Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,486 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Yaris seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Yaris:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Yaris Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Jan 222013


  • 98,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated while driving various speeds she lost control of the vehicle due to icy roads. The contact crashed into a telephone pole and upon impact the air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained contusions to her chest, neck and also two black eyes. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who deemed the vehicle destroyed. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 98,000.

- Whitefield, NH, USA

problem #20

Aug 082012


  • 125,000 miles
Started car, air bag light came on after 30 seconds, (or so) has been on to date. Looking at all the complaints on the web, there should be a safety recall.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #19

Oct 042012

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 148,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact state that the vehicle was taken to the dealer to have NHTSA campaign id number: 09V031000 (seat belts: Front: Retractor) performed, however the repairs failed to remedy the failure. The vehicle supplemental restrain system and the air bag light illuminated after the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 148,200 and the current mileage was 148,424. Updated 11/13/12 updated 11/27/2012

- Littlerock , CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 052012

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 153,157 miles


Air bag light came on while driving 65 mph.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #17

May 082012

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact was driving 25 mph when the air bag light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The test results showed a faulty spiral cable in the air bag, which needed to be replaced. The dealer advised the contact that if the vehicle was involved in a crash the air bag may not deploy. The failure mileage was 110,000.....updated 08-24-12 updated 08/29/12

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Apr 242012


  • miles
I was in a 5 car accident on the freeway. A car had hit another car which had hit my car rear and in turned caused me to hit the car in front of me and they in turn hit another car. My air bags did not go off. I wanted to report this failure to the car manufacturer. I contacted Toyota and their representative said that the air bags would not go off because I had been hit in the rear. He had no answer why the airbags still did not off when I hit the car in front of me. He sent me a pamphlet on how airbags worked. I have not heard from Toyota again.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 012012

Yaris 4WD 4-cyl

  • 98,500 miles


Airbag light came on manual instructions "go to Toyota dealer immediately. While waiting for evaluation salesman tries to sell new car.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #14

Apr 222012

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 47,933 miles
I was driving within the city speed limit (30-35 mph) when my ABS light came on at night. I live in the South, so it was warm weather. It kept blinking off and on at first but then I noticed it would not go off at all. I looked in my car manual and it indicated that I should take it immediately to my local Toyota dealership. I took it on Tuesday morning (4/24/12) and paid $45 for a diagnostic. The technician told me there was a bad sensor and I would need to pay about $700 to replace the sensor, and the total cost for parts and labor was $989.05 with tax minus my diagnostic price. I cannot afford this and wonder why they won't fix it because it is a manufacturing problem. I feel they should replace it. After searching on the internet to compare prices, I have discovered that my car is not the only one with this issue, which indicates it is a manufacturing issue. I think something should be done about it.

- Hattiesburg, MS, USA

problem #13

Apr 022012


  • 58,450 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact was driving 30 mph when the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer confirmed the spiral cable assembly failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 58,450 and the current mileage was 58,506.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #12

Jan 132012


  • 51,623 miles
The operator was driving a 2007 Toyota Yaris (4-door sedan) around a slight turn in the roadway at approximately 35 to 40 mph when the vehicle encountered "black ice" and lost traction. The car began to slide and spin, which was immediately followed by a head-on collision with the highway guard rail. The vehicle was instantly rendered a total loss and damage to both the front of the vehicle (entire engine compartment) and guard rail were very extensive. Unfortunately, no airbags deployed at any point during the collision.

- Cos Cob, CT, USA

problem #11

Oct 012011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • miles


On Saturday Oct. 1st a taxi run the red light. And we crash, my car is a total lost but the air bags in the front fails to open. I consider by the impact should be open. I wonder if other cases about Toyota cars air bags has the same problem.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #10

May 202011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
As the vehicle was driven into a parking space it began to accelerate, did not stop when brakes were pumped, and struck a building. The air bags did not deploy.

- California, CA, USA

problem #9

May 202011


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated that while driving into a parking space the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He tried to engage the brakes but the vehicle did not stop until it crash into a building. None of the air bags deployed. A police report was filed. No one was injured. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle identification number was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Mt Shasta, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 072011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 75,250 miles
Air bag warning light came on at about 75,000 miles. Only the dealership could diagnose problem. Ended up being the "spiral cable". $530 for parts and labor to replace. I was given no explanation of why it had gone bad or if it was a defective item to begin with. When I type in a search on the internet for spiral cable, the majority of the posting involve Toyota.

