Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,288 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Volkswagen Beetle electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Volkswagen Beetle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Volkswagen Beetle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Sep 162015

Beetle

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Volkswagen Beetle. While driving at approximately 35 mph, all the gauges dropped to zero and failed to function. In addition, the temperature and oil warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the temperature warning light remained illuminated, but the oil warning light was not illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- West Jefferson, NC, USA

problem #32

Oct 282005

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 61,220 miles
Car was in shop 2 times for coils going bad drove car to hammond Indiana from crown point came back to crown point parked car went in to go to bed was asleep for an hour next thing we hear knocking on door go out side and car is on fire fire department was out side putting car out fire department said something in engine compartment caught on fire right where the coils are.

- Dyer, IN, USA

problem #31

Mar 272010

Beetle

  • miles
The light on my dash came on for the drivers airbag and had it checked by the dealer March, 2010 for my 2001 VW Beetle 1.9 diesel. I was told the chip in the seat belt had gone bad needs to be replaced. Approx. $175 the service dept. Called VW and they could not tell me if my defective chip in the seatbelt will deploy upon impact. 50% chance it might. I have noticed all the $ I have put into this car VW generally is not on the recall lists for anything. Also, the headlight bulbs generally burn out every year and they need to be replaced. VW doesn't tell how to change the bulbs in the manual. Had to go to the dealer to show how to change a light bulb which I feel is a safety issue. I will not buy another VW because they do not back up their product. Also I know this my be old information but I didn't know where I could report this until I saw something in the paper. I don't know many other VW's out there are with this type of problem but I have talked to VW complaint dept. And all they told me is that they go off of dealers records. I really don't believe it because some of the problems I have had either does N't change for fixing or VW fixes some of the problems in the next models coming out of which I am stuck with the problem. No help from VW.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #30

Oct 112013

Beetle

  • 255,411 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continue over heating blowing head twice engine light stay on brake lights on left side don't work alarm wont lock left side doesn't work and back seat is totally unsafe for kids. Front is vary unstable it feel like it going to fall off to low to the ground, etc......it goes on and on.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #29

May 222013

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
The brake lights are inoperative, remain off. Failure to provide the proper signal when braking could lead to a crash without warning. Previous recall 06V183000: Brake light switch defect make/models: Model/build years:Volkswagen/jetta 1999-2002volkswagen/new Beetle 1998-2002manufacturer: Volkswagen of America, Inc.NHTSA campaign id number: 06V183000 mfg's report date: May 24, 2006component: Exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch. VW is not interested to investigate the problem saying that have completed the recall and this is my problem not theirs even though brake light problem is back.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 012011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
The hazard lights, turn signals and headlights on my car do not work. I've taken it in to an auto shop and they cannot find out what is wrong with the car. Hoping maybe there is a recall that I have missed.

- Bishop, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 142009

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 69,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Throttle body goes out (02-03-2009) cv axel goes out (03-31-2009 brake lights go out (02-18-2010) cv axel goes out again (4-31-2010) alternator goes out (06-21-2010) ignition coils fail (09-13-2010) ignition coils fail again(01-21-2011) brake switch replaced again (01-21-2011) air flow sensor fails (01-21-2011) air flow sensor fails again (07-26-2011) timing belt replaced (06-15-2011) thermostat replaced (06-15-2011) water pump replaced (06-15-2011) now having problems with throttle body/ throttle body sensor/ electrical issue. Dealer is not sure what the problems is and wants to throw money at it to see what the problems is. This car is just one problem after another after another.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #26

Mar 142009

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 69,890 miles
Throttle body goes out (02-03-2009) cv axel goes out (03-31-2009 brake lights go out (02-18-2010) cv axel goes out again (4-31-2010) alternator goes out (06-21-2010) ignition coils fail (09-13-2010) ignition coils fail again(01-21-2011) brake switch replaced again (01-21-2011) air flow sensor fails (01-21-2011) air flow sensor fails again (07-26-2011) timing belt replaced (06-15-2011) thermostat replaced (06-15-2011) water pump replaced (06-15-2011) now having problems with throttle body/ throttle body sensor/ electrical issue. Dealer is not sure what the problems is and wants to throw money at it to see what the problems is. This car is just one problem after another after another.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #25

Oct 232010

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volkswagen Beetle gls. While the vehicle was parked the contact placed the key in the ignition and heard a clicking sound but the vehicle would not start. The vehicle would only start when it was jump started. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The failure occurred a second time and was towed to an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated the alternator needed to be replaced. The alternator was replaced but the failure continued. The mechanic stated the vehicle be taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure continued and the check engine warning light was illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technicians stated the alternator needed to be replaced a second time. The failure continued after the replacement of the alternator. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 61,500. Updated 08/24/11 updated 3/05/2012

