Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,096 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volkswagen Passat fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments

problem #19

Feb 032016

Passat 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a used 2004 VW Passat glx 4motion with 91K miles and no accident or damage history per carfax.. first fill of the gas tank revealed a severe leak of greater than 180 drops per minute. The leak occurred at all times with the car running or turned off and the key removed. The leak stopped after the gas gauge moved below F. removed rear seat and noticed fuel wetting on the exterior of the tank adjacent to the fuel level sensor. Using a mirror fuel was visible coming from the vent boss adjacent to the fuel level sensor. This exact issue is covered under vwoa recall 26E5/R5 NHTSA campaign # 08V156000. I contacted VW customer service and they informed me my vehicle VIN [xxx] is not eligible however they did not say why. The carfax report states that a heat shield was replaced 8/11/2008. Recall 26E5/R5 involves a heat shield as well as the fuel tank. It's possible the tank was ok at the time. If the vehicle has already had the recall and the fuel tank developed the problem after is there any recourse under this recall? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #18

Feb 222015

Passat 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
2004 Volkswagen Passat 4motion, the fuel tank rollover/vent valve on the top of the tank has cracked and is leaking gasoline onto the exhaust system. The tank was filled up on 2/22/2015 and started leaking large amounts of fuel from the top of the tank over the exhaust. This continued until the tank reached 3/4 full. If the fuel tank is filled above 3/4 it will leak fuel until it gets to 3/4. if the vehicle is parked with the front downhill, it continues to leak beyond the 3/4 point. This failure was part of a previous VW 2008 NHTSA mandated recall 08V156000, but only required dealer inspection of the rollover/vent valve and not replacement of the fuel tank with a functional part, if it was not leaking when inspected then do nothing. The rollover/vent is integral to the VW Passat AWD tank, and the complete fuel tank has to be replaced. VW claim as the car was inspected in 2008, they are not responsible for the subsequent failure of the rollover/vent valve.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #17

Sep 152014

Passat 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Fuel began leaking from the top of the fuel tank after fill up. My daughter was heading back to college, and as she pulled away I noticed a large puddle of gasoline in the street. NHTSA had previously recalled the vehicle in 2008 (26E5/R5) action number (PE08008). VW dealer inspected and installed heat shield. No fuel leak at this time. In September 2012 fuel tank began leaking, VW dealer replaced the fuel tank, washer, gasket and clamp under the recall. In September 2014 I brought car back to VW dealer, and they said they are only responsible to fix the car once. Fed up with VW, I brought car to my local mechanic, and upon inspection he found the nipples on the fuel tank rollover valve were again cracked. I had him replace the tank. Obviously VW didn't properly fix the problem, and or replaced the tank with the same defective design and the tank cracked again. This is a very serious safety issue, and I feel that VW should pay for this repair. If it was done right and corrected, the tank would not be leaking again after less than 2 years, and 20,000 miles. This could have caused a fire with my daughter in the car, and that is very upsetting to me.

- Middlesex, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jul 242014

Passat 4-cyl

  • 166,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I began noticing a very strong smell of gasoline coming through the vent while driving. When I pulled over to check under the hood, I noticed that the rigid fuel line had cracked where it passed through a mounting bracket on the upper rear of the engine bay. The crack was emitting a steady flow of fuel onto the engine and exhaust manifold. We did not drive the car any further and had the line repaired with a patch of flexible fuel line material.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #15

Jun 132014

Passat 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
I filled my gas tank up on a Friday and drove it home and parked it in the driveway and the next day noticed a fairly large puddle of gasoline under my car. I took it to my local car shop and they told me that it was the fuel line that was leaking and that he called a Volkswagen dealership and they had told him that there was a recall on that exact part of the car. I was told to call Volkswagen and see if they would be able to fix the issue and they told me that the recall was already fixed by the previous owner of my car. If it was already fixed then the same problem shouldn't be happening again.

- Winters, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Apr 242014

Passat 8-cyl

  • 154,500 miles
I have a 2004 VW Passat W8 4-motion and I filled the tank the other day and parked the car in the garage overnight and when I opened the interior garage door in the morning the fumes were so strong I evacuated my wife and 4 month old baby form the house. This has happened 2 times, both were when I filled the fuel tank. I called the dealer and they said there was a recall that added a heat shield and inspected the 4 motion VW Passat purge/rollover valve. They stated that the heat shield was replaced but did not show the valve being replaced. I called VW and they stated that the vehicle was out of warranty and is no longer covered. I am very concerned for my family's safety especially since I live in a 3 story town-home and the garage is at the bottom of our main floor. I would like the car inspected asap.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 302013

Passat 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Passat. The contact stated that the vehicle was being serviced for maintenance when he was informed that the fuel system was leaking. The contact was unsure if the vehicle was listed under NHTSA campaign number: 08V156000 (fuel system). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. Volkswagen informed the consumer it was no longer an open recall in their system, and they would not honor it. Updated 12/04/13

