Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,406 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volkswagen Beetle windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volkswagen Beetle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volkswagen Beetle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Jun 252014

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The windows on the driver side will not roll up. They have been repaired on the passenger side. This leads me to believe that this is a Volkswagen problem. I have not repaired the window side as of this date. If there is a recall, please advise. I need this fixed as soon as possible. I was told it was the window regulator.

- Arkadelphia, AR, USA

problem #44

Oct 012013

Beetle

  • miles
The back passenger window motor was replaced. Today 12/09/14 not the front passenger window motor needs replaced. I think this is faulty. This is a common occurrence according to the local VW repair dealership.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #43

Jul 052013

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Rear window went up and then down by itself...then a cracking noise ensued and now window is stuck open. Hundreds if not thousands of Beetle convertibles have had this problem, which is due primarily to poor engineering. VW makes $500-600 for every repair. (see: newbeetle.org/forums/new-Beetle-convertible/38354-back-window-regulator-motors-VW-recall.html).

- Loris, SC, USA

problem #42

Sep 172012

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was shifting very hard, tires would squeal as shifting between 1-2 and 2-3rd gears. To replace the transmission it will be between 2-5000.00 dollars we have had to replace window regulators, thermometer.

- Milton, DE, USA

problem #41

May 042012

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,600 miles
1) inferior automatic transmission pump valve assembly caused very hard down and up shifting that could startle the driver. It was replaced at owner's expense. 2) left side rear window regulator failed and was replaced at time of purchase (Feb. 2012). Right side rear window regulator has failed July 2012 and must be replaced at owner's expense.

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Jun 232012

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
This the 3rd window regulator to fail. One door and now both rear regulators.

- Los Altos, CA, USA

problem #39

May 302012

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had the regulator replaced in my rear driver's side window and my front and rear passenger side windows. It seems that there might be a manufacturer defect with the regulators/windows. Thank you.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #38

Mar 132012

Beetle

  • 49,500 miles
My rear passenger window is stuck in the down position. After reading many forums I can conclude that it is the regulator. This seems to be a recurring problem with many of these cars. I am most likely going to have to pay upwards of $1000 to get this fixed. I am not happy about this. It seems to be a defect on Volkswagen part. How many complaints does this take to get a recall.

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #37

Dec 182011

Beetle

  • 59,100 miles
Vehicle is seven years old with 59,100 miles and already needs a new transmission due to incorrect gear ratio fault 17114, and PO330. Also, needs a catalytic converter, has air leak from brake booster vacuum pipe. VW corporation advised converter under warranty and offered $1,000 toward a new or used VW. The transmission is approximately $4,000. I declined their offer. I also had to replace three window regulators....updated 01/30/12

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #36

Aug 122011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
All the windows appear to have major problems, the back right makes a horrible grinding noise and won't budge, the driver's side window makes a weird noise but moves, and the overall placement of the windows is odd and leaks air.

- Rockville, IN, USA

problem #35

Aug 282009

Beetle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 2004 VW convertible Beetle, my two back windows do not work and now my driver side window does not work. When will this existing problem be recalled for myself and other people who are having the same issue. The windows need to be recalled.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #34

Aug 262009

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 31,753 miles
Right rear window regulator failed, VW paid for regulator but charged $389 labor to fix (window up and down less then 20 times up to this point. Left rear window regulator failed June 2011, labor charge $403.05 VW paid for regulator. Left driver window regulator failed Aug 2011. VW will not cover regulator, or labor of $375 to repair. VW knew these parts would fail and had issued a tech bulletin to this effect with no notice to owner! failed parts are known by VW as failure parts, cost to customer for known bad parts is extreme.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #33

Sep 082004

Beetle

  • 32,569 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Beetle. The contact stated that the exterior light malfunctioned without warning. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer or a local mechanic for diagnostic testing. The contact also stated that the driver side window malfunctioned and could not be opened or closed. The clips were replaced three times but the failure continuously recurred. The failure mileage was 32,569.

- Hopewell, VA, USA

problem #32

Oct 012011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
Window regulator faulty on all windows.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #31

Jul 232011

Beetle

  • 54,903 miles
2004 Volkswagen new Beetle convertible - driver side window rolled down and will not roll back up. Investigation revealed a broken rear window regulator- apparently under recall by Volkswagen but can't get confirmation.

- Mo, MO, USA

problem #30

Jun 172011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Both back window regulators went out just three days apart and the VW dealers wants $1,000 to repair. VW of America extended the front window regulators warranty but refuse to fix my back windows. I can not roll up my windows at all. They are stuck down inside the car.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #29

Jul 202010

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 99,999 miles
I have a 2004 VW Beetle convertible. The driver's side window does not drop down in order to clear the canvas top. I was told this was a regulator issue. Now my back passenger window is frozen in half down position. It can not be pulled up or pushed down. There have been numerous complaints regarding the window on these models. I have also had the glass in the canvas top to become detached. My insurance will not cover this as during their investigation they found that it is so common with this model of vehicle that they can deem it "normal wear and tear." This is not right! my car is garage kept and should not be having these problems! I am not able to replace any parts at this time because of income. The consumer is made to pay the bill for VW's faulty manufactoring.

- Henderson, TN, USA

problem #28

Dec 182010

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 55,600 miles
Window regulator on our 2004 Volkswagen Beetle convertible failed on the second rear window on December 18, 2010. The first occurred on September 22, 2010. According to our repairman, this window regulator is a very poor design and happens on many Beetles, even new 2010 versions. Volkswagen of America refuses to issue a recall or warranty coverage for its design problem. Our cost to repair will be $850 to $1,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #27

Sep 132010

Beetle

  • 77,000 miles
The window regulators on the 2004 nbc are defective. Both of my rear windows have broken. According to VW, there was a class action lawsuit where they extended the warranty on these parts for 7 years. When I called to see about mine they said the convertibles were not covered, even though the same parts were used. The windows broke when I rolled them down to get the morning condensation off of them. An outside mechanic will charge me $260 per window versus the $500 per window quoted by VW.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 222010

Beetle

  • 44,000 miles
Driver side rear window failed 9-22-10. I put the windows down. I tried to put the windows back up as it was starting to rain. The driver side rear window will only go half way up and then stops and goes back down.

- Springfield, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?