If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$5,000.00
Average Mileage:
76,562 miles
Total Complaints:
3 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replaced cam shaft (3 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2006 Volkswagen Passat engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments

problem #3

Oct 012009

Passat Sedan 2.0L T - 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,887 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This cam issue started causing issues 3 months after owning my car in March 2009 - dealership repeatedly replaced parts until deciding to replace the cam in October 2009 - I wrote to VWoA regarding all my problems within the year of owning this car, their response "Sorry"!

Changing the Cam fixed the engine light issue for a few month - years 2010 & 2011 I continued having repeated issues with check engine light, weld giving on converter, rubber boots on axles needed to be replaced; cheaper to replace the axles

March 2014 - cam completely went, punctured hole through the high pressure fuel pump, had an oil flange leak, turbo need to be replaced. Although the previously replaced cam I had put in in Octomber 2009 only had 85,000 on it and had a TSB issued against this "Updated" cam I had installed in 2009 VWoA didn't feel any responsibility to help with the cost - total to fix all the items in this paragraph - over $4,000 (USD)!

I caution all that own this year & model car that you might want to trade it in if you have over the 120,000 mile mark & you haven't had this issue because it will be just a matter of time before this happens to you.

Sad thing is I brought it to a VW dealership in April of 2013 with a supposed cam tensioner sticking and they pretty much blamed me for not changing the oil on a regular basis which is BULL; actually I had them do the oil changes for the first 3 years of owning the car and then some in between (they changed service hours) and they knew exactly how I was with my car. To top it off when the cam went the tensioner had never been changed the adjuster was changed; cause of the whole problem - the cam tensioner stuck according to a more high tech VW garage. BE SURE TO READ YOUR REPAIR PAPER AND MAKE SURE THE DEALER INSTALLED THE CORRECT PART

CAUTION - I know this problem has caused others as much frustration as it has me, you will NOT get help from VWoA IF your out of the extended warranty so don't bother unless there is a class action lawsuit regarding all the problems with this car - AND the cam is just 1 Problem in the workman ship.

- , Lebanon, Maine, USA

problem #2

Mar 252014

Passat Sedan 2.0L T - 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,000 miles

Although my car had 144,000 + miles on it the cam only had 85,000 miles on it since I previously had the cam replaced under a TSB by VWoA in October 2009.

There was also a TSB issued on the cam they replaced in 2009 that was supposed to be the "new & improved" cam. This cam was also faulty and I didn't know it until the issue was huge - cam/ housing/ chain etc had to be replaced, the high pressure fuel pump to be replace and the turbo to be replaced - also the oil flange was cracked and had to be replaced (not sure if this is caused by the cam though)

Brought car to the dealer in April 2013 and they diagnosed the Cam Tensioner sticking (cause of engine light sticking). When I brought it in in March of 2014 (below) I went to a different dealer since I had been dealing with the same dealer since purchasing the car and this dealer indicated the previous dealer did not replace the tension and the cause of my problems was due to the cam tensioner sticking (WOW) and they also found a tooth off on the timing belt that I had put in April of 2012!

March 2014 - Now by Jolly after $5,000 I have another "New & Improved" cam just waiting for this one to have to be improved!

- , Lebanon, Maine, USA

problem #1

Jun 052007

(reported on)

Passat 2.0 TURBO

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,800 miles

this particular problem pushed me over the edge. And all the reps at VW could not give a sh*t. the warranty is nearly up50,000 miles and the car is totally paid for. all they would say is sorry. They offered 1000.00 towards a new VW but this 30.000 dollar 2006 trade in value is 14.000. thats right so thats 15,000 towards a new VW. half of what I spent a year and a half ago. there cheapest car is how much. well in short they are saying give us more money step down to the cheep model and make payments. Yea right!!!!noted I said that was the last straw I even asked them to extend the warenty fo another 50,000 miles if they had confidence in the car that would not be a problem. I will never buy a VW again. I suggest tell every one you know. STAY AWAY.

- , Little Egg Harbor, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?