Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tundra drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Oct 202016

Tundra

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought this vehicle used in February, 2012 with 33,000 miles on it. A bulletin came out in June, 2010 (#T-sb-0151-10) about rear wheel bearings going on 2007-2010 Toyota Tundra and the replacement kit. We were not told about this when bought from dealership. We now have 92,000 miles on it and howling has started in the back end and dealership said it is the wheel bearings--known issue but still have to pay over $1600 to get them replaced. Toyota customer service no help at all saying out of warranty at 36,000 miles/3 years even though they know the wheel bears were junk and they upgraded the bearing kit way back in 2010. Wheel bearings are a safety issue the wheel can come off if not replaced. No help from Toyota company or dealership. Called Toyota and case #161110029.

- Cornucopia, WI, USA

problem #25

Oct 202015

Tundra

  • 75,000 miles
I recently had a loud humming noise coming from the rear drivetrain of my 2008 Toyota Tundra at almost any speed and the sound was present regardless of turns or type of driving. I had noticed the noise for quite a while but it started to get so bad that you could feel a vibration in the floorboard. The truck only has 75K miles on it and it turns out the rear axle bearings have failed prematurely. This is a known issue to Toyota (see tsb-0151-01) but after asking their dealership and calling their recall center, they refuse to assist financially with the repair, which was very expensive. I believe this is a safety issue on this vehicle, as the bearing could seize or come apart, potentially causing an accident. Please consider having Toyota issue a recall. Also, please note there are quite a few complaints about this issue on online chat forums.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #24

Mar 112014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 42,700 miles
I started my truck and noticed that the ABS brake light was on and the vehicle stability control (vsc) light and the 4-hi and 4-lo lights were flashing as well. The parking lot I was in was mostly empty and slick, so I tried a hard breaking and sure enough the ABS system fails to operate. I tried to accelerate and the vsc failed to work as well. I tried to shift into 4 wheel drive and that failed as well. I went online and found a number of forums where others talked about having the exact same failure. Some stated that the wiring harness failed, others that it was a bad connection. I feel that a failure like this without warning can put drivers at risk. We have come to rely on these technology advances making our vehicles safer to drive, and if they fail without warning, in the middle of a hard braking situation, this could lead to disastrous situation and possible loss of life.

- Batavia, IL, USA

problem #23

Feb 212014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 63,228 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealer for routine maintenance and was advised that the four wheel drive light was illuminated and would not disengage. The dealer stated that the rear bed harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,228.

- Taoka, WA, USA

problem #22

Feb 272013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Service bulletin tsb-0151-10 bulletin date6/11/2010 NHTSA number - 10034128 my 2008 truck has this problem why is there no recall on this it was bad enough that Toyota fixed this on newer trucks but nothing was done on the older trucks this is a safety concern.

- Granger, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Jan 152007

Tundra

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph and experiences issues with the transmission. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and repair. The contact was informed that there was a possible failure with the electrical connection. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 100.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 182013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving 08 Tundra up hill around 20 mph and cel vss lights came on lo range light flashing on dash truck lost all power. Found out code P2442 secondary air induction system failure put truck into limp mode thousands of dollars in just parts to repair this system. So many people having same problems with same vehicle. Toyota should issue a recall and re engineer a remedy for this poor design at no cost to the consumer. I spent alot of money on a truck to avoid these problems, now I have to drive an unsafe truck stuck in limp mode because I do not have the funds to repair, two thousand in just parts, Toyota is charging people 4 to five thousand dollars to repair this problem when it should be recalled at no cost to the consumer due to the poor engineering and faulty design on the secondary air induction system pumps and switching valves......I am very surprised and disappointed in Toyota for they have always backed up there product but this is a poor product that they are not backing up when they most certainly should stand behind it. Also this system should be redesigned to put on check engine light but should not put vehicle in limp mode it is a serious safety issue especially when trying to get on the highway etc..... also the cost and problems of this unneeded system is outrageous, all this system does is force air into the exhaust for the first couple of minutes of engine running at startup. I swore by Toyota for over twenty years, not any more, wish I got a Chevy.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #19

Oct 202012

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Driving up a; hill all the sudden it loses power going U a hill all my dash light starts to blink check engine light 4 hi lo are blinking and starts to shake thru a P2442 code this is suppose to be a quality built truck for air injection pumps to be going out and after reading all the issues Toyota has had on the 07 and 08 you think they would put better parts in the trucks. After reading about this issue it is common anywhere from 11,000 to 60,000 miles this issue is a 1,700 out of pocket us doing this our self will never do business with Toyota after it breaking at 40,000 miles.

