Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,167 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Routan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Routan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Routan Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Oct 152014

Routan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after multiple attempts however, the failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V396000 (electrical system) and were uncertain of when the remedy part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 1/23/15 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled for a second time. Updated 02/20/15

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #43

Oct 152012

Routan

  • 30,000 miles
We've had multiple problems with the van not starting and the dealer did not do anything about because they could not recreate the problem. We received a recall notice in August for ignition problems which could result in the power brakes and airbags shut down while driving. I have called two dealers and VW customer service and they keep saying they still do not have parts after 2 months.

- Strasburg, VA, USA

problem #42

May 022011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Oil consumption since 24000 miles. VW dealer never want to address the problem. Keep tell me this normal. Now I have to add quarter oil every month. On morning car wasn't starting and took to the dealer and had the ignition replaced at 42000 miles but now the key get stuck on ignition multiple times. I hope the recall will fix this problem. I had to replace brakes at 12000 miles due the vibration while brakes. I had multiples electrical problems and some was repair after couple trips to the dealer. This car is a lemon. When we will have our money back?

- Norwalk , CT, USA

problem #41

Aug 012014

Routan

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall letter in 08/2014 for my car 2009 VW Routan. This is the defective ignition switch issue that has been in the news for months. The letter says parts are not available and J will be contacted when they are available. It has been over two months since the letter and they still have not contacted us for the repair. I have four children and my wife. This is the only car we have so we must use it. I have nothing else in my key- nothing of any weight. However I feel that it is unsafe for me to be driving this car around and that VW / Chrysler are dragging their feet on these repairs.

- New York , NY, USA

problem #40

Aug 012014

Routan

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to merge to the side of the road. The vehicle was able to restart and resumed normal operation. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V396000 (electrical system); however, the parts were not available. The failure occurred numerous times. The manufacturer was unable to state when the part would be available. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- New Berlin , WI, USA

problem #39

Aug 272014

Routan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V396000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/05/14

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #38

Sep 272014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 71,397 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My key has been sticking in the ignition intermittently. Usually I have to turn the car back on turn the wheel, put it in gear and back in park, one or both of those things usually frees the key from the acc mode and allows me to remove it from the ignition. Today, I went to start the van and it is dead. Click. That is all it does. It does not appear the battery is dead, as the headlights and interior lights come on, the door dings, the mileage comes up, etc. There is a recall for something involving the ignition, but I have not been informed by VW yet as to a repair. I have sent in four prior complaints concerning this vehicle. I bought it used 7/2010 from carmax. It is unreliable and dangerous to have on the road. The entire brake system needs repaired every 7,000 miles following a sudden caliper seize, the van has numerous electrical issues that cause the car to just stop. One day I heard it running in my garage. I cant rule out one of my children messing with the fob, however, I have difficulty with the remote starter myself? (click2X&hold) I do not feel safe with this vehicle. I will not drive my children long distances or travel roads with them that require speeds over 40 mph. The van died while I was driving it 55-60mph on a busy highway, the VW dealership said it was not a recall issue. I clearly see it is a recall issue for some Routans, my receipt reads exactly as the side door harness recall is stated. I will be working with VW to request reimbursement, however, I don't feel that is good enough. There is a major problem here. I am lucky myself or my children have not been hurt. In hindsight of the GM ignition recall, I would be amiss to think a car company has my best interest in mind. I am hoping my government does.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #37

Apr 302014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 54,694 miles
While driving in jacksonville Florida on highway, wipers suddenly came on, all idiot lights began to blink, headlights began flashing off and on, beeping sound like when door is open, the van suddenly died and I was unable to brake, steer or control vehicle. The van was towed to VW dealership the problem was found to be the sliding door harness which was interfering with normal operation of the electrical system. Replaced sliding door harness and failed battery. When I questioned the faulty part possibly being a recall issue I was told it was not. Cost=$624.48 + rental car. Is important to note here that I had just crossed over a very long large bridge. If I had been going uphill when the van suddenly died I am certain I would have caused an accident inflicting injury or possibly death to either myself or another motorist, as there is no shoulder on the bridge and I was traveling at 55-60mph. I could not control the vehicle. This is clearly an issue with these mini vans. Thank god I was traveling to work and did not have my children in the van as I waited 2&1/2 hours for a tow.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #36

Sep 082014

Routan

  • 83,900 miles
The electronic door (side panel, passenger, and driver) door locks stopped working. At about the same time our front headlights began to intermittently go out during operation of the vehicle, and then stopped working altogether. The vehicle was submitted to the dealership and customer was informed that the headlight ballast was worn out and had to be replaced. Parts were ordered and when the vehicle was taken in for said ballast replacement another mechanic stated this was not a ballast issue since the headlights appeared to turn on during ignition, but then stopped working shortly afterwards. We had to wait until the next day for a dealer electrician to look at the vehicle. The electrician determined a corroded control panel was causing a short and likely causing door the headlight, as well as other issues such as incorrect tire pressure and speed indications and possible fire. No water was introduced to the vehicle, so my question is how does a control panel corrode unless there is a faulty voltage issue and electrical design defect? the mechanic indicated the dealer gets a lot of these issues on the Routan but there is no recall so they charge $900 for the replacement panel. VW knows of this issue that their own mechanics indicate can start electrical fires! the company should be investigated.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #35

