Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,823 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Aug 252016


  • 65,357 miles


I was on a city street in nova scotia with the family in vacation, I was driving like 50 km/H and epc light and engine light came on and on the dash board it said engine fault workshop. My car was starting to act weird, not taking speed, not changing gears my acceleration pedal was pushed at max and it seems like the car was loosing speed. I pull over on the side of the road turn engine off and wait for 4-5 min, when I star car again epc light was off only engine light remain on and no message on the board. Car seems to be good for driving. I