Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,538 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Routan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Routan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Routan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Feb 202015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system). The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The dealer and manufacturer were notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Randalls Town, MD, USA

problem #102

Jul 302016


  • 65,000 miles
*sometimes the vehicle will not start for no apparent reason.VW service dept. Cannot detect an issue. *engine light comes on intermittently while driving-VW cannot detect anything wrong.* alarms go off but no signal showing on the dashboard.*power windows and seats work intermittently- *found vehicle's sliding door wide open I parking lot, twice. * have also found windows open. Our lift gate (trunk) opened while driving on the highway.* vehicle failed to shift, while driving, revved and would not reset until pulling over and turning off the vehicle. Though VW could not find faulty readings and didn't believe tipm is the issue because they couldn't read it. Being familiar with programming, I know that glitches can cause faulty readings.if there is a glitch before the reading can be processed by the computer, there will be no faulty reading logged. A pc won't save a file, either if the power supply is interrupted before it can do so..tipm malfunctions can also cause all other issues I have experienced. Upon getting a second opinion from transmission specialists, they said only the solenoid was faulty. They also confirmed that a faulty tipm box will cause solenoid issues and eventually ruin the new one, too. *recently, all locks stopped working & the vehicle can only be opened & locked manually. At the same time all interior lights were on and had to be turned off at the dashboard- this would have drained the battery had it happened on a work day. VW has had the vehicle for 2 full days and yet doesn't know what's wrong with it. We have had these issues and useless repairs for over 2 years. All issues point to faulty tipm (manufactured by Chrysler, who had to settle in a lawsuit about the tipm box/ faulty relay issue for Jeep, Dodge, and Chrysler). We need help with these issues. Too many of us have it 2011 and 2012 models as well. Please help.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #101

Aug 172016


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. When the vehicle was started, the windshield wipers started to operate independently and the instrument panel, turn signals, and air conditioner failed to operate. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #100

Feb 162016


  • 92,000 miles


The vehicle does not start periodically. The vehicle will start for 2 to 3 weeks and then not start several times. If you wait for a period of time or play with the fuse box, or try different ways to start the vehicle it will start. This is an electrical problem. I have been driving and had all the dashboard lights illuminate and have beeping noises for no reason. No warning lights are illuminated and no errors are on the computer. The vehicle has a new battery and alternator. I have read online the entire tipm unit(fuse box/electrical system control unit) is defective and needs to be replaced along with the starter and fuel pump relays, which is well over $1000 worth of work, but I have not had it completed yet. Others have complained about the vehicle turning off while driving, which fortunately has not happened to me yet. The vehicle has a dvd system that worked and does not work now. This should have been a recall item a long time ago, since I understand Volkswagen is well aware of the issue.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #99

May 192016


  • 72,000 miles
For years I have experienced intermittent failures in starting my car, each time if I wait a while it will start. Additionally, beginning in Feb 2016, my engine will simply shut down while the car is in motion (pretty scary). I have dealt with VW several time to no avail and always at my expense. This latest development may cost me or someone else their life. VW acts like this has not happened to anyone else and if they can't recreate the issue they can't address the issue, really! this is criminal! I have had a starter replaced as well as a switch and no change. All I get from VW is "you can take it to another dealer and get a second opinion we will cover 1 hour of the cost to diagnose the problem" really no greater expertise no information sharing, just another dealer, the third of which will likely tell me, we can't create the problem!

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #98

Feb 122016


  • 127,000 miles
All icons on instrument panel light up causing wipers to deploy, loss of radio/gps, high beam headlights, turn signals, fog lights and preventing the unlocking of rear doors. Problem was diagnosed by port charlotte VW specialist as tipm failure. This failure occurs when in motion and when ignition is turned on.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #97

Jan 152016


  • 50,000 miles


Re: sliding door wiring harness. Defective extrusion coating on cooper wires, which is a non-malleable coating prone to cracking and breaking. Causes failure in electrical system, disabling electronics in the door and potential grounding of voltage. The undesired result is an improperly locked door that can be jarred open and is not properly secured will rattle when driving.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #96

Oct 312015


  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #95

Feb 022012


  • 112,000 miles
While driving, the vehicle accelerated on its own and shook like it was about to stall when braking. The throttle lightening light intermittently came on. When parked, the engine revved exceptionally high and I had to shut it off to stop it. The engine has been replaced along with all electrical wiring and the radiator and radiator fan. The dealership has said all recalls have been repaired. Another diagnostic has not found anything wrong. The interior lights do not dim but are either on or off. The sliding doors will stop working or work partially. The throttle box is currently begin replaced as a best guess solution.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #94

Jan 212016


  • 89,000 miles
I bought a certified pre-owned 2009 Routan. After about a year, the car randomly will not start, it just clicks but will not start. Replaced battery. Still - car will not start. This has been going on for 3 years. Had starter & alternator checked - both good. Had the ignition recall done and problem resolved itself for about 3 months - now it started doing this again - randomly will not start. Hubby moved a wire under the hood and magically the car started. Got home and van will not start! after spending $5,200 on a new transmission - I hate to put any more $$ into this van. Has anyone found a fix for this problem - I've seen many have this same issue. Talked to a lady at VW repair shop who has been in excess of $3,000 trying to fix this exact same problem. Still keeps happening. Help!

