Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,341 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #2

May 082005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


September 2002 - leased 2002 VW Jetta 1.8T. July 2003 - check engine light came on, ignition coils had to be replaced per recall. November 2003 - plumes of black smoke came out of tailpipe - they determined the oxygen sensor needed replacing. November 2003 - (a day later) smoke still coming out of tailpipe, they determined there was oil in the turbo, they had to remove and install new turbo charger and there was an oil leak, they had to remove and install oil line. November 2003- car making whoosing noise, had to rescure loose intake hose. May 2004 - replace breaklight switch per recall. July 2004 - drivers side window fell - had to have both windows and clamps replaced per recall. (if this had happened after hours, my car could have easily been vandilized, fortunately it was during the day and I was near the dealer so they were able to get them wedged shut before they could get the car in to be fixed.) July 2004 (a day later) - battery died, got jumped and was towed to shop, it was determined I needed a new battery. No problems for almost a year, thought I was homefree... May 2005 - clacking noise in engine, sludge on dipstick and in oil fill cap. No oil light or check engine light ever came on. Had to also have hazard switch replaced per recall. I am currently waiting to see if they will cover the repairs under my warranty. My car needs to have the oil pan removed to see if there is any further damage. I was never told to you use synethic oil in my car and that apparently is the cause of the sludge problem. From looking online, it seems many more people than just myself have had this problem. VW needs to recall this.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #1

Jul 292003

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,682 miles
I had a 2002 VW Jetta 1.8T that developed serious problems related to a compter gliche that has something to do with fuel emissions as per the VW engineer I spoke with. The vehicle would experience multiple engine misfires resulting in symptoms of high engine idling, decreased ability to accelerate, stuttering of the engine upon start or with gear changes and over all sluggishness when driving. Another vehicle was awarded to me after I filed a lemon law case and VW stated they could not fix the problem. I was given the exact same make, model and year vehicle in Nov 2002. This vehicle started doing the same thing in July 2002. I took it to the dealer who stated VW had not yet come up with a fix. The dealer reset the computer but within in a week the car was exhibiting the same symptoms. At that time I contacted Volkswagen of America and filed a complaint and informed them I was going to file a lemon law complaint again. The next thing I know a VW rep is in town looking at my vehicle. I was then informed by the service manager that the rep did something to the computer and now I can only use premium gasoline. My concern is that he tweeked the computer and that my vehicle may not be meeting the fuel emission standards. There have been multiple complaints re: The 1.8T model on all the VW sites yet VW appears to be sweeping it under the rug. Check out and you will see the many people experiencing this same problem yet VW will not address it unless one is persistent. My concern is that a vehicl that never required premium gasoline before requires it now after the enginerr "tweeked" it.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?