Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,709 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Routan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Routan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Routan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #67

Nov 112016

Routan

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent engine failure. 2010 VW Routan sel. 4.0 engine. Car turns completely off while driving. No engine codes or check engine light come on. Dealers cannot repair and be says this be is not on the recall for this specific problem. It has happened on the highway and recently just pulling down the street at low speed which caused an accident when all systems failed. The car will start right back up. We make sure there are no key chains on the fob but it makes no difference. Only advise I get from dealers is trade it in as it is a known problem. I cannot in good faith trade it in to another family to get killed in when it shuts down. This van is a death trap for families and is unacceptable VW knows if the issue but won't include it.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #66

Aug 282016

Routan

  • 100,000 miles
I am writing to address a safety issue I have with my vehicle, a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. My husband and I purchased this car last year and shortly after its purchase started to experience electrical issues with the vehicle. These issues included warning lights on the dash illuminating, power failures of the dash board gauges (specifically the speed gauge) and radio, and most alarmingly the car would completely stall and lose power. This issue of losing power to the entire car has happened both while the car is in motion and while it has been stopped at traffic lights, as well as at high and low speeds. We took the car to a local VW dealership hoping they might be able to diagnose the issue and fix it. After nearly 3 weeks of having different parts replaced, being told the issue was solved it was not. When driving the vehicle with only the key in the ignition it performs better, although still dies occasionally, but with anything on the keyring it will die almost instantly. It wasn┐T until after removing our car from this dealership that we learned about a recall on the VW Routans that seemed very similar to the issues we were experiencing. Upon research we discovered that our vehicle was produced within the same month of the recalled vehicles but apparently not before the ending date of that recall. So other VW dealerships would be happy to replace the malfunctioning part but at an out of pocket cost for us, which we simply cannot afford, especially after the bill we are still working to pay for other unnecessary work. As a consumer it is very frustrating to have a vehicle that is clearly demonstrating the same issues as previously recalled vehicles but does not fall under that recall. We have reduced to only driving this vehicle as necessary and no longer use it to Transport our two young children as we fear greatly for their safety.

- Kearns, UT, USA

problem #65

Jul 292016

Routan

  • 94,000 miles
The engine is turning off. No power steering or brakes. Going between 20 to 40 miles per hour.

- Ellington, CT, USA

problem #64

May 092016

Routan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. While attempting to start the vehicle, it would not start. The contact had to make about ten attempts before the vehicle would start. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system); however, the vehicles production date (03/25/2010) fell within the dates of the affected vehicles. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #63

Jun 302016

Routan 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the windshield wiper activated independently, all the warning light illuminated, the chime sounded, the speedometer and odometer dropped to zero. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic it was diagnosed that the alternator failed and needed to replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken then to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 104,000. Updated 09/06/16

- Fulton, MO, USA

problem #62

Jul 052016

Routan

  • 70,500 miles
Car flashes ABS esp skid control monitor, shuts car off while driving. Goes back off, does it again.locks the car, won't start, then starts a bit later. Cooling system, heater hose issues, brake issues, cruise control shuts off randomly. Could kill someone. Internet search esp volkswagenddefect.comvolkswagen_routan_problems.htm all exactly what I have experienced since purchasing this vehicle a year ago. Afraid to drive it.

- Defiance, Oh, OH, USA

problem #61

Apr 112016

Routan

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 70 mph on the interstate the van shut-off with out warning. There are no check engine lights. The only warning light was the loss of the traction control. I was able to move the van to the shoulder even with the loss of steering. It took several tries, but I was able to restart the van.this has happened in the past at low speeds. The egr valve was replaced two months ago. I have also replaced the integrated power control module in the past 1.5 years. I have also have issues of the van not wanting to start. I turn the ignition key and there is no response from the van. It is as if I am not even trying to start the van. This is a huge safety issue. Search the internet and you will find this is a common issue. I am disappointed that there has not been a safety recall on.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #60

Nov 172014

Routan

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would stall without any warning. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system) however, the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure and replaced the win module. The remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #59

Mar 112016

Routan

  • miles
Sometimes the electric throttle light comes on and prevents my car from starting. When I call for a tow truck to take it to the dealer to get it checked, it starts back up and the dealership can't find anything wrong. Then on my way home, it does it again. Sometimes I have to wait a few hours and sometimes a few days. It usually happens when the car is stationary. This has been going on for a few months now. The most recent was Friday March 11, 2016.