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jul 182013

Passat 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Passat. The contact stated that the fuel system was leaking. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 08V156000 (fuel system) and had the vehicle repaired under the recall. The contact stated that the fuel system continued to leak after the recall repair. The contact was not satisfied with the remedy provided in the recall. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 122013

Passat 4-cyl

  • miles
Fuel tank ventilation valve is leaking fuel. VW dealer refused to fix it under the existing recall: NHTSA campaign id number: 08V156000 NHTSA action number: PE08008 I have VW Passat 2004 gls 4 motion w/manual transmission.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 212011

Passat 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Fuel line broke and leaked gas onto the hot exhaust system. The fuel leak was from a fuel hose on the firewall. The fuel lines are leaking in several other areas underneath the car.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #9

May 012011

Passat 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel line leak in the engine compartment. Fuel line material was deformed and resulted in a small hole where fuel was spraying directly on the turbo, cat and related exhaust components. Vehicle continued to run and did not shut down or show signs of a fuel leak.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 262008

Passat

  • 94,109 miles
1. on the evening of Friday October 24, 2008 my check engine light began flashing and the car started running rough. 2. on the morning of Saturday October 25, 2008 I brought the car to southpoint Volkswagen in baton rouge, la. They diagnosed the problem as a faulty #4 engine coil. They replaced the coil, tested the car and returned it to me. The car seemed to function properly and the check engine light remained off. 3. the next day, Sunday October 26, 2008, after driving only 28 miles, the check engine light started flashing and the car began running rough again. I immediately pulled off the road into a gas station. At this time I noticed smoke coming out from under the hood. I opened the hood to find a fire near the lower part on the passenger side of the engine compartment. We extinguished the fire and had the car towed back to southpoint Volkswagen. 4. southpoint replaced the other 3 coils and other parts that were damaged by the fire. 5. Friday, October 31, 2008 southpoint VW made arrangements to meet in orange, tx, to return my Passat and pick up the rental car. After this exchange, and approximately 15 minutes of driving time, the check engine light came on and was steady. 6. I then learned that the check engine light was caused by an issue with the emission system. The coil failure allowed unburned gas to go into the exhaust system damaging the the catalytic converter. VW has acknowledged that this is what happened but has refused to repair the damage to my emission system. Diagnostic test at the time of the coil replacement show that the exhaust system was functioning properly prior to the fire.

- Cedar Creek, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 182010

Passat 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Driving along came up to a stop sign and car sputtered then dies and could not be restarted towed to dealer. Advised of bad fuel pump. $800 for repair. Same as several other 2004 complaints and checking to see if this should be tied to the 2003 recall.

- Auberry, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 282010

Passat

  • 98,499 miles
A change in the electrical motor components in the fuel pump led to an inoperative fuel pump and, ultimately, stoppage of fuel supply to the engine causing it to stall while on the highway.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #5

Jul 012010

Passat

  • 71,000 miles
2004 VW Passat 4-motion wagon with 1.8T engine. Top of fuel tank is leaking at the point where a breather hose connects (which is under the left rear seat). Replaced breather hose. Gas continues to leak out. The connection point itself is cracked and a new fuel tank is required. This must be a design flaw or defect. The car has little over 71,000 miles. Car is out of warranty. I am original owner. No unusual or hard impacts to the car (it has only scrapes from anonymous, unscrupulous bad drivers in parking lots). VW of America refuses to cover the cost for replacement (conversation with customer care department representative "nina" on July 6, 2010). This is a very dangerous defect or flaw. Raw gas should not spill out of car -- particularly in this location, under a passenger's seat. Volkswagen should post a recall and replace this part with a safer tank.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #4

Jul 022009

Passat

  • 53,051 miles
I was driving on hwy 101 in san luis obispo county California when my call stalled in the fast lane. My fuel pump went out. I have a 2004 VW Passat. The 2003 Passat's fuel pumps were recalled Jan 2006 and August 2007. After my car was made which makes me wonder why my cars fuel pump wasn't recalled since it was made after recall date.

- Los Osos, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 062008

Passat

  • 52,663 miles
Our 2004 Volkswagen Passat fuel pump failed at around 52,000 miles which caused our car to stop dead in the road. Luckily it wasn't on a high traffic road. Since there was a fuel pump recall in 2003 for Passats, how do I know that one of those fuel pumps did not end up in our car? when we had the dealership replace the fuel pump, the first one they put in was defective. I asked the dealership for the original part, which I have. The part number is 8E0 906 087E. Please advise. Thank you.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #2

Aug 032008

Passat

  • 58,000 miles
Identical to 07V375000, but 2004 not 2003 model year 1. none 2. first time. 3. towed car to dealer, identified broken fuel pump. 3A. replacing fuel pump.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 252008

Passat

  • 65,000 miles
While stopped at light, car stalled and would not start. Fuel pump failed. Dealer replaced fuel pump to fix problem. Very similar to 07V375000 but for 2004 model Passat.

- Irvine, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?