Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 6 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #93

Aug 182011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 47,300 miles


Car was being driven in town. Glow plug light and check engine light came on. Car was driven to parking lot and engine stopped. Would not restart. Towed to autobahn VW in fort worth and fuel pump failure diagnosed. Car is 2009 Jetta tdi with 47,300 miles. Fuel was purchased at racetrack where we always buy. Tank was down to half full.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #92

Jul 192011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 48,390 miles
Filled full tank July 17th, 2011, within 120 miles, 3 complete engine shutdowns while driving. Brought to dealership. Tested and $17.10 hours repair. Rail fuel pressure too low. Removed pressure sensor on injection pump. Found metal inside pump. Metal throughout fuel system. Contacted tech assistance. Replaced all parts as advised. Replaced fuel tank. Replaced fuel lines. Replaced fuel injectors. Replaced high pressure fuel pump. Replaced low pressure fuel pump. Replaced auxiliary fuel pump. Replaced fuel filter. Drained fuel in old fuel tank and put in 5 gallons of fresh diesel in new tank. Replaced fuel rail. Injector lines. Initial diagnostic consisted of fuel pressure test inspection of contaminants in fuel. Basically the dealership told me this is covered under the drivetrain warranty, but my fuel was contaminated. I only used 1/10th of a tank of biofuel once like a year ago. I have contacted shell to see if that tank of fuel had any previous complaints and none mentioned. All in all $6,500 in parts.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #91

Aug 172011


  • 11,000 miles
Car stuttered and then stalled. Engine wouldn't restart. Driving 35mph in residential area.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #90

Aug 072011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 41,070 miles


Vehicle is a 2009 Volkswagen diesel Jetta sportwagen, VIN [xxx]. vehicle serviced at the VW dealership for the full 40,000 mile service at actual mileage 40,525. On trip a few days later at 41,070 the high pressure fuel pump failed, consequences were a dangerous situation due to (1) being suddenly without power to move the vehicle with other vehicles approaching behind me, and oncoming. Had to push the vehicle to a safe place; (2) temperatures were over 100 F, leaving me and my passengers in danger until we could be rescued; (3) I had to pay for a tow of the failed vehicle then rent another vehicle to continue my trip and will have to drive over 400 miles if/when the vehicle is repaired to pick it up. This is a huge unexpected expenditure. Vehicle was towed to the nearest dealership and is awaiting parts. As I understand it, metal shavings from the pump failure trash the entire fuel system and all parts must be replaced with new ones. At best, I will be without a car for 7 to 10 days. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #89

Nov 102010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 14,000 miles
During acceleration on a cold engine (first mile) the engine will occasionally stumble and lose power all together. On several occasions it has simply turned off. As it is a stick shift, I assumed it was my fault at first. Now that I am accustomed to the car, it still happens, particularly the stumbling in the first mile. It feels as if it turns off and on... no warning lights come on, but it definitely has no power for about a second or so and then lurches. It only seems to happen in cooler weather. Now that it is in the hundreds in houston, it doesn't happen. When I took it for an oil change last month (July 2011), they did a "software update as well." That may have solved it, but it also am experiencing severely decreased fuel economy. It went from average high 30S to lower 40S to the lower 30S and upper 20S as of late. I was told they will look into it when I bring it in for the next oil change....

- Texas, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #88

Jul 292011


  • 72,000 miles
Owner of an 2009 VW Jetta tdi, which after being towed to the dealer was told the hpfp failed due to contaminated diesel fuel. After looking at forums and research on the internet, I found this to be recurring issue on this model. I have used the same fueling station (shell) and the same diesel pump for the year and a half, and getting statements for the prior of that time from my fuel card mailed to me. On July 29, I was driving on a secondary road, when without notice, my car stalled and lost all power, and never restarted. I had the car towed to the dealer that I had purchased it, and take to do my scheduled maintenance, and received the news of the fuel pump issue on the following Monday. I was told that he dealer has contacted the regional VW office, but I have not heard any response. I also called the VW advocate on Aug. 5, and was told given a case number and was told that a case manager would be calling me or about Aug. 8, and today, Aug. 8, I read on the internet that there is another investigation into VW tdi's and I'm growing concern on this issue. I was told that my repairs would cost about $9000, which is half of what I paid for the car, and was told that there was no guarantee it would happen in the future, which makes me unhappy with VW, I believe that VW needs to address this issue.

