Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,757 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Yaris engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Yaris:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Yaris Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 142014

Yaris

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated that while entering a parking space, the vehicle suddenly experienced unintended acceleration and crashed into a brick wall. The he air bags did not deploy. The contact suffered a neck injury during the incident. A police report was not filed. The failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 122013

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 82,651 miles
While driving at highway speeds, steering stick when trying to make slight steering corrections. This has gotten bad enough to where vehicle makes lane changes when just trying to make slight correction. Have had the vehicle checked several times, the acceleration sensor has been relearned three separate times with little or no change. This is very annoying and dangerous.

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 162013

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 79,600 miles
On 16 August, 2013, while turning into a garage parking spot I took my foot off the accelerator to press on the brake to come to full stop before the concrete column at the end of the parking space when, of its own Accord, the car suddenly lurched forward at much accelerated speed. The car crashed into the concrete column destroying the front left head lights, entire front grill work, and the frame of the driver's side door was bent so the door would not be opened. No airbags deployed. On 20 August, 2013 my insurance company deemed the car a total loss.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #13

Sep 292012

Yaris

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated that while stopping at a red light the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact merged to the side of the road where the vehicle resumed normal function. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's destination. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic where it was found that the oxygen sensor had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure and current mileage was 94,000. The VIN was not available.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #12

Nov 102011

Yaris

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated that the cruise control deactivation switch would not disengage the cruise control system. The contact had to put the vehicle in neutral to disengage the cruise control. The contact took the vehicle to dealer but the vehicle was neither diagnosed for the failure nor repaired. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Joliet , IL, USA

problem #11

Sep 142011

Yaris

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Yaris. The contact was attempting to park when the vehicle accelerated abnormally. The contact attempted to stop the vehicle by abruptly applying the brakes but the vehicle would not stop until crashing into a pole. The vehicle was not destroyed. The vehicle was later taken to a private repair shop and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 100,000. Front portion of the vehicle was damaged. Updated 11/01/2011

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 202011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recurrent accelerator pedal failure (drive by wire) with check engine light warning. Occasionally, when accelerating, the check engine light comes on and the pedal depressing action initially has no effect for several depressions and then it works minimally. This may last for a while or for just a short period. It has happened several times. I did a search online and other people are having the same problem.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #9

May 202011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
As the vehicle was driven into a parking space it began to accelerate, did not stop when brakes were pumped, and struck a building. The air bags did not deploy.

- California, CA, USA

problem #8

May 202011

Yaris

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated that while driving into a parking space the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He tried to engage the brakes but the vehicle did not stop until it crash into a building. None of the air bags deployed. A police report was filed. No one was injured. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle identification number was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Mt Shasta, CA, USA

problem #7

May 252010

Yaris

  • miles
My wife was driving our 2007 Toyota Yaris and was exiting the freeway. She let off the gas pedal to coast down the ramp to where the traffic was stopped. Suddenly the car accelerated on its own. She swerved to avoid rear ending the row of stopped cars in front of her and attempted to go between the 2 lanes of cars on the ramp. She clipped a truck and the car turned over on its right side, causing severe damage to the Yaris. My wife was taken to the hospital with thankfully only minor injuries. My wife and I believe this is an occurrence of the well known Toyota 'sudden acceleration' problem, even though this model is not on their recall list.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #6

Mar 252010

Yaris

  • 49,064 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated as she applied the brakes attempting to yield from speeds of 15 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck in the open throttle position. The contact was unable to return the accelerator pedal to the idle position and proceeded to crash into another vehicle. The contact was taken to the hospital by ambulance for minor back injuries. The entire front end of the vehicle was damaged. The police arrived to the scene and a report was filed accordingly. The failure and current mileages were 49,064.

- West Wego, LA, USA

problem #5

Apr 092010

Yaris

  • 51,200 miles
Been driving a 2007 Yaris since July 2006 - no problems, now have 51,200 miles on it. On a completely dry and flat road on 4/9/10, I was approaching a yellow light at appx. 40 mph and began braking. Right before the light, as I hit a little bump (uneven pavement section where it changed from bridge surface to blacktop) the engine surged -- I felt it, saw the RPM needle go up and heard the engine rev. I had my foot on the brake the whole time. Had to push the brake very hard to get car to stop. No repairs / inspections yet - not looking forward to a dealership telling me they cannot duplicate the incident. Sounds like the 2010 prius brake recall issue to me...

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 112010

Yaris

  • 40,000 miles
1.events leading up to the failure: On several occasions my car seem not accell properly-I would have my foot on gas pedal and it would not go any faster and the car made noise similar to overheating or fanbelt with vibration-but the car would slow down when applied brakes-after letting car drift for a moment the car jolted then seemed to be fine-also, a week prior to the failure there was a clicking noise coming from the general area of where there was a recal corrected on my car a few months ago-I'm not sure if that has any relevance-2. the failure that occured was: As I was trying to reach approx 50-60mph my vehicle failed to accelerate passed 40mph-I noticed that even when I pressed the gas pedal all the way down the car still did not accel pased 40mph then I noticed the lever on spedometer was not move from 40mph even while having gas pedal pressed all the way down-then I applied brakes and car did slow down but the lever on spedometer still was not moving from 40mph while breaks applied and car speed decreassing-there was a noise from engine similar to the sound of overheating or fanbelt and was vibrating- and then after letting it drift then it jolted and then seemed to be fine - that was the first time it happened with spedometer not moving and while I was on the highway trying to reach 50-60mph-consequence:as I was changing lanes-there was car behind me in the lane I changed into and that is when my car did not accel and stayed at 40mph-the car behind me almost hit into me after I changed lanes and I was heading toward traffic that I was needing to merge into at atleast 50mph 3.the problem has not been repaired-the dealership has not been able to simulate/diagnose the problem-my car is still there I am afraid to drive it-I returned the dealers car and left mine-they would not let me read the diagnostic papers before signing -I want to know if edr and the electonic throttle control system has been checked

- Perry Hall , MD, USA

problem #3

May 102007

Yaris

  • miles
I bought 2007 Toyota Yaris 4 door sedan with automatic. When I used cruise control, it had at least two times sudden acceleration. The engine suddenly made huge noise for the acceleration, and I was scared and immediately canceled it. Although it can be canceled, it is still a safety issue.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #2

Feb 112010

Yaris 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,095 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact was driving approximately 70 mph on normal road conditions when pressure was applied to the brake pedal and there was an unintended surge. The engine began to rev excessively high. Suddenly, the vehicle slowed down. The identical failure continued to occur. The driver pulled over to the side of the road, turned off the vehicle and was able to resume normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer; however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure and recommended that the tires be replaced. The vehicle has not been repaired. Updated 03/30/10. Updated 06/10/10.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 122009

Yaris 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. While driving between 65-70 mph she applied pressure to the brakes but the vehicle would not stop. She was able to decelerate by shifting the vehicle into neutral gear. 2 weeks later the vehicle accelerated without warning onto the highway. The dealer could not provide a remedy because the failure could not be duplicated. The current mileage was 18,150 and the failure mileage was 5500. Updated 02/03/10 updated 02/11/10.

- Tustin , CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?