Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,702 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Apr 052011

Jetta

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 VW sportwagen tdi 2.0 turbo, automatic. We had a major loss of power while driving at highway speed, glow plug light blinks, and flashing 'engine malfunction'. she pulled over safely and turned off. We had only 4000 miles on it. It started up after a few minutes. Called the local VW dealer and was told it must be a fluke. Told don't worry about it, drive it. If it happens again call them. It happened again, a few months latter with 8,000 miles on it. Again the wife is driving. It was not for the faint hearted when at highway speed the engine looses all power and cuts out with heavy traffic! lucky everyone beside and around us were alert! she pulled over safely. Same thing... lights blinking glow plugs and engine coded malfunction. Called local VW dealer, I told them they need to check it. Asked what was the problem" anyone else have this same problem? VW explanation...well there was none. They would not commit to anything! had to schedule an appointment...ended up it will be a week before they can look at it. It would take about 1-1/2 hours service time? I started to check the tdi blogs for this problem. I got an ear full! high pressure diesel fuel pump failure. Blogs have it at $9,000 to $10,000 repair cost? and may not be under VW warranty??? VW needs to do a recall" I see there are a lot of others out there like me. This is not safe.

- Lewisburg, PA, USA

problem #45

Mar 242011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 15,000 miles
2010 VW Jetta sportwagen tdi glow-plug light and check engine light begins blinking, loss of acceleration while driving. Took to dealer, turbo and exhaust sensor replaced and car returned to owner. Now, has been in many times for short hesitation and brief engine stoppage. Fuel filter replaced, all screen filters checked for metal, associated with pump failure, in tank pump replaced, and computer updates. Car is again back in owners hands and waiting to see if fixed. VW stated that vehicle will no longer be serviced for this on going problem until problem can be duplicated. This will be a challenge since it is a totally random event. I have seen in several forums that this problem can occur multiple times and has for owner. Possible high pressure fuel pump disintegration is suspected cause. In addition to the obvious safety issues associated with this sudden loss of power, I am concerned about future failure due to faulty fuel pumps (if that is the cause) and the $9,000 repair cost. And of course being stranded on the side of the road carries its own hazards.

- La Conner , WA, USA

problem #44

Dec 202010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
2010 Jetta sportwagen tdi; vehicle lost power but continued running. Dash warning lights(glow plug lamp flashing) were illuminated. Dealer stated fuel contamination. Fuel tests, by an actual fuel lab, show fuel in the system met all astm standards for diesel fuel oils. Premature failure of the materials which compose the fuel filter/ water separator housing were apparent however they were attributed to "water" in the fuel which is ironic being that it is a fuel filter/water separator. The hpfp ( high pressure fuel pump ) was most probably the root cause of the entire failure. VW's resolution was to involve my insurance as the method of payment to replace the entire fuel system(tank to injectors). I can not however use the insurance to complete this claim as it would be fraud knowing that the actual problem is the responsibility of Volkswagen.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #43

Oct 122010

Jetta

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3/23/11 I own a 2010 VW Jetta tdi with 6 speed manual transmission. It was purchased 9/15/11. I have been driving manual transmissions my entire driving life. When we first purchased it I knew there would be an adjustment as the gear box was much tighter than my CRV. Initially, I attributed the occasional stalling to my learning curve, as did my husband when he drove it. However, it became apparent that there was more to the story. It seems to stall often and the problem is becoming more frequent. It is not attributable to our driving habits. It suddenly stalls - it just stops, no jerking, nothing it just turns off. It seems to happen more often in the lower gears but it has happened in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd and it seems to be when turning left. It also happens when going slowly up an incline. And as I record the incidents it is often around 35mph. Otherwise it is random, unpredictable and intermittent. I cannot makeit happen. It, also, has a miss. As I am driving it will skip a beat, hesitate and then continue. It has nearly shut off but then continued. It has happened while my husband is driving as well. It has happened in traffic and on the highway. This problem is also, random, unpredictable and intermittent. I cannot make this happen either. I have had it into the dealership three times. The first two times they were unable to reproduce it, no surprise, and there were no codes. I kept a record of the occurrences and took it back. The dealership, again they could not reproduce it and we were told there were no codes. The operations manager told me they believed me but if they could not reproduce it and there were no codes they had no direction and could do nothing about it and could not open a case. This was not acceptable, they agreed to bring it back for 2 days so they could "put some miles on it". I reported this to VW of America and a casemanagement was opened on 3/22/11. It has been @ the dealership for 2 days I was informed today they will keep it for a.