- Thurmont, MD, USA

problem #87

Jul 212011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 21,940 miles


My 2009 VW tdi sportwagen with less than 22,000 miles lost power and stalled as I pulled into a busy intersection. Dashboard display showed "engine fault workshop." I attempted to restart engine. The engine ran a few seconds and stalled again with same display warning. I coasted off the roadway. The vehicle would then not restart at all. My vehicle was towed to dealer next day where they determined that my hpfp (high pressure fuel pump) had disintegrated and contaminated the entire fuel system. Dealer tried to say my diesel fuel was contaminated by gasoline. I personally fuel the car each time from a local diesel station which is owned and operated by a diesel enthusiast family. They do not even have a gasoline pump on site! VW agreed to fix the car under warranty but stated the estimate for the job would run between $7000 - $10,000 if not covered. The vehicle has been in the shop for 15 days so far and is not yet repaired. A call to Volkswagen of America revealed that they are aware of numerous incidents of this nature in their new clean diesel vehicles, but that they are blaming the problem on the low quality of the U S fuel supply with respect to poor lubricity. They stated they are replacing my fuel pump with the same part number as the original. They have refused to recall the car so far or extend the warranty on the replacement components.

- Clark, NJ, USA

problem #86

Jul 242011


  • 45,000 miles
Car lost engine power when one cruise control on the interstate. Luckily it wasn't busy at the time. Had to slowly coast off the side of the road without power to the engine. Wouldn't restart after.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #85

Jun 302011


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 to 10 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the high pressure fuel pump failed, allowing metal to penetrate the fuel system. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 75,000.

- Nacogdoches, TX, USA

problem #84

Jun 012011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 44,300 miles
Car failed to start at home on June 1, 2011 at about 44.3K miles. High pressure fuel pump (hpfp) failed and replaced by dealer on June 10, 2011. I'm aware of the ongoing engineering analysis phase of the NHTSA investigation of failures of the hpfp. Had my car started, it likely would have stalled on the highway (like many others) and at minimum left me stranded and possibly caused an accident. I put every drop of ulsd in the tank (not a misfuel) and have receipts showing such starting at about 20K miles. At about 26K miles my fuel filter had shiny visible metal specks on top (likely aluminum from the hpfp) and what looked like a coating of "dust" on the top of the filter. Dealer did the 20K fuel filter replacement and I inspected my fuel filter for contamination at about 22K miles and the fuel filter top was pristine. So, the shiny specks developed between 26K and 22K miles. At 26K, the dealer replaced fuel filter and cleaned fuel filter canister, inspected metering valve and fuel tank for contamination. Dealer found a few specks in the tank. At 40K miles I replaced my fuel filter as part of routine maintenance and there were still some visible specks but not the "dust" coating. I cut open a small section of the filter (about 2 inches by 6 inches) and found several visible specks. What I don't know is if the specks were remnants from the 26K mile incident or continual wearing of the hpfp which led to failure on June 1.

- Florence, AZ, USA

problem #83

Jun 022011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles


1. the car's glow plug light started flashing and the car lost power and stalled. 2. the car stopped running suddenly. Per the dealer, it was caused by the fuel pump exploding. 3. the entire fuel system, including the tank, was replaced by the dealer.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #82

Jun 122011


  • 21,436 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta wagon tdi. The contact was driving 28 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and the manufacturer was later contacted via email. The contact was still awaiting a response. The contact performed a diagnostic test on the vehicle which confirmed a faulty high pressure fuel pump failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 21,436.

- Wheeling , WV, USA

problem #81

Jun 032011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 50,700 miles
I purchased a certified 2009 VW Jetta tdi on 5/5/2011. On 6/3/2011 I had a intermittent ck engine light. Found it to be fuel delivery related. Ck of fuel filter found alot of fine metallic shavings present, I requested maintenance history and found this vehicle had a hpfp failure in the past at 43366 miles it currently has 50700 miles. This vehicle has a long hesitation to engage in drive and reverse, also had a megatronic unit failure. All filters were reported replaced at 49,129 I left it on the lot and bought a 2011 model. I have a hard time believing the dealer was not unloading this car..and told me it would be re-certified and sold again on their lot. I had it for one month and lost 2000 dollars on it.

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #80

May 212011


  • miles
Check engine light on and glow plug light flashes. There is a flutter in engine RPM. Also there are metal shavings in fuel filter. The dealer "dean mccrary VW" said car needed exhaust temp senor and it did fix lights that were coming on. As far as metal in the fuel they told me they didn't see any just to keep driving it until there was a problem"??. I have a jar of the fuel that came out of the fuel filter! obviously there was some sort of issue metal shavings in fuel filter cannot be normal. Obviously there was not going to be metal in fuel filter at this point because I have cleaned it before brought into the shop. But I told them it was full of metal and I had a sample of fuel they could look at. They just said keep driving it and wait until something happens" I believe they have a fuel pump problem I don't understand why I shouldn't go ahead and replace the fuel pump if its pumping metal into my fuel system.

