Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,325 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Nov 232010

Jetta 5-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 VW Jetta. Consumer states problem with engine line the consumer stated the engine light illuminated and the vehicle stalled.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 112011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Egr valve failure on 2009 Volkswagen sportwagen tdi - at 38000 miles the emissions check engine light came on in my car, and the mechanic diagnosed it as an egr valve problem. This is a required part of the emissions control system, and Volkswagen has declined to offer a fix for it.

- Upper Arlington, OH, USA

problem #17

Apr 022011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Today is April 2, 2011. I was driving my 2009 Jetta tdi on the highway where my engine died on me right before my coil light went off while doing 60+ miles. I had my car towed to the VW dealership in stratford ct. While waiting I started to look up any information on issues related to mine because my car turned only 2 years old March 15 2011. I had heard on the radio on car talk that tdi were shutting down on the highways and that it was being looked into by the NHTSA. I also read dozens of other stories online with related issues which in the end cost them a few thousand to ten thousand to fix on relatively new car. I have read it is due to hpfp needing to be replaced which was damaged when fueled up with incorrect fuel. Basically VW is saying that metal particulates are in the fuel filters and system due to putting gas instead of diesel. They are telling this supposed catch all to everyone with this issue. I have never put anything other than diesel into my car. The warranty is only good up to 50K. I am at 54K. This is an on going issue for Jetta tdi owners and will continue to be an issue when the mileage climbs. This is also a safety issue that I take personally due to a child being in the car at the time of the break down in the middle of the highway. I wanted to write in concern for my own issues with this and other ct Jetta tdi owners of ct/usa. I don't know if you can help but I wanted to try. Thank you very much for your time.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #16

Mar 072011

Jetta

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On March 7, 2011 our Volkswagen Jetta tdi model year 2009 stalled abruptly while driving at low speed. This was a first occurence.

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 202010

Jetta Diesel

  • 40,000 miles
Was driving on residential street, approximately 25-30 mph, and car just lost power and stalled. After a few minutes it could start again - but the vehicle would not move, even if gas was pushed down. After a week at the dealership - they said it was the throttle. My car would not start before (after only having the car for approximately 7 months and approximately 2000 miles) - and after having it towed to the dealer, they just said the fuel was gelling. But they did do a computer upgrade and said there "particles in the fuel line" that they cleaned out and said I may have gotten "bad fuel". 1 week after my 40000 mile routine maintenance check - my glow plug light went on and I had to have a sensor replaced.

- Randolph, WI, USA

problem #14

Dec 212009

Jetta Diesel

  • 17,000 miles
Car has stuttered when accelerating from stop since purchasing with 12 miles. On 12/21/2009, car lost power and stuttered at speed on interstate highway. The road immediately climbed a hill. With accelerator to the floor, the car dropped to under 60 mph and I shifted from 6th to 5th. Car still kept decelerating so I shifted to 4th. Fortune provided a rest area as the car got to about 45 mph on the interstate. After parking, car stalled while idling. Starting engine would roughly idle at 1/2 of the idle RPM for about 5 seconds before stalling. After 4 tries, I let the car sit for 10 minutes and it restarted without further incident. The car had diesel purchased in upstate NY in the winter, presumably a winter blend. The incident happened in va in 30+ degree temperatures, so presumably gelling of the fuel was not the problem. Additionally, on 12/17/2010, car started but would not rev above 1500 RPM even while out of gear. Would not go more than 10 mph. I assume it is the fuel system but the VW dealer claims everything is fine with the car.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #13

Sep 012009

Jetta

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

From the first week I owned this brand new Jetta tdi sportswagon (with a manual transmission) it would periodically "faulter" or momentarily lose power at about 38 mph. I drive quite a bit and the problem would occur randomly, perhaps every other day. I've yet to be able to duplicate the problem by recreating the driving conditions, but it always happens at the same speed, right after upshifting. I notified the dealership about the problem right away and they checked it out when I brought it in for it's first service appointment. As expected, the technician was unable to recreate the problem after a short test drive. This vehicle now has over 45,000 miles and the faultering continues to occur every few days.