- Gold Hill, OR, USA

problem #42

Mar 142011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,337 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that while driving through a traffic light the vehicle stalled. The contact tried to restart the vehicle for approximately five minutes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test and could not duplicate the failure. The contact stated that he refueled his vehicle prior to it stalling. There was a defect investigation opened on February 7, 2011 and was open when the complaint was filed for the fuel system, diesel, NHTSA action number: EA11003. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage 3,337. Updated 05/03/11 updated 08/05/11

- Winchester, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Mar 202011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 11,200 miles
My 2010 Volkswagen Jetta sportwagen has stalled two times since new. I am concerned it is the faulty fuel pump that you are investigating. I am stationed overseas with the us government in europe and have recently brought the car with us to denmark. It was purchased new in May 2010 from a pittsburgh, pa VW dealership. I am very concerned of a complete failure while driving at higher speeds. The car has only stalled while coming to a stop.

- Dpo, AE, USA

problem #40

Feb 042011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 12,759 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Jetta tdi Volkswagen had 12,759 miles on it and ran perfectly fine until all of a sudden while I was driving it on a trip it started to shake and rattle. Within less than a few minutes the car just stopped running while I was in the middle of the road and would not start again. I had to have it towed to a VW dealer. It was a total fuel pump failure; they found metal shavings in the filter housing and in the tank. VW replaced all fuel system components under warranty. VW claimed this only happens if gasoline is put in the diesel tank, but I never put gas in the tank and the dealer could not find any gas the system.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #39

Mar 062011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 15,800 miles
While driving down the road normally, I observed a diesel smell in the cabin and that the fuel gauge was falling faster than normal. Pulled into parking lot and turned off engine. Upon inspection, diesel smell pronounced by the hood area. Opened hood and smoke was coming from the engine block area at a moderate rate. Diesel was dripping on the inside of the right front tire. Diesel continued leaking for one hour. At this time, I felt it was a safety hazard to attempt to drive the car any further. I contacted VW roadside assistance and the car was towed to a VW dealer. I did not have a chance to observe if the diesel leak had stopped. Furthermore, the car had been fueled from an empty tank to about half a tank before this trip (according to fuel gauge). This trip was approximately 30 miles highway driving. The fuel tank capacity of this car is 13 gallons and the average economy over this trip was recorded as 35.7 mpg. When the car was shut off, the gauge read approximately 1/4 full. This suggests that the car was leaking several gallons of diesel per hour. The car was bought in May 2010 (this complaint is written on March 6, 2011) new with 11 miles on it. Was serviced on October 2011 as per owners manual. No damage or other issues to the car. No severe service. Mainly used to commute to and from work and run errands.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #38

Mar 022011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 25,100 miles
On a 40 degree day I drove the car about 1 mile. At a traffic light it stalled. I had to keep the car in park until the light changed, then I put it in drive. When the car was initially started it didn't seem right. It didn't seem to have power or pick up. I noticed the tachometer was quickly bouncing between 1800 RPM down to 400 RPM prior to stalling. Car had half a tank of diesel, outside weather conditions were dry. The consumer stated the stalling is still ongoing. The dealer believed the stalling was a result of different additives in the fuel between winter and summer. Updated 09/14/11

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #37

May 192010

Jetta

  • 2 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that the vehicle began to accelerate then stall when the accelerator pedal was engaged. The dealer inspected the vehicle for four days and stated that was how the vehicle was designed to control the emission system. The failure mileage was 2 and the current mileage was 12,800. Updated 03/22/11 updated 1/4/11

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #36

Feb 062011

Jetta

  • 13,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact was driving 70 mph when the glow plug lamp illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who advised that they would need to replace the number 2 injector and the wiring harness. The manufacturer was not contacted in regards to the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 13,800 and the current mileage was 13,900.

