If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,578 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #142

Jan 022014

Jetta

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car broke down on highway. Towed to dealer and we were told there were metal shavings throughout fuel system and that it would cost $6000 to repair. We noticed that NHTSA has an open investigation (EA11003) for this exact problem. Link: www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/cars/problems/defect/defectsummary2.cfm?inv_id=20944&type=vehicle&typenum=1&cmpt_id=158&prod_id=728769&make=Volkswagen&model=Jetta%20sportwagen&model_yr=2010 thank you.

- Wrentham, MA, USA

problem #141

Dec 302013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 26,500 miles
2010 Jetta sedan tdi --> fuel leak --> day prior ran normal. Went to start and did not start. Thought was the battery. Charged emergency starter for 4hr and attempted again with no avail. Called a friend who is a diesel mechanic to help start it. Hooked to his truck and still no start. I noticed wet underneath the front passenger wheel and thought nothing of it since it was parked on the street, so water possibly. It started to snow. Went and purchased a new battery. Installed the battery, after battery install still did not start. Attempted 2 more times. Since it was not the battery he began to look elsewhere while I attempted to start and yelled at me to stop. I go to the front of the auto and he shows me where the diesel is pulsating out and that is why it is not starting, it is not getting to the engine. I then look around the car and with the snow, I then notice a long green path of diesel fuel along the road. I called VW, paid the 84$ to tow to VW dealer and they could not look at it until a week later. My concern is the gas leak. I should technically have over 54K on the vehicle, I am not even close to those others for sale on the market. I am not upset since no bodily harm was done, however the leak is in great amount. I do recall a couple of days earlier that I was going through gas quicker. I fill 1X a month, with 4 days I was through a quarter of a tank but it did not click. This is me notifying you of my gas leak. The car never started and there was no fire but there is concern due to the leak. My mechanic friend stated that he had no idea what the part was called that was shooting out the fuel and to take to a authorized VW dealer which I did. I still have 5 days till they can even look at my car.

- Silvis, IL, USA

problem #140

Nov 242013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 52,000 miles
Driving at about 40 mph with about 1/4 tank of gas when car started to sputter and run rough. The glow plug indicator light began flashing and I pulled into a nearby parking lot where I shut the car off. I restarted the car and pulled out of the parking lot but car immediately began to run rough and lose power again so I pulled into a gas station lot where the car refused to restart. Called a tow truck and got car towed to autobarn in countryside (where I bought the car). Tried to restart car again at dealership and noticed the fuel gage was reading "empty", meaning fuel had leaked out since the car died. Dealer called me the next day saying my high pressure fuel pump had failed and my entire fuel system from the gas tank on up to the injectors had to be replaced. Was covered under warranty and dealer was very helpful and did the job in four days, during T-giving week, which I was very satisfied with. I always get my diesel at bp amoco's or mobiles and make sure to use heavily trafficked station to have the best chance of getting fresh fuel. I am not comfortable driving the car and have considered trading it in due to VW corporate's seeming indifference to the problem, which is well documented online and there are many many cases similar to mine. Shortly after I bought the car I noticed that all the fuel stations in my area went from 5% biodiesel to 20% biodiesel. I asked the dealer at the time about it because the owners manual states VW will not warranty the car if anything more than 5% biodiesel is used. The dealer said VW would warrant it and a written statement from VW came in the mail shortly thereafter. I can't help but wonder if the higher biodiesel percentage led to the failure.

- Westchester, IL, USA

problem #139

Dec 142013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle: 2010 VW Jetta tdi (diesel) entered highway and accelerated up to approx 40 mph then vehicle started to stall. A loud rattling noise was heard then "check engine light" came on. We immediately pulled over to shoulder and turned engine off. (engine did not stall out/off by itself, we turned engine off after pulling over) attempts to re-start engine failed. Starter would turn engine over but it would not start up. Subsequently we used a diagnostic code tool which indicated that there was a problem with fuel pressure. We had 1/2 tank of diesel so we did not run out of fuel. Battery was strong enough to turn over engine and all electrical systems still worked. We believe this maybe an issue with the fuel pump failing.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #138

