Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,833 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Volkswagen Jetta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #8

Aug 132016


  • 51,850 miles


I purchased my vehicle brand new in June 2014 and I've kept up with all routine maintenance to date. I drive an average 30 miles per day during the work week and travel up to 140 miles every two weeks or so for custodial exchanges. This past weekend (August 13, 2016), while at a routine pit stop for gas my vehicle's transmission gave out. I had parked at the gas station right off the highway. When I went to restart my vehicle it wouldn't move. The vehicle would start and shift into drive, but the wheels responded as if it were in neutral. There was a recall for this issue back in 2013 when the VW Jetta went on the market, but the recall did not involve my VIN. The recall was not disclosed to me at the time I purchased the vehicle, nor was I ever notified of it being a potential issue. I found out the hard way when I was left stranded 70 miles from home and 45 miles from the nearest VW dealership. My researched turned up this statement: "an electric malfunction could occur in the gearbox power supply based on the synthetic gearbox oil if the vehicle is subject to a hot and humid climate, coupled with a high proportion of stop-and-go driving, " said mark gillies, a Volkswagen of America spokesman, in a phone conversation. "the car works, but you lose drive." My vehicle has 51,850 miles on it, so it was covered under VW's 5yr-60K warranty. It's been sitting at the VW dealership for 3 days while they coordinate on replacing the defective power train. The remaining estimated time for replacement is 2-3 days. I live in austin, tx where hot, humid, and stop-and-go are a routine part of life.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #7

Jun 102014


  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Jetta. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #6

Sep 242015


  • 13,278 miles
I was under the impression of buying a good car, when I purchase this vehicle on March 6 2015 I was never inform about the current recall #14V1820000, I purchase this vehicle brand new, even so is a 2014 model, also I took the car for service (June) I think and also I was never notified of a new recall that was issued on Jan 23 2015 recall #15V028000, and then I was never notified about the recent recall issued on Aug 04 2015, recall #15V483000, I would like to proceed and held VW co responsible for any wrong doing since the vehicle can cost fire and is unsafe to drive, I'm a sr retired and would like held VW responsible for their product and because they sold me a car without disclosing the recalls on the vehicle. I bought the car in March 6 2015 brand new even so is a 2014 model. Again I should be given trhu information about the car status.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 052015


  • 8,550 miles


On July 5, 2015, the clutch failed. The clutch was depressed to downshift the car as we were approaching a turnpike off ramp. The gear selector was moved out of top gear and into neutral; the clutch would not return, and the gear selector would not move out of neutral. The car had to be maneuvered through traffic from the far left lane to the rights-side shoulder, in neutral. This put my family and everyone around us at risk of serious injury. There was no degradation of clutch system performance. This clutch failure came suddenly and without warning. I have read comments from others online who have experienced similar issues. Several months ago, the brake booster needed to be replaced. The dealership service manager suggested that the clutch issue could be related to the brake booster issue. My wife and I have driven manual transmission cars for years. This is the first clutch-related problem we've ever experienced. Update 9/15/15

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #4

Dec 272014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
I have a 2014 gli autobahn with the paddle shifters and the sports mode option. Today I engaged the sports mode option and the vehicle's RPM were almost redlining but it will take awhile to feel the shifting on the trans. I am worried that this may be a problem to the trans on this vehicle. The second problem that I am having I believe is the suspension due to the smoothness of the vehicle is no longer their. I have not taken the vehicle to the dealership yet but will soon. Please advise if any others have complained about the same issues that I am having. Thanks.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Oct 162014


  • 3,155 miles
Dsg gearbox changed into a low gear causing the diesel engine RPM to increase to 4500rpm. The resultant engine braking caused me to slow down. I had to abandon overtaking and cross two lanes of traffic to get to the shoulder to avoid impediing faster moving traffic.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #2

May 292014


  • 165 miles
On Thursday, May 29th, I was driving my 2014 VW Jetta hybrid sel premium (~165 miles on odometer) when the epc and battery light came on the dash. At the same time, the gas engine shut off. I was able to get the vehicle to restart. Same issue happened two additional times before I got the vehicle to the dealership the next morning. I picked up the vehicle Monday, June 2nd, from the dealership (~387 miles on odometer) stating that the vehicle was in working order and they could not get the problem to duplicate. The dealership put approximately 200 miles on the new vehicle to diagnose it. About an hour after picking up the vehicle (~393 miles on odometer), the vehicle did the exact same thing, except this time I was in a parking lot. The vehicle is back at the dealer and they are having an engineer come and diagnose the vehicle.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #1

Nov 102013

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 666 miles
Three times in ~2 hours car stalled at stop signs. Vehicle was at complete stop. Lifted foot off brake and when touched gas car stalled. Car is an automatic.

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?