- Columbus, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jul 282010

Jetta

  • 1,200 miles
My 2009 Jetta sportswagon tdi has stalled several occasions rounding corners as I downshift from a higher gear to a lower gear. I generally run the vehicle around 1700-1800 RPM and as I make the turn around the corner to slow down I am in the process of downshifting and the car stalls out while the clutch is engaged. This has happened randomly 4 times to me. The first time I thought I might have accidentally shift into a higher gear and stalled the engine, but since it has repeatedly happened and since I have owned a standard transmission vehicle since 1986, and have been driving standard vehicles since 1980 I have to question that it is something else besides my ability to drive.

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #11

Aug 152010

Jetta

  • 55,700 miles
We have had this car for less than two months. The day before we traveled about 45 minutes away and used the highway. The car was fine. The next day, when traveling on the highway at about 70mph our 2009 Jetta sportwagen tdi suddenly lost power about 30 to 40 minutes into the trip. The gas pedal did not respond to being pressed. Our vehicle was slowing down. It was like the car died and we were coasting. Five to ten seconds later it was like nothing happened. The car resumed power. It has not happened again. We took it to the dealer and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with it.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 152010

Jetta

  • 6,500 miles
Engine dies while at speed, especially when making a sharp turn at intersection. Has occurred roughly 6 times in 7000 miles. Engine also routinely "hiccups" or momentarily dies at about 1800 RPM under light load. Nothing has been done to address the problem.

- Bozeman, MT, USA

problem #9

Aug 242010

Jetta

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta tdi diesel car with a 6 speed manual transmission and 20,000 miles. I have notice that the car is extremely easy to stall when attempting to accelerate in first and second gears. It seems the injection timing may be too far advanced. I have driven lots of similar older model diesel cars in europe and elsewhere without any such problems. I do not know what to do to correct the problem. I have noticed that you must speed up significantly in first gear before shifting to second. The engine seems to be unable to lug at a low rpms.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #8

Jan 182010

Jetta

  • 23,000 miles
1-hallmark coolsprings Volkswagen in nashville Tennessee used improper oil in my 2009 Jetta tdi. I did not discover this until after the improper oil had been in the vehicle for over 7000 miles. This is documented on their service report. The VW technical supplement entitled: ¿Jetta, Jetta sportwagen equipped with tdi engine, model year 2009¿ which was included in the owner's manual of this vehicle states:¿if you use engine oil that does not expressly conform to Volkswagen oil standard $507, very serious and very expensive damage to your vehicle's engine will occur.¿ it goes on to state: ¿failure to use engine oil for your diesel engine that conforms to Volkswagen oil standard $507 can cause engine failure on the highway that can cause a crash and serious personal injury.¿ 2-now I have no alternative but to drive the car, paranoid that what the owner's manual says will happen to happen and hope the engine does not lock up and cause me to wreck and hurt myself and/or someone else. 3)- Volkswagen of America will not help do anything about this and neither will hallmark Volkswagen. They basically say to disregard the owners manual - I believe they are in violation of the magnuson moss act if the oil specified in the owners manual doesn't really have to be used to avoid engine damage, resulting in a vehicle accident.

- Pembroke, KY, USA

problem #7

Feb 012010

Jetta

  • 12,000 miles
My 2009 Jetta tdi sportwagon with 12,000 miles would not start one day. I attempted to jump start and pop start the car, both failed to start the engine. It got towed to nearest VW dealer. They stated that the starter failed, so they replaced it. After replacing the starter, the car was still not fixed and they discovered condensation in the intake system. They stated that VW was not sure what was causing the condensation, seeing as I drive 100 miles per day, but it was now running to factory specifications, so the service manager stated " so we are calling it fixed". another tdi was also in the shop for this same problem. I was told that VW can not guarantee or provide anything to me in writing stating that when my factory warranty runs out, and this problem occurs again, that it will be covered. I requested VW to extend my warranty but they stated that they do not provide that to customers.

