Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Venza engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Venza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Venza Owner Comments

problem #11

Jan 052016

Venza

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Venza. While beginning to driving the vehicle, it suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle did not reduce speed. The contact downshifted into neutral and turned off the engine. The contact coasted to a stop light intersection, but the vehicle did not come to a complete stop. The vehicle stalled on its own. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but a failure could not be found. The service representative informed the contact that there was a faulty floormat installed. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 04/14/16

- South Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #10

Jul 262015

Venza 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking space very slowly...my foot was on the gas pedal very gently and all of a sudden the car accelerated at a fast speed. I hit the brick wall of a store and smashed the glass front door. Under no circumstances did I depress the gas pedal in excess to cause it to accelerate. As I was pulling into the spot the engine did start to make a revving up sound. The parking spot was only approximately 10 feet from front of building. I quickly applied the brakes before impact but did not stop. The impact of the car on the wall stopped the car. Thank god there were no injuries. Updated 10/06/15

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #9

Sep 142010

Venza

  • 4,335 miles
On September 14, 2010 my husband and I were driving our 2010 Toyota Venza on rte. 19S, in fayette, West Virginia. We accelerated our Venza to match ongoing traffic speeds, when the throttle stuck wide open and was increasing in speed. I stepped on the brakes, which failed to respond. I then checked the cruise control, to see if I had inadvertently engaged it, but I had not. I then started to pump the accelerator pedal with extreme force, and after numerous pumps, the throttle disengaged. As soon as it was safe, we pulled over to the side of the road, and called our dealership, courtesy Toyota. They instructed us to call 1(800)331-4331 to report the incident and have the vehicle towed to the nearest Toyota dealer. The car was brought to L&S Toyota city in beckley, wv, where they proceeded to perform an unintended acceleration inspection, but the tech was unable to duplicate the issue. They performed the recall of the pedal reshaping, which we had not been previously notified of, and cleared the vehicle for release to us, at this time, and advised us that if this should reoccur, to shift the vehicle into neutral and slow the car by braking. The issue was not related to the pedal shape or the driver mat, and was in fact a computer anomaly. When the anomaly occurred, it froze the throttle and blocked the braking system.. further more, the idea to shift into neutral is unsafe, as there were no brakes to slow the vehicle to a stop and would continue to coast onward at an uncontrollable velocity. I expect that Toyota company knows the defect lies in the computer control system, but may well believe the cost of claims and human lives is cheaper than fixing the very real problem. We purchased the Toyota Venza March 30, 2010 and were assured that, at that time, there were no recalls for it. The recall for our Venza was issued March 16, 2010, which had not been performed on our car, and we had not been aware of one until our very traumatic experience occurred.

- Barre, VT, USA

problem #8

Sep 022010

Venza

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving a 2010 Toyota Venza, and was heavily pressing on the accelerator to gain speed to merge onto the express way, when my car kept accelerating at a high rate of speed, even after I took my foot away from the accelerator, approx 80 mph. The only thing I can compare it to, is it felt like the car's cruise control engaged on it's own and took over, but, kept accelerating. I put my foot on the brake but since the car was accelerating at a high rate of speed it was hard to keep it pressed, so I used both feet and all my leg strength and held the brake to the floor. It slowed the speed a little. It took approximately over a 1/4 mile, less then a 1/2 mile, before the accelerator pedal disengaged. I could not search for neutral immediately because I was watching traffic and maneuvering away from traffic entering and exiting the expressway. Neutral on the Venza is not a straight shift. You have to shift left and then up to find neutral. Most cars is its a straight shift.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #7

Aug 172010

Venza 6-cyl

  • 11,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Venza. The contact was driving 35 mph and attempting to pass another vehicle when her vehicle abnormally accelerated up to 55 mph. The contact attempted to brake but to no avail. She continued to apply abrupt pressure to the brakes as he maneuvered the vehicle from crashing. The contact was finally able to stop the vehicle. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 11,700 and the current mileage was 11,819. Updated 12/08/10. The dealer advised the consumer to turn the vehicle off and the computer would reset itself. Updated 12/13/10

- Spring Lake , MI, USA

problem #6

Jul 082010

Venza

  • 4,600 miles
While merging onto highway, accelerator became stuck and applying brake would not slow car. Had to use emergency brake to slow vehicle and move to shoulder.

