Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Oct 152010


  • 162,000 miles


I'm in the midst of getting a dsg transmission repaired and it could cost as much as $4000. The transmission began making "grinding" noises, and I was told that there are bearings that will need to be replaced. I know through various VW forums that there have been recalls on this transmission and I would like VW to back up their product.

- Ionia, MI, USA

problem #55

Oct 142010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi dual mass flywheel is failing. Sound from bell housing getting louder. Other owners report drivetrain lockup when failing. Problem appears to be higher than normal incident rate.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #54

Sep 252010


  • 61,000 miles
2006 VW Jetta with dsg transmission. Vehicle lurched and lost power as if gas had been switched off or transmission was unexpectedly disengaged from engine. This occurred on very hot day, 100+ degrees, while driving on the interstate. Vehicle regained power 2-3 seconds after loss. This happened 4 to 5 times on a 400 mile drive. One time occurred while passing and forced me to take action and cancel my pass of the slower moving vehicle. This has occurred in the past but it was only on a very hot drive about a year or two ago.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

problem #53

Aug 292010


  • 72,500 miles


2006 VW Jetta tdi with dsg automatic transmission: While slowing down approaching a stoplight vehicle transmission failed to stay in gear acting like it was in neutral. Vehicle had flashing lights on dashboard behind gear-shift indications. After several attempts to re-engage transmission, gears finally engaged and vehicle was driven to side of highway. Turned vehicle off, waited several minutes and restarted vehicle and it operated normally. Owner's manual said to contact dealer as soon as possible if this happens. Dealer said code was PB1819-valve body failure. Vehicle mileage: 72,500.

- Ledgewood, NJ, USA

problem #52

Jul 152007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
I have a 2006 VW Jetta equipped with a dsg automatic transmission. I have a flywheel that is failing. This can cause the car to lock up and cause an accident. I notice while searching online that this is a very common problem with this model Jetta. I think that this should be examined and VW should have to make this right.

- Lawrenceburg, KY, USA

problem #51

Aug 142010


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact was driving 25 mph when the vehicle abnormally decelerated and would not respond to the contact's attempts to drive forward or in reverse. The contact was unable to move the vehicle and it was towed to an authorized dealer. The dealer advised that the transmission would need replacing. A diagnostic was performed but produced no failure codes. The manufacturer offered to cover one half of the repair costs. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 68,000.

- Kensington , MD, USA

problem #50

Aug 062010


  • 177,000 miles


VW Jetta tdi 2006, mileage 177 000km on Aug 5, 2010, I heard a strange noise from the engine /transmission, as I was driving on the hwy. And I also felt vibration at 120-130km /H. I pulled into a VW dealership to check it out. The service advisor took the car for a test drive and told me that there is a noise coming from the flywheel, but nothing serious. The very next day on Aug 6,2010 while driving in the city I heard more and louder noise from the trans. An at I drove slowly for about 7km. Into another VW dealer. At this point after a they raised the car on the hoist they told me that the springs from the flywheel are broken and the flywheel needs to be changed. They told me that this is common issue due to wear and tear. The replacement part ( the flywheel) will cost about $900cnd. And the labor they told me would be 8H which is $800 so to total cost is $2100. I do not think that this a normal to have the flywheel broken just like that. I also won an oder car which I drove over 400 000 and never had problems with the flywheel. Please advise on what are my options at this point. Thank you

- Milton, 00, USA

problem #49

Jun 012010


  • 58,450 miles
Flywheel issue in a 2006 VW Jetta tdi.

- Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #48

May 202010


  • 80,000 miles
The engine began chattering while idling. It has 80K miles. The chattering became worse so I took it to the local dealer. The transmission housing was cracked, the flywheel broken and slip kit cracked. It was leaking oil from the transmission. Total repair will be more than $6000 and take more than 6 weeks to complete the repair. The parts dealers are having a hard time finding a flywheel. I have had the car serviced at the dealer since I bought it.