Dec 122013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 57,000 miles
I drive a 2010 VW Jetta sportwagen tdi and two days ago, while driving ~75 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost power. I was on a highway and this put my life in great danger. Fortunately, I was able to get the car safely to service. They said I had used bad diesel. They flushed the fuel and changed the fuel filter and charged me $700. The next day, the same thing happened on the highway. I lost power and again my life was in great danger. Twice, my VW let me down...nearly gravely! sadly, the drama continues. The car is now at a new repair shop. Neither repair shop know what the problem is. But from a simple internet search, I have found the problem: This is a recurring problem with this model. This is very clearly related to NHTSA campaign id number: EA11003.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #137

Dec 052013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 58,156 miles
Upon starting the vehicle today (December 5, 2013), at +15 deg F (morning low was -22 F), the glow plug light began blinking and a warning bell rang, signifying "check engine". the engine started immediately and continued to run but had no power above 2,000 RPM. This is the second (apparent) high pressure fuel pump failure on this vehicle, the first occurring on August 20, 2013 at ~55,000 miles, at highway speed, with the same loss of power symptom and "check engine" indication. That incident was luckily within ten miles of the dealership and I was able to drive the car to the dealer. The dealer determined that the fuel was not contaminated and that the fuel pump had failed and then replaced it under the original power train warranty. Prior to that first failure the car was experiencing slight 'missing' during acceleration or steady speed in the 2100-2500 RPM band. The same missing was occurring soon after the fuel pump replacement, prior to the current failure. I am the only person that has ever fueled the vehicle and there is 0% chance that the fuel currently (or ever) in the vehicle contained any gasoline or biodiesel, unless a gas station was selling contaminated fuel. The dealer also installed the preventive filler receptacle that does not allow a gas hose nozzle soon after the first fuel pump was replaced, during a normal oil change servicing. As of this writing, on the afternoon of December 5, 2013, the dealer's service agent has requested that I drive approximately 220 miles over a high mountain pass, to deliver the car for diagnosis and repair.

- Silverton, CO, USA

problem #136

Nov 272013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car lost power but did not die completely. Limped to dealer and was initially told there was water in the diesel fuel, three days later it was called just 'contamination' (not further identified) that necessitated a completed fuel system replacement. Total cost $6300 - $8500 depending on whether the fuel tank needs to be replaced. Dealer confirmed that fuel pump failure could also cause fuel system contamination and since the fuel pump is considered part of the drive train (warranty - wise) it is covered for 50,000 miles.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #135

Nov 112013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 123,687 miles
At highway speed, 55 mph, there was a loud clunk and the engine shut off. I coasted to the shoulder and could not get the car to restart. I was towed to the dealer and was told the following: Injectors 3 & 4 were malfunctioning and needed to be replaced. History: 1 month ago the glow plug warning light began to come on intermittently. I took the car to the dealer for service, they read the codes and switched the #2 & #3 glow plugs to decide if it was the harness or the glow plugs themselves. After a few more weeks the light was on continuously and my wife had the car go clunk and die on the freeway. She got it to restart after a few minutes and we headed directly to the dealership for the replacement glow plugs. The dealer replaced all 4 glow plugs. Yesterday, the clunk happened again and we are now back at the dealer deciding what to do. The dealer says replace all 4 injectors and that should fix the problem. I say how do we check the high pressure fuel pump as that is likely the real problem.

- Hood River, OR, USA

problem #134

Oct 252010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,550 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 80 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was found that the fuel pumps had failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available. The VIN was unavailable...updated 12-05-13

- Channahon, IL, USA

problem #133

Oct 042013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 57,997 miles
On Oct. 4, 2013 the high pressure fuel pump failed while I was driving. The glow plug light started to blink, I started to pull over planning to shut the car off and restart it to see if the light went off. Before I got pulled over the engine died and would not restart. It had to be towed to the dealership. It could have been a very dangerous situation had I been driving in high speed traffic on the freeway. The high pressure fuel pump failure sent metal shavings through out the entire fuel system. All pumps, injectors, fuel rails, filters, lines all had to be replaced. The fuel tank had to be cleaned and lines all flushed. Thankfully it was covered by VW 60000 mile powertrain warranty. I have read about a lot of other people who have had this happen. It is very dangerous when your car just dies going down the road and will not restart.

