Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,172 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Routan drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Routan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Routan Owner Comments

problem #9

Feb 272015

Routan

  • 49,678 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that when the vehicle was placed in park and shut off, the vehicle reversed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA investigation number: PE09035, which may have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,678.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 152014

Routan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle started vibrating and the speed fluctuated independently. Also, the vehicle started to jerk and the contact lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed with a faulty sensor. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred on several occasions. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 202014

Routan

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle shifted into neutral independently. The vehicle was restarted but the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware of a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V151000 (electrical system) however, the VIN was not included and the contact did not confirm if the recall was associated with the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Oxford , MS, USA

problem #6

Jun 072012

Routan 6-cyl

  • 23,456 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought the van in February 2012 since then it has been in the shop 11 times for transmission, rotors, and my passenger sliding doors they open automatically. Now its leaking antifreeze and we bought extended warranty and this part the plastic Y part that contexts two hoses they say isn't covered and wants us to pay 450$ to do it..the van has 38,035 miles we bought it with 18,563 miles how can this vehicle have this many problems? my power doors I believe if they open when your pumping gas isn't right.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #5

May 252011

Routan

  • 11,418 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced numerous failures. The rear rotors became warped numerous times and the dealer replaced the rotors four times. The transmission would cause the vehicle to lunge abruptly when the gear was shifted from reverse to drive. Additionally, the fog light assembly became overheated and burned several times. The plastic on the front passenger side door became fractured and caused the contact to sustain lacerations to the right hand and fingers. The vehicle was taken the to the dealer where all defective parts were replaced however, the contact was concerned that the failures would likely recur. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,418 and the current mileage was 14,470.

- Long Beach , CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Aug 222012

Routan

  • 38,000 miles
The first incident occurred 8/22/2012. The transmission went out. The car would not drive and would rev. Had to be towed. Bearings in the transmission were replaced. 9/22/12. The transmission went out again. Was going up hill and the transmission would rev and not click into gear. Had to have the car towed 200 miles back home. Was told by the dealership my transmission blew up. They replaced. The transmission. Got it back. Still wasn't driving right it was vibrating and making a noise. I insisted it was not correct took them a week to figure out that one of the engine mounts sheared off because they threaded the engine wrong when they put my engine back after replacing the transmission.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #3

Aug 112011

Routan

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

August 11, 2010 the check engine light was one. Codes P0038 and P0032 for 02 sensor faults populated. The codes were cleared. We were without the use of our vehicle for approximately day. September 13, 2010 the check engine light continued to come on. The grounds were tightened and the vehicle was test driven. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 2 days. December 3, 2010 the check engine light was still coming on and off. Check and found fault codes stored for rear 02 sensor. The faulty rear 02 sensor was replaced. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 4 days. February 18, 2011 the check engine light was still coming on. It was determined that the ECM needed to be reset. The ECM was reset and rechecked for codes. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 1 day. May 13, 2011 the check engine light was still coming on. The Routan stalled out twice in one day while driving. The win module was replaced and two new keys were programmed for the vehicle. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 10 days. October 31, 2011 the vehicle was humming during acceleration and pulling without properly switching gears. Metal was found in the pan bell, housing and compounds. The transmission was replaced. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 13 days. December 7, 2011 the Routan stalled out twice when going from reverse to drive. A loaner vehicle was issued and we were without the use of our vehicle for approximately one day. December 16, 2011 the vehicle stalled while in motion twice, once while stopping at a traffic signal and again while parking and placing the vehicle in reverse. We took the vehicle to your dealership to be tested and repaired. We were issued a loaner vehicle. As of today, December 16, 2011, we are still without the use of our vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #2

Sep 032011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Was driving on a freeway with a baby when the car will not move forward while running at 60mph. Very dangerous especially with a baby. The car was also backing up if we do not step on the handbrake. The previous day brought the car to the dealer because I told them that the car will not move even if I step on the gas and the engine light is on. Also told them to check thoroughly because I am going on a roadtrip. They called and said the car does not have a problem. I found out that Volkswagen has an issue with transmission. Service center should have look into this being that it is common problem with Volkswagen before releasing the car. Also when I called their roadside assistance they said that the nearest dealer will not take our car because we need an appointment. ( for an emergency) what do we do, I even told them we have a baby with us and we are in a busy freeway. We had to call again and tell them the situation. Then the dealer helped us. Called Volkswagen customer service on 9/06 told a guy named[xxx]. about their warranty and said talk it out with the dealer, dealers are a private owned company. Who do we then bring the car for repair for cars under warranty? when I called their customer service seems like transmission issue is not something important but not for somebody like me who drives with a baby it is very important. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #1

May 272010

Routan

  • miles
This complaint is regarding my new 2010 Volkswagen Routan, the car is under two months old. The accident occurred after I pulled into my driveway and I put the car in park and left the keys in the engine because I was going to run into open the garage.... I wanted to get a puppy out of the rear of the car first so I went and stood behind the car but it was locked (clearly in parked.) I then went to the drivers side to hit the unlock switch on the door and the car started reversing and I was just caught really off guard so I tried to jump in the car as it was backing up but I guess my reaction was too late and I ended up being shoved on the pavement as the car rolled out of our driveway. At this point I was caught under the open drivers door and I was dragged across my street.... I managed to get out from under the door. Thankfully our neighborhood has deep gutters, I was able to catch up to the car and I manage to jump in because of the stall the gutter created. The car nearly ran through the neighbor's garage and just missed their mailbox. I have no idea how the car could go from a clearly "parked" position to "reverse" on it's own. I have road rash on my toes, feet, knees (my jeans are wrecked), on my hips and on my shoulders. I have bruises from the door being caught on my leg, my entire leg is swollen. After the incident I immediately called the local police department and filed a report.

- Park City, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?