Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,202 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Volkswagen Passat accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments

problem #9

Jul 202011

Passat 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine (mil) light turned on, car all of a sudden idles at a higher RPM while we were driving!!! vehicle was taken into the dealership. Car is only under warranty for 36,000 miles or 3 years! dealership ran diagnostic, came up with: Code P0123 (throttle high input), P0299 (turbo under boost), P0456 (evap leak), P1098 (intake turning valve short to B+), code P2004 (intake runner stuck), code P3237 (intake runner basic settings). Dealer recommended intake runner motor replacement & replacement of turbo & N80 valve, also cv boot needs replacement. Total cost of repairs over $1200!!! we always take care of our vehicles and have them serviced at the dealership. Vehicle has also had defective interior parts. Interior trim (all switches - lock, window & radio are bubbling and chipping). Door panel trim (rubber is peeling). Shift knob - metallic piece on shift knob, peeled and dug into skin and caused injury. Carbon fiber dash is peeling apart. Contacted VW of America, per their customer service rep, they are unable to make any repairs due to the age and mileage of the vehicle. Car is a 2006 - 67,000 miles. Less than 5 years old. I would have never purchased a Volkswagen had I known they were not reliable vehicles. Unknowledgable sales reps, or just after customers to make a buck. Selling people unreliable vehicles and Volkswagen clearly does not take care of their customers nor do they care about customer loyalty or safety.

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 132010

Passat 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I had a steering wheel lock defective warning light come up in my car, the car also would not start. After numerous attempts, it started. I called my dealer and he said he had no knowledge of the car having this problem. Volkswagen of american too had no knowledge of this problem. I googled the problem online and found thousands of people having this problem no only here in the states but all over the whole where the car was sold. My car only had the warning and the no start problem. But many others were complaining that the car would shut down while traveling at a high rate of speed. I can't believe Volkswagen won't acknowledge the problem. My car is a 2006 Passat with only 38,000 miles. Something should be done here.

- Winter Park , FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 202009

Passat

  • miles
2006 VW Passat trunk latch fails in cold weather. Will not latch properly and comes open while driving. It occurs during the entire cold weather seasons. Numerous info on web search. VW of America denies problem.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #6

Apr 132007

Passat

  • 17,815 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

07/19/2006: Purchased a brand new 2006 Volkswagen Passat 04/13/2007: Radio will not eject cd- the stereo system had to be replaced due to faulty radio 12/06/2007: Car will not start called tow company, upon arrival checked battery and it was not the problem; tow company could not get the car to start; car was towed to lasher Volkswagen 12/14/2007: Car will not start again, same issue as before on 12/06/2007; called the tow company and had it towed to lasher dealership; after numerous calls back and forth, VW dealership and manufacturer cannot figure out the problem nor have they fixed the vehicle yet 01/12/08: Picked up the vehicle from lasher VW seemed to work okay 01/14/08: While driving home from work, door locks began to unlock and lock by themselves and while driving on the freeway; also, suddenly light indicators (blinkers) did not work, high beams did not work, windshield wipers did not work, steering wheel indicator light came on, tire pressure light came on, cruise control light came on; this was an extremely dangerous situation 01/17/08: While driving to berkeley, on the freeway, the blinkers stopped working, and could not get the windshield wipers to work; locks began to lock and unlock while driving; telephone call again, to lasher VW to express great concern and worried about being stranded; was told to bring it in on Friday 01/1/08 at 7:30 am; once we arrived in berkeley, we parked the car and turned off the ignition the radio was still on and the headlights did not shut off; we started up the car again and the same thing happened; when locking the car with the alarm, the doors locked but the alarm did not turn on; lights remained on for about 20 minutes, fearing that the battery would run low and we would be stranded 08/05/09: Took the car to elk grove VW and told that warranty will not cover any of the repairs 10/24/09-12/14/09: The car has not been able to start since 10/23/09 and sitting in our garage & now at neillo VW.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 282006

Passat

  • 6,000 miles
I had persistent problems with the latch on the trunk of my 2006 Passat. Finally, the dealership found that pieces of the plastic coating of the latch mechanism were chipping off and fouling the latch. The latch was replaced with a bare metal piece and the problem resolved. This was not resolved, however, until after some anonymous do-gooder dented my trunk trying to shut it.

- Torrington, WY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Nov 152008

Passat

  • 37,000 miles
The trunk on my 06 Passat won't always stay closed. Nothing in particular precipitated the first event. I have to slam it shut every time and it's becoming harder and harder to close. I was rear-ended in March 2008 and the trunk was replaced. The interesting thing is that I had the exact same problem with the original trunk. The original trunk was not wanting to latch properly and the "replacement" trunk does the exact same thing. It must be something about 06 Passat trunks. I did notice that before the trunk had issues closing, it would not automatically open when I pressed the trunk button on the key. Once again, exact same thing happened with both the original trunk and the "replacement" trunk.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #3

Nov 302008

Passat

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 VW Passat 2.0T trunk will not latch when it's cold. Brought it to VW dealer who told me they've seen this happen before and they've replaced several locks and they could replace the lock for $305. They lubricated the lock in the hopes that it may resolve the latch issue. If this is happening with other Passats it is obviously a defect. - I purchased the car new and have had the cam shaft replaced, cam seal leak repaired 4 times, cd player replaced, heater blower resistor replaced twice and blower motor replaced once. All was under warranty except the cam seal leak and the trunk that won't catch and close. A formal complained was lodged with VW of America given all of the repairs the vehicle needed; VW offered me $750 towards a new VW! no offer to pay for a trunk that won't latch. Research on line found other complaints of trunks not latching and some opening while being driven on a highway. VW refuses to recall the vehicle to replace the trunk lock. I was told they don't make recall decisions based on line complaints. I travel alone for business and do not want to leave my suitcase, laptop, etc visible in the car but can't use the trunk because I could be stuck with a trunk that won't latch. This happened to me yesterday and I was stuck in freezing rain with a trunk full of holiday gifts and no way of closing my trunk. After 20 minutes of trying to get the trunk to latch in the freezing rain a gentleman who owns an auto shop stopped and tried working on the lock ; could not get it to latch. He ended up trying the trunk down with rope he had in his truck so I could get home. After 4 hours of warming up in my garage I was finally able to close the trunk.

- New Hartford, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 222008

Passat

  • 86,000 miles
My trunk latch on my 2006 VW Passat will not latch. This causes the trunk to open unless I have it duck taped down. The problem started when I opened it to get something out and it would not shut. I taped it down and the next morning it was closed properly. After grocery shopping, I was able to open the trunk and put the stuff in it, but it would not close again. It has not been able to close since. I called the dealer who told me I was the 5th or 6th person that day with the problem. I called VW America who said there was no recall. Obviously a dangerous situation as the tape can fail and the trunk will spring open while driving.

- Bloomsbury, NJ, USA

problem #1

Nov 162008

Passat

  • miles
The trunk of my vehicle will not remain closed. It appears to be closed and then the trunk opens without warning while vehicle is in motion. This has happened several times on the freeway. The vehicle is nearly three years old and I am the original owner.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?