- Saint Croix, IN, USA

problem #132

Oct 022013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 51,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While I was driving, I heard a loud whining sound coming from the engine compartment. The sound was directly related to my depressing the accelerator. I pulled over and was unable to see a problem with belt or oil level. I resumed driving to recreate the sound and noticed the vehicle was sluggish and unresponsive in terms of acceleration. While I was traveling at approximately 65-70 miles per hour, the vehicle jerked and seemed to lose power. I was in heavy traffic at the time in the number one lane and noticed that the engine had completely stalled. Multiple vehicles had to make evasive maneuvers as I drove to the closest shoulder of the road. I was unable to start the vehicle again once I pulled to the side of the road. This is major issue in the design of the high pressure fuel pump and poses a safety risk to those driving gut vehicles at speed.

- Sherwood Forest, CA, USA

problem #131

Sep 252013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 91,000 miles
Owned my 2010 VW Jetta sport wagon tdi 6sp man since new. It has always had an interment cough & sputter that would happen at any speed or condition, but was very infrequent an non-repeatable. Now however, starting at around 85,000 miles, the cough and stall has become more frequent, causes the glow plug indicator light to flash and the vehicle loses power (goes into limp mode?). this used to all reset when turning off the key. The last time I brought it to the dealer, parr imports in bremerton wa, at 89,802 miles it had P0322 & P0651 fault codes. They suspected an intermittent crank sensor fault and wanted me to monitor. It has progressively gotten much worse, I have now lost power in heavy traffic and stalled in the parking lot pulling onto the road and have had to switch vehicles when it would not reset leaving the house. I was compelled to buy the torque application for my android phone to view and reset fault codes. I have not reset the ECU faults at least 4 maybe 6 times and now, at around 92,000 miles, it shows 5 codes and won't reset: P0322: Ignition/distributor engine speed input circuit no signal, P2127: Throttle/pedal position sensor/switch E circuit low input, P0193: Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit high input, P0651: Unknown code - more information may be available on the web, P0300: Random/multiple cylinder misfire detected. My internet research suggest the high pressure fuel pump (hpfp) may be an issue with VW blaming it on gasoline contamination, however I have records and receipts confirming I always fuel with diesel from a major distributor.

- Shelton, WA, USA

problem #130

Sep 132013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 67,000 miles
After normal refueling (with diesel, 100% confident based on the station and location of the pump), within two days we took a small 100 mile trip. 40 miles into the trip failure resulted and the engine began to stall at normal highway speeds (70-75mph). Not knowing the nature of the failure we were able to limp along until we reached safety and were in a location where we had assistance if needed from family and friends. We towed the car back home ($250), and when the dealer opened up on Monday we were told what the issue was. Doing some research we found many, many other people with the same scenario as found in NHTSA investigation EA11003. Our vehicle just expired its normal warranty (67,000 miles) and the 2010 only came with 60,000 mile warranty vs. The current 100,000 mile warranty. This issue appears to be entirely a design flaw and a known issue. We love the car, and it has been the best car we have every owned up until this point. I hope that Volkswagen assumes responsibility and keeps a lifetime customer.

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #129

Sep 082013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 74,000 miles
After a long drive (about 300 miles) and dinner, I was pulling out of the parking spot and suddenly the glow plug light came on and a notice for the check engine light then the car stalled. I tried starting it and it ran about 1 minute then stalled again. I started it a third time and managed to get the car about 100 feet before it stalled. I could not restart. Had it towed to the dealership. The high pressure fuel pump was gone and associated damage done to the tune of about $6000. Am currently requesting that the repairs be paid for by VW. I always use diesel fuel and never put any gasoline in my car and can back this up with documentation. I filled up the tank about 70 miles up the road and there's no way it could have run that far on gas. I've owned diesel cars for most of my driving life. I am lucky this didn't happen on the freeway or remote location.

