Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,039 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Venza engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Venza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Venza Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Mar 182010

Venza

  • 7,441 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems encountered with vsc. 1. vsc warning light activated when vehicle is at a complete stop, driver seatbelt is fastened and driver reaches to backseat. This can be consistently reproduced. Vehicle taken to thompson Toyota dealership service on 3/19/10 and explanation received was this is a "designed feature" and is a result of pressing the brake petal "too hard" causing vsc to engage. 2. vsc warning light is activated when vehicle is started and driver moves shifter from park to reverse. Even though shifter is in reverse, reverse gear will not engage and when accelerator is depressed, engine revs as though the shifter is still in park. To correct, driver must place shifter back in park, temporarily remove foot from brake and then reapply brake and shift back to reverse. Vehicle taken to thompson Toyota dealership service on 3/19/10 and could not be reproduced. Explanation received that this too was a "designed feature" and is a result of pressing the brake petal "too hard" causing vsc to engage and preventing transmission to shift in reverse.

- New Hope, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 242010

Venza 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,850 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Venza. While driving 35 mph, she depressed the brakes, the vehicle accelerated and crash into the vehicle ahead of her. No one was injured and the police were not notified. The vehicle was driven home with front end damage and the incident will be investigated by the insurance company. The Toyota manufacturer was called and stated that they would contact her within the next few days. The failure mileage was 4,850. Updated 4/22/10 updated 07/07/10.

- Edgewood, MD, USA

problem #14

Feb 182010

Venza

  • 17,571 miles
Merging onto freeway and getting up to speed, the accelerator pushed to the floor and continued to take over the car and rev up to 7500rpms. I was unable to disengage the throttle as it took me at full speed into traffic. I shifted the car to neutral and the engine continued to rev at 7500 RPM's. I luckily was able to guide the car to the shoulder in the peak traffic commute by turning the emergency flashers on and move over 2 lanes. I then turned off the ignition and waited to calm down for 3 minutes before attempting to restart the car. The car immediately revved to 7500 RPM's so I turned off the ignition again. I tugged and pulled on the throttle until it returned to the up position. Being afraid to drive it I called Toyota to come get me and they told me to just drive safely home and bring the car in the next day. I took the car to the Toyota dealer the next morning and they kept it all day. The told me that they could find nothing wrong with the car and that I would have to continue to drive it until it happened again and try to get it into them at that time. The car is a 2009 Toyota Venza. The incident occurred on February 18 2009. I am afraid to drive the car waiting for it to happen again. Invoice 36193 for repairs. Centennial Toyota las vegas Nevada. Do we have to crash first to get a fix??

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Dec 032009

Venza

  • 1,880 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving my 2009 Toyota Venza, I accelerated to pass another car, then let off on the gas to slow down somewhat. But the car did not slow down. I pressed the brakes to force the car to slow down and -- after maybe 10 seconds of constantly pressing the brake pedal while the car tried to accelerate -- it did finally slow down and came back under my control. This one incident of unintended acceleration has not recurred.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #12

Oct 102009

Venza

  • 1,200 miles
I was coasting the engine revved up, I applied the brakes with both feet and hit stop vehicle it sound like a person applying pressure to gas pedal but both my feet were on the brake pedal... I have 2009 Toyota Venza that was totaled luckily the person in front was not injured and only had fender bender as the truck he hit.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #11

Jun 152009

Venza

  • 1,000 miles
I have experienced the engine surge problem with my 2009 Toyota Venza. In my case, it happens intermittently, and has not yet caused an accident. In all of these incidents, I was accelerating to pass another car or to merge into traffic when the engine surged, causing the car to move much faster than I had intended. In the first case of passing, the surge nearly caused me to lose control of the car because torque pulled the steering wheel beyond where I intended to turn. When I took the car into the Toyota dealer, the customer handler told me the car was designed to do this, and eventually he worked his way around to, "once the car's computer gets used to the way you drive, it won't happen any more." More recently, the dealer has said the Venza is not covered by the recall, so I can't even get the shim¿which doesn't seem likely to solve an engine surge problem, but would at least help to disprove the sticking pedal story.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #10

Feb 112010

Venza

  • 4,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at 35-40 mph, pulling up to an intersection. I gradually hit brakes to reduce speed, and the car surged forward twice. Both feet slamming on the brake pedal were required to stop the vehicle. It has happened only once, but caused great alarm and poses a potential serious safety problem. This was under light braking initially, with no pressure on the accelerator when the car surged forward. It is unknown whether the accelerator or computer was at issue. Floor mats were not involved.

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #9

Sep 242009

Venza

  • miles
I own a 2009 Toyota Venza and on Sept 24, 2009 my car accelerated through a chinese restaurant in my town 2 people in the restaurant were slightly injured and I was not injured and the passenger was not injured but it could have been worse.

- Alma, GA, USA

problem #8

Feb 142010

Venza

  • 15,000 miles
2009 Toyota Venza -- I was coasting into a parking spot when the car unexpectedly accelerated and hit a fence damaging the fence and the car. The car was taken to a Toyota dealership where it was inspected. They could not find anything wrong with the car. They have opened a case file, but nothing else has been done at this point.

