Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,333 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Oct 132011

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 71,939 miles


I have a 2006 VW Jetta sd w/ 93,000 miles. I use this vehicle for work. The air bag fault light has been on for almost two years. I initially took the car to the david maus VW in South orlando. I was told by the repair rep kevin it would cost $400 to repair the connector located under the driver seat that relate to the air bag system. Since my car was out of the warranty period, I was told I would have to bear this cost. I asked [xxx] how the connectors would become faulty since there is nothing ever stored under my driver seat and no one goes under the driver seat. [xxx] said that "?it just happens.?" I told him I was disappointed VW had made such a faulty car because of the many prior problems I had that fortunately were covered under warranty, e.g., esp light continually on; ignition coils recalled/replaced; asr light continually lit; trunk latch replaced, air conditioning vents broke, driver side door would not lock/unlock; and driver side button stopped working. After the warranty ended, the air bag light came on. I paid to replace the button for the side view mirrors because it broke off. [xxx] told me the button was cheap and they always break. A recall for the side air bag harness on seats were repaired on both sides on 3/30/11. In October, 2011 I told [xxx] I did not believe I should be responsible to pay for the repair of the air bag light as I believed it was a defect on VW part. I could not have caused the light to come on by driving the vehicle. I was informed by [xxx] that without this repair the airbag system was considered to be inoperable and unsafe. After review of the NHTSA complaints and an internet search, this airbag issue with this vehicle has been a known one for some time. VW has not issued a recall because they do not believe it is a large concern. I believe a recall should be issued due to the obvious safety concerns. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #26

Nov 092012

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 70,068 miles
2006 VW Jetta, driving down street 11/09/12 door ajar light comes on, I stop to close doors and light goes off. I pull into work parking lot and get out of car as I click the key to lock the car, nothing. I then proceed to check the car.. nothing is working. Cannot access gas cap to put gas in car, some lights may not be functioning properly, airbag light not on, door will not lock, window will not respond, no car alarm. Drivers side of car has no power at all. I have no idea what is and is not working correctly. Although I did look online and found hundreds of complaints with regard to a "brown wire or wires too short inside the boot to the body connector". most people report that even after a VW fix, problem not resolved. Car not acting properly and with electrical and having been in a VW car fire do not wish to repeat this scenario. I contacted VW customer care who politely told me this is not their problem and refused to escalate to a manager. Since this just happened today I have not had an opportunity for VW to look at it, but will tomorrow as I have to find a way to put gas in car and see if they feel auto is safe to drive. I don't..

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #25

Aug 272012


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, he attempted to avoid crashing into a cat and lost control of the vehicle. The contact then crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was destroyed and the contact sustained a grade three concussion as well as fractured ribs. The police were notified and a report was filed) police report number:CA1200564). The contact could not recall specific details of the crash due to his injuries. The manufacturer was notified and after performing an investigation, they advised the contact that the vehicle had performed in the manner that it was designed, offering no further assistance. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Pebble Beach, CA, USA

problem #24

Jul 302012


  • 130,623 miles


At 130,623 miles our Jetta had to have the camshaft and lifters replaced. The lobes on the camshaft had completely worn off and the lifters had pitted. I feel like our diesel motor has aged prematurely and there is an underlying problem that VW is ignoring. This is a common problem for this model and year. We are having both replaced, but until the root of the problem is found there will be an issue again. VW must know of this problem. They stopped production of the tdi Jetta in 2006. The 2006 was the last year before stopping production. Why would they stop making a car that was in such high demand with the rising cost of diesel and gas. They knew of an issue in the car that they couldn't figure out. Now they ignore the problem and continue to blame the customer for poor maintenance. The car is defective and VW needs to address the problem.