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #18

Dec 022009

Tundra

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that when attempting to accelerate or brake to a stop, a loud thumping sound was heard from under the vehicle. Also, the contact mentioned that on multiple occasions when the vehicle was shifted into drive, the vehicle would suddenly accelerate independently without any warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the connection between the drive shaft and transmission was not locking securely but was unable to determine how to remedy the problem. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 43,000.

- Brownsville , TX, USA

problem #17

Aug 172011

Tundra

  • 62,000 miles
I was driving down the road and the truck started to make a loud clicking noise. I was only a few blocks from my house. I went home, the truck wouldn't start again.my 2008 Toyota Tundra had an "engine failure" at 62000 miles. First they said $23,000 for a new engine. Then after months and many hours on the phone, they took the engine apart to find the problem. The dealer took pictures and sent them to Toyota. They said a valve or valve spring fell through and tore everything up. It needed a new short block and right head ($14,000). Toyota admitted 100% fault and said because the vehicle is 2000 miles out of warranty they will cover only 50% under " goodwill assistance". so I bought the motor trend truck of the year ( brand new) and had to take out a loan for $7000 to get the engine fixed. I was out a vehicle for 4 months.

- Lincoln, IL, USA

problem #16

Jan 022012

Tundra

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the transfer case spider was rusted. The failure caused the vehicle to make a growling noise and hesitate abnormally when driven. The dealer stated that the gear was supposed to be covered in oil and should not rust. The failure mileage was 104,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #15

Feb 062012

Tundra

  • 55,000 miles
My truck was parked for 3 days, then when I started the engine all of the traction control lights started flashing, the check engine light remained on steady, and 4lo light flashed, truck would not travel over 30 mph and became very sluggish. This has happened three times in one week, and disconnecting battery for a few minutes cleared the problem. Local dealership said the problem is a "failed actuator ECU assembly failed communication C1201". cost of repair is $2,280.41. Warranty does not cover repair because this part is only covered by the 3 year/36000 mile warranty. Drivetrain warranty does not cover this component. This is a safety concern because when this problem occurs while driving there is no warning and could result in a multiple vehicle accident. The only other part that causes this problem is an air pump assembly which is now required to be covered by Toyota for 10 years or 150,000 miles. Very discouraging to own a truck less than five years old with 55,000 miles and requires a $2300 repair.

- Port Wentworth, GA, USA

problem #14

Sep 012009

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Engine turns off going down the road and then starts up at full throttle. All the lights are flashing on the dash including the 4 lo light. I have been dealing with this issue since the truck had 10K on it and now it has 42K on it.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #13

Dec 152011

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 81,200 miles
The check engine light came on and the vehicle won't accelerate over 45 mph. Almost caused me to have an accident. Seems like Toyota knows about this problem and won't do anything to recall the problem.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #12

Dec 082010

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The 2007/2008 Toyota Tundra has a design defect with its air injection pump that allows the pump to injest water when driving for an extended period in rainy weather especially at highway speeds. When the water is then transferred to the switching valves. The vehicle will loose speed rapidly on a medium grade with no ability to accelerate. The cruise control causes the tranmission to downshift repeatedly trying to accelerate. This is extremely dangerous at high speed. In addition the vehicle stablization control is disabled. This condition also short circuits and disables 4W drive and cause the check engine light to come on. The inability to maintain speed or to accelerate creates a very hazardous condition. I have had this problem corrected twice at a cost of $1600. The dealer has informed me that the problem will continue to occur because of a design flaw. Toyota acknowledges the problem in a service bulletin to the dealership (T-sb-039-08 rev 2 dated 10/28/08). There is a remedy for this problem but the dealership claim it has no authorization from Toyota to implement it. As a result I am forced to drive a vehicle that becomes unsafe when it rains.