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #128

Aug 152013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 72,000 miles
This is a turbodiesel (tdi) sportwagen model. Driving at night on 2 lane county road suddenly lost power, stalled in traffic lane and would not restart.check engine light came on when it stalled. No prior warning of problem. Local service found metal particles from internal failure of high pressure fuel pump. Vehicle will have to be towed 50 miles or more for evaluation by Volkswagen. Estimated repair cost $3,000 to $4000 to clean or replace contaminated components. Note: Appears to relate to NHTSA EA11003.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #127

Aug 212013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 93,917 miles
While driving on the freeway at about 75mph the vehicle suddenly lost power and was difficult to get it to stay at 20mph while attempting to change lanes and get to the side of the freeway. Once safely off to the side of the road the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to closest VW dealer and although it is 60K miles out of warranty VW covered the repair.... "found low fuel system pressure stored in ECM and metal in fuel metering valve. Replaced fuel system and clean fuel return & supply lines. Drain fuel and replaced fuel pump due to excessive metal in..."

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #126

Aug 202013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 43,000 miles
The 2010 VW Jetta sportwagen tdi (with dsg automatic transmission) was decelerating on a turning lane from a two lane highway from speeds of 55 mph to 15 mph. There was an audible "click" and the engine stopped and only dash lights were operable. No discernible dash light or error code message was received. The vehicle restarted after the transmission was placed in park, and the ignition key was again turned on. Again no messages or warnings appeared on the dashboard. Note: The seat heater was engaged (driver's side), air conditioning on, turn signal (left) activated, headlights on, bluetooth for phone linked, radio was operating until the shut-down.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #125

Aug 152013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 117,000 miles
2010 VW tdi Jetta : I own a 2010 VW tdi Jetta I smelled diesel fuel coming into my car (the car at the time had 117,000 miles). Also, I noticed diesel fuel dripping on my driveway also on the back of my car. The car had fuel running on the exhaust system I reported the incident to the dealer, where they advised that two fuel injectors needed to be replaced due to the fact of the injectors spraying fuel on to all engine area at a cost of $1300. They replaced two of the injectors. The smell continued until I instructed them to order a new hood insulator cover and engine cover (both were saturated with diesel. My car was at the dealer for close to two weeks between all four visits. My concern is that the other injectors have the same issue and this will occur again along with a fire at some point.

- Greenville, PA, USA

problem #124

Aug 072013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 53,000 miles
VW Jetta sportswagen tdi 2010 53,000 miles. On Aug 7, 2013 at approximately 16:20, while stopped at a traffic signal, engine begins to run slightly roughly, but not sufficient to be of concern. Accelerate from traffic signal towards onramp to I195. Suddenly engine dies (before onramp). Coast car into parking lot at side of road. Total time from beginning of rough idle to engine shutdown was about 10-15 seconds. Had failure occurred on interstate I195 or I95 during rush hour, this would have been a dangerous condition -- possible stranding of car in a travel lane or dangerous crossing in front of faster moving traffic to reach shoulder. Called for tow and car towed at about 19:00 to VW dealer - West broad Volkswagen in richmond va. Dealership is closed so leave car at dealer. Spouse drives from home about 100 miles to pick me up. Reach home by 23:30. On Aug 8 dealer diagnoses as a failed high pressure fuel pump (tdi diesel engine) with metal particles throughout the fuel system. Vwoa tech line indicates that entire fuel system needs to be replaced. Car is out of warranty, but dealer asks vwoa to cover part or all of cost. On Aug 9 vwoa approves repair and agrees to pay in full. Work completed on Aug 12.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #123

Aug 062013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 90,000 miles
Car was stopped at a red light, when light changed to green I let out on the clutch and the motor died and wouldn't start. After getting the car out of the middle of the road during rush hour got it towed to dealership. Dealership found metal in fuel system from failed hpfp.

- Leander, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?