Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #76

Mar 022012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car looses power/ acceleration while im driving, the prnds light and others start going on and flashing on dash. Its in the dealership as of March 12, 2012 and they are charging me for changing the metatronic unit in the transmission. VW had a recall done on the 2008-2010 VW's with the dsg transmissions but not the earlier ones like mine 2006. I am experiencing the same thing as the others have and am wondering why is my car/ year is not included in the recall. I have the same bad transmission in my car that they produced in the later years. I need to get my car fixed, this is a big safety issue to me and my family.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #75

Jun 152011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 81,000 miles
The dual mass flywheel has failed on my car. If this would have happened at high speed it could cause the transmission and engine to seize thus locking the front wheels and causing loss of control/serious vehicle damage. There is widespread information about this on the internet documenting the failures, some of which have destroyed the vehicles transmission and engine in the process. Volkswagen of America is aware of this problem and hasn't issued a recall. I am forced to replace this part myself since VW will not cover this part despite the fact that they now have an upgraded replacement part as they know the original is defective. Cst to repair at dealership $2000.

- Rio, WI, USA

problem #74

Aug 122011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 5 mph the contact heard a grinding noise. The sound could be heard at different speeds intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician stated the transmission had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 09/21/11 the consumer stated the new transmission arrived in two weeks and was replaced. Updated 10/05/11

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #73

Aug 022011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 98,931 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dual mass flywheel has failed on my car. If this would have happened at high speed it could cause the transmission and engine to seize thus locking the front wheels and causing loss of control/serious vehicle damage. There is widespread information about this on the internet documenting the failures, some of which have destroyed the vehicles transmission and engine in the process. Volkswagen of America is aware of this problem and hasn't issued a recall. I am forced to replace this part myself since VW will not cover this part despite the fact that they now have an upgraded replacement part as they know the original is defective. Cst to repair at dealership $1600.

- Cantn, MI, USA

problem #72

Jul 102011

Jetta

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated after having her transmission flushed by the dealer, they notified her that the vehicle would no longer shift into reverse. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who advised her that she would need to replace the transmission since it was faulty. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Limerick, PA, USA

problem #71

Jun 292011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 131,000 miles
I have a 2006.5 Jetta tdi with a dsg transmission and 130,000 miles. My car has had all transmission service completed at the dealership. My incident began at a red light. When I went to hit the gas, my car did not move. The engine revved but nothing. I turned the car off. Once I started it again, I was able to get to my destination. When I went to leave, it did it again at a stop sign. I was again able to turn off my car and restart. It moved approximately 20 ft into intersection, then nothing. I turned if off two more times and finally made it through intersection (approximately 40 ft through). While in drive (going approx. 20 mph), the car shifted into neutral, all lights on instrument panel were blinking, just as before. I sat for a few minutes, then I tried to drive home again in the manual gear shifting mode. I made it approximately 1/2 mile when it shifted into neutral again (going approx. 40 mph) and lights blinking. I had to call a tow truck to take me to the dealership. Heaven forbid I had been going faster and this happened or someone had hit me in the intersection as I tried to turn across traffic. I understand there is a recall for 2007-2009 transmissions and extended warranty. I suggest expanding this to include all models with dsg transmissions since they obviously have dangerous reliability problems.

- Ruther Glen, VA, USA

problem #70

Jul 012009

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a distinct delay when taking the car from park to drive or reverse which causes very harsh engagement. It makes it a challenge to safely maneuver the car in close quarters. Sitting at a red light the car will lurch forward when letting off the brake and hitting the throttle. This happens at start up and at running temperature. When this first began to happen the problem would go away after a transmission service but would soon return. Now it is present at all times whether the service has been performed or not. The problem only occurs when the car is at a stop and you start to move the vehicle, forward or reverse. All other shifting responses seem to be normal. Again the problem only exists when starting from a complete stop. From what I can read this seems to be a recurring problem with the dsg transmission.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #69

May 102011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 96,500 miles
I was to service my 2006 Volkswagen Jetta tdi with dsg transmission. I took off the lower engine cover and found a bunch of different size broken spring laying on cover. I notice that at several different spots that something had been rubbing thru the trans housing at several locations. I took the car to a independent VW shop. I was told that the flywheel had broken and cause the transmission to rub on housing. I was told not to drive car because the transmission housing could separate from the engine and possible cause great bodily harm or death to myself or whomever else may be near. I called a Volkswagen dealer and was told it was a very common problem with the Volkswagen tdi with the dsg transmission. Why isn't something being done or how many people need to die because of this. The estimated repairs are close to 8000.00-10000.00 for a new dsg transmission and a flywheel to be installed. Thank you for any help or reply.