- Pembroke, MA, USA

problem #6

Feb 082010

Jetta

  • 100 miles
Ever since my 2009 VW tdi diesel auto was new, I have a problem with hesistation in stop and go traffic that is an emergency. If I suddenly stop, such as the end of the exit ramp on the interstate, and simultaneously turn the wheels to the left or right, then immediately attempt to acceleration, disaster. The car will move into the oncoming traffic (for about 2-3 seconds), then hesitate, leaving me stuck on the path of oncoming traffic! in about 3 to 4 more seconds, it will immediately accelerate, spinning the wheels and move! this has happened on several occasions, nearly placing me in fatal accidents! the dealer will not respond, or even contact the VW main factory/engineering regarding software updates, etc. The engine just momentarily 'goes to idle' before kicking in. It is as if the brakes were applied (in this car, if you touch the brakes, the engine immediately drops to about 600 RPM thru software control). So it appears there is a software problem, not an engine problem. Engine otherwise performs beautifully, and so does the transmission. This has happened on several recurrent occasions, both in hot and cold weather, since Sept 2008.

- Harrodsburg, KY, USA

problem #5

Aug 012009

Jetta

  • 150 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions; the transmission exhibited a pulling sensation and began hesitating intermittently. The failures progressed between 0 to 55 mph and the engine surged while maintaining speed. An authorized technician informed the contact that the problem was a manufacturers design without a remedy. The computerized system code was reset to the manufacturer's service code. The vehicle was inspected by an authorized dealer to further diagnose the failure. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 150 and the current mileage was 6,500.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #4

Sep 142009

Jetta

  • 100 miles
The vehicle has a 1 to 2 second lag when accelerating from a standing start or when I step hard on the accelerator pedal. It acts like it has to think about it for a while before the motor starts to rev up and the transmission engages. This has caused several near-accidents when pulling into traffic, and at stop signs when other drivers decided I'd waited too long and started into the intersection at the same time my car finally decided to get around to going. This is a tdi with the dsg transmission. I had the dealer run a full diagnostic and they didn't find anything. I see others reporting the same behavior here and elsewhere. I suspect faulty programming in either the engine or the transmission software, though it may be just the inherent behavior of the system. I'll put today's date on the "approximate incident date" although it's been this way since I bought the car in November 2008.

- Elverta, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 162009

Jetta

  • 11,000 miles
I own a 2009 Volkswagen tdi. It now has just over 11000 miles. After only a couple thousand miles on the vehicle, I started noticing that the engine hesitates and in some cases produces severe bucking for maybe 2-3 seconds. During these incidents, the vehicle has less power and this can be a serious problem if one is trying to merge into traffic and suddenly has less power than anticipated to accelerate. The problem unfortunately can't be replicated on demand. It is more off a sporadic occurrence. I have taken the vehicle top the dealership 3 times and each time there is nothing that they can find wrong with the car. There are no error codes that show up when they use their diagnostic tools and they have not been able to replicate the issue. The only thing that was done to try to solve the issue was during the most recent visit to the dealership the fuel was sampled and left overnight in a freezer to check for gelling, I don't think it was sent to a lab for analysis. The fuel filter was also changed. These actions have not corrected the problem.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #2

May 302009

Jetta

  • 200 miles
I bought my brand new 2009 Jetta tdi on 5/28/2009 and 2 days later after I had only driven the car for 200 miles, the air conditioning stopped working when the car was sitting still. I opened the hood after I got to my destination to realize that the cooling fans were not working at all. They would not even come on to cool the engine. This occurred on a Saturday, and the VW dealer where I bought it was closing in an hour. Their master tech agreed to stay until I got there and he ran some tests on it, and told me he simulated a severe engine overheat and the fans still did not come on. He said the car could not be driven and it would have to stay at the dealer. He said the fan relay was faulty and would have to be replaced. Then Monday morning the service manager whom did not believe the master tech decided to drive my car with a non-functioning cooling system to see if he could replicate the problem. He called me to discuss the fact that the air conditioning worked while he was driving to which I said it will when you drive it, however, it does not work when your come to a stop because the fans do not turn on. He finally decided after a day of wasted tests to order the part. I finally got my car back today after they had it for 5 days of the first week I owned it. I am so glad I purchased the 100,000 mile warranty, because that sort of problem after 2 days of ownership does not say much for VW. Everything was covered under warranty, but I was still without my car for just shy of a week. Diagnosed part= cooling fan module failure.

- Gardners, PA, USA

problem #1

Aug 022008

Jetta

  • 230 miles
Vehicle's motor engine's fan would not stop running even after vehicle was shut off causing the battery to run out.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?