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #58

Oct 152015

Routan

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized without warning and the electrical systems failed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Short Hills, NJ, USA

problem #57

Feb 062016

Routan

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I would like to inform you that the tipm is not just related to Chrysler. The Routan is a joint Venture between Chrysler and VW. It has the body of a VW body but the engine is a Chrysler. My Routan has had the tipm fail on 2/6/2016 and confirmed by VW dealership. The van has the same signs that every one else was reporting except that the engine never shut off while. It has the signs of the engine not wanting to turn over, dash lights not wanting to work properly and now the headlights not working on low or high beams. The head lights happened when I was driving on the city streets. The engine not working happens when we come out of the stores from shopping, first thing in the morning and same with the windows and doors opening when not is use. I researched online about other Routans and they have Chrysler tipm in them. I do not understand why Routan's have not been included because it is a Chrysler product but it has a VW name on it. It was made in the Chrysler windsor plant in Canada. This all started in late December of 2014 and it was off and on since then. The headlights problem is new but the engine, doors and windows are off/on issue too.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #56

Dec 182015

Routan

  • 71,000 miles
While driving in low gears (2nd, 3rd) car will stall out. Power steering and power brakes no longer functioning, making the care very difficult to manuever. This is especially scary while driving in snow/ice. Making with even more dangerous is stalling while on back roads or curves, if I'm stalled in the middle of the road, another car might not be able to stop and run into me. Jerking movements are also occuring when driving at low speeds when not accelerating, like car is going to stall. VIN is not included in recall, but it is the same problem that was recalled on other 2010 Routans.

- Oxford, PA, USA

problem #55

Oct 012015

Routan

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and various warning lights illuminated. In addition, various electrical functions were lost. The vehicle was able to restart after multiple attempts. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #54

Sep 152015

Routan

  • 50,000 miles
Driver side front door automatic lock stopped working. Lock does not go up via remote key fob or by internal lock switch. The only way to get the door to unlock is to enter the vehicle via a different door and use the manual internal handle to open the door. Sometimes the lock does not go down either, leaving my car unlocked and vulnerable to theft. This is a safety hazard as I am not able to enter the driver side of the vehicle in a timely manner. Plus I have three small children and my hands are often full.

- Mount Royal, NJ, USA

problem #53

Dec 152014

Routan

  • 23,200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the ignition failed to release the key. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,200.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #52

Jun 132012

Routan

  • 25,000 miles
The car will randomly will not start. The battery and lights seem to work ok at that time so that is not the problem so it probably is the ignition switch or a sensor. Then car will work again with no changes or fixes made. The problem is hard to replicate but since it happens randomly it normally happens in the worst possible time.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #51

Sep 172015

Routan

  • 87,000 miles
While car is in motion, the engine will turn off, causing the power steering not to work. Volkswagaon customer care shows that in June 2011 ignition switch was replaced. Vehicle had 15,000 miles. They offered no help at this time.

- Henderson, NC, USA

problem #50

Sep 012014

Routan

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the engine stalled. The vehicle restarted after the first attempt. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Brookfield, IL, USA

problem #49

Sep 212015

Routan

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the key had to be placed into the ignition switch with force and took several attempts to start the vehicle. The contact also had to use force to remove the key from the ignition switch. After several attempts, the vehicle would no longer start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V194000 (electrical system), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #48

Aug 012012

Routan 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the vehicle stalled. The power steering assist warning light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the win module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 11V151000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000....updated 10/15/15 updated 10/20/15 updated 11/17/15.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?