Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,043 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jan 202014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 7,000 miles


My Jetta lost power from going 60mph to 35-40 and after a min it shut down on highway. I managed to push it on a shoulder and tried to start again but nothing happened. I towed it away to mechanic and found out that my high pressure fuel pump shattered and released bunch of tiny metal peaces in to the fuel filter and engine. Mechanic told me that it happened because of a design flaw with the pump that VW admitted but haven't done anything about that. So I'm wondering what if a semi truck came at the same time and hit me would they do something about it then?

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #30

Jan 222014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,900 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the engine stalled and the check engine light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle failed to restart and was towed to an independent mechanic where it was found that the high pressure pump was defective. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 46,900. Updated 07/03/14 MA updated 07/11/2014

- Fort Tuna, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 092014


  • 57,690 miles
2009 VW Jetta tdi unable to start the vehicle it would crank but will not start. The vehicle was towed to the VW dealer and they said that the fuel pump in the fuel tank failed. The pump in the tank was replaced and still will not start. The dealer then said that the hpfp high pressure fuel pump on the engine was bad. They changed the pump and still will not start. The dealer does not know what is wrong with the vehicle at this time. They called their tech line awaiting an answer. I believe this is a high pressure fuel pump failure issue that is a known issue and well talked about on the VW tdi forums. If this is the issue the pumps and any repairs should be warrantied for the life of the vehicle as long as you own the vehicle since it was purchased new from the dealer.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #28

Nov 222013

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


The vehicle's engine stalled while traveling down the roadway at approximately 35 mph. The vehicle's electrical system continued to operate (driving lights, interior lights, power steering and power brakes) during this time. Engaged emergency flashers and coasted vehicle to a stop at the nearest parking lot. After placing transmission into park, vehicle restarted with no further incident.

- Lockhart, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 182013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 55,318 miles
When coming to stop at a red light, there was an engine fault workshop warning message and a blinking yellow glow plug warning light. When the light turned green, the car felt sluggish, needing extra throttle than usual to get to 35mph. After stopping at the next red light, the car was stuck in first gear (only 30 seconds after the warning light), and I could only get to 10mph in a 35mph zone. Turning on my hazard blinkers, I was lucky that there was a dedicated left turn lane into a parking lot, otherwise I would not have been able to safely pull over to the right shoulder from the left lane before the engine died.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 182013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 56,218 miles
I was stuck on a busy intersection because my car wouldn't lock onto the gear. All gears on the control panel where flashing. Upon later research, I was told that the dsg gave a false-neutral.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #25

Sep 282013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 122,852 miles


I drove home from work on 9/28/2013 got off the freeway, came to a stop at end of offramp and the first warning lamp came on indicating a glow plug failure. It continued to run and I drove to a nearby parking lot at approx. 50% power, parked, cycled the ignition from on to off and back on again. This cleared the fault temporarily, I drove toward home and within another 2 miles the same glow plug fault returned along with the check engine symbol and a warning indicating workshop was needed. The following day I bought a code reader, read the codes and found several logged, some of which im certain were residual faults from the actual cause of the failure which was indicated by a recurring "low fuel rail pressure" fault. I have called the dealer which instructed me to look at the fuel filter and aided by an online tech info blog I inspected the high pressure fuel pump actuator for metal debris. The fuel filter inspection showed small, trace amounts of metal dust while the fuel pump inspection showed larger and more substantial metal shavings under the actuator. The inspection of the two components are indicative and inline with similar findings that prove high pressure fuel pump failure, it should be noted that no trace of gasoline was found in this system and only clean diesel fuel was present during inspection. Fuel filter was just changed in Aug 20 2013 at same time as timing belt where hpfp drive gear was retorqued. I now have a car that is not functional and I'm not happy. I bought a diesel for longevity and high fuel economy not this.

