Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Aug 012016

Jetta

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the epc warning indicator illuminated. Shortly after, there was a drastic reduction in speed each time the failure occurred. The vehicle was unable to be driven due to the failure. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they replaced an internal part within the turbo engine assembly. Two weeks later, the indicator illuminated again and there was a drastic reduction in speed. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer for further inspection. The dealer was unable to provide a solution. The manufacturer was to escalate the concern and respond back to the contact to determine a repair remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jul 082016

Jetta

  • 18,000 miles
One day I was pulling out of a parking lot onto a small street with a slight hill. Felt like the car was stalling but I thought maybe I didn't press on the gas hard enough. The car rolled slightly backwards until I hit the brakes. I tried pressing the gas harder. Next thing I knew, the engine was off and battery warning light came on. A couple of other lights came on as well, but those come on and then go off often so I don't know what to make of that. The next day I was driving down the road and as I slowed down with traffic approaching stop light the vehicle started to shake as if it was trying to quit on me. I pulled over into a bank parking lot to stop and restart the car. Another light came on but it is off now. I'm worried that this will happen again and result in an accident. Not sure what is wrong or if the vehicle is safe to drive.

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #24

Jan 012015

Jetta

  • 21,758 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate and the vehicle stalled. The contact parked, turned off, and restarted the vehicle; however, the failure recurred. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the intake air flat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, when driving in cold inclement weather, the failure recurred. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that an unknown sensor was frozen. The vehicle was not repaired. The check engine warning light and the glow plug warning light remained illuminated. The contact notified the manufacturer who advised the contact not to drive the vehicle. The failure mileage was 21,758.

- Fish Creek, WI, USA

problem #23

Jan 242016

Jetta

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 60mph vehicle lost power on highway and ultimately stalled out. It restarted 6 times but not enough power to move and stalled in approx 20 seconds. It acted like a flood out situation. No throttle response. It just chugged and died. Jan 24, 2016 33 degrees. 37,000 miles. After a number of tries and stalls finally started up after 45 minutes....so far has continued to run fine. 2/3 full tank of diesel.

- Spencer, IN, USA

problem #22

Nov 252015

Jetta

  • 13,658 miles
I was driving my 2014 Jetta SE (14 months ago 13658 miles on the car) on November 25, 2015, when it completely stopped on highway 101 in California at 4 pm on the day before thanksgiving. I was at a complete stop when the engine turned off. I turned off my car and restarted it and the engine was shaking badly (from side to side) and the more I drove the car the more lights started turning on. I was stuck in major holiday traffic and almost got hit on numerous occasions and got honked at multiple times because I was unable to keep up in traffic due to the violent shaking of the vehicle. Going above 25 miles an hour caused the car to make a loud noise and shake even more vigorously, making it impossible and dangerous to drive. The first lights to turn on included the epc, oil light (engine low oil) and engine (emission control light). However, as I drove the car more, to pull over to safety because I was unable to pull over at the current place I broke down, the more lights started to turn on such as the tire pressure system. I had to be towed to the nearest dealer who said 3 of my 4 ignition coils were misfiring. I got the car back on December 1, 2015 and my car broke down again on December 4, 2015, with the same problem. It was brought back into a different dealer due to breaking down in a different area. The ignition coils have failed again, causing my engine to shut down and putting me in a vulnerable place. I am lucky that my engine failed on a city street the second time compared to a busy highway but this car is not safe and I am lucky to be alive, because the first break down on a major highway was not only scary but a life-threatening situation.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #21

Dec 022015

Jetta

  • 23,000 miles
I purchased a 2014 VW Jetta, brand new from VW boise in Idaho. On 3 occasions, I reported an issue with the car shaking/losing acceleration power while driving (a serious safety issue). In October 2015, I had it in for service and explained the situation to them again, they assured me that a software update would fix it. On 12/02/2015, I was driving to pick up my daughter after work and a car in front of me was turning. I braked and the car started to shake and stutter. I let off of the brake and lightly pressed the gas to accelerate and the car started shaking violently. I immediately turned into the parking lot and my car blew a cloud of exhaust and died. I had to wait over 25 minutes before I was able to speak with a rep from VW roadside and then I had to wait an additional hour before the tow truck would be able to tow my car. I also was not given a loaner because they stated that they had none available. I had to call VW for an update as they had not called me and they said it might be because of bad gas (which I know is not the issue as it has been doing this for over a year). They said they would call me before close of business on 12/03 with another update. I did not get a call back and I filed a complaint with the VW consumer's department but they were not helpful and said they'll have to refer it to a regional manager. I am still stuck without my car, without any explanation, and without a loaner vehicle.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #20

