Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Volkswagen Passat fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments

problem #10

Oct 282016

Passat

  • 92,486 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact stated that while stationary, the fuel line leaked fuel onto the ground. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,486.

- Leonardtown, MD, USA

problem #9

Nov 152013

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall - VW still does not have parts to replace the takata airbags.

- Cleveland, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 042016

Passat

  • 40,000 miles
I own a VW Passat tdi 2014 and just before I took in for it's 40000 mile check up the check engine light showed up. They tell me it's the adblue heater that is at fault. It seems this is a very frequent problem with tdi owners. It's also a +$1000 fix. After some research it seems your Agency has had hundreds of complaints regarding this issue. How many have to complain until your Agency steps in and makes this an issue to VW of America? they have no interest in fixing this problem and offering owners some relief. Well as long as it doesn't affect my mileage I could care less. The balls in your court.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 032016

Passat

  • 49,292 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took our 2014 Passat tdi in for a check engine light on 7/18/16 after testing a fault code of P2196 indicated an 02 sensor was faulty. Negotiated to $300 to repair/replace unit. Picked up vehicle on 7/21/16 after repair was made. On 8/3/16 check engine light again came on. Returned to dealer and they indicate that the adblue heater element was faulty. Recommend replacing at a cost of close to $1,000. Since this is part of the emissions issue we feel that this should be covered under any and all warranty. The vehicle has 48,875 miles on it and is only 2 1/2 years old.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #6

May 152016

Passat

  • 41,000 miles
Takata recall engine code for malfunctioning adblue heater, requires new adblue tank $1200 not covered under warranty. Searching online, a lot of owners having same issue. Considering they aren't even using the system, this could be the cause of premature failure of the device. I feel this should be replaced as part of the emissions recall.

- Killeen, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Mar 152016

Passat

  • 0 miles
Suffered a turbo failure in the middle of the highway.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #4

Nov 242015

Passat

  • 26,052 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

26,050 miles and looking at a $5,000 repair bill for fuel pump failure! something about ultra low sulfur and lubricity. Car just died and had to coast out of traffic

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 192015

Passat

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. While driving at 55 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure occurred on two other occasions. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000. The VIN was not available.

- Larwill, IN, USA

problem #2

Mar 082015

Passat

  • 21,755 miles
•miles on car at failure: 21,755 •corrective actions from dealership: Replaced turbo, gaskets, reflash, check particulate filter and replace. •outside air temps at failure:20's – 30's •failure warning signs, if any: Turbo began making horrible whining sound on Sunday afternoon March 8, 2015. Called VW 3/9/15 and took to dealer 3/10/15 for emergency appointment prior to 3/12/15 first available appointment. No warning lights or indicators even after 3 days of driving with horrible noise. •warning lights on dash/mfi: No lights or indicators •problems since replacement: Now at 25,766 miles. Checked oil cap to change oil every 5K instead of 10K now that out of service contract and noticed particles around oil cap. Got magnet and found that many were magnetic. I have videos of the turbo whining before replacement and the magnetic particles identified last evening. Oil was not changed as part of turbo replacement nor were the high pressure lines to/from turbo. Prior oil change at 19,146 for 20K service. No particles around or in oil cap after that service. Turbo occasionally makes a distant whining noise upon startup but stops within a couple of seconds. •did the dealership perform all maintenance and on schedule: Yes (2 different dealers for maintenance. One did 10K and turbo, the other did the 20K). •if not dealership, what oil was used/miles on oil: Oil was not changed as part of the turbo failure/replacement. Oil lines were not replaced either. 5W40 was used for 20K service at VW dealer prior to turbo failure. •do you interrupt dpf regenerators: Try not to as most times I can smell the regen and notice the higher rpms and will continue driving. Have interrupted a couple that could not be avoided due to paying to park in a garage for work.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #1

Jan 202015

Passat 4-cyl

  • 9,700 miles
When driving car loss of power had towed to VW dealer turbo failure with just 9700 miles.

- Milan, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?