Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,331 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #3

Sep 122002

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Numerous times that the engine light has come on my 2003 Jetta. First visit was 9/12/02. The others were: 2/21/03, 6/13/03, 10/21/04, 1/6/05, 12/14/05, 12/21/05, 1/9/06, 1/13/06. It is currently on and is waiting for a cat. Converter. They charged me to hook up to computer, replaced all coils & spark plugs and the light is still on.

- Canal Fulton, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 292005

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Volkswagen jetty. The contact stated S dashboard control system caught on fire. Last night was driving on highway smelled something burning. Was not sure what it was. Got close to home and smoke was coming out of the dashboard. By the time she got within a block of the house the dashboard was on fire. Husband came out with a fire extinguisher. Husband used extinguisher on vehicle. Called fire department and police departments. They unhooked the battery. Fire department gave all clear, but not to try to drive vehicle. They told consumer to take vehicle to Volkswagen dealer. This morning called Volkswagen, and were in the process of seeing what they could do. Husband sustained right leg injuries. Customer also complained of eyes burning from smoke. Police department and fire department reports taken. No crashes. We had just picked vehicle up from the dealer.

- Woodridge, NJ, USA

problem #1

Nov 202004

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,592 miles
All dashboard lights illuminated and then the car died within sixty seconds. We were able to re-start the car after sitting for 30 minutes, only to have the same thing re-occur within two miles. There were no warnings, except for the illuminated lights, but this left no time to safely pull to the side of the road. This could have been a very tragic or fatal event if we were not on a local, neighborhood road.

- New Albany, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?