Oct 082015

Jetta

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine stalled while driving down the highway. The glow plug light started flashing and then the engine started losing power. The acceleration slowed to a halt and then the engine just shut off. I coasted to the side of the road and had to be towed away. The vehicle would not start again.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Aug 012015

Jetta

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Jetta. While operating the vehicle, the check engine light illuminated. The contact indicated that the failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed service to remedy the failure, but it continued. No further information was available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,000.

- Oak Ridge, TN, USA

problem #18

Jun 012014

Jetta

  • 300 miles
Bought the car May 1st 2014 13 miles on it...all of may seemed to run ok...then from June until now Sept 2015 it has a non responsive gas pedal. Same problem as entry in May 2013. It scares me to death!!! can't get past 30 mph trying to get onto the freeway....crossing traffic from lights...trying to change lanes....scares me when I see a big semi barreling down on me and I can't get out of the way and he is blaring his horn giving me the finger and yelling....this on several occasions. I have taken it into 2 different VW shops...they cant duplicate it so therefore there isn't anything wrong...no codes...also hazzard light on seat belt lite on and dinging...took 3 mo to fix those....yet seat belt still does......one day its ok next not. Worst now is it is tearing my 2011 Fusion apart and the pain is excruciating. VW would not take the car back...BBB was involved until I casted the foot for relief....VW offered me one mo free payment...that I didn't take because I wanted them to take the car back. Then June July August the gas mileage drops by nearly 100 miles and they say it is because I used the air condition...hardly...Aug got only 254 mpg....I don't feel safe in this car. I tried to enter this last year but apparently it didn't take it.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #17

Feb 022015

Jetta

  • 17,000 miles
This is a 2014 Volkswagen Jetta sportwagen tdi (turbo diesel) I commute from charlotte, nc to detroit, mi approx once every 3 weeks. I travelled from a cold (15F), wet climate, to a warmer climate (34F), and parked my vehicle overnight. The next morning, the car would not turn over, and acted like the battery was dead. I checked the battery, and it was 13.9vdc. I continued to try to start the vehicle, each time the starter motor just making a grinding noise and not turning over. I left the vehicle for approx 20 minutes, and tried again, when it eventually turned over, all the warning lights on the dash came on, and the car idled very roughly at aprox 400 RPM. I tried to increase the RPM, and eventually (5 minutes of gently pushing the accelerator) it got up to 800-900 RPM. I tried to drive, and the car stumbled and sputtered for a while before getting up to normal speed. This has happened 5 times total so far. 3 times dead battery / hydro lock situation occurred 1 time the car ran roughly, and then when I pulled out onto the main road the car stumbled, died, and would not let me accelerate. I quickly put the hazard flasher light on, and somehow avoided a collision with the cars around me. 1 time the car ran roughly for approx 5 minutes, then ran smoothly the rest of the trip. I'm worried that I've damaged the engine

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #16

Jul 052015

Jetta

  • 8,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 5, 2015, the clutch failed. The clutch was depressed to downshift the car as we were approaching a turnpike off ramp. The gear selector was moved out of top gear and into neutral; the clutch would not return, and the gear selector would not move out of neutral. The car had to be maneuvered through traffic from the far left lane to the rights-side shoulder, in neutral. This put my family and everyone around us at risk of serious injury. There was no degradation of clutch system performance. This clutch failure came suddenly and without warning. I have read comments from others online who have experienced similar issues. Several months ago, the brake booster needed to be replaced. The dealership service manager suggested that the clutch issue could be related to the brake booster issue. My wife and I have driven manual transmission cars for years. This is the first clutch-related problem we've ever experienced. Update 9/15/15