- Salem , MO, USA

problem #11

Mar 052011

Tundra

  • 88,000 miles
We were out of town when 3 lights on the dash appeared. Traction, engine and vsb. No dealership in town where we were. My husband disconnected the battery and it reset. Didn't see the lights for three weeks, just came back on after sitting up all night. Dealership said $600, thank goodness I got extended warranty. When you accelerated to 30mph it would not shift out right. And vehicle would not go over 60mph.

- Tallulah, LA, USA

problem #10

May 012009

Tundra

  • miles
While sitting at stop light and once you let go of the brake the truck jerks within the whole drive shaft from front to back.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #9

Feb 272010

Tundra

  • 28,727 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) subject: Unintentional acceleration event with 2008 Toyota Tundra, [xxx], following recall to insert accelerator pedal shim the purpose of this letter is to document and inform you of an ¿unintentional acceleration¿ event that I experienced with my 2008 Toyota Tundra on the afternoon of February 27, 2010. The event was experienced within 10 minutes/3.5 miles after leaving the dealership following dealer-service work that included, among other items, implementation of the Toyota recall to insert the accelerator pedal shim (ssc). This is the only such event experienced to date with this truck. The event with the vehicle parked and the engine idling normally (approximately 800 RPM), I placed my foot on the brake in preparation of shifting the transmission from park to drive. My foot was well centered on the brake pedal and not in contact at all with the throttle pedal. There was no change in engine speed at this point. I then shifted the transmission from park to drive. As soon as the drive position was engaged, with my foot unchanged from its firm position on the brake pedal, the engine speed immediately went to full throttle. As I heard the engine speed up, I applied full pressure to the brake to hold the vehicle in its stationary position. The rear wheels broke loose from the pavement and began spinning; however, the vehicle remained stationary, held by the braking of the front wheels. Fortunately, the pavement was wet, which facilitated the rear wheels losing traction with the pavement. I immediately turned the ignition off while the drive position was still engaged. Once the engine was shut down, I placed the transmission in the park position. As I never had a chance to place my foot on the throttle pedal before the event occurred, it was not mechanical in nature and can only be attributed to an electrical/control issue.

- Ballston Lake, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 152009

Tundra

  • 9,178 miles
7/29/09 driving on the freeway at 65 mph transmission started shifting gear and mph was moving from 60 to 80 up and back down. Applied emergency brake, shifted gear to neutral but no actions could stop the Toyota truck. My nephew and I jumped from the truck when I determined that it was slowing down and no cars were passing on the freeway. It came to a sudden stop 1/2 mile away from were we jumped. The engine had smoke coming out and it revving up and down. Towed it to dealer and they said no problem found and accused it was the floormats after their master tech looked at it. No repairs were made and they wanted to charge us for worn brakes and bent rotors which were cause by this event. In-disagreement we towed to another Toyota and they determined that the complaint regarding the sudden acceleration, worn brake pads, and bent rotors cannot be found. We took back the car for 6 months and a second incident happen 1/15/10. I was driving on a residential street and suddenly the truck was accelerated from 25 mph to 60 mph. I performed all ways to stop the truck but it would not stop. To avoid hitting a big-rig I had to verge into an embankment. Again police and fire dept were called but no one accident occurred so no reports were taken. Again we towed it to the dealer stating the same situation and again no problem has been found. They still have the truck until today 3/9/10 and have not gave any answer on what is had occurred and no actions had been taken. I have suffered tremendously. Fear haunts me at night and I am afraid to even step foot into the truck. I am emotionally disturbed on the ordeal and how Toyota persisted that nothing happened. My 15 year old nephew who jumped out while we were on the freeway has been traumatized and yet I cannot get answer.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 012010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states floor mat issues interfering with the operation of the accelerator and slow shifting problems the consumer stated he purchased a full set of all weather mats from the dealer designed for his truck and the mat still did not prevent the pedal from becoming trapped under the mat. The radio was replaced due to an internal short.

- Plymouth, PA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?