- Sparta , NJ, USA

problem #35

Feb 012011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact was driving approximately 25 to 30 mph when the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle began to lose power abnormally. The contact was able to restart the vehicle within a few minutes. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and they advised him that he was using regular gasoline as opposed to diesel, which was causing the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 16,000. Updated 3/14/11 updated 04/25/11

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #34

Feb 032011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 9,450 miles
Fuel pump failure causing the vehicle to quit running and not restart. Vehicle is only 5 months old with less than 10,000 miles. Seems like a serious design flaw that could cause an accident.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #33

Feb 142011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 9,915 miles
On 2/14/11, while driving downhill in commuter traffic at about 30 mph, my 2010 VW sportwagon tdi stalled for no apparent reason and failed to restart. I was able to pull off the road and, after a short wait, the engine restarted. At first it idled very roughly at 800 RPM, but eventually the idle smoothed at 1,000 RPM, and I was able to proceed to work. My vehicle has less than 10,000 miles on it and was just serviced by VW three weeks ago. I report this because I just saw this weekend an article on bloomberg about VW diesel engines having fuel pump problems. This is the only stalling episode I have experienced with this vehicle to date.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #32

Jan 152011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,233 miles
My 2010 VW Jetta tdi with automatic transmission has stalled on numerous occasions when depressing the accelerator pedal nearly to the floor, so as to pass or pull a steep hill. When this happens I immediately let off the pedal and the engine revives, but will not accept further full-throttle inputs.

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #31

Feb 112011

Jetta

  • 11,000 miles
Traveling through parking lot at approximately 5 mph, the engine suddenly turned off. Applied brake, put the automatic transmission in park and restarted vehicle. Event occurred (only time) 02-11-2011 and vehicle was purchased new in April of 2010. No incident or collision occurred due to extremely low speed. So far, nothing done to correct the failure (as it happened last night). Dealer notified 02-12-2011.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #30

Jun 012010

Jetta

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I have a 2010 Jetta sportwagen tdi manual transmission. I purchased new in February 2010. I am not sure of the dates but the vehicle has stalled or just turned off twice since I have owned it while driving around town. It did start back up as soon as I turned it completely off and back on. I didn't think it was a major deal the first time it happened and that I may have just stalled it. When it happened the second time I questioned the dealer. They said unless they could get it to replicate the problem, they didn't know. The other issue that I believe may be related happens all the time. Under normal driving which happens atleast every day I have a blip in the throttle. It almost feels like there is an air pocket in the fuel that is like a hiccup under throttle. It is random but as I said happens atleast once a day. The dealer has done nothing about these issues because they cannot replicate the issue.

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 282011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 3,021 miles
2010 Jetta tdi sportwagon stalling when idling at stop light no check engine light appears. Has happened twice in 3000 miles.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 212011

Jetta

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact stated that the engine stalled while driving approximately 45 mph. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that the failure was caused by fuel contamination. The metal pieces in the fuel system caused the engine to stall. The dealer stated that the fuel system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure and current mileages were 24,000.

- Sugarland , TX, USA

problem #27

Jan 072010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 18,579 miles
Had Volkswagen 2010 Jetta tdi serviced at Volkswagen dealer for 20,000 mile service, which includes fuel filter replacement. 2 days later, smelled diesel fumes in garage. Opened hood and saw diesel fuel leaking from fuel filter. (was not sure if it was spilled during change by dealer) went to independent garage and was told it is leaking and not to drive the car: Potential fire hazard if diesel gets on manifold. I've read similar drivers complaint (s) where 2009 Jetta tdi has fuel pump failure possibly after this service and they also had the diesel fuel leaking after 20K service. Mine is a 2010 Jetta tdi. I won't know if this is an error or omission on the part of the dealer or if the repairs were done correct and it's a defect with the car. Regardless, someone could have seriously injured, possibly killed and/or property damage.

- Roseville, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?