If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 Volkswagen Beetle seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Volkswagen Beetle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Volkswagen Beetle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

May 102013

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 185,143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I turned on my car and the airbag light turned on.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #41

Aug 172006

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my VW Beetle in 2005 with the carfax - no accidents or major repairs. Within months, the engine light and airbag light came on. The windows stopped working. I've probably spent more than what I paid for it. I just spent over $1800 at VW springfield in Virginia and the engine light is back on again after only a few months. In addition, the transmission codes were discovered by other repair shops, but they told me I had to go to the dealership for the repair. Neither VW springfield or VW woodbridge ever checked the transmission. In fact, woodbridge told me to trade it in and purchase a new one from them.some kind of light or problem occurs in my car every time I've taken my car to this dealership and VW woodbridge in Virginia. They continue to claim that it is a different problem every time with the same components. What is the purpose for diagnostics? every time I take my car to any of the VW dealership, I will have to bring the car in multiple times within months. Something is not right. Hundreds of people are complaining about the same issues, and no one is investigating this. It appears that VW is being protected from selling us poorly made vehicles with hefty repair costs, because it doesn't make since that it's the same problem for hundreds, perhaps thousands of people. Is it that these repairs are major and brake lights aren't. a recall for these vehicles from 99 on should be processed. The fact that VW was in the news recently as selling people cars they knew had engine, airbag, ABS, transmission, electrical, and window major problems is astonishing, because nothing is being done. I'm disgusted with Volkswagen and they should be held accountable for all this. I understand that the economic situation, but people are in just as much a situation as manufacturing companies. We don't have the money to keep giving away to VW. It's a moral shame.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #40

Jun 012010

Beetle

  • 80,000 miles
Airbag light came on and stays on constantly on a 2000 Beetle. There are too many complaints about the problem wiring under the seat causing the airbag light to stay on...this should be the subject of a recall investigation!

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #39

Aug 152010

Beetle

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. 2000 VW Beetle worked fine. 2. one day I started the car up and the airbag light came on. It didn't come on the next time I started it, but it did the time after that and it comes on and stays on now every time I start the car. 3. tried to have a mechanic check it out but they were unable to read the code. I went online and found out that many, many people have this same problem with the airbag light. (according to my research, almost all the Beetles have this problem, as the wiring harness under the seats that connects the side airbags to the buckles on the seat belt was made about 3" too short and gets pulled forward or out completely when the seats are brought forward to gain access to the back.) this obviously should be a recall.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #38

Jun 152009

Beetle

  • 135,000 miles
2000 Volkswagen new Beetle recently my 2000 Volkswagen new Beetle had the airbag light come on. I scoured the internet to find possible causes and to my amazement, many people suffer from the same problem. It appears that the sensors and wire harnesses in the new Beetles frequently fail triggering the airbag light to come on. I was told by an service tech. That when the airbag light is on, the airbags become deactivated, which seems to pose an extremely huge safety concern, seeing as the new Beetle suffers many defects regarding the airbags. Thankfully, the problem in mine is the driver side airbag wire harness located under the driver seat. The wire length is not sufficient enough to with stand a lot of seat movement. Moving the seats forward too many times can actually cause these wires to break in half, which happened in my case, deactivating all the airbags and bringing up an error in the system. The dealership doesn't make the matter any better, by saying that I will have to pay $600 to replace not only the wire harness, but the side airbag as it comes as a complete package and the harness is not sold separately. In this economy, I cannot afford to replace an entire perfectly good airbag for a simple wire, so I am stuck having to drive around knowing that my airbags will not deploy if I get into an accident or possibly deploy prematurely without any cause. I believe that this issue should be looked at, since it not only affects the 2000 model, but all models up to 2006. Volkswagen should be held accountable for selling a product designed for occupant safety, that fails before the rest of the vehicle.

- St. Catharines, 00, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

May 012008

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I have a VW new Beetle and the airbag light came on took my car to the dealer and they say it's not their problem and they want to charge 700 dollars to fix it but the car is expensive.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #36

Sep 082006

Beetle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I turn on my car and suddenly the airbag sensor turn on without reason.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #35

Jan 032002

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Airbag system defective, requiring repairs and replacements, including airbag replacements, 11 different times. Since system does not work and airbags do not deploy when sensors are on, this is clearly a safety issue.

- Dunwoody, GA, USA

problem #34

Nov 202006

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 20,013 miles
I am the original owner of this 2000 Volkswagen Beetle. On July 30, 2001 (mileage 20013) I complained to my dealership that the air bag light was on all the time while driving. They reconnected the wire under the drivers seat stating it was loose, poor fit. On November 15, 2002 (mileage 33164) I complained again that the air bag light was on all the time. They inspected and found two misc. Codes reset and tested, said all is ok at this time. On September 3, 2003 (mileage 41463)I complained that the air bag light was on all the time, again. Dealership tested and said I needed D/D air bag, harness and seat belt replaced at a cost of $675. I declined repair and called Volkswagen. On November 5, 2003 VW said they would repair this problem free of charge for customer "goodwill". on July 19, 2005 (mileage 61130) I complained that the air bag light was once again on all the time. Dealership repositioned connector for drivers side air bag and stated if it comes on again will need new air bag. On November 20, 2006 (mileage 73661) once again I complained that the air bag light was on all the time while driving. I was told I needed a new drivers seat air bag, harness with rewire to control at a cost of $1040. Once again I called Volkswagen and this time I was told sorry, there is nothing they can do to help me. This has been an on going problem with my vehicle and specifically a huge safety issue. Please advise if there is any help you are able to offer.