- Lakewood , CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 302013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 81,000 miles
Car is a Jetta tdi (diesel engine). Engine warning light appeared while driving, approximately 50 yards later while slowing down the engine failed and would not restart. Car was stopped at intersection on a busy 5 lane road at 5:30 pm with cars coming from behind and around at speeds of 45+ mph. Sheriff came to divert traffic to prevent a wreck and allow tow truck to tow car safely. Dealer states that high pressure fuel pump failed, ruining fuel system, quotes potential repair cost of $8,500. Filled fuel tank 5 miles prior to incident with 11 gallons of diesel fuel (reputable fuel dealer, almost always use this dealer). There was no warning prior to the incident -- no rough engine or stalling or trouble of any kind. Car is driven by only one driver and is well maintained, has never been fueled with anything but diesel from reputable dealers. Car is usually driven on the freeway (dealer recommended it specifically for a long freeway commute). Lucky that it didn't stall at high speed on freeway.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 192012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 140,000 miles
The exhaust flap is sticking in the open position, thus causing warning light on dash to come on.

- Greensburg, IN, USA

problem #22

Jun 102013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 143,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and to a mechanic, who determined that one of the pressure sensors in the exhaust system had failed. The dealer replaced both sensors because it was impossible to replace just one. The mechanic spoke with the manufacturer, but was told that there was not a repair available. The failure and the current mileage was 143,000.

- Hove Sound, FL, USA

problem #21

Jun 072013

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 22,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the air sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Adams , NY, USA

problem #20

Sep 012012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle began stalling at stops at about 55000 miles. Vehicle at complete stop, take foot of brake and it either (1) rolls then moves forward, (2) lurches/shutters and moves forward or (3) stalls before putting foot on gas. The stalling has become more frequent in the last month and on May 31 2013, the vehicle stalled multiple times and on one occasion did not restart after approximately half dozen attempts but finally managed to restart. The vehicle is going in for service to hopefully identify and fix this issue on June 3 2013. The lurching forward can be drastic and the potential for "jumping" forward into another car and causing an accident is now a real concern.

- Summit, NJ, USA

problem #19

May 302013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 65,500 miles
My engine check light came on, followed by the glow plug light and then my engine stalled and died 30 secs later. My hazard lights, dashboard lights, etc functioned, but I could not bring the engine back to life. Policeman suggested it may be a fuel pump, because when I tried the accelerator pedal while trying to start the car, it did not help. I had 3/4 tank of diesel still in my tank and I always fill at the same pump which has a yellow handle and says "diesel" and I am the only one who has filled the tank on this vehicle.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #18

May 242013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 83,500 miles
We were driving our 2009 Volkswagen Jetta tdi down the highway at 65mph on Friday May 24, 2013 when suddenly the car began to shake and shudder violently. It was very scary and then it seemed that the power was coming in and out. Because of the sudden shaking and loss of power, I had to very quickly pull to the side of the road, to avoid causing an accident on a heavily congested highway on a holiday weekend. The vehicle is always serviced by the dealership (including all oil changes) and is up to date on all pertinent maintenance. The dealership has diagnosed the vehicle with a failed high pressure fuel pump (hpfp) and has accused us of somehow allowing metal into the diesel fuel (they even had some metal "samples" to show me at their service counter, how bizarre). I went back to the fuel station where we last filled up and spoke to the manager, who said there have been no reports of any issues related to contaminants of any kind in their diesel fuel. We are stuck with a $6,000 bill for a dealer-maintained car that has ~83,000 miles on it and is just over 3 years old, in addition to the fright of a violent loss of the vehicle's power, at highway speeds.

- Walpole, MA, USA

problem #17

May 222013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 88,000 miles
On Wednesday 5/22/13 I was driving my 2009 VW Jetta tdi at about 45mph when all the sudden the check engine light came on, the glow plug light started flashing, and engine fault workshop came up on my display. The car lost power and wasn't running right. I immediately stopped the car and called my local VW dealership to see if the car was safe to drive. (warning if this happens to you do not drive the car no matter what the dealership says!!!!!) the VW dealership said it was safe to drive the car to the dealership since all the warning lights where orange and not red. The car had very low power while driving to the dealership and eventually died. I then towed the car to the dealership and after 2 days got the dreaded call that the hpfp(high pressure fuel pump) had failed and sent metal shrapnel throughout the entire fuel system. VW is telling me this is going to cost me $7,000 to fix which is absolutely absurd since VW is very aware of this problem and has covered the costs for other people when this has happened. I don't think it is right that a 4 year old car with 80K miles on it should have a repair cost this high. There should be some sort of fail-safe on the hpfp that when it fails it does not send metal shrapnel throughout the fuel system. I am currently writing letters to the dealership and to VW America to let them know my disappointment in their product. This problem is happening way to often to not have a recall on this car. I also find it funny that the dealership made a call to VW of America before they called me to tell me what was wrong sounds like they know there is a issue here.