- Seville, FL, USA

problem #23

May 012011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 133,172 miles
May 2011 vehicle was taken to casey imports (casey Volkswagen) 777 J. clyde morris blvd newport news va 23608 (757)988-1236 in regards to service action 97U3/T3 dated January 2011. ---failure was driver's side airbag connector resulting in illuminated airbag light in instrument cluster. Casey VW proceeded to replace the connector on the driver's side but only "inspected" the passenger side with no repair action performed. The instructions clearly state on page 6: perform procedure on both front seats. Recall was entered into Volkswagen's elsaweb as completed even though the repair paperwork clearly states only half of the work was performed. July 2012 vehicle was taken to casey VW with airbag light illuminated. ---failure was passenger side airbag circuit high resistance. I was told I would need to authorize a $120 diagnostic fee before anything was done and that the recall was performed. I informed [xxx] (service advisor) regional service manager [xxx]and casey service manager [xxx] that I did not want anything diagnosed or repaired. I made it perfectly clear that I wanted the recall performed in it's entirety. I called vwoamerica at 1-800-893-5298 twice. The second time I recorded with permission a customer service representative by the name of[xxx]. the only answer I have been given is to authorize a diagnostic fee. I believe this constitutes negligence on VW and casey imports for not only improperly performing a safety recall but failing to address and correct the issue when it is was brought to their attention. This type of service should be investigated to see how many of casey imports customers may still be at risk. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newport News, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Sep 042010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • miles
I was in 2 accidents I don't remember the dates, but one was in the latter part of 2010 and another was in 2008. In both accidents the air bags failed to deploy, the air bag light never goes off, even before the accidents. I had this light reset about 3 times, the first time was through the dealer and the others where through auto mechanic shop. The dealer wants to charge me $250 to fix the light problem, they say it has something to do with the seat belt buckle. I really think that this has been a safety problem and that there have been many complaints inregard to this matter. Yet the dealer does not want to accept responsibility.

- La Canada, CA, USA

problem #21

May 172011


  • 64,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the wiring harness and air bags needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 64,000 and the current mileage was 74,000.

- Williamson , GA, USA

problem #20

Mar 192012

Jetta 5-cyl

  • miles
The indicator light for the passenger seat airbag stays on. This seat is rarely used by a passenger.

- Blackstone, VA, USA

problem #19

May 132010

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 24,406 miles
Bought new VW Jetta sedan on 08/17/06. On 05/13/10 took the car to the dealer because of car decelerating while driving I.e. dropping in seconds from 60 miles to 20 miles. It was taken to the dealer multiple times for the same problem. Dealer answer "unable to replicate problem" until warranty of four years expired. The problem continues even after the carbon accumulated on the throttle was cleaned and the fuel pump was replaced. Due to unsafe to drive, requested for the dealer to buy the car back as a lemon. The dealer refuses because the four yr warranty is over. Other problems experienced with this vehicle during this period: Air bags lights going off, air bag cover falling off, trunk opening on its own while driving, rain water leaking inside the lining of the car, screws coming off a door panel, doors falling off the hinges, emergency switch falling inside panel, fuel cap not locking, recalls. Dealer recommending to replace the steering wheel column for 2,340.

- Colton, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 162008


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the passenger air bag warning light illuminated on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who advised her that the sensor would need to be replaced. The dealer advised that if the air bags were not replaced, they would not deploy in the event of a crash. The vehicle was repaired but the warning light continued to illuminate intermittently. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Dudley, MA, USA

problem #17

Dec 012010


  • 117,000 miles


Airbag fault indicator displayed. Fault remained. Brought to dealer. Wiring harness has a known issue under the passenger seat that was repaired. $250.

- Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #16

Oct 072010


  • 51,621 miles
While my daughter going home in 2006 Jetta VW, hit by a car from behind and was dragged into another car in front. All car in accident except ours (Jetta 2006) deployed the airbag. As our car got most hit in front and back non of the airbags was deployed. My daughter was taken to er by metro ems for injuries.

- Prospect, KY, USA

problem #15

Sep 232010


  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact was driving 25 mph when he applied the brakes and they did not respond. The vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy until after the crash had already occurred. The contact sustained abrasions from the air bag deployment. In addition, the air bags fractured the front windshield. A police report was available. Also, the air bags cracked the windshield. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 96,000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jan 252010


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 40 mph the contact crashed into a nearby truck causing the contacts vehicle to roll over, however the air bags did not deploy during or after the crash. The vehicle was destroyed and the contact sustained minor injuries.the VIN was not available. The failure mileage was approximately 39,000.

