Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,976 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tundra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 302011

Tundra

  • 38,009 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 10-30-11 at approximately 4:35 pm I parked my 2008 Toyota Tacoma in front of steve's small engine, a business located in monson MA. After placing the vehicle in park, the truck accelerator stuck open and the truck leaped ahead while I had my foot off the accelerator and was depressing the brake as hard as I could push it toward the floor. My vehicle struck a parked pickup truck in the tailgate. I immediately called the monson police dept. And reported the event. The monson police responded and a police report was filed.

- Monson, MA, USA

problem #15

Jun 132011

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,054 miles
The contact owns 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). After the repairs, the contact stated that the accelerator pedal was too short and his foot would slip off of the pedal while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer, where they stated that there were no other repairs that could be performed on the accelerator pedal. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact to NHTSA. The failure mileage was 25,054. Updated 09/02/11 updated 09/14/11

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #14

Sep 152010

Tundra

  • 30,432 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The contact had not experienced a failure prior to the recall repairs. Following repairs, on two occasions while applying the brakes, the vehicle would come to a stop with a sudden, abnormal jolt as if the brakes were locked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and they were unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was left with the dealer for further diagnostic testing. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was approximately 30,432.

- Courtland , VA, USA

problem #13

Sep 092010

Tundra

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2008 Toyota Tundra. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for recall 10V017000; vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal September 8, 2010. The contact stated the original accelerator pedal was modified but the dealership cut too much off and the pedal was too short and high. She wasn┐T able to reach or maintain her foot on the gas pedal. She was afraid of crashing. The dealer advised they could replace the gas pedal with the modified pedal but it will be smaller and short than the original modification. The manufacturer took a report and advised her that she could have the dealer replaced the gas pedal. The failure and the current mileage were 46,000.

- Sumner , NM, USA

problem #12

Jun 012010

Tundra

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. He stated he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) and received repairs under the campaign. The dealer modified the accelerator pedal and shortened the length to prevent possible pedal entrapment by the floor mat. The contact was not satisfied with the length of the pedal and stated his foot would fall underneath the pedal several times while driving. In addition, his shoe strings would also become caught on the accelerator pedal, causing unwanted acceleration. The dealer advised the recall was a one-time repair and would not provide any further assistance. The failure and current mileages were 40,000.

- Castalian Springs, TN, USA

problem #11

Mar 292010

Tundra

  • miles
2008 Toyota Tundra. Consumer received the floor mat recall and sticking gas pedal recall. The consumer felt he was not being kept abreast about the recalls in a timely manner.

- Double Oak, TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 292010

(reported on)

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states a recall has been issued on the vehicle for the accelerator pedal. Consumer request refund for vehicle.

- Cambridge, OH, USA

problem #9

Mar 182010

Tundra

  • 34,560 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. While approaching a traffic light at 10 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal. The accelerator pedal simultaneously fell onto the floorboard but was not depressed. The accelerator pedal became stuck in the open throttle position causing the vehicle to continue to accelerate. The contacts foot remained on the brake pedal the entire time. The vehicle proceeded through the red light. He was able to shift into neutral gear to stop the unintended acceleration. The contact confirmed that the vehicle would be taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure and current mileages were 34,560.

- Burban , CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 152009

Tundra

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that when depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would accelerate at a rapid speed. The dealer made repairs to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The recall repair did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact confirmed that she had previously filed 13 complaints on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was 13,000.

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #7

Feb 202010

Tundra

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that he received repairs to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number 09V388000, vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal. After the repairs, the vehicle would exhibit occurrences of abnormal unintended acceleration at speeds of 35-65 mph. The accelerator pedal would constantly move from under his foot. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 31,411.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #6

Mar 012010

Tundra

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification that his vehicle was under recall (NHTSA campaign id 09V388000: Vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) and took the vehicle into his dealer for repairs. While driving 30 mph, he heard a loud revving noise coming from the engine. The dealer was contacted and a second appointment was made with the dealer for further assessment. The manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was not available when the complaint was filed. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was 9,000.

- Danville, VA, USA

problem #5

Feb 262010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,454 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. While the contact was driving 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning and the brakes would not engage. In order to stop the acceleration the vehicle was placed in neutral gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the vehicle was working properly. There were no prior warnings and the current and failure and failure mileages were 8,454 updated 4/30/10 updated 06/25/10.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 012010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states floor mat issues interfering with the operation of the accelerator and slow shifting problems the consumer stated he purchased a full set of all weather mats from the dealer designed for his truck and the mat still did not prevent the pedal from becoming trapped under the mat. The radio was replaced due to an internal short.

- Plymouth, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 122009

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that when the weather was humid, the check engine light illuminated. The contact stated that he was driving 5 mph when the check engine light came on. The check engine light would come on for a week at a time, then it would go off for a couple days, then back on 3 more times throughout the day. The owner took the vehicle to the dealership for testing. The dealer said that the computer was not showing a code so there was nothing that could be done. The failure mileage was 5,000. The current mileage was 13,5000. The consumer stated the transmission would hesitate during take off as well as during cold temperatures and the engine made a rattle sound. The radio would come on and change stations by itself. The consumer stated the accelerator pedal became stuck even before a recall was issued. The blower motor did not always work properly, the re-circulator would shut off by itself even if the button was held down for 3 seconds. Updated 04/20/10

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #2

Oct 252008

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
I have a 2008 Toyota Tundra truck 5.7 V8 extended cab 4X4 my wife and I drove from chandler AZ to Idaho, then to yellowstone, then back to salt lake and then to phoenix AZ till then ever thing was great the truck ran very well. We coming down interstate 17 from flagstaff to phoenix about 3/4 of the to phoenix. I was traveling at the speed limit at 75 mph and had just punched the accelerator pedal to pass a car while going up hill. The accelerator pedal went down to the floor and would not release back as normal. The truck proceed to accelerate to 90 mph and at this point I again pushed 5-6 times on the accelerator pedal to have it release but it continued to go faster to 100 mph at this point I knew we in deep trouble and danger. I was pushing hard on the brake and trying to move from the left lane in traffic at night to the right lane to try and stop the truck. I got to the right lane and to the shoulder and hit the emergency brake and was stamping hard on the break pedal and trying to shift out of gear to neutral. In the panic I am not sure what all happened but the truck lunged forward very hard then died / engine stopped. I stared the engine and tested the accelerator pedal and it seemed to be fine, I checked for the logical things like the heavy rubber floor mat, had it got pushed up on the pedal but this was not the case as it was 4 inches away and it has rubber knobs or studs that push into the carpet and will not slide also my left foot was firmly planted on the mat at all times. No way that mat was the problem. There was no dirt etc as the accelerator has a heavy spring and the pedal is 3-4 inches off the carpet. I do not feel safe driving this as it scared us a lot and we have lost confidence in this truck and Toyota. Also, the battery shorted out internally. Updated 11/13/09

- Chandler , AZ, USA

problem #1

Sep 272008

Tundra

  • 11,600 miles
Truck was in cruise control. Accelerated to pass slower traffic. Let off throttle. Truck went to full throttle. Could not get truck to decelerate. Had to stand on brakes to bring to a stop. Truck needs new rotors and pads Toyota will not help. Occurred once. The consumer stated the floor mat and gas pedal can interact. When the all weathr mat is not clipped in place, and is moved under the gas pedal, it will become fully depressed. The mat can trap the pedal. Updated 11/13/09 updated 03/29/10

- San Diego, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?