

- Renton, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?