Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,169 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Volkswagen Passat electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #134

Sep 142011

Passat

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ignition coils caught fire while driving. Mechanic states that they "catch fire all the time".

- Malaga , WA, USA

problem #133

May 202008

Passat

  • 161,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volkswagen Passat. The contact was driving 70 mph when the vehicle began to shake abnormally and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle independently decelerated from 70 mph to 20 mph. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was advised that the ignition coil spring failed. The coil springs and spark plugs were replaced at the contact's expense. The contact stated this was the fifth time the ignition coil springs failed. The vehicle was not under recall and the manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 161,000.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #132

Mar 132008

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volkswagen Passat. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle began shaking violently and shut down in the middle of an intersection. The vehicle then skidded into an intersection and almost struck a child. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the ignition coil housing burned. The dealer would not repair the vehicle or allow him to pay $785 with a credit card to repair the ignition coil. The turbo coil also failed; however, the dealer does not agree with this diagnosis. The manufacturer was unable to assist. The contact also smelled electrical wiring burning. He stated that oil breaks down prematurely, which caused the engine to seize and the vehicle to overheat. The manufacturer stated in writing that they see no reason why they should offer any assistance, and that there was a previous recall on a case by case basis related to other engine failures. The federal trade commission complaint number was 13323205. The current mileage was 101,222 and failure mileage was 86,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #131

Sep 102002

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,970 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel system failed. The car ran like a tractor, misfiring and emitting explosive like sounds. The dashboard warning light came on and stayed on. We limped to the next VW dealer who found it necessary to replace the ignition coils. The coils were already once replaced under warranty on July 23, 20003. Why do we have to pay $200.44 plus tax for these obviously unreliable parts?

- Park Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #130

Sep 112006

Passat 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The engine sputters and appears to misfire after the car has been sitting or driven in the rain. Preceding and after this event the check engine light comes on. This happened twice during the week of September 11, 2006. The dealership could not identify the problem and said the car was safe to drive, but suggested we get a tune up, including getting the spark plugs changed (the car didn't need it!). on a rainy October 6 at 5:00 a.M., the car stalled in the middle of a 2-lane state road. When we attempted to restart the car, it sputtered a bit and then died. The car would not restart and had to be pushed off the road. We are going to ask the dealership to inspect the ignition coil.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #129

Jun 142006

Passat

  • 85,000 miles
Bought the car new and have had to deal with defective tires, defective ignition coils causing two major breakdowns at highway speeds with children in the car. The last two ignition coils were recalled. The car will not run if it is wet from heavy rain and has to be completely dried before the breaks work properly. Oil pump was replaced 14 months ago, another major breakdown on highway with children. It has broken down yet again...the dealership says it needs another oil pump because of sludge, about $2000, not under warranty because it is past the 12 month, 12,000mile mark. Two other private mechanics told me, replacing the oil pump would only disguise, temporarily the real issue....the engine is junk. It now sits in my driveway because it is not under warranty because I am missing some oil change receipts. Also the blinkers don't work, the rear door won't open, auto locks work intermittently and headlights have been replaced twice and are out again. This was the first new car I ever bought. I bought the car after a divorce because I wanted a dependable car to commute to work and Transport my children safely. The car has 85,00 mi.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #128

Mar 032003

Passat

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Re: Ms. Diane tsurutani 2002 Volkswagen Passat. Mr the engine light illuminated. The dealer informed the consumer that codes were inconlusive and no repair work was done. After doing research it was discovered there was a possible problem with the ignition coil.

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #127

Feb 282003

(reported on)

Passat

  • miles
Nar 02/28/2003 recall issued for ignition coils on 2002 Passat.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #126

Dec 012002

Passat 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Nar 3-10-03 with the consumer vehicle having less than 7000 miles, many problems occurred, the front and rear windows froze from the inside, the vehicle began to stall, the ignition coil needed to be replaced, the glove compartment flooded when it rained or snowed, also the carpets and pollen filter were damaged due to the flood. The consumers was very disappointed and suggested that a full refund be given or have Volvo to give them a new 2003 Passat, equally equipped as the 2002 at the same purchase price.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #125

Feb 122004

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,700 miles
My 2002 VW Passat suffered another coilpack failure including a loss of power on a busy city street. The failed coils had already been replaced under VW's coilpack recall. Looks like the new coils do not fix the problem.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #124

Nov 202003

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ignition coil defect. As with the other 136 complaints. I have had my car towed 5 times to the dealer in two years, to replace the ignition coils. Two of the new coils have been replaced again. Volkswagen (VW) refuses to replace the one original coil that is still in the car. My car has left me sit in minus 23 degree weather for 2 hours with a 4 year old in the back seat because of the coil malfunction. Since my car has had two new coils replaced a second time, I don't trust the car. We have cancelled our thanksgiving plans with family 9 hours away, because our car sits in the driveway with another coil that just malfunctioned yesterday.

