Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Mar 152007

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 329,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil light comes on, mostly during turns. Sweet smell in interior cabin. Water entering interior floor level.

- Staten Island , NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 012007

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,626 miles
(1) many electrical anomalies. Loss of air condition. Dealership advises it is coolant migration causing electrical/power problems. Coolant migrating from coolant bottle into the electrical harness and into all electrical systems. (2)coolant migration has caused severe electrical problems and the vehicle must be re-wired. Cost to me $310.-to be determined(probably 6-10,000$) (3)dealership refused to assist with getting VW of America to correct the problem at their cost. VW of America refused to correct the problem at my request. VW has known since 2001 (see technical bulletin 97-01-01) that the coolant bottle is defective and has not recalled it, or provided technical bulletins as to how to prevent it. Dealer advises the car is not safe to drive in its present condition.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #18

Nov 152006

Jetta 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,900 miles
In April 2006 we purchased a 2002 VW Jetta from a private party. The car had 65,000 miles. She was the original owner of the car and had taken meticulous care of the car. We have all the service records dating back to it's original purchase. It had been in for all scheduled tuneups. VW offers a 60,000 mile or 5 year warranty on the drive train. In November 2006 the radiator warning appeared on the dash. We took it in to the dealership and they claimed the radiator and transmission were mixing and caused significant damage to he transmission. Estimated cost of replacing the transmission $5,890. The dealership mechanic never stated what caused the mixing fluids and would not speculate. We took the car to our local mechanic. He was able to isolated the problem within 20 minutes. The transmission cooler is leaking allowing the two fluids to co-mingle. As a result of the mixing fluids, the belts, hoses, radiator, and transmission are all severely damaged. According to the mechanic the transmission cooler is sealed within the transmission housing and is never meant to be changed. It's position is protected from any road debris and no quality of how the car was driven would effect the performance of this part. It's his opinion that the part had a manufactured defect. Since the car was originally diagnosed in November it has not been driven. We are currently awaiting an appeal to the VW America.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #17

Sep 032006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Way to many to list here. I have had problems from the start. More than $7000 worth of repair (plus more that was covered by warr) the final item that caused me to say I would never consider another VW product was the engine damage caused by a timing belt failure. All services were performed at the dealership. The users manual states inspection of the belt at services (that I paid for) and replacement at 120,000 miles. I only had 92,000 miles. It will cost $5,000 to repair the engine. It is not cost effective to repair this car. It was a great car to drive but quality control is poor at best.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #16

Dec 222002

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
VW Jetta 2002. Car is 21/2 yrs old and has been to dealer 4 times. The ignition coil has failed 2 times. The engine light had to be replaced and the seloniod also had to be replaced. All were under warranty. VW needs to get the quality of their cars up to par. Once my lease is done I am turning the car in and will not get another VW.

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #15

Nov 262004

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine coil failed-lost empoyment. One dealer stated fixed problem, months later another dealer stated never fixed then they replaced. All rear lights off-near accident, dealer fixed, engine noise -dealer not fixed yet fear future engine leak as read in other car owner reviews 2002 VW Jetta 1.8T.

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #14

Jul 202004

Jetta

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle's timing belt failed without warning at 52,000 miles. As a result, the vehicle has become inoperative. Please provide additional information.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #13

May 152003

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,817 miles
This car has had too many serious problems to be limited to this small space. It is clearly a lemon. These problems substantially impair the use and value of the vehicle. The car received a new transmission yesterday after we had reported 3 previous times that there it remained in reverse after shifting into drive. Each time we were told it was unreproduceable and the complaint was never noted on the work orders. Finally, the dealership did relent and replace the transmission. We encountered the same type of treatment with the engine burning oil, and it wasn't until the engine ran completely out of oil, that the dealer would address the problem. The first time we had complained about the oil was 2 months after we had bought the car!!!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 152003

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I have a 2002 VW Jetta, automatic, 2.0 engine. I have put 4200 miles on the car and have had it to two different VW dealerships trying to get a problem fixed with no luck. The car will hesitate upon acceleration from time to time. I acts like it is not getting the signal to speed up. The engine does not stall or sputter, it simply remains at an idle for 1 or 2 seconds and the slowly picks ups speed. No engine lights come on when this happens. This has happened at least 30 or more times since I bought it new. It has nearly cause me to have an accident a couple of different times as I am pulling out into traffic. The dealers claim to have never heard of this before, but after some searching I have found very similar complaints from people with the VW passat. I am frustrated that no one can seem to fix it and I am concerned that I may have a lemon car.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #11

Feb 232004

Jetta

  • 34,125 miles
The vehicle burns oil prematurely.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #10

Apr 172002

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car 3 days later the problem(s) started. And they have been going ever since. Shifting hard, display lights, would not start, wondows would not roll down, or iff they did, they made a loud thud.

- Lynden, WA, USA

problem #9

Sep 022003

(reported on)

Jetta

  • miles
#3 engine coil continues to burn out, causing vehicle to sputter and stall while driving. Vehicle was repaired under a safety campaign two weeks ago, and it experienced the same problem again.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #8

Aug 222003

Jetta

  • miles
Intermittently while driving at 70 mph suddenly speed decreased to 25 mph for 10 seconds. Dealer had inspected vehicle several times, but problem still occurring. The problem.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #7

Jan 232002

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,922 miles
I purchased the 2002 1.8T Volkswagen Jetta on 1/09/02. My service record begins on 1/23/02. From day one, I have pointed out that this car leaks/has wind noise from doors/windows. Seals were replaced on drivers side doors on 6/27/02. Leakage/moisture to date, is an issue. Now there is visible water damage and mold growing along drivers side. Issue- poor quality product. Dangerous mold growing-health factor! ignition coil failure twice! radio has blown twice- faulty wiring! car lunges when started or hard to stop once running. My situation is not "special". there are many others that have purchased this product and have their safety compromised. Ignition coil is a suppose to be a recall, but only when they fail. Volkswagen of America will not replace until you are stranded! this is a severe safety issue. Mold growing in my car is a severe safety issue.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #6

Jan 282003

Jetta

  • miles
Dealer change the faulty coil pack but happen again and dealer refused to change the other two coil.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #5

Jan 192003

Jetta

  • miles
Consumer stated that while driving at any speed and without warning the vehicle will shut off causing consumer to pull over. Dealer notified.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #4

Jan 202003

Jetta

  • 17,000 miles
When vehicle was at an idle, it started shaking and the engine light was flashing. Consumer had vehicle towed. The dealership indicated that this was caused by the cylinder coil going bad.

- Concord, MA, USA

problem #3

Nov 152002

Jetta

  • miles
Consumer states the engine does not work, consumer states engine coil is failing.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Dec 312002

(reported on)

Jetta

  • miles
While driving vehicle at any speed the engine looses power. Took to dealer and dealer states' the emissions coil is defected.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #1

Dec 192002

(reported on)

Jetta

  • 12,500 miles
While driving the engine light came on and vehicle lost all power. The driver had vehicle towed to the dealership, who indicated that the spark coil had shorted out. This is a common problem per dealership.

- Arlington, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?