Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,613 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Volkswagen Rabbit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit Owner Comments

problem #6

Aug 202014

Rabbit 5-cyl

  • 182,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Defective coolant fan #2 manufactured by siemens. P1951 fault code for non operational coolant fan #2 occurred on 09/29/2011 at 122,163 miles for a 2007 VW Rabbit. VW dealership detected the fault and replaced the defective coolant fan #2 with a new siemens coolant fan #2 at owners request on 09/29/2011. On 08/20/2014 at 182,000 miles the replacement 09/29/2011 siemens coolant fan #2 failed and stopped working. A second fault code P1951 was detected by a certified and licensed private mechanic. Second siemens coolant fan #2 found defective in less than 3 years and 60,000 miles. Original coolant fan # 2 lasted 4 years and 122,000 miles.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 252014

Rabbit

  • 89,000 miles
I want to add a complaint to the Volkswagen mark five model's crankshaft position sensor. For some reason, this senor at times does something to the engine and it kills the engine. It has happened twice in the span of 4 months. Everything is on, including headlights, all electrical systems, steering but at high speeds, the engine dies and I've had to coast to a stop to restart it and restarts without any problems. I've looked at forums to see what could be causing it and my pointed to the crankshaft positioning sensor. It's occurred to vehicles with high and low mileage.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #4

Feb 062014

Rabbit

  • 70,000 miles
The heated driver's seat became uncomfortably hot and burned several holes through the foam and fabric.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #3

Dec 022012

Rabbit

  • 62,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This past weekend I arrived home late Saturday night/early Sunday morning to my local, well-lit train station that I use regularly. I locked my car (as I always do) using the remote and made sure that my car beeped before I boarded the train. I arrived home 9 hours later by myself (I'm a petite 29 yr. Female) and as I got to my car (which had condensation on the windows) I pressed the unlock on the remote and opened the door only to find a man sitting inside my driver's seat. I quickly shut the door but the man immediately got out and approached me.   I was trapped in the parking lot with this man for 15 minutes by myself at 1am.  I am just shocked as to how he got into my vehicle. I paid thousands of dollars for this vehicle to keep me safe and in this economy I expect that the money I invested in this car would do just that. I finally convinced this man to let me go but the fact of the matter is that he rummaged through my entire car looking for valuables (luckily nothing was in plain sight).  my personal space has been violated and I live in fear since this incident.  walking up to my car has been difficult as I just picture his face when I open the door.  I took my car to the dealership today and it appears that the locking mechanism on my driver's side door is faulty. I should not be responsible for this cost and the manufacturer should issue a recall for the door locks. I am lucky to be telling you this story but I need a resolution. If nothing is done, who else will fall victim to this defect?

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #2

Jan 102008

Rabbit 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Frequent near stalls of my 2007 Rabbit 2.5 automatic. This is my 2nd report to you and advised by the orlando sentinel reporter. The car's RPM drops about 1000 RPM on normal acceleration for about 4-6 seconds, never shutting off but just sitting there. This has occurred since taking the lease car in 08, but the dealership refuses to acknowledge the defect. Numerous similar complaints have been filed with edmunds and no action has been taken. This is a very dangerous condition if turning in front of an oncoming line of traffic, and I want it fixed, but also acknowledged by VW. An orlando VW technician told me it also happened in one of their new C model deluxe VW's a month ago. This drop off of power happens almost every time the car is driven. I will advise the orlando sentinel's reporter I have contacted you again. Thank you. Updated 01/18/11. Updated 04/13/11

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 032009

Rabbit

  • 1,780 miles
Engine dies while acceleration from a start causing a dangerous situation. This happens about 6 out of every 10 starts. Taken in for repair twice. The car has now been in for the second time for 3 weeks. The dealer repair manager has yet to determine the problem.

- Oakland, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?