- Mountain View , CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 282010

Venza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Venza. The contact was driving in reverse approximately 5 mph out of the driveway in rainy weather conditions and slight pressure was applied to the brake pedal when the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated. The idle speed was slow; yet, the driver was able to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred whenever the gear was in the reverse position. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction. Updated 03/09/10. The consumer states sometimes when backing up, the idle speed is not sufficient to make the vehicle move in reverse. Updated 06/04/10

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 202009

Venza

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The "lurch" or "brake release" that prius owners describe happens - inconsistently - in my 2009 Venza when slowing down to a stop light or sign. It's been happening since we bought it. Toyota just blows it off as if my wife and I are lying about it. There were some alignment issues with it also and Toyota has worked on and/or "inspected' it several times.

- Ellisville, MS, USA

problem #5

Jan 072010

Venza

  • 1,524 miles
2009 Toyota Venza, approximately 2K miles on car. Stuck accelerator pedal : driving on route 3 in duxbury, MA at highway speed I accelerated to pass a car and the gas pedal stuck at open throttle. I popped the gas pedal several times and the pedal returned to its proper released position. I brought the car back to the Toyota dealer and they inspected the pedal and related components. Nothing found. Toyota floor mats only were installed and they were properly anchored. This was not floor mat related the dealer stated they were going to open a "case" on the car. I should call Toyota 800 number and report the problem I have tried the 800 Toyota number for weeks and have never be able to get through. The Venza is not part of the Toyota recall, but my car has the problem all other recalled Toyota cars have.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #4

Dec 082009

Venza

  • 7,600 miles
On I-77 between columbia, SC and charlotte, with my cruise control on, running about 67, in the passing lane. As I approached a truck in the passing lane, I tapped the brake pedal to disengage the cruise control. It didn't work! I pressed the off button on the cruise control, that didn't work. I tried pressing the brake again and each time I did, when I released the brake the car "shot" out like a rocket. Finally, I put the vehicle in neutral, pulled over to the side and cut-off the ignition. I could have easily run into the back of the 18 wheeler, or another vehicle. When I recranked the vehicle's cruise had disengaged. I took it to the Toyota dealer (Cherokee Toyota), canton, Georgia. They said they couldn't find anything wrong, and it may have been the floormat got stuck under the accelerator. Believe me, that's not what happened. The floor mat has never moved while driving. They never explained to me why the cruise control would not disengage...I am afraid to use my cruise control, and afraid to allow my wife to even drive the vehicle....

- Jasper, GA, USA

problem #3

Nov 032009

Venza 6-cyl

  • 230 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Venza. He stated that while he was driving in reverse with his foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and hit a tree. The engine was still on; however, he turned the vehicle off and pushed it into the garage for fear that the failure would reoccur. The contact sustained a large laceration to his head. He was required to get staples for his head injury. The airbags did not deploy. The dealer did not offer any assistance; yet, they advised the contact to notify the manufacturer. The manufacturer stated that they would advise him of the diagnosis after they retrieve the vehicle and inspect it. The failure and current mileages were 230. Update 12/14/09 updated 12/16/09

- Lindale, TX, USA

problem #2

Nov 172009

Venza

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Venza. While driving 5 mph the contact stepped on the accelerator and the vehicle accelerated to a higher speed without warning. The contact eventually regained control of the vehicle by applying the brake pedal. The failure occurred twice in a school zone. The contact is concerned of the safety risk since the failure nearly caused a tragedy in a school zone. The manufacturer has not been notified. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 300.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #1

May 192009

Venza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles
First highway trip with a brand new 2009 Toyota Venza automatic 4 cylinder AWD. Maintained speed limit 100 kilos/hr. Went to pass a semi and gas pedal stuck at 120 kilometers on narrow two way highway with soft shoulders post major snow fall last Friday(normally not speed). Was unable to depress the gas pedal and apply full pressure on brakes.the vehicle did not slow down engine was still racing. Finally was able to put transmission into neutral, still with full brakes barely working with racing engine. Engine smells began, able to wrestle car to gravel shoulder, throw into park and immediately killed engine. Once semi calmed down, tried to inspect gas pedal. Yanked out Toyota manufactured installed rubber mat which had been improperly installed on top of existing factory carpet matt which was clipped in place. Read about this being improper - in car manual while waiting to hear back from dealership for safety instructions given system warning that major brake failure may have also occurred. Carefully did some checks of brakes. Hard pressure on pedal resulted in traction signal reappearing. Soft pressure there was no traction sign. Very cautiously and slowly 90 - 95 kilometers/hr. Continued home on last leg of trip with no passing. Once home, re-inspected gas pedal area and noted a corresponding line indent to where rubber matt may have dug into carpet on right side of gas pedal. Though not a mechanic, deductively, rubber mat improper install may likely have caused gas pedal stick. Rubber mat clearly warned not to install on top of carpet mat ! why dealer did. No idea! why braking system not work while engine raced in drive... I have no idea.! feel very very very lucky to be alive! could have easily ended in death but for my many years of sport car driving with standards transmission, and highway driving skills! marked on the mat "do not install."

- Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?