- Elysburg, PA, USA

problem #47

May 312010


  • 80,831 miles
Driving home on country road in the pouring down rain when at about 50 mph the engine RPM revved, dash warning lights lit, flashed and rang. The prnd was flashing. Luckily a driveway was nearby to get out of traffic. Knew at this point what had happened because we had the very same thing happen in October of 2009. Megatronics unit had failed and was replaced at a cost of $1900. Called dealership for appointment on June 8th. Happened again 5 times on way to dealership. Told from diagnostic test that it had a bad steering angle sensor and gateway module. No parts were available. Had to take car 70+ miles back home. The car malfunctioned on the way home in a construction zone. Felt it was unsafe to drive any further. Stopped at a different dealership. Left car for them to diagnose. Found a second bad megatronics unit. Replaced under warranty from the first replacement. I feel that this car needs to be recalled for the safety concern that the vehicle loses power at any given time, in any road situation you can think of. You cannot always be prepared to react to this. You have no power to get out of harms way. The only way to correct this is to shut the car off and restart and hope it works. Previous ODI #10286197.

- Owosso, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 042010


  • miles


Failure of dsg transmission and dual mass flywheel on 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi.

- Afton, MN, USA

problem #45

Apr 202010

Jetta Diesel

  • 46,000 miles
While driving a 2006 VW Jetta diesel, all power was lost to the drive wheels with the prnds display on the dashboard flashing. Car has 46,000 miles on it. This has been referred to as a false neutral. I was able to coast to the road side, turn off the car and restart it with normal function of 300 yards then problem repeated requiring a tow to the dealer. A failure of the mechatronix unit in the dsg was discovered and part replaced. A similar issue had occurred at around 10, 000 miles, was looked at by the dealer with no issue found.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #44

Apr 012010


  • 75,000 miles
I purchased the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi from a private owner 6 months ago. There was a sound apparent when I purchased it but I thought it was typical for a diesel vehicle, after 6 months of driving I took it to my mechanic and was told that the dmf (dual mass flywheel) was failing. I've done research online to find that the dmf manufactured by sachs that Volkswagen uses in their 2000 and later models have a high rate failure after in as little as 10,000 miles. Causing complete transmission or engine failure of varying degrees. The cost for this repair can range between $2000 - $8000. Not only is the expense high due to a manufacturer defect in the flywheel, but the risk is even higher, causing hesitation in acceleration when pulling out into traffic or sudden wheel lock and loss of control at any given moment while traveling. It is highly recommended that this problem be address for the safety and concern of any Volkswagen vehicle owner with this defective flywheel.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #43

Aug 142009


  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact heard a rattling noise in the transmission. He took the vehicle to an authorized dealer where he was informed that the dual mass flywheel needed to be repaired. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 104,000. The current mileage was approximately 106,000.

- Old Saybrook, CT, USA

problem #42

Apr 182010


  • 58,000 miles
2.0T engine with dsg triptronic transmission. I've noticed, this occurs when the car has been driven for about an hour (give or take) and it happens in stop and go traffic. This occurs usually during a stop light/stop sign or stop and go traffic. As you have come to a complete stop and release the brake pedal to start moving (in other words no pedal being pressed) the car tends shift/jerk before you press the accelerator. In many occasions, you need to slam the brakes so the car doesn't launch itself to hit a car/traffic in front of you. This "acceleration/launch/trans jerk" last about 1-3 seconds at that point you hear some "metal clunk or some type of metal hitting noise". in one instance, the car's shift indicator went blank and the car didn't respond in highway traffic. Pulled to the side, and car was normal again. There is serious accident potential with this problem. I see there are a lot of complaints with this transmission from other owners (from seeing complaints on this website) including a neighbor 2006 Jetta with dsg transmission & friend who has a 2007 gti with a 2.0T engine & dsg trans-both have same problem. I really hope someone does and finally look into this problem and help us consumers and most importantly, before someone becomes hurt. Car is currently at dealer, however, they say they can't find nothing wrong with it.

