10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,549 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Aug 072013

Jetta

  • 53,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2010 Jetta used in June 2013. A month after I purchased it, I noticed the A/C was not working. I returned it to the dealer and they confirmed that the A/C compressor wasn't working. They installed a new one and I didn't have a problem until 8/7/13. I went out to start my car and noticed I had a light on my dashboard. I got out of the car and noticed my right front passenger side headlight out. I walked around and noticed the drivers side rear tail light was also out. I got home and when I shut the car off and turned it back on, the light on the dash was out, and all my exterior lights were working. It was around this time I noticed a burning smell whenever I exited the car, but I couldn't' pinpoint where it was coming from. I didn't have another issue until 10/25/14 when I was visiting friends 30 miles away. I went to leave, and when I started my car I once again had the light on the dash, so I got out and noticed the same lights were once again out. I had to drive on the highway like this, but thankfully while I was driving they all came back on. The car was fine until 12/14/13 when I went out to start my car in the morning and once again the same lights were out. The last time I had an issue with this was 1/7/14, in the middle of a blizzard. I got out of work and started my car to clear snow off it, and everything was fine. It wasn't until I turned the headlights on that I noticed the light on the dash was on indicating I had a light out somewhere. I got out and noticed that in addition to the same headlight and tail light being out, the license plate lights were also out. By the time I could get in the car they were all working again. I took it to the dealership and they confirmed the 30 amp fuse had overheated and caused the fusebox to melt (hence the burning smell). $500 later my car is hopefully fixed. Thankfully the car didn't burn to the ground.

- Sagamore Beach, MA, USA

problem #42

Apr 182011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 18,458 miles
We have owned this 2010 Jetta sportwagen tdi since brand new. Today 1/28/14 is the fourth time we have had to replace the lock mechanism on one of the doors. Part numbers 3B4-839-016-ap (left rear), 3B1-837-016-cg (right front) and 3B4-839-015-ap (right rear) have all been replaced at least once. Right rear latch has been replaced twice - only once under warranty. In looking on NHTSA web site there are 8 other reports of problems with latches in the 2010 Jetta. This is a serious safety concern because most of the reports (including mine) were for doors that would not unlock and doors that would not open no matter what the reporting party tried. Can you imagine if these latches failed in an accident and children sitting in the rear seats were trapped?

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #41

Oct 042013

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 47,700 miles
When making a left hand turn car stalls. Dash panel lights go out and battery warning light flashes and car shuts off. Car has to be completely stopped, ignition turned to the off position and put into park, before it can restart. Very dangerous when driving in high traffic areas. You don't have time to pull over. The car just dies!

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #40

Sep 012010

Jetta

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Remote control door locks. Since I purchased my 2010 VW Jetta tdi as a new vehicle, the remote control key has randomly not functioned properly to unlock the doors or trunk. The problem is not due to rfi. It can always be immediately corrected by using the manual key to unlock the vehicle, which seems to reset the locking system and allows the remote key to unlock the doors or trunk remotely. I have brought this to the attention of the dealer at every visit. The dealer has looked into it, been unable to replicate the problem, has reprogrammed the locks. It continues to be a random problem that I myself can't predict or replicate on demand, but want others to know about this annoyance.

- Aptos, CA, USA

problem #39

Jul 112013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 92,368 miles
While starting my car and getting ready for work I noticed I had a headlamp out. I thought I could drive to work safely so, I started my commute. However, on stopping to get coffee I noticed I had taillights out and upon further testing brake lights were failing to. I stopped at a autoparts store to replace the tail lights and noticed that I had lost the other headlamp and backup lights. I decided to park the car and call the dealership for advice. I had the car towed (to dangerous to drive) to the dealership and at that time it was diagnosed of having a burned fuse panel box. It was replaced for a total of $533.11 dollars. The reason I am reporting this is I read an article in my local newspaper (zanesville times recorder)about the same thing happening in VW tiguans. I wanted to bring to light that it is happening in VW Jetta's also. My car is a 2010 VW Jetta diesel. The high mileage is due to a 110 mile round trip daily commute. I have the burned fuse box panel in my possession if you would like it for inspection.

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #38

Nov 052013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 90,000 miles
The vehicle failed to start so it was jumpstarted with no problems then taken to get the battery tested. The battery, alternator, and starter all tested ok. Then warning lights indicating that the right headlamp and right rear taillamp illuminated then went out. Vehicle was driven to the dealer and they determined that a part of the fuse box had melted. Upon further inspection a 30amp fuse for the brake lights had melted into the fuse panel, but had not popped the fuse.

- Hobart, WA, USA

problem #37

Oct 142013

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 34,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Exterior lights on both sides of vehicle failed to operate in the dark. Entire fuse box had to be replaced (out of warranty) though VW did agree to pay for the part since the vehicle has not been out for too long.

- Dripping Springs , TX, USA

problem #36

Aug 012013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 61,000 miles
Driver side door will not unlock with the key fob or via button on drivers side door. Key in outside of lock will work. Intermittently, the rear driver's side door will not unlock at all and therefore won't open from inside or out. Dangerous if someone needs to exit the car. In doing a search online for a potential cause, I found large numbers of forum entries for similar complaints - seems to be a common problem in VW's.

- Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #35

Sep 062012

Jetta

  • 32,488 miles
Doors unlock with the keyless entry so I have to manually open the door from the inside- this seems like it is a safety hazard to me. I had three of the four door latches replaced (2 under warranty & 1 I had to pay for) and now the fourth door needs to be replaced. I will have to pay to get it replaced. It seems like this is a known problem why isn't the manufacture paying for it?

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #34

Aug 202013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 43,000 miles
The 2010 VW Jetta sportwagen tdi (with dsg automatic transmission) was decelerating on a turning lane from a two lane highway from speeds of 55 mph to 15 mph. There was an audible "click" and the engine stopped and only dash lights were operable. No discernible dash light or error code message was received. The vehicle restarted after the transmission was placed in park, and the ignition key was again turned on. Again no messages or warnings appeared on the dashboard. Note: The seat heater was engaged (driver's side), air conditioning on, turn signal (left) activated, headlights on, bluetooth for phone linked, radio was operating until the shut-down.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #33

Jul 222013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since the vehicle was purchased it has had rough acceleration and intermittent surging but just recently it has exhibited rough and no starts along with stalls which all seems to be due to an issue with the ECU losing diagnostic communication with the vehicle.

- Linden, MI, USA

problem #32

May 272013

Jetta

  • 58,000 miles
While on vacation and backing up in the hotel parking lot, braking, then putting it in drive, the car would stall out; it happened 3 times in one day. Luckily, I was only in a parking lot while it stalled out instead of in traffic, which could have been a big hazard. Went to the dealer, and they didn't know what is wrong.

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #31

May 272013

Jetta

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact started the vehicle and the instrument panel displayed an error message. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated the main computer cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #30

Feb 212013

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 117,936 miles
The vehicle had driven fine all day when all of a sudden when I pulled up to a stop sign, the car died like it was running out of gas. I was in the middle of a the road at the stop sign, the car managed to start again and drive another couple hundred feet to get it off to the side of the road. Luckily I made it just past a set of rail road tracks. The car did not start again and had to be towed. The vehicle had its entire fuel injection pump system replaced along with the sensors. Mechanics have told me that the pumps should last the life of the engine.

- San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012013

Jetta

  • 60,000 miles
VW Jetta tdi purchased in December 2009 in savannah, ga. The rear passenger door has had intermittent problems with the window bumping off the top when we attempt to close it. It then retracts to fully open. The main problem currently is the door lock on the same door. It will not lock under any type of attempt. I have tried the fob, the interior door lock on the driver door, and the lock on the door itself. I took it to the dealer who determined that I need a new lock assembly at the cost of $600. They later offered a reduced price of $491. Fortunately, I purchased a warranty when I bought the car and I only will be charged the $100 deductible. Thank goodness. The car has 60,000 miles on it and it seems a shame that the car is not safe at that minimal amount of miles.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #28

Jan 222013

Jetta

  • 59,500 miles
I was traveling up a mountain road when my car decided to turn off. I had to coast across incoming traffic to the turnout. I waited here until I was able to get my car started and was able to drive home. I made an appointment for the following day to have it checked out. I was told it was the engine speed sensor. The epc and engine light were going on intermittently. There was no reason that my car should have these problems not covered by warranty when it is only about 2 years old with less than 60,000 miles on it.

- Rosemead, CA, USA

problem #27

Dec 122012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 60,000 miles
I was driving on the highway doing about 55 miles an hour with full traffic and my Jetta sputtered and began to lose speed-quickly, I tried to accelerate by pressing gas pedal but nothing happened and I luckily coasted into store parking lot. I tried to restart it but it would not restart. I had it towed to VW dealership and they called me the next day to say it was the intercoolant system and it would be $1300. Very very lucky I was not hit.

- Tampico, IL, USA

problem #26

Nov 032012

Jetta

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the transmission overheat warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact moved off the roadway and restarted the vehicle, as it resumed properly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection where they advised the contact that the transmission needed to be replaced. The dealer also stated that while performing an inspection of the vehicle, he noticed that the wires that were connected to the alternator were burned and the fuse block needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Goodlettsville, TN, USA

problem #25

Nov 192012

Jetta

  • 49,800 miles
On Monday, 11-19, after work I noticed that the bulb indicator light was in on the dashboard. I got out and walked around the car to see what went out and could not find anything. After getting back in I saw that the light was off. The next day when my husband got in the car the same incident happened. Later that same day I drove the car and the light came on. As I turned into a fuel station the turn signal began to flash quickly (indicating the turn signal was out). After I refuel the lights all came back on. No problems were noticed until Thursday, 11-22, when my husband started the car and the indicator light was on and he got out to check and the passenger turn signals was out, along with the passenger headlight, and the whole driver side tail light assembly is out.

- Calhoun, GA, USA

problem #24

Aug 312012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 56,000 miles
The seal between the connectors and the drain hose for the sunroof drains leak (three of four connectors), allowing water to run down the both driver and passenger side A-pillars. This resulted in the airbag and its associated mounts/wiring and harness getting soaked. The water continued down the a pillars to collect in the front wheel wells. The path of the water was over/through the drivers side interior junction/fuze block. The rear drains also leak, causing intermittent electrical malfunctions. Note that this leak is not due to the drains being blocked. Rather the seals between the white plastic that connects to the drain and the brown drain hose is not complete. This allows water to drip down onto the frame. As much as 2-3 gallons of water could enter during a mild rain storm.

- Conover, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?