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 142015

Jetta

  • 50,000 miles
We drove our 2014 V/w Jetta to grocery store and vehicle was parked in the parking lot while my husband was sitting in it waiting for me to return no more than 20 minutes the vehicle engine light came on and begin flashing and turned off and would not turn back on. We called aaa for towing and an extra battery but the batter was working fine. Almost 2 hours later waiting for 2nd tow truck to come and tow the vehicle, it turned over and we managed to drive 2 miles home and the car started one more time and has not turned back on since. We had vehicle towed to the dealer and the dealer says it is engine problem and we have to pay $396 to pay for repair. We have had this brand new vehicle for 9 months and it has burned my husband back and now it doesn't work.....

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jan 122015

Jetta

  • 13,000 miles
At 13K miles the engine hydrolocked due to icing in the intercooler. Car is a 2014 Jetta tdi value edition. They "fixed it" by a VW tsb. Turns out it is a very well known issue. Condensation freezes in the intercooler at low temps (below 25 deg), then melts and is sucked in when you start your car (or try) the next morning.

- Woodville, AL, USA

problem #13

Jan 082015

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 17,501 miles
I purchased my car in mid-Feb 2014 and it performed flawlessly the winter of 2014. I started my car on Monday Jan 5 (oat +5F) let it idle for a minute and drove 35 mi to work on the highway (RPM >2500), I don't have a temp gauge, but my car did not seem to warm up like normal. (usually its warm after about 3 mi, and hot after 10-15). After work (+8hrs later) I started my car (oat +15F), letting it idle for a minute then drove out of the parking garage (~100') and my car lost power, and had a flashing glow plug light, I believe this was limp mode. I pulled into a parking lot, let my car idle for a few minutes and there was no change. I shut the car off, waited a minute or two, and restarted the engine, appeared to run fine and I continued my drive home. I pulled my vagcom codes and saw that P0299, low boost pressure, I attempted to get my car into the dealer, but they were too busy. I did not drive my car Tuesday, but drove it to and from work Wednesday without a problem. On Thursday morning I started my car (-5F), it idled for less than a minute and then died. It continued to turn over, but would not start. I pulled the codes again (did not clear them from earlier in the week) and saw that I had a new fault P0087, low fuel pressure. I had my car towed to the dealer (VW roadside is slow, but free) and did not hear anything from the dealer until Friday afternoon. I was told that ice was discovered in my intercooler and that it had been replaced and the cold weather kit was installed.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #12

Dec 012014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 23,422 miles
Went to start my car and car would not start. Called local VW dealer. They thought I should try to get a jump for the battery. I knew it was not the battery, as it is a new car. They suggested I call VW roadside assistance, which I did. The car was towed to the closest VW dealer. Was told the car was in hydrolock and ice was found in the hose and intercooler. After removing the glow plugs, ice was also found in the cylinders. In addition, ice was also found in the oil and oil pan. I was told by the service manager that this was a known issue for vehicles in the northeast. The "fix" was to install an updated intercooler, pressure sensor and valve in the front of throttle body. My concern is that if this is a "known issue" why is there no recall. Also, I feel that the engine has been comprised being that there was ice found in multiple places. I called the dealer where the car was purchased (not same dealer that did repair) and let them know about it. I was also seeking an extended warranty so whatever damage was done to the engine would be covered in the future. Dealer told me to call VW directly, which I did and got nowhere. I was told that there was still a lot of time left on my current warranty and if something did happen to the engine after the original warranty was expired, they would take this incident into consideration. Not very reassuring to someone who drives over 100 miles per day.

- Birch Harbor , ME, USA

problem #11

Oct 012014

Jetta

  • 50 miles
Diesel exhaust smell enters cabin through interior climate control vents. Smell is originating from rear of engine, smell is pure un treated diesel exhaust. Dealer has replaced several components but to no avail. Unable to find any sign of leak with smoke or pressure testing. Smell enters cabin when vehicle is stationary, worse when cold or when engine is in the midst of a diesel particulate filter regeneration. Vwoa says normal and operates like other vehicles. Refusing to send lead tech out to investigate. I currently own two of the same model of engine as in this car and other car has never smelled like diesel exhaust in 30,000+ miles. There is a small leak in the exhaust system that is obviously hard to identify. Vwoa says it is ok for me to breathe diesel fumes.