- Bullhead City, AZ, USA

problem #7

Oct 262010


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Yaris. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph when an opposing vehicle crashed into the driver side of the contacts vehicle, causing the tires to partially be lifted from the ground and turned into the opposite direction. The contact sustained three fractured ribs, a broken left arm and several bruises to the body. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to a savage lot. A police report was available. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy with the impact of the crash. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Troy, NH, USA

problem #6

Aug 292010


  • 36,505 miles
While driving on the freeway at approximately 55-60 mph traffic came to a sudden stop. I applied the brakes to the 2007 Toyota Yaris, 4 door and instead of braking normally, the brakes locked, causing the car to slid 30-40 feet, striking the stopped car in front of mine. The impact caused significant front end damage and yet none of the air bags deployed. Fortunately there were no serious injuries, however both the braking system and the airbags failed to work properly. The road conditions were dry and there were no other factors that would have affected the incident.

- Highland, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 252010


  • 79,500 miles
Purchased a 07 Toyota Yaris on 6/7/2010 certified with 77302 miles on it for my son. Car has had no incidents until 7/25/10 at approx 7:30 - 7:45pm est. Driving conditions were sunny and clear. My son and I have driven on the road many times before as it is very close to the house. When my son was trying to bear right around a turn at the top of the hill while going approx 25-30 mph he could not turn right to stay in his lane. Applied the brakes while the car drove directly into a large tree. There was no way to avoid the tree as the car would not allow him to steer it. The posted speed limit is 40 mph for the general area and 25 mph suggested speed for the curve. Although no airbags deployed, neither driver or passenger were injured. Damage to front end and the left quarter panel pushed back into the left door so the hinge is impeded when opening the door. Engine was pushed back on a tilt. The officer said he could not see any other way the accident could have happened as no one would willingly drive directly into a tree on purpose. The car was towed to a local Toyota dealership that evening. On 7/26 I spoke to the service manager (sm) as directed by the GM. The sm suggested I speak to Toyota via an 800 #. I called, gave details as described above and have a case number. I was assigned a case manager on 7/27 and was promised a regional Toyota investigator would look at the car within 10-14 business days. Shortly thereafter I spoke to the collision manager to advise her of the issue and waited for someone to contact me from Toyota advising me when the inspection will take place. On 8/13 a rep from Toyota's exec. Office contacted me and indicated I would need to sign an edr data readout authorization and consent form. They think the inspection will occur on 8/19 or 8/20. I have requested to videotape the computer screen during the download of edr & ECM data along with it backed up on a usb drive and get a printout and explanation from the inspector.

- Voorheesville, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 192010


  • 33,500 miles
My son [xxx] owner of a 2007 Toyota Yaris was involved in a car accident in (sugarland) houston, tx on feb19th,2010 on hwy 59 northbound at approx 9.30pm, in which he was in a left lane traveling at approx 60 mph. Two or three cars ahead of him had dropped some debris. While dodging the debris, his left rear tire clipped the wooden block, he hit the concrete barrier on the left and his car flipped over three times and he landed upside down causing the whole highway to shut down. None of the airbags, side or front ever deployed. He occurred injury to his left hand, which is his dominant hand, broke one tendon, and crushed two finger. He also occurred minor injuries on his upper and lower left eye. He was admitted in herman memorial hospital, sugarland in emergency. On Feb 26th, he had to have surgery on his left hand majority of Toyota Yaris owners are college kids. What kind of safety feature is this? where the air bags stays there when you are in a crash. Wearing seat belt saved his life.. I have pictures, police report, hospital records if needed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #3

Aug 132008


  • miles
Control of vehicle lost on dirt road. Vehicle rolled over 3X. Landed on roof. No deployment of airbags at all.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 192007

Yaris 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Going 35 mph South on paved road, it had just started raining, I slowed down to due to deer in the road, instead of slowing down, my car when into a complete 180 spin, had no control, the anitlock brakes did not kick in, my air bags did not deploy. I feel that my car should have responded more effectively, to me pumping the brakes, but instead, I landed in the ditch. Car was just reported to me as a total loss.

- Hedgesville, WV, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?