- Thompson, CT, USA

problem #33

Jan 202007

Beetle

  • miles
The airbag light came on in 2005. The dealer said the driver's airbag had to be replaced. Approximately 1 year later, the light came on again. This time the dealer said they "fixed" it. I don't know what they did. In January 2007, the airbag light came on again. I don't know what to do now. I'm worried that my airbags won't work in a collision because I don't know what the dealer is doing and they can't tell me what the continuing problem is.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #32

Nov 062006

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag dashboard light lit at 24,635 miles. Repair made by dealer 2/9/05 for $308 labor and $44.76 part (small cable under driver's seat). Text on dealer work order: "found the D/S airbag assm. To have a fault in the connector of harness. Removed seat assm and replaced harness. Seat airbag codes. T/drive to confirm repair." At 35,500 air bag dashboard light has lit again.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #31

Mar 012006

Beetle 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
Why would I have so much trouble trying to get my Volkswagen airbag light for safer driving. Cannot order the correct parts.

- Monterey, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 102001

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2000 VW Beetle airbag light. My wife's 2000 Beetle's air bag light keeps coming on. It has been back to VW service four times to correct the problem. It started well before the warranty ran out. Each time they replace either the driver seat wiring harness or driver seat airbag or both. One time they replaced the controller. It has happened again and again and most recently they replaced the airbag and wiring harness for the fourth time. This took care of the problem for a week and then again the light comes on. VW has been good to cover these repairs even though the car is now out of warranty but as we see it, the problem has never really been fixed correctly in the first place so it's only right that they keep spending their dollar to get it right. It has been explained to us by VW service that if the light is on, the airbags system will not function in a crash and this causes us great concern. The VW service manager contacted vwoa tech support and they suggested bypassing a wiring connector by running a wire from the controller to the airbag. (sounds like they are grasping at straws). Problem is they want us to pay the $550 to perform this. Vwoa has refused to pay for this procedure. www.newbeetle.org is littered with air bag problems so it is not just our car that this affects. Please look into these problems and make VW accountable for their air bag systems. Sooner or later someone is going to be killed by their airbag failing to inflate. Thank you.

- Timberlake, NC, USA

problem #29

Dec 311999

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Consumer states that the indicator light for air bags kept coming on. The vehicle was taken to the dealership to be fixed but light came back on in a couple of days. The consumer stated this problem started soon after he bought the vehicle in 2000 and that it has been happening off and on ever since. The consumer has heard other Beetle owners complain of this problem. The consumer believes that the connection under the seat can be disconnected easily or is too easily damaged.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #28

Sep 102004

Beetle 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,990 miles
I just traded for a 2000 Volkswagen Beetle diesel for use at my dealership due to the excellent fuel mileage. The air bag light was illuminated when I purchased the vehicle. The previous owner stated the vehicle had been at the local VW dealer and the dealership personell did not mention the light as being a problem. I carried the vehicle to a local service facility for routine service and asked them to determine the reason for the air bag light being on. They reported that the sensor on the passenger side was defective. I carried the vehicle to the dealer in asheville. They reported that the air bag in the passengers side was defective. I authorized them to replace it at a cost of $566.28. I called VW and the lady stated that they could not reimburse me for the repair since I was not a customer of VW. My company is the customer and it purchased the vehicle for company use. The air bag was defective. Why should my company have to pay for a defective safety product?

- Clyde, NC, USA

problem #27

Aug 012003

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2000 Volkswagen bettle and since the car has had about 30000 miles I have had problems with the air bag system. According to Volkswagen the problem is the wiring for the air bags is located under the seats and because of this I have had the air bag light reset 2or 3 times finally they said I would need a wire harness installed so I paid a couple hundred dollars for that to be done in Aug 2003 now the air bag light is on again every time the light comes on it causes the air bag systme to shutdown this is a big saftey issue since 2/3 rds of the time the car has been on the road the airbag light is on I found out this is a problem with the Beetle and they installed the harness on the new ones to fix this well I had that installed and it is broken again I called VW and they want me to pay another 95 for a diognostic plus and then they will decide if they will repair it at no cost this should be a recalled item it plagues the Beetle and it is a saftey issue and I cant keep paying for the same repair please help me.

- Wabasha, MN, USA

problem #26

Oct 102003

Beetle

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,092 miles
Air bag sensor light continues to illuminate. Dealer states "problem is not a safety issue; " however, consumer was concerned that air bag would not deploy in case of collision.

- Matawan, NJ, USA

problem #25

Sep 302003

Beetle

  • miles
Consistent problem with air bag light and engine light comimg on/off while driving vehicle at any speed. Dealer inspected vehicle, and stated that air sensor failed.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #24

Aug 152002

Beetle

  • miles
While driving, the air bag light illuminated on the dashboard.

- Sparks, NV, USA

problem #23

Aug 272003

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,179 miles
The air bag warning light appeared on the dashboard while driving about 55 mph on the highway. Cause was undetermined. The light continued to stay on while the vehicle was running. The dealer fixed the vehicle differently each time. (airbag, air bag harness, air bag connector and the instrument cluster) were all replaced.

- Choctaw, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?