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #41

Feb 162009


  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that while driving on the interstate at approx 55 mph, the vehicle seemed to not accelerate, although she would press the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would not move past 55 mph. She activated the cruise control and then the engine revved and the vehicle was in 6th gear but manually shifted down to 4th gear. She took it out of the automatic shift and switched to manual shift and downshifted to lower the rpms. The average speed was 30 mph because she could not move any faster. It stalled twice on the side of the road and completely shut down with no warning lights prior to the failure or after. She called a repair shop and the mechanic told her to let the vehicle cool down. When she did that and was able tor restart, the check engine light illuminated. About 15 miles down the road, the vehicle shut down again. She waited again and was able to restart. When driving down hills, she shifted to neutral. She also noticed that the vehicle was jerking. She was able to get to her destination and then took it to the repair shop. The mechanic performed a diagnostics test but could not pinpoint the cause for failure. She called the dealership and left a message; she was currently awaiting a response. The contact had not called the manufacturer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 117,993. The failure mileage was approximately 117,000-bk

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #40

Feb 012008

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta which was purchased in April 2006. He always heard a noise in the engine compartment similar to rocks rattling inside the engine while driving various speeds including approximately 65 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The dealer advised that the noises were normal for his particular type of transmission. The noises became worse. The vehicle was taken to a different dealer where they verified there was an issue with the transmission. Upon further research they found the fly-wheel assembly was faulty. Repairs were made at the owner's expense. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileages were 80,000. Updated 12/22/10 updated 12/30/10

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #39

Jan 022010


  • 66,980 miles
January 2nd 2010 my wife and I were in our 2006 VW Jetta tdi traveling South on the Kansas turnpike from topeka, Kansas. The vehicle was in cruise at 70mph it was 7:30am clear with temp of minus 2 degree's. approximately 35 miles South of topeka, the vehicle suddenly dropped down to 5th gear a sudden and abrupt bang noise was heard it seemed that the front wheels locked for a brief moment. My wife had just unclipped her seat belt to get something from the back seat when this occurred. This locking of the front wheels slammed her against the dash and front door post. I regained control of the vehicle and maneuvered it to the side of the turnpike. There was a rattling in the transmission area several months before when I had it at a dealership for transmission fluid change. I had asked them to check the rattle" when I picked up the vehicle it was still rattling, I thought it to be ok. However after this incident, I have been investigating the internet and found several dual mass flywheel failures with this vehicle and the dsg transmission, however VW America has done nothing about it. If I had been in heavy traffic it would have certainly caused a terrible accident, when it locked up the front drive wheel, we were lucky my wife only had a very badly bruised side, arm and back. We then spent two hours on the side of the turnpike in frigid temps awaiting a tow vehicle. We were enroute to a medical facility in Texas for surgery on both of my wives eyes we had no time to do anything but change to a more dependable vehicle 2000 Buick park ave and continue on our journey. I emailed three VW of America customer service officers, who turned my E mail report of the incident to a subordinate who wrote that my vehicle was out of warranty and they could not help me. 66,980 miles. This is a very dangerous reported condition that is going to take a fatality to get action..I understand europe safety board has already required a VW recall on this problem????????"

- Tecumseh, KS, USA

problem #38

Jan 142010


  • 100,000 miles
While driving at 65 mph on route 80 in rockaway, NJ, the car appeared to shift into neutral leaving me without forward acceleration. My dashboard transmission indicator lights started flashing. I was nearly missed by heavy traffic while attempting to get the car to the shoulder without any acceleration. I waited a few minutes restarted car, it went into gear and I pulled back onto the highway. In less than 500 feet the car repeated the above process and I once again had to safely navigate my way to the shoulder. At this time the car would not re-engage and I was towed to my local Volkswagen dealership.

- Hardwick, NJ, USA

problem #37

Jan 042010


  • 880,083 miles
My 2006 VW Jetta tdi stopped moving while driving to work on Jan 4th, 2010. There were no signs of issues prior to the break down. The engine was running fine, the prnds light on the dash were flashing and the car's transmission would not respond. After having the car towed to our local VW dealer we found that the transmission went in to fail safe mode due to a dsg system failure. Per our service rep the mechatronic unit failed due to over heating. Our vehicle is in-operable and the repair part needed will take 2 weeks or more to receive as there is a recall on the same part for the same failure for 2007-2009 VW's and Audi's. our vehicle is out of warranty, VW denied that this issue is apart of the recall as our VIN does not fit the recall list. They agreed to allow the repair under warranty pricing and pay half for the repair; this will cost me $1254 to repair their known issue.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?