Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Digging through the long list of NHTSA complaints about a sudden loss of engine power and the high pressure fuel pump failing, it's never good to come across the "my car (with a cold engine) set itself on fire in the middle of the night" complaint.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,981 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #62

Jul 282016

Jetta

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the car to work last Thursday (07/28/16) the car stalled and rolled to a stop. I had it towed to my mechanic and he indicated that the fuel pump and possibly the injectors need to be replaced. The car had just under 1/4 tank of diesel fuel at the time. There were no error lights or other indication of failure. The vehicle is still at the mechanic, he indicated that the parts are $900 and labor will be additional. Depending on what he finds as he does the repair. He indicated that the injectors may be damaged which would add an additional $1000 for parts plus labor. I didn't take the car to VW because I don't trust them. The ac failed last month and they wanted $1900 for the repair, I brought it to my mechanic and had it repaired for $800. They billed me $200 to tell me the ac was bad. The car currently has 40,000 mile on it. I don't have the repair invoices at this time. Up to the time of the ac failure all work has been completed by VW.

- North Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #61

Apr 202016

Jetta

  • 121,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the glow plug indicator light starts flashing with a lose of power. The vehicle stalls but luckily while exiting freeway. The Jetta was towed to dealer where it was determined hpfp failure and the whole fuel system needs to be replaced. The car was not fixed ($6000) as it was past the warranty by 1000 miles.

- Alpine, CA, USA

problem #60

Dec 232015

Jetta

  • 77,000 miles
High pressure fuel pump failed containated the fuel system with metal particles well I was on vacation on five lane freeway just South of pasadena highway 5 fall left lane just stopped running almost accident trying to cross four lanes with no power.

- Rio Dell, CA, USA

problem #59

Jul 162015

Jetta

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

High pressure fuel pump failure July 2015, was driving at highway speed when glow plug indicator started flashing, pulled off highway and car stalled in highway off-ramp intersection. Pushed car out of intersection to side shoulder. Car towed to fox VW of rochester hills mi. VW authorized warranty claim on replacement of entire fuel system. Repair was completed and car returned. Car smelled of diesel in the interior compartment. Smell did not lessen after 1 week even with windows open to air out. Returned vehicle to fox VW. Fox VW stated that there was a spill at the access to the fuel pump sending unit under the seat. The spill was cleaned up and vehicle returned. Diesel smell was less. Fast forward 3 months to November 2015, returned car for extended warranty service for glow plug replacement at purchasing dealer in Pennsylvania (three rivers VW), dealer service technicians discovered and documented multiple fuel system leaks with incorrectly installed components. Fuel was present on top of engine, high pressure fuel pump housing and fuel filter housing. Traveled in this car with newborn daughter and 4yo son multiple times with long road trips in the time from the fuel smell complaint to three rivers VW finding the leaking fuel. Three rivers VW repaired vehicle with authorization from VW America.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #58

Dec 142015

Jetta

  • 143,000 miles
2011 Jetta diesel complete failure of high pressure fuel pump without warning at 50 mph ascending a large bridge in vehicle what has had scrupulous periodic maintainance. Occurring at rush hour on a 4 lane high traffic river bridge (295 Delaware memorial bridge) a very dangerous time and place due to collision possibilities. My research so far is that this is a common problem with the company covering it up to 120 thousand miles. No notice has every been received of this propensity or of the, what seems to be "secret" warranty extension.

- Alloway, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #57

Nov 112015

Jetta

  • 35,000 miles
While driving straight on a city highway, the car stalled, and would not restart. This happened in moderate traffic, but we were able to coast out of the road and into a parking lot. The dealer where we bought the car analyzed the fuel system, and ruled that out. He found a bad fuse related to the fuel pump, and claims at this time that it is probably an electrical issue. At this time, the exact cause remains unknown. This is the third time that we've had the same problem, though the previous two times the dealers claimed that it was a fuel system issue.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #56

Jul 042015

Jetta

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle jerked, the check engine warning indicator illuminated, and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure recurred. The was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the fuel injector system failed. Four injectors, the fuel rings, the ignition coil, and the wires were replaced. The contact stated that the windshield wipers failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the windshield wiper motor failed. The windshield wiper motor was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000. Updated 01/12/16

- Riverpool, NY, USA

problem #55

Oct 102015

Jetta

  • 56,500 miles
Car with approximately 56,500 miles. About 50 miles after fueling with diesel fuel from a sunoco station, glow plug light started blinking, check engine light on and car entered a "limp mode". was attempting to accelerate onto a highway from an on ramp. Would not allow me to go over 25 miles per hour. Brought to nearest VW dealership. Was told the high pressure fuel pump had essentially disintegrated and there are metal shards throughout the entire fuel system, which will need to be replaced. Fuel sample sent to VW for testing. Awaiting to hear from dealer whether or not this will be covered under warranty.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #54

Sep 242015

Jetta

  • 134,000 miles
High pressure fuel pump failure.

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #53

Aug 272015

Jetta

  • 83,000 miles
The car, 2011 VW Jetta tdi, stalled while driving on the highway for the third time. This is third repair to the high pressure fuel system. Metal debris were found per dealer. The second time was approx 1 1/2 yrs ago while my wife was driving on the freeway with 2 kids. The first time was approx 3 yrs ago.

