Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,136 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #9

Jan 192015

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 41,208 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the engine warning light previously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the engine warning light needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,208. Updated 4/30/15 updated 05/05/15

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #8

Apr 282012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owned a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The vehicle was parked when the contact noticed flames coming from under the hood area. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire. The manufacturer was contacted and sent an engineer to inspect the vehicle and determine a cause of failure. The engineer discovered that there were leaves in the engine, caused by rodent infestation, which resulted in the fire. The contact stated that prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired under a voluntary recall for the fuel system. The contact was concerned that the recall could have been related to the fire and did not agree with the engineer's findings. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 07/06/12 updated 07/16/12

- Marlborough, CT, USA

problem #7

Mar 172012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 34,034 miles
Ice in the air intake caused the engine to vapor lock which caused a bent piston rod. Dealer is going to remove the factory air intake after installing a new engine under warranty and claims this is an engineered fix. Dealer also said that Volkswagen is working on some heater add on in the possible future. I suspect that the current fix is not a fix as the trouble was not when driving it was after the car set for a few days and ice formed in the intake. NHTSA should investigate to confirm the engineering issue is addressed correctly to protect consumers.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #6

Aug 172011

Jetta

  • 31,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 tdi Jetta sportwagen stalled on deceleration lane, exiting highway.

- Cross Junction, VA, USA

problem #5

Mar 052010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 5,000 miles
The car chronically stalls in first or second gear in stop and go traffic, at very slow speeds or when coasting. When giving it gas and letting out the clutch, it just stalls with no warning. Have spoken with other Jetta tdi owners and they acknowledge same problem

- Cream Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #4

Mar 142011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,337 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that while driving through a traffic light the vehicle stalled. The contact tried to restart the vehicle for approximately five minutes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test and could not duplicate the failure. The contact stated that he refueled his vehicle prior to it stalling. There was a defect investigation opened on February 7, 2011 and was open when the complaint was filed for the fuel system, diesel, NHTSA action number: EA11003. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage 3,337. Updated 05/03/11 updated 08/05/11

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 022011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 25,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On a 40 degree day I drove the car about 1 mile. At a traffic light it stalled. I had to keep the car in park until the light changed, then I put it in drive. When the car was initially started it didn't seem right. It didn't seem to have power or pick up. I noticed the tachometer was quickly bouncing between 1800 RPM down to 400 RPM prior to stalling. Car had half a tank of diesel, outside weather conditions were dry. The consumer stated the stalling is still ongoing. The dealer believed the stalling was a result of different additives in the fuel between winter and summer. Updated 09/14/11

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #2

Apr 012010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that the vehicle lost power in third gear and when he attempted to merge into traffic, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure occurred intermittently. He was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer several times but the failure could not be diagnosed. The dealer replaced the fuel filter which did not correct the problem. The failure mileage was 0 and the current mileage was 20,000. Updated 03/16/11 the consumer stated the hesitation was frequent in 3rd gear during acceleration. Updated 10/12/11

- Seal Rock , OR, USA

problem #1

Oct 252010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 8,747 miles
I was driving on a secondary highway going only 30 mph when a warning light came on. At the same time the engine started running very rough. I immediately pulled the car to the side of the road. At the side of the road with the engine off, I pulled out the Jetta handbook to research the meaning of the warning light. The light blinking was the engine malfunction light. After that I called the VW 800 road side program, a tow truck came and towed the Jetta to the dealer. Now this morning I go to the dealership and they inform me the cost of getting this new car fixed will be $6,800. With that information I have to ask why and the dealership proceeds to say I have "bad fuel". the comment by the dealership triggered all types of responses. The first response was proof I put the right type of fuel in the tank which I did. Next I had to go and get a sample of fuel from the filling station. After that I delivered a sample of the fuel in question to the dealership for testing. As it turns out the fuel was okay. While I am running around doing all of this my wife finds out via the internet of issues the Jetta is having with the fuel pump. Keep in mind, at no point has the dealership given me information regarding a possible fuel pump issue, which would be a warranty issue, aka no cost to me! it is now 5:20 pm and I have not heard from the dealership. Now I have another issue, is the dealership trying to defraud me? and if so the dealership will have big problems.

- Ponchatoula, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?