- Van Dyne, WI, USA

problem #68

Apr 082010

Jetta

  • miles
The dual mass flywheel on the 2006 VW Jetta tdi has excessive noise coming from the transmission. Flywheel is defective and needs to be replaced.

- Woodbury, CT, USA

problem #67

Apr 202011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Driving to work at 65mph for over 1 hour with out any problems. Turned off highway and into turn lane. Car shifted hard and drive indicator lights on dash began to flash. Drove into parking lot in first gear. I have searched the internet and there are a lot of problems with the dsg transmission on the VW. Have not had a chance to have the car looked at yet.

- Carthage, NC, USA

problem #66

Jan 102010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while idling, the transmission exhibited a loud rattling noise. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and an independent auto shop for diagnosis and they both informed the contact that the transmission dual fly wheel was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000. Updated 05/24/11 updated 06/06/11

- Highpoint , NC, USA

problem #65

Nov 282009

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle would not shift gears. Whenever the gears shifted, the vehicle would stall. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test and stated that the automatic transmission needed to be replace. There was also a massive oil leak in the engine. The manufacturer was contacted and informed him to take the vehicle back to the dealer for the repairs and it would be covered under the warranty. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 69,000. Updated 04/12/11 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 04/29/11

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #64

Feb 072011

Jetta

  • 170,000 miles
My car is a 2006 VW gli. The transmission was rebuilt 3 months ago and cost me a fortune, and now this. I just heard from my transmission technician that my mechatronic unit needs to be replaced in the dsg transmission. Many, many VW and Audi buyers have had to have these replaced. I have had to drive various "loaners" so that I can get to work etc. VW should have to back up their product and make it right with us VW buyers.

- Ionia, MI, USA

problem #63

Dec 012010

Jetta

  • 84,000 miles
TL the contact owns a 2006 VW Jetta. The contact stated while the gear was in drive position the instrument panel illuminated and gear independently shifted into neutral, he experienced the failure numerous times while driving at low speed, but was able to avoid crashing. The vehicle was taken to the dealer whom performed a diagnosed. The failure was located at the transmission which needed to be replaced. The manufacturer advised they were not aware of the failure, and offered minimal assistant towards the purchase of a new vehicle, or the new transmission. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and the current mileage were 84,000.

- Pace , FL, USA

problem #62

Jul 152007

Jetta

  • 30,000 miles
A rattling noise was heard from the engine area starting at about 50,000 km. I thought at first it was a loose exhaust component. The car has been maintained since new by a dealer here in eastern Canada. My request to check the noise at each dealer service did not identify the problem. I did not press the issue because it could only be heard at idle, outside the car. Well after the car was out of warranty, I discovered the source of the noise to be the dual mass flywheel. This turns out to be a widely known problem and the dealer should have identified it for a warranty replacement. I have ordered a new oem flywheel (not from VW) and will be replacing it myself, as I did with the faulty camshaft last year (also a well known deficiency in this vehicle). This is a manufacturing defect that could result in serious injury or death and should be the subject of a recall.

- Baddeck, 00, USA

problem #61

Nov 022010

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
There are acknowledged transmission failures in the 2003-2008 VW Jettas. They hard shift from 1/2 and 2/3. this causes the vehicle to be unpredictable during acceleration, especially during merging which is extremely dangerous. VW sent notices of "warranty extensions" to 7 years or 100,000 miles. However, this does not cover a majority of effected vehicles. 2003's would already be over 7 years old and an average mileage. Owner-[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #60

Jul 152010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Dsg automatic transmission unexpectedly shifts into neutral while driving. It has happened about six times after the car had 30,000 miles on it.

- Garrett Park, MD, USA

problem #59

Oct 102010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The dual mass flywheel on the 2006 VW Jetta tdi has excessive noise coming from the transmission. Flywheel is bad and needs to be replaced.

- Potosi, MO, USA

problem #58

Jan 012010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Transmission is my vehicle is faulty. It shifts funny and sometimes when I pull out in traffic, there is considerable lag like all power is loss for a short period of time. Also, the dmf in this transmission is known to have problems. I've been told they were recalled in australia, but not the us. That is insane...consumer safety my [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Awendaw, SC, USA

problem #57

Nov 012008

Jetta

  • 88,530 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly shifted into reverse; the vehicle had a dsg transmission. The contact turned the vehicle on and off which reset the problem. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the problem could not be repaired because the transmission was sealed. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 88,530. Updated 01/14/11

- Tooler, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?