Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.5

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,174 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Tundra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #4

Jan 312014

Tundra

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A sudden acceleration of engine RPM was experienced with the transmission in park and the engine idling. Without touching accelerator pedal, engine rpms increased to 3500 to 4000 for 8-10 seconds before returning to typical idling speed engine would not subsequently respond to depression of accelerator pedal. Toyota repair shop has diagnosed problem as throttle body stuck open. Although nobody was injured or killed in this incident, that doesn't make it any less serious. Perhaps some day, Toyota will fix these issues proactively.

- Danville , IN, USA

problem #3

Sep 262010

Tundra

  • 1,097 miles
I purchased on 2010 Tundra double cab 4X4 with a 5.7 V-8 engine on August 1, 2010. On several occasions my 2010 Tundra has shut down while being driven. The first serious safety problem occurred on 08/26/2010 (1,097 miles) while being driven about 10-15 mph. The check engine light came on and the 4X4 lo and rsca lights were flashing while power was lost/reduced to engine/tranmission. On 8/27/2010, the selling dealer checked the connections after receiving codes C1201 and P060A and claimed the vehicle was fixed. The second time was on 09/26/2010 (2,312 miles) I was driving 55-60 mph when the lights came on as before and I lost/reduced power to the engine/transmission almost causing an accident. This time the a local dealer verified that code P060A returned and claimed the cause was a bad ECM processor. They replaced the ECM processor claiming the vehicle was fixed. The third time was on October 31, 2010, (2,480 miles) the vehicle was parked and being warmed up when the check engine light came on. I drove the vehicle then to see if it had the same problem with power loss to the engine. Again there was reduced power to the engine/transmission. Notified Toyota who had the vehicle towed in and they recovered code P1614. This time the dealer claimed the problem was the R&R air assembly stating this was the cause of the problem, replaced it and claimed they had fixed the problem. Toyota corporation and my local dealership both have been informed of this serious safety problem with the engine shutting down while driving. On 11/9/2010, the arbitration the board related that "there have not been an unreasonable number of repairs for the same nonconformity." Therefore, they denied my claim for a new vehicle. An engine shutting down/reduced power to the engine causing loss of control over the vehicle to me is a very serious safety problem.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #2

May 292010

Tundra

  • 2,500 miles
Another Toyota recall"?" my new 2010 Toyota Tundra with 2,500 miles had a catastrophic engine failure while driving on the freeway (the engine blew out on the truck). I was driving on the freeway when I heard a loud bang. I pulled over and engine oil was dumping out of the engine onto the ground. I had the truck towed to stevinson West Toyota - they took the engine apart and found multiple holes in the engine block. They are still not telling me the source of this engine failure. Toyota is telling me this is a one time occurrence, but I have been finding multiple problems with other Tundra's (2007-2010), including a usa today article from 2007, "Toyota fixing engine failures in new Tundra trucks." And, while our truck has been in the shop, we spoke with another Tundra owner (2009; in the same shop) who had a similar issue. Exact issues from some other Tundra's online (www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/Tundra/186091-engine-blew-4K-miles/)!!!

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #1

Jan 312010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tundra. While driving on the highway approximately 60 mph, the check engine light illuminated then the vehicle completely shut off. He was able to restart the vehicle with difficulty; however, it became difficult to accelerate. He was able to drive onto the emergency lane and noticed that two other lights besides the check engine light illuminated (he did not cite which lights). While driving to the dealer, he tried to engage the brake pedal in the parking lot and the vehicle did not respond until he depressed the brake pedal twice. The dealer told him that the fuel injector caused the failure to occur and later stated that it was the ECU. The dealer called him again and stated that one of the lifters in the engine was bent and they would order the parts. The vehicle was currently at the dealership at the time of the complaint. He called the manufacturer to ask for a new vehicle and a representative told him that it was up to the dealer. The current mileage was approximately 115. The failure mileage was approximately 100. Updated 3/10/10 the dealer found loss of compression and multiple cylinder misfires. They ran a compression test, and found cylinder #8 at zero. They removed the cylinder head and found an open bolt lodged in the valve holding it open. Updated 05/17/10

- Auburn, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?