- Manchester, MO, USA

problem #13

Jan 052010


  • 84,000 miles
The passenger side airbag experiences a computer fault every 3 months or so, needing to be reset. Indicator light for passenger airbag show airbag is not functioning while airbag fault is registering and until reset at dealer. This has happened three times. It costs ~$200 to fix each time. VW now offers a "suggested" software fix that costs $200. The costs of these significant safety issues should be fixed at cost to VW. The dealer says they have seen many cars with this issue and hopes a recall will be issued" shouldn't there be a law requiring dealers to report trends they see"

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 092008


  • 80,000 miles
The car airbag light illuminates randomly. Dealer indicates system must be reset for a charge of $80 each time. Dealer refuses to repair problem under warranty. Air bags may not deploy in an accident.

- Randleman, NC, USA

problem #11

Jun 302009

Jetta 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that both of the air bag lights illuminated on the dashboard and the middle console. The dealer stated that the passenger occupancy module produced a faulty code, which indicated that the seat, sensor pad, and module needed to be removed. Through research, the contact discovered that numerous other consumers were experiencing the same failure. He believes that this is a manufacturer defect that should be recalled. The air bags would not deploy in the event of a crash. The failure mileage was 74,000 and current mileage was 75,000. Updated 08/28/09. The dealer told the consumer there was a low voltage signal sent from the battery that caused a malfunction in the passenger air bag module. Updated 08/31/09.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #10

Jul 042009


  • 57,155 miles
Air bag default- to many times since I purchased my vehicle back in September of 2006. I have taken my car in 6 times on 11/06, 1/07, 9/08, 10/08, 12/08 and 7/09. 5 times to VW of hayward and 1 time to modesto VW. I feel my life is always at risk not knowing if my airbags will work if I am in a car accident.

- Patterson, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 032009


  • 52,000 miles
Nothing specifically happened leading up to the event but at around 52000 miles. The passenger airbag on/off indicator would no longer show that anyone was sitting in the passenger seat. The orange/yellow airbag light also has been illuminated constantly since then. I had the dealer run diagnostics in it to determine the error code. Initially they said that it was a faulty connector in the wiring, but that was discovered to not actually be the cause. Upon further inspection it was determined to be a faulty weight sensor in the passenger seat. Be agreed to cover the labor on it at first when it was thought to be a faulty wiring connector but when it was found to be the weight sensor they have not returned the dealers calls.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #8

Jun 222008


  • 71,000 miles
I have a 2006 VW Jetta tdi with approximately 70,000 miles on it. This auto was purchased to be used primarily as a commuter car for my wife and I. last week we suddenly started seeing the dashboard warning "air bag fault". upon taking it to the local vwoa dealership to have this investigated we were informed that there was a vwoa technical bulletin (that evidently had been out for some time) which indicated that some connector(s) located under the driver's seat that are related to the air bag system would need to be replaced. This is not a maintenance item nor anything that we could have caused but vwoa is indicating that due to the auto not being within the warranty (4 year and/or 50,000 miles as we've been told) that we will now have to pay approximately $400 to have this repaired. We were further informed by the vwoa service that without this repair the airbag system was considered to be in an "unstable state" and could potentially not activate the airbag when needed or possibly activate at an inappropriate time. The VW dealer also said that vwoa considers this to be so unsafe that they issue a free rental and require the repair to be made before releasing the auto again....but only if you're under warranty. Vwoa did manage to come through with some "good will assistance" (their words) by providing $200 towards the repair. This airbag issue has been a known issue with the 2006 VW Jetta (maybe other years as well I'm not sure) for some time. Vwoa indicates that this issue is not a major concern and is therefore no recall has been issued. I have read several complaints on NHTSA and other sites that seem to indicate that this is a larger issue than vwoa states. I think a recall should be issued due to the obvious safety concerns involved with the airbag system. Hopefully there will be before any injuries and/or fatalities occur.

- Wentzville, MO, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?