If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,615 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Volkswagen Beetle electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Volkswagen Beetle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Volkswagen Beetle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 062013

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car would on again off again lose lights radio speedometer and eventually died in a not nice section of town. Replaced alternator, battery prior to the breakdown. Due to a web search found out the problem. Fuse box melted, smoked. Dangerous. VW will not recall or fix. Did an internet search and found out that many people had this problem. Fixed with parts suggested. Now again today........12-6-2013 the fuse box is melted again. I have spent over $1000 and done my own repairs as VW does not have a fix for this. If they would just do a recall. I love the car but it is not reliable and somewhat dangerous. The car is great otherwise. I just spent$2000 to replace the convertible top and now I feel like I have a lemon!

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #20

Mar 152012

Beetle

  • 35,000 miles
Window has stopped working for the second time. Repairs have already been made to 1 rear driver S side window. Now it's the passengers side rear window.

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #19

Dec 032013

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
Today, 12/3/13, I had my 3rd window regulator go out in the past 12 months. Each occurrence has been on a different window, and each repair has cost from $400 - $600. The service advisors I've spoken to have all said this is a common problem in Volkswagen Beetle convertibles because the part is poorly engineered and they're surprised a recall has not been made. This poorly engineered part is not only a financial abuse to the consumer, but also a safety issue. If this happens when the convertible is down, then one is not able to put the top back up, which now does not only cost you a new window, but the loss of the car if it's stolen while unattended. Additionally what could happen, as it did in my case. The window made a noise on Sunday, this morning (Tuesday) I took my car in, the part won't be in until tomorrow or potentially Thursday. In the mean time, it's raining in my city and I live in apartments and have to park on the street. Therefore, my car runs the risk of not only getting stolen, but the interior being damaged if the plastic on the outside comes off during the heavy rain. Again, major inconvenience to the consumer, while the manufacturer not only pockets the customers car payment on a monthly basis, but is also making money in the service department with a vehicle that was produced by them with faulty parts in the first place. Finally, the window at any moment can fall into the door and shatter, which would make the broken window a health risk if the individual is in the vehicle when the window shatters; the driver or passenger could be injured by the glass. In conclusion, there seems to be multiple risk and consumer complaints on the same issue, it is ludicrous that a recall or permanent solution has not yet been determined.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 292013

Beetle

  • 51,816 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rolled down back window on drivers side wont roll up just makes a noise.

- Patterson, CA, USA

problem #17

Aug 012013

Beetle

  • 88,000 miles
Rear window regulator bad - replace $639 front regulator bad - $338.23 radio went bad - drains battery - replacement $419.62 airconditioner making loud noise not replacement yet dash light bulb - $100.62 replace crank seal, water pump, thermostat, drive belt $1,094.16 outside temp gauge replace $49.70.

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #16

May 072013

Beetle

  • 81,400 miles
Driver side rear window fell down. I'm told the rear window regulator snapped and they have to repair it. For $600! from what I've read online, it seems to be a common problem in the 05 model. It's a shame that Volkswagen doesn't stand behind this and put out a recall.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #15

Jul 122012

Beetle

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both rear window regulators have become defective. Do not work.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #14

Aug 012012

Beetle

  • miles
The airbag light remains on the dashboard, mechanics have said they cannot fix it, makes me concerned there is an issue with the passenger airbag. Both the passenger window and the driver's side window regulators are both broken. The driver's side window will not go down when you press the window button, and the passenger door/ window rattles when driving and when you shut the door

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

May 102012

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 59,235 miles
The driver seat belt buckle shorts out do to faulty wire routing causing the seatbelt tensioner harness to get cut or shorted by the driver seat.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #12

Sep 202006

Beetle

  • miles
The window regulators on the vehicle are predictably failing approximately every 2 years without much use at all. The part is poorly engineered and expensive to replace. It is a known issue that VW refuses to fix. I have had my window regulators replaced on each of my 4 windows twice: September 30, 2006right rear window regulator replacement July 18, 2007left rear window regulator replacement April 29, 2009left front regulator replacement August 15, 2009right front window replaced (shattered when a friend closed, not slammed, the door) July 21, 2010left rear window regulator ? repaired by VW October 31, 2010right rear window regulator July 20, 2012 left rear window regulator failed (not yet repaired) this is unacceptable for a company that claims to have exceptional engineering. Web searches have revealed that countless customers have this same complaint and that the issue is also with jetta, passat and other VW vehicles. They should be made to manufacture a better part and fix the issue free of charge for all customers.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #11

Apr 012011

Beetle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both rear windows have stopped working. (second one is completely down and does not go up) VW dealer advises that the regulators have to be replaced and due to the "design" of the car to have this done would require taking out the back seat for a total of $1085 with parts & labor. I have searched the issue online and have read numerous articles where other VW Beetle owners have had the same issue. A recall for this costly and repeated issue should be passed. Please help.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #10

Jul 022012

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 83,808 miles
Left rear window lifter does not close completely. Only goes up 2/3 of the way. Reference ODI complaint 10282664.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #9

Aug 222011

Beetle

  • miles
Front and rear window regulators.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #8