Sep 112014

Routan

  • 84,000 miles
My wife took our 2009 VW Routan minivan to a VW dealership today to repair inoperable electronic door locks and faulty headlights (separate complain filed), at which time she was informed of an ignition problem recall. The ignition part was placed on order and my wife was told the part had to be shipped from out of state and should arrive within five days. My wife asked, and was informed the vehicle was safe to operate; however, I looked up the recall when I got home from work and discovered the recall specifically states the engine can shut of during operation due to added weight from other keys or key rings on the VW key fob. According to the recall, dealership and maintenance personnel are supposed to inform customers to remove added keys from the fob. My wife had keys on her fob which the dealer mechanic had in his hand during inspections, but the mechanic never informed her of the risk, and allowed her to jeopardize her life by driving the vehicle without the required safety information.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #34

Sep 112014

Routan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would decelerate and stalled. The contact received a received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V396000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact not to drive the vehicle since the parts were not available. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Louisvill, KY, USA

problem #33

Sep 082014

Routan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V396000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/04/15

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #32

May 092014

Routan

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the doors failed to unlock from the outside of the vehicle. The contact had to utilize the manual lock that was located inside the driver side door handle in order to unlock the doors. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The dealer stated that the key fob and module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Morreszille, NC, USA

problem #31

Apr 042014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Our 2009 VW Routan completely shuts down while driving 3 times now. Not only does it shut down, but the steering and brakes lock as well. On the last occurrence, my wife (with our children in the car) came very close to hitting a parked car in the street. We have taken it to 2 VW dealers so far in charlotte, nc and they state: "we cannot duplicate the issue." Unfortunately, that is not the right answer when you have something as dangerous as this happening to our family car. We have called VW corporate to help 2nd dealership with a resolution, but nothing has been fixed at this time. We are not sure what do at this point, and seems like both VW and VW dealerships are aware of issue, but no one wants to touch it! please help!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #30

Jun 202011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My 2009 Routan 3.8L will intermit not start / I get check engine light and electrical lightening bolt. About 3 years ago it started and I was told it was my battery. Replaced my battery it was good for about 1yr then it started again had the battery replaced again then about 1yr later it started again but my battery is tested good. I went through 2 batteries in about 3 yrs. I even had my starter checked and it tested good. My friend who is a mechanic said why is the starter next to the exhaust manifold it is getting hot. When I have issue in the last year it take about 30min or longer before it starts then I might not have any issues for about 1 or 2 weeks and sometime I might have the issues 2 times in one day. I have checked online and I am seeing many people are complaining about the 2009 VW Routan intermit not starting. I have call VW and my van is not on the list for the ignition switch recall. Today 8/5/2014 my Routan I will not start at all I am going to have the battery checked.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #29

Apr 152014

Routan

  • 56,212 miles
Your site wouldn't allow pull-down for affected parts earlier, here is part of the E-mail report I first sent dealer 5/6/14: "..something new is a problem w/my Routan but I want to check in prior to making an appt. Since we so recently had it in for diagnostic check up. Here's what's happening it's very scary: 6 times now over the last 2 weeks it's just conked-out/shut off while I'm driving, leaving me with no steering, brakes or anything! fortunately it's happened in low traffic areas on fairly straight roads so I've been able to coast to the side, but I'm getting scared to drive my van. Yesterday- it conked out three times...bringing kids home from school-- again very scary, and once on a turn which was difficult but luckily no one was behind me... these events... all happened at low speed 15-30 mph and happen so quietly I can barely tell it's happened... it's like the key/ignition somehow flicks all by itself into the acc position. Then I have to wait til the van stops, turn the key and van all the way off and re-start. Then it seems to start up fine. But this happened three times just yesterday P.M.... it's dangerous, and I'm getting more and more scared to drive my van, but I have to with four kids and activities." Today 6/30/14 (again) dealer found no problem. Cost to replace switch $989. I researched delphi, china, austin martin and fully believe a commonality with GM recall exists. The Routan is a VW & Chrysler complicating my research. I've followed hierarchy- dealer, VW, now NHTSA but hit a road block(no pun). Please investigate this asap. Update 6/30- GM recalled 8M more as "unintended key ignition rotation"- exactly what's happening with my Routan. I tried submitting this complaint earlier- but your website wouldn't allow. So this is not someone jumping on the bandwagon. This is real, please help.

- Darnestown, MD, USA

problem #28

Mar 172014

Routan

  • 65,000 miles
While driving, engine shut off like the ignition was turned off - lost power steering and brakes. This has happened multiple times since incident date. Volkswagen service could not diagnose the problem.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #27

Jun 072014

Routan

  • 58,000 miles
I've had the VW Routan since 2010 - purchased it with 6,000 miles on it. It's a sel so it's auto-everything. In the past 12-16 months both the left and right passenger auto doors stopped working due to a wiring issue. (2 separate incidents; $300 each repair). Today, my left passenger auto door stopped working again. The vehicle sees normal usage and has not been in an accident.

- Bexley, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 132013

Routan

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was not able to replicate nor diagnose the failure multiple times. The authorized dealer replaced the starter and hose but the failure still recurred. The vehicle continued to stall intermittently. The contact had to put the vehicle in neutral and then park to get the vehicle to start. The vehicle was taken to a Volkswagen specialist who diagnosed that the egr valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the failure recurred. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 11V151000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000.

- Mocksville, NC, USA

problem #25

May 232014

Routan

  • 61,344 miles
My electrical system went out on my minivan and I was not notified that it had a recall on it. My van will not start. I have 2 children that I have to get around to school and sport activities, doctors appointments, ect. I have so much trouble with this van since I bought it. With all the recalls, computer failure and the coolant leak into the inside of the van, the interior coming down, and now the electrical system failing now. I have no car to get me kids anyway now. Please help me.

- Vernon, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?