- Frenchtown, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jul 272014

Jetta

  • 4,300 miles
2014 VW Jetta suddenly stalled while driving on the freeway. Engine stalled and had complete loss of power, reducing steering and braking capability, creating a dangerous driving condition likely to increase chances of a crash. Alternator light came on. Was able to avoid traffic and get over to side of road and shut engine off. Was able to restart, move car 10 feet, and stalled again. Restarted and drove straight to point of sale (dealer quirk VW of braintree, mass). Dealer had car twice, for six days total. Dealer said they were eventually able to reproduce the condition, but did not find a physical cause. Dealer said they discovered a "software update" was available to address this issue and applied the update. Dealer said the car was then "100 percent" not at risk of having this issue. Two weeks later, on August 9th, car stalled while driving about 35 miles per hour. Coasted to side of road and was not able to restart. Car was towed to same dealer (quirk VW) after hours. No new action taken yet. I plan to ask for a refund. This issue has put my life in danger as well as that of my passengers and the lives of other drivers around me, and I believe represents a serious defect in this car. With unexpected stalling and loss of controls while driving, I am put at the mercy of other drivers to avoid my car unexpectedly and at high rates of speed. I do not feel safe driving this car. I am concerned that the next time this happens, I or another person won't be so lucky.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #9

Jul 172014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 1,985 miles
Ref: NHTSA action number PE10034. Regarding my 2014 Jetta tdi (diesel): Fuel tank was approximately 3/4 full. Filled remainder (approx. 1/4 tank, 3.5 gallons) with ulsd auto diesel fuel at a service station in portage county, oh. I noticed an almost immediate loss of approx. 4 mpg in fuel economy. After researching the issue on various Volkswagen tdi/diesel internet discussion forums (in addition to various Chevy and/or Ford diesel pickup truck internet discussion forums), the symptoms seemed to coincide with damage to the Bosch CP4 hpfp (high-pressure fuel pump). Symptoms include: -- loss of fuel economy. -- minor hesitation even on smooth, level roads that gets worse over time. -- presence of metal "flakes" or "shavings" in the fuel filter canister and other parts of the fuel delivery/return system. -- I drove the vehicle to the point of purchase (an official Volkswagen dealer), and requested they provide me with a visual inspection of the fuel filter and fuel filter canister. This inspection confirmed the presence of naked-eye-visible contaminating particles (suspected to be aluminum metal "flakes" or "shavings") in the fuel filter canister, and possibly other parts of the fuel delivery/return system. Due to the fuel delivery/return system design, these metal "flakes" or "shavings" can be re-introduced into the high pressure fuel pump without being trapped by the fuel filter, causing further damage to the hpfp and cascading contamination (generation of additional metal "flakes" or "shavings"). once fuel flow through the hpfp, fuel accumulator rail, and injectors becomes sufficiently restricted by contaminants, the hpfp can fail catastrophically, resulting in a sudden loss of engine power. This, in turn, can lead to a loss of vehicle control due to the absence of power steering. Case opened with VW customer care.

- Newton Falls, OH, USA

problem #8

Mar 282014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 26 miles
The car stalls intermittently upon initial acceleration. Brought vehicle to two different dealerships for diagnostic. The responses were: "vehicle is found to be operating normally when compared to same or similar type vehicle." And "compare car to a diff car, both car act the same."

- Walpole, MA, USA

problem #7

Jul 022014

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 15,400 miles
Vehicle is shutting down during operation. Three times now, the car has shut off while sitting at a traffic light. The car will just stall out. Oddly, it restarts with ease when placed back in park. It will sometimes shutter while accelerating from a stop, as if it is going to stall. It has a gas engine, with an automatic transmission. Dealer recently addressed the problem by replacing a relay to the fuel pump. Unfortunately, the problem remains. Yesterday, it stalled while driving along a side street. Car is back at the dealers.

- Warwick, RI, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?