- Flossmoor, IL, USA

problem #24

Jul 012011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 67,860 miles
2001 VW Beetle. From the very beginning, it has been nothing but problems. For the first few years it was covered under the warranty, free of charge repairs. I have low mileage so I thought that by the time these items were repaired it would be fine when the warranty expired. There is always something wrong with the car and in particular the electrical system. The check engine light is always going off. The safety issue comes in with its current problem. I had a fuel injection flush which included the carbon deposits removal known as induction, air filter replaced, engine fuel filter replaced, and a brake fluid flush plus 4 new spark plugs. Prior to this service, my car was having difficulty starting with major shaking. I had to put my foot on the accelerator to get it going while starting. Now after the service it runs much better but the problem is that now stalls when I come to a traffic light and stop for a period of time. This is extremely dangerous. The other malfunctions that have happened over the years are an expense but it was something that I could somehow manage. This is incredibly dangerous. I have no control over traffic lights and the generator comes on when I stop, it is worse when the light changes fast and then I have to stop even more suddenly. Imagine if I am on the highway and it stops. This has happened once, a few weeks prior to the cleaning service. Now, I am afraid to drive that vehicle. I have looked online at message boards from other VW Beetle owners and had read similar stories of such dissatisfaction, incredible financial expense with the electrical system and other components of cars. I have even read that these cars can become inflamed, necessitating the fire dept. To put it out. This is a lemon and so many other VW owners have written similar account message boards. The consumer stated the oxygen sensor and mass air flow sensor had to be replaced. Also, the epc light illuminated. Updated IVOQ 07/07/11.

- Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #23

Jun 282011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car is stalling, sputtering, but not dying completely. Coil packs have been determined to be the issue. There is an open recall on the coil packs, but I never received the recall notice. The coil packs on this car need to be replaced, free of charge, free labor and diagnostic services. Please send details on how to accomplish this for my 2001 VW new Beetle glx 1.8T.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #22

Dec 202010

Beetle

  • 64,300 miles
The headlamps have been replaced four times. According to a VW dealership who serviced the vehicle, I was informed that the vehicle's wiring harness is defective, causing the headlights and instrumentation cluster to fail. The dealership informed me that they are aware of the wireing harness problem, but are not aware of any service recalls.

- Barrington, IL, USA

problem #21

Dec 202010

Beetle

  • 64,300 miles
The headlamps have been replaced four times. According to a VW dealership who serviced the vehicle, I was informed that the vehicle's wiring harness is defective, causing the headlights and instrumentation cluster to fail. The dealership informed me that they are aware of the wireing harness problem, but are not aware of any service recalls.

- Barrington, IL, USA

problem #20

Dec 152010

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 189,944 miles
2001 VW Beetle: 189944 miles. Sudden permanent failure of speedometer, tachometer and fuel gauges. Will investigate repair/replacement cost.

- Gilmer, TX, USA

problem #19

Aug 072010

Beetle

  • 148,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volkswagen Beetle. The contact stated that when driving at high speeds or idling, the vehicle would suddenly hesitate and would attempt to stall. The digital clock would independently reset to midnight and the fuel level gauge needle would drop to zero. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the ignition switch was replaced. The failure recurred. The fuel level gauge had not moved back up so the contact was unaware of how much fuel was in the tank. The contact scheduled another appointment with the dealer at the time of the complaint. The manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileage was approximately 148,000.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #18

Aug 202010

Beetle

  • 104,000 miles
Sudden failure of all "pointer gauges" in the instrument cluster (speedometer, tachometer and fuel gauge. I have been given an estimate of $550 to replace the entire instrument cluster, but so far have not followed through.

- Avondale Estates, GA, USA

problem #17

Mar 082010

Beetle

  • 90,000 miles
Epc light on, car loosing power. I have change everything you can imagine that could be change to fix it and nothing. Nobody knows how to fix it, nobody wants to be responsible for it.VW corporation don't have recalls for it, and no dealer or mechanic knows how to fix it.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 262010

Beetle

  • 78,000 miles
Sudden permanent failure of speedometer, tachometer and fuel gauges.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #15

Nov 062006

Beetle

  • miles
Engine and transmission overheating just a terrible car. Wax material interior removes easily with nails children can eat it has crayola smell.should have been made of plastic or vinyl. This whole car should be recall. Epc brake switch always on had it repaired 3 times engine light is always on. Bad electrical. Interior ac light is always off. In and out of mechanic.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #14

Nov 192009

Beetle

  • 46,500 miles
I purchased a 2001 VW Beetle new and I have had to take it to the shop 4 times due to seat belt warning light. This seems to be an on-going problem even after VW made a recall and supposedly "fix" the seat belt problem. This very first time this happened the car had less 1500 miles on it.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?