- Williston, VT, USA

problem #123

Aug 122003

Passat 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
While traveling on the highway and without prior warning, the vehicle shut down and failed to restart. The #4 coil failed. There was a replacement (coil "L") which was not available until April. VW never warned the consumer that the faulty "J" coils were replaced with faulty "J" coils.

- Florence, MT, USA

problem #122

Dec 262002

Passat

  • 7,310 miles
The car was taken to the dealer with a failed engine. Two engine coils had failed, but the dealer admitted that all four coils were defective. The dealer had the car for 2 weeks and replaced only 2 of the 4 coils. Since the coils are rationed, they will not replace the remaining coils until they fail. Am I suppose to wait until I have an accident on the highway" both the dealer and the manufacturer admit the defect. Why hasn't a recall been issued" there are 40+ customers at this dealership with the same problem, all waiting for a major part that is not available. I will not drive the car until all four are replaced. I have a young son and will not drive the car with a known engine problem, particularly a problem that appears to be pretty widespread. (the other complaints listed on your web site for this model sound like I could have written them.) the manufacturer when contacted has been completely unresponsive. ****dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis*****770835

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #121

Oct 222002

Passat 4-cyl

  • 18,567 miles
2 ignition coils failed--Oct 02 and Jan 03--recall recommended. Scc ****dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis****770853

- Harvard, MA, USA

problem #120

Oct 092002

Passat

  • 11,000 miles
Engine began misfiring and running very roughly. The check engine light came on and then began flashing. Dealer scanned and found misfires in #1 cylinder. Dealer replaced coil pack#1. **dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis*768336

- Camp Hill, PA, USA

problem #119

Jan 172003

(reported on)

Passat

  • miles
The coil packs haven't failed yet, but I'm hearing stories that it will and it's just a matter of time. VW should issue a recall. **dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut over to artemis**770858

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #118

Jan 142003

(reported on)

Passat

  • 6,907 miles
During operation of the vehicle the #4 H-style coil pack failed causing the engine and car to shake violently. The car wan not safely drivable after the failure. Although Volkswagen replaced the failed coil pack, there are 3 other identical coil packs by the same manufacturer (bremi) that Volkswagen will not replace (until failure). It is widely known among Volkswagen and Audi owners who have this engine (1.8T) that the H-style coils are unreliable and defective. One online VW owner forum (club B5) 600 complaints have been posted. VW needs to recall these defective coil pack before someone gets seriously or fatally injured in a crash or collision caused by them. Ph **dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut over to artemis**770845

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #117

Jan 152003

(reported on)

Passat

  • 8,000 miles
Coil pack #2 failed upon warm start after having sat for approximately 20 minutes. Mil was flashing indicating a serious problem. Drove car on three cylinders less than 2 miles to home, and called VW customer service to coordinate towing and dealer. **dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut over to artemis**770849

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #116

Dec 092002

Passat

  • 18,000 miles
Ignition coil pack failure (s) caused sudden loss of power and lurching of vehicle when attempting to accelerate out of driveway onto road. No accident occurred and vehicle was driven slowly back to parking. Power was not recovered and engine vibration was severe. No prior warning was given. Check engine light came on after failure. Followed a cold night while car was parked for 12+ hours. After parking car overnight again, failure recurred upon start up and vehicle was flat bedded at no cost to VW old skybrook, ct, where it was determined that according to ECU all 4 coil packs misfired. Car has been awaiting parts for 4 weeks and has not been returned to service as of 1/4/03. ******dims 11 IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis***** 770817.

- Niantic, CT, USA

problem #115

Mar 032003

Passat 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter on behalf of ms eva doukakis and Mr. Robert cisneros who inquired about a costumers satisfaction campaign intiated by Volkswagen of America, Inc (Volkswagen) to replace potentially defective ignition coils in certain 2001 and 2002 Volkswagen and Audi vehicles.

- New York, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?