- Elburn, IL, USA

problem #16

Jan 072013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 60,000 miles
The same thing has occurred approximately 10-15 times now. While driving, it is as if the car goes into neutral, and applying gas does nothing. It is extremely dangerous because there is no warning that it is about to happen, and if it were to occur while pulling out in traffic, we would be stuck in place with no way to accelerate and get out of the way of traffic. The car was taken to the dealership and they could find nothing wrong and our money for the diagnostic was spent and solved nothing. It has been inconsistent, sometimes not happening for weeks at a time, but in the last 5 days it has happened approximately 5 times. It is an extremely dangerous problem and should be taken care of asap!

- Felton, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 222013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 115,000 miles
Driving up a mountain highway, the car lost all power (even with the gas pedal to the floor). Once pulled over, the vehicle wouldn't start again. The high pressure fuel pump in the tdi failed catastrophically and sent metal shrapnel throughout the entire fuel system.

- Running Springs, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 012012


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test which located the failure within the exhaust control module. The dealer replaced the exhaust module under the warranty; however, the failure was not corrected. The exhaust system control module failed again. A second diagnostic test was performed by a local mechanic which located the failure in the exhaust sensor which made it impossible for the exhaust emission gate to open or close. The check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was repaired and the exhaust flap door was lubricated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 110,000.

- Pawlet, VT, USA

problem #13

Dec 202012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 75,000 miles
My 2009 Jetta sportwagen tdi has experienced a disturbing no-start condition several times. Cranking the engine did not result in a start. Only after repeated cranking (5-10 times) did the car actually start. First it would not start several times, then start and die immediately, and finally start, run very rough, and then smooth out its idle. This entire sequence (which has happened at least 4 times in the last month, to varying degrees) occurred in the December-January time frame, with the first incident occurring when temps were right around freezing, with precipitation (rain-snow mix) and high humidity. At least 2 times, the vehicle simply died suddenly while driving, when I took my foot off the throttle and revs dropped down to idle. In addition, the car has displayed a solid check engine and flashing glow plug light, which have come and gone several times (intermittently: One day they will be on, the next day not). The last symptom to report is a P0638 obdii code (throttle body out of range). This code, however, could be a false indication that is related to the number of failed engine start attempts? I took the car to the dealer, and they could not figure out what the problem is. I have a strong indication to suspect, after researching others' experiences on several online forums, that this may be related to the accumulation of water and/or ice in the intercooler, which then either blocks the airflow or becomes ingested into the intake. My symptoms are consistent with those reported in the Volkswagen technical service bulletin (tsb) # 21 11 06 / 2025464 - frozen air charge cooler. However, when I presented this tsb data, along with report of my symptoms to the dealer (after they inspected the car and could not find anything) they told me that they could not help me, since the vehicle is out of its warranty period.

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #12

Dec 252012


  • 58,500 miles
My VW Jetta had sat for a few days in a indoor parking space in the midwest during winter December to be exact. When I started the car, it started weak, then gave an error on the display of "engine fault workshop.". the cat continued to drive, but lacked power and seemed to surge. After I returned home, I disconnected the lower intercooler hose to find a large ice formation and water restricting the outlet of the intercooler. This problem can cause major engine damage and is the exhaust gases and water vapor freezing in the intercooler. Every VW with this style intercooler setup has potential for this problem. It should be recalled do to its severity. Also, there is a tsb already written for the "fix". but VW has not informed anyone, nor will take care of the problem for anyone beyond the 36000 mile warranty. Even though this is a design flaw.

- Madison, WI, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?