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #5

Apr 102010

Venza

  • 9,130 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact leased a 2009 Toyota Venza. The contact stated that while driving up a hill and attempting to brake, the vehicle continued to idle. She shifted into neutral and then park but the vehicle continued to idle. She had to press the smart button to turn off the vehicle; even after turning the vehicle off, it took several minutes to completely turn off. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership but the dealer could not produce a failure code. The dealer attributed the failure to driver error and the contact filed a complaint with the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were 9,130.

- Tolland , CT, USA

problem #4

Feb 272010

Venza 6-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re incident of sudden unintended acceleration fm owner of a 2010 Toyota Venza. As the consumer was pulling into his driveway, he pushed the garage door opener button and suddenly the vehicle accelerated at a great speed, nearly crashing into the opening of the garage door. The vehicle was revving at 5,000 RPM's and he immediately put both feet on the brakes, jammed it into neutral, then reverse, then park. In park, the engine was still revving at a very high speed and so the consumer shut the engine off. He immediately looked down to see if the accelerator was stuck under the mat, and it was not. The gas pedal was no where near any floor mat and the vehicle was barely moving at the time. His foot was on the brake, not the accelerator and the vehicle was coasting into the garage.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #3

Feb 272010

Venza 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My foot was on the brake and not on the gas pedal; I was coasting at a very low speed with the natural forward movement of the car carrying me into the garage (my driveway is only about two-car-lengths long). As I neared the garage door, now halfway open, my car suddenly revved to a high speed and was headed straight toward smashing into the garage door. As I said, my foot was on the brake and so I then put the other foot on the brake as well. Then, I slammed the car into neutral and heard the engine just rev at a very high speed. The sua seeemed to happen as I pushed the button on the door opener updated 4/7/2010 the consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration. The dealer claimed the floor mat was the cause. Updated 06/04/10

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #2

Feb 282010

Venza

  • 2,000 miles
I have a 2010 fwd Venza with 2000 miles. This past weekend we had four separate instances of the unexpected engine revving. After taking foot off gas and applying brake lightly, preparing for a full brake. The engine 'revved' for approximately 1-2 seconds. Oddly, no acceleration occurred in the vehicle. This occurred in residential neighborhoods, typical speed 25-35. The happened once with me and three times with my wife. Plan to take vehicle to dealer and call Toyota consumer experience hotline.

- Morton, PA, USA

problem #1

Feb 272010

Venza

  • 1,600 miles
At 2 pm today, I had just returned from running errands and was pulling into my driveway and pushed the garage door opener. At that point, my foot was on the brake and not on the gas pedal; I was coasting at a very low speed with the natural forward movement of the car carrying me into the garage (my driveway is only about two-car-lengths long). As I neared the garage door, now halfway open, my car suddenly revved to a high speed and was headed straight toward smashing into the garage door. As I said, my foot was on the brake and so I then put the other foot on the brake as well. Then, I slammed the car into neutral and heard the engine just rev at a very high speed. I then slammed the car into reverse then park, again hearing the engine rev at a high speed. I then pushed the button to shut the car off. I immediately looked down and saw that the gas pedal was not stuck on any floor mat. And, as I said, my foot was on the brake and not on the gas pedal. I then sat there for a few minutes with my heart racing, thinking that if this had happened two minutes ago while on the road, I could have been killed. Or, if I hadn¿T been quick to act properly, my car would have ended up in my family room¿what if I didn¿T have my foot already on the brake'surely I wouldn¿T have been able to stop the vehicle as quickly. I felt just like the woman at the congressional hearings, in tears, describing her experience with her Lexus. The car suddenly revved to a high speed, and wouldn¿T slow down in neutral or reverse or park. Shutting off the engine was the only option to make the high-speed throttling to stop. These facts are clear: ¿the gas pedal was not stuck on any floor mat ¿the gas pedal was not depressed immediately prior to the sudden acceleration ¿the brake pedal was depressed immediately prior to the sudden acceleration ¿the sudden acceleration was at very high RPM's ¿the high RPM's wouldn¿T stop until the engine was shut off.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?