Dec 082010

Beetle

  • 40,000 miles
The light sockets on the car are loose and will allow the bulb to come loose and not make contact with the connector and the light has to be re-inserted, this constant removal and fixing of the lights has caused several of the components to break and now make it impossible to fix. The effected lights are: Tail lights, brake lights, turn signal lights, head light, reverse lights... mainly the rear lights, but the head lights are having the same issue.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #7

May 252011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
* hard gear shifting - led to a complete inability to shift or break - luckily I was able to "roll" off to the side of the road before being hit. Additionally I have experience the sudden lurching on about 5 occasions. * the car also loves to roll even on flat ground. Need to use the emergency brake always and leave in gear. Rolled on 2 different occasions - once with major damage. * repairing the driver side window for the second time in 1 year. It just gets stuck - I have read it is a regulator issue. The first time the window just would not go up all the way and shattered. This time it is stuck down. The first repair was $642! * front lights keep burning out and need to be replaced. I think it has been 5X now in 7 years.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #6

May 172010

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 70,650 miles
Have had issues with the front automatic windows in this car since August 2008. In May 2010 the rear windows would go up part way and then go back down. I had repairs done (reinstalled window seal at a cost of $96) then in September of 2011 the other rear window would not go up and the dealer said that I needed a "kit" to correct the problem of the cables binding up and keeping the window from going up. This repair cost $800. Today the other rear window will not go up and is making the familiar grinding sound. I suspect that I will need to go to the dealer and get a "kit" for this window which is the one that had the seal replaced on it. Another $800 or so for something that will only temporarily fix this issue. I have only had the back windows down on this vehicle maybe a dozen times since I've owned it. This is clearly a cheap and faulty design by the manufacturer. If I do not continue to make these repairs I cannot properly secure my vehicle and risk damage or theft.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #5

Jun 062011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Had a very hard time getting the top to come up enough to latch numerous times on a road trip. As suddenly as the problem started it went away. But when that problem stopped, I was left with a severe rattle on the passenger side and a quarter back window on the same side that looks mis-aligned with the front window and leaves a gap, lets wind in and quite often doesn't come completely shut. On October 6, I put my top down to drive about 5 miles home. When I got home, the top wouldn't come up. I got out and gently pulled on the top, got back in and eventually it came up. Exactly one week later, I put the top down and I noticed that the driver's side back 1/4 window was stuck halfway down. Tried to put it up and heard a nasty little sound which continued whenever I pressed the button for that window. I had to finally get a gentleman to help me pull it up. In the last couple of months I replaced the battery (a real whipping to get in and out) followed a week later by a driver's side front light bulb for which I was charged $100 and the mechanic did the change in less than 10 minutes. I've replaced back-up lights so many times I've actually learned how to do it myself. VW of America needs to be forced to do something about the window regulators, top problems, electrical problems, transmission problems etc. Etc. I am a single female with no garage to park in if the quirky top and windows decide not to come up. I am also limited on budget and the design of this car causes labor charges that are astronomical to do the simplist of things. Pretty sure I have the window regulator problem where they want to charge $900 per side. The labor charge to replace a batter is over $100. The window problems have been going on with VW for a very long time. I've had 3 and had numerous window problems in every one of them.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #4

Jul 152009

Beetle

  • miles
VW 2005 convertible bug both rear window problems, will not roll up or down. Passenger side window is making a horrible squeaking noise, seems to be the next one to go. Along with head light shortages. The last 5 years I have at least replaced the headlights at least 8 times. Recently both headlights have turned themselves off/out. This is ridiculous! this is unacceptable and VW should be ashamed of themselves to not fix the problems that are obviously flawed! I understand putting out a product will have some flaws, but not standing behind their brand name and not making things right is a slap in the face. I was a proud owner of my first car I bought myself. And all I have to show and get out of the deal is an empty wallet and embarrassment when I drive down the road because features don't work right. Do what's right VW and man up to your mistake. I would buy 10 more cars like the one I have if only they took pride in their product and honored the average loyal customer. I'm a 25 year old girl who supports myself on my own dollar. I was raised knowing you fix what problems you create. Be accountable and do what's right! it's your turn VW please do what's right.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #3

Sep 152010

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Just like everyone else's complaint. I have a 2005 convertible Beetle that is jerking, thrusting, getting stuck in gears. I drive the car for approximately 10 min and then it starts like clockwork. I have had it in the shop for 2 weeks and spent $1400 replacing everything to fix the problem. Nothing shows up on the diagnostic machine (no codes) they tell me. I am astounded at all the complaints I'm seeing about the transmission defect. My car has 83,000 miles and I cannot pay $4000 - $5000 to fix. I will be out of transportation and out of a job. What is being done by Volkswagen to fix this defect. This is unacceptable!!!

- League City, TX, USA

problem #2

Jul 102010

Beetle

  • 60,000 miles
Normal driving with my VW 2005 Beetle. It has had a lot of electrical issues. Have had to replace headlights, turn signals, and brake lights several time. Only has 58,000 miles on it. Now the power window has stopped working. One electrical problem after the other. Sorry parts are not available.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?