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #93

Jul 302015


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning while driving 75 mph. The failure was experienced numerous times. The repair for NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system) was performed. Since the repair, the vehicle experienced the stalling failure, and the fob was replaced twice. The dealer was contacted. The dealer advised that the electrical system might need to be rewired. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate faiure mileage was 90,000.

- Ashville, NC, USA

problem #92

Oct 152010


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the sliding door wiring failed for both sliding doors. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who inspected the vehicle and recommended that it needed to be taken to the dealer for diagnosis and repair. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that electrical wiring for both sliding doors needed to be replaced as well as a fractured wiring harness needed to be replaced. The dealer mentioned that the vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 10V252000 (electrical system) on October 15, 2010. The contact stated that the recall remedy failed to prevent the failure from occurring. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #91

Nov 032015


  • 90,000 miles
Had the win module replaced for the electrical system ignition switch recall. Now the car will make sudden stops and shut down. Car then will not start up unless the battery is unhooked and hooked back up. Dealer wants to charge $350 to do a diagnostic test to determine the cause.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #90

Nov 032015


  • 71,000 miles
The vehicle while driving had all the warning lights come on, the gauges go up and down and the vehicle cut off. This happened multiple times one afternoon. Had to have it towed to the house. Internet search shows that this is a routine problem for others as well.

- White Oak, NC, USA

problem #89

Jan 012015


  • 80,000 miles
The car will not start at times and make clicking sounds. This vehicle has been doing that for quite some time (at 80,000 miles) it is now 106,000 miles. I have taken it just about everywhere and done just about everything. No one can figure out what's wrong with it. I have changed the recall (win module), new starter,

- Katy, Fl, TX, USA

problem #88

Aug 122015


  • 66,000 miles
When slowing down to turn into the parking lot at the local library the vehicle stalled and lost power. After coming to a stop the van would start fine and was able to finish the trip. A few days later this same issue occurred while coming to a stop. We returned the car to dealership for work on a faulty radio and mentioned this issue. The dealership had the radio replaced and took it to a VW dealership to have the ignition switch replaced under a safety recall. It worked fine for about a week then started happening again. The van was taken in for an oil change at an independent shop and they checked about the stalling issue. They could not find any codes indicating a problem, but after the oil change the van worked better for a few days. It now stalls multiple times per day, usually going less than 30 mph. On Sept 19, 2015 the van stalled while accelerating on to the entrance ramp of the highway. The speed was about 45mph.

- Coopersville, MI, USA

problem #87

Sep 012015

Routan 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I recently purchased this van and had a recall performed for the ignition, at the time I was their is was brought to my attention that there was also a recall for the wiring harness on the sliding doors. They noticed a wire broken apart on the driver side sliding door. VW service was going to fix the problem as a recall then they noticed it had already been closed. However the service adviser told me it might be a mistake because he could not tell where it had been done and suggested I call the customer care number for VW which I did. I was told that the recall was done however they would not tell me the exact date or location the service was performed. This was a safety recall because the wires would break and cause a fire. I have twin daughters I am worried for their safety in this vehicle, I would like to know if their is anything that can be done in this situation and if I have a rights since VW can not prove the recall was performed. I am worried for the safety of myself and others and ask for a prompt response to this matter. Thank you

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #86

Jul 012014


  • 110,000 miles
Vehicle stalled several times approximately February 17, 2015.then finally wouldn't start at all. Emergency road side assistance came got car started. Then while driving dashboard started blinking power was lost car cut off. Had to contact road side assistance again to have cart towed to repair facility. Could not find out problem suggested to be towed to dealer. Dealer couldn't find the problem initially then found it made repairs which I found out later it was partly due to the recall (28H1.) then approximately the middle of July 2015 car began to stall again when trying to start. Contacted vwoa made arrangement to have recall repair done again. It lasted approximately 7 weeks later September 2015 and once again the car is periodically stalling when trying to start. If this is electrical again if this problem continues to occur will it eventually loose power and disable the car all together and be in a life threatening situation again.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #85

Jul 042014


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. While driving at 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the vehicle was able to be restarted; however, the the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #84

Aug 202014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under the recall, but the failure occurred. The contact stated that the remedy failed to prevent the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?