Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,028 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #3

May 122006

Jetta 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 49,865 miles


Addendum to NHTSA action number: DP05004 over the course of the past 11 months, four of the ignition coils in my 2003 Jetta gli/ 6cyl have failed. The service dates for each occurrence are: 5-12-06, 8-9-06, 12-26-06 and 4-5-07. Upon the third failure in December 2006 I asked if my VW dealer could replace all of the original ignition coils, as clearly a pattern of failure was evident. The dealer indicated that they were only able to replace coils as they failed and that I could contact VW to voice my concern. I contacted VW customer service to request that they replace the remaining 3 coils, to again receive the response that they will replace the coils as they fail, but not proactively. (as long as my car is under warranty.) today the fourth ignition coil failed and I am now outside of my warranty coverage. (warranty ended 2-28-07.) I contacted VW customer service to file another complaint and was instructed that I will be responsible for the repairs as the car is no longer under warranty. Upon receiving this information, I researched the issue and found NHTSA action number DP05004, which indicates that VW issued customer service campaigns on 1-31-03, 6-6-03, 12-03 and 1-04 instructing dealers to replace all ignition coil packs in model year 2000-2003 Volkswagen Jettas. Upon finding this information, I called VW customer service again to see if my car would be covered and was informed that my VIN was not covered by the csc, as csc's are VIN specific, not model/year specific. I would like the NHTSA to re-open action number DP05004. The ignition coil issue is still occurring, and VW is not authorizing dealers to replace all of the suspect ignition coils as indicated when this action number was closed.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #2

Feb 082005

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,969 miles
: the contact stated while driving at 35 mph on normal road condition problems were notice with the traction button for the esp system. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who determined the black brake switch failed. The brake light switch has been replaced for the purple brake light switch twice. The black brake light switch had a recall for 2002 model but does not cover the 2003 models. Additional problems are associated with the brake switch, which includes the traction button for the esp system and the park position lever which locks often. Also the contact once became stranded on a highway when the vehicle stalled and could not be restarted. The vehicle was towed to the dealership who replaced the ignition coil. All repairs made by the dealership has been covered by the vehicle warranty. The contact expressed concern about brake lights because represents serious safety problem

- Carmi, IL, USA

problem #1

Oct 032003

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
Vehicle quits running after being driven on the highway for a period of time when coming to a complete stop then attempts to turn left.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?