- La Habra Heights, CA, USA

problem #52

Feb 012013

Jetta

  • 38,875 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

38,875 miles - total collapse of the fuel line due to an internal failure of the tank fuel pump (hpfp). VW dealer inspected and found metal in the fuel system. VW dealer tested the fuel in my tank and it showed clean diesel fuel with no contaminants. VW paid dealer to replaced fuel system components & cleaned tank, unit in tank & hard lines. Adapted injectors, bleed fuel by stem and tested. I've retained records, communication, and sample of gas in tank at time of collapse. One problem after another with vehicle.

- Santa Rosa Beach, FL, USA

problem #51

Sep 062015

Jetta

  • 60,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, the diesel coil light started flashing and our vehicle lost power. We pulled off of the road, the vehicle stalled, so we had the vehicle towed to the dealership. Dealership determined it was a fuel system failure(metal in the system) and sent the fuel to be tested. Test result said insufficient lubricant in fuel, therefore repairs not covered under extended warranty. Dealership informed us that we needed to be using "toptier" diesel. We researched this (having never been told this before) and realized we had purchased diesel from a "toptier" listed station (shell). Dealership told us to make a claim with our insurance company since it was an "outside influence" that caused the failure. Insurance company is investigating whether or not this is a valid claim.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #50

Jun 232015

Jetta

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 45 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel failed and needed to be drained. In addition, the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Cula Vista , CA, USA

problem #49

Aug 242015

Jetta

  • 70,077 miles
Vehicle began stuttering and lost power. After an additional 20 seconds shut down and would not restart. It appears to be a problem with the diesel fuel pump as metal debris were found. Dealer claims VW must test fuel however I know the car has always been properly fueled and has the fueling safeguard device installed.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #48

Aug 142015

Jetta

  • 52,000 miles
Manual transmission tdi sportwagen. Driving 30 mph in 4th gear. Flashing glow plug warning light went on. Vehicle lost power and speed. Attempted to downshift. Engine immediately shut off and RPM went immediately to 0. lost power steering and brakes. Did not have enough speed to bring vehicle to curb. Vehicle stopped at intersection and had to be towed. Dealer diagnosed as hpfp failure.

- Centerport, NY, USA

problem #47

Jan 202015

Jetta

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving at 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact merged to the right side of the road and restarted the vehicle. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the number two and three fuel injectors were faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Shillington, PA, USA

problem #46

Jul 092015

Jetta

  • 46,674 miles
I was driving to work, which includes crossing a toll bridge daily. I was on the bridge, which is only a 2 lane bridge, when all of a sudden my diesel engine failure light began to flash. I lost acceleration and was able to pull off to the shoulder safely and turn off the car. I sat there for a few minutes contemplating if I should call aaa to get a tow to the dealer. Seeing as I was only about 5 miles from the VW dealer, I decided to see if my car will make it there. It started back up no problem and I was able to accelerate back into traffic and make it to the dealer with no further issues. I explained the problem to the service rep. And they checked in my car and I waited for them to call me with the issue. Later in the day, I received the call from the service rep., and he informed me that the high pressure fuel pump failed, and they will have to rebuild the fuel system, as there were metal particles found in the gas and gas lines. He said this sometimes happens when a customer may use biodiesel fuel or a lower grade of diesel. He also said that they would have to send the gas samples off to VW lab to review in order for the repairs to be approved since I have the extended warranty. I am shocked that this occured, seeing as my car is only 4 years old and less than 50K miles on it. Thankfully, there was not an accident and no one was hurt.

- Pinole, CA, USA

problem #45

Jun 012015

Jetta

  • 144,000 miles
High pressure fuel pump failure.

- Pipersville, PA, USA

problem #44

Apr 092015

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 82,142 miles
Hpfp catastrophic failure started vehicle and while driving experienced loss of power. Diesel glow plug illuminated and mfd message read "service now". stalled at traffic light and would not restart. Towed to VW of corpus christi the next day. VW repaired at their cost. Never fueled with anything but diesel. Repair ticket indicated that 'diesel looked ok". I was fortunate that this did not occur at highway speed. I believe that the complaint was closed too early by the NHTSA and is not due to misfueling as you have been convinced by VW but rather a design flaw in the hpfp. I have lost confidence in this brand and the NHTSA due to this issue.

- Port Aransas, TX, USA

problem #43

Nov 302014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Driving down the highway at about 55mph, started switching lanes and stepped on the gas to accelerate. The car sputtered and the engine vibrated. The car felt like I was going to stall driving in the high-speed lane. The yellow check engine light came on and epc light started flashing. Swerving back into the lower speed lane I couldn't even keep the car at 55mph. I had to pull over on the highway to see if I could make sense of it. After turning off the car and then back on, the lights went off and the car was fine. I took it too the mechanic and they said they couldn't find anything wrong after $85 diagnostic. The car ran fine for 2 days until the same exact thing happened while driving on the highway again. This occurred on and off intermittently about every 1-2 days for about 2 weeks. Three trips to the mechanic within those 2 weeks and with each visit there was a computer connected to the car and a full systems diagnostic reported that there was nothing wrong with the car. It became dangerous for me to drive the car and even more so to drive it on the highway. After the second week the lights finally came on and stayed on and the problem was diagnosed as the engine misfiring in 2 of the cylinders. The mechanic changed with the ignition coil on 12/15.2014. The engine ran completely fine without any issues until last week, 3/19/2015. At 3 months and only 28,000 miles on the car the same problem started to reoccur while getting onto the highway and attempting to accelerate from 40-45mph. It started just as it did before intermittently and about 2 weeks later the engine and epc lights were on permanently again. After the mechanic confirmed that it was the same issue with the same component we changed the same part again. I am expecting to be changing it again in 3 more months, if I still have the car.

- Warwick, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?