- Perkinston, MS, USA

problem #79

May 122011


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta diesel tdi. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled with the illumination of a warning light. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle and it was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they advised him that the fuel was contaminated. The vehicle was repaired for the entire fuel system. The failure and current mileage was approximately 45,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Bartlett, IL, USA

problem #78

Apr 252011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 68,000 miles
My 2009 Jetta tdi engine started running rough when I pushed the clutch in while turning into a parking lot 3 weeks ago. I coasted to a parking spot and turned off the ignition. I started the car back up immediately to see if it was going to be ok and it sounded good so I shut it off. When I returned about 45 minutes later, the car started but sounded like it was running on only one or two cylinders and then died. I called a tow truck and it would not start at all when he arrived. The dealer asked if I had ever run gasoline through it. I said 'no, why would I do that"' he said that the entire fuel system needed to be replaced and that VW would pay for this 'one time' even though the warranty has run out. Well, if they are at fault this time, they will be at fault the next time too. My concern is the next time. I drive on a 70 mph interstate 90 miles round trip to work 5 days a week. What are the chances that I will be lucky enough that it did not happen in traffic at that speed the first time and just where will I be when it happens again? if they are replacing this shredded high pressure fuel pump with the same model made of the same materials, it will happen again. Is there ethanol being put into diesel in this country? what about the additives to diesel that are necessary for lubricity that are put in by the different companies? is one or more types of these the culprit" this problem is all over the internet and I hope that VW can come up with a permanent solution before someone is seriously injured - if it hasn't happened already. Meanwhile - still waiting for my car to be returned to me.

- Ravenswood, WV, USA

problem #77

Feb 012011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 51,740 miles
I was driving the vehicle and it suddenly started to lose power and within seconds stopped completely. The vehicle failed to start so I had it towed to a repair shop. On inspection the mechanic found metal shavings throughout the fuel system including the fuel injectors. On further inspection in was discovered that the high pressure fuel pump (hpfp) had fell apart internally sending metal bits all throughout the fuel system causing the vehicle to shutdown. The entire fuel system was replaced including the three fuel pumps(one in the fuel tank, and the others at the engine compartment including the hpfp), fuel lines, injectors, fuel rail, fuel filters, and all the sensors in the fuel system. Basically anywhere the fuel flowed through had to be replaced. The fuel tank was not replaced but thoroughly cleaned. All the old parts are in my possession and show the ground up metal throughout.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #76

Apr 222011


  • 45,563 miles
My Jetta has been stumbling every once in awhile for quite some time now. Just a couple days ago it has begun stalling altogether and I do not know what the cause is yet. Basically when I get to a cruising speed or am slowing down slightly where I still have my foot on the gas pedal but am slowing down slowly, the car all of a sudden loses all power and when I step on the pedal more nothing happens. I take it off and after a second or so I step on it again and the car finally accelerates. I am taking it into the shop today to be diagnosed.

- Cheney, WA, USA

problem #75

Feb 012011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Automobile stalling, rough running, loss of power, hard start. Happens all the time with temperature's above 40 degrees F. happened from the day I took it off the lot. Have had it in to VW multiple times, computer "re-flashed" nobody knows what is going on. From what I read on tdi forum's it could be the hpfp high pressure fuel pump, or something in the emissions that just is not right. This is very dangerous because I have had the stall happen on the highway. The ntsb needs to go after VW asap to get a recall on these vehicles, if the hpfp fails it is a 10K fix, that is 50% of the value of the car, unacceptable.

- Lake Forest, IL, USA

problem #74

Apr 022011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Today is April 2, 2011. I was driving my 2009 Jetta tdi on the highway where my engine died on me right before my coil light went off while doing 60+ miles. I had my car towed to the VW dealership in stratford ct. While waiting I started to look up any information on issues related to mine because my car turned only 2 years old March 15 2011. I had heard on the radio on car talk that tdi were shutting down on the highways and that it was being looked into by the NHTSA. I also read dozens of other stories online with related issues which in the end cost them a few thousand to ten thousand to fix on relatively new car. I have read it is due to hpfp needing to be replaced which was damaged when fueled up with incorrect fuel. Basically VW is saying that metal particulates are in the fuel filters and system due to putting gas instead of diesel. They are telling this supposed catch all to everyone with this issue. I have never put anything other than diesel into my car. The warranty is only good up to 50K. I am at 54K. This is an on going issue for Jetta tdi owners and will continue to be an issue when the mileage climbs. This is also a safety issue that I take personally due to a child being in the car at the time of the break down in the middle of the highway. I wanted to write in concern for my own issues with this and other ct Jetta tdi owners of ct/usa. I don't know if you can help but I wanted to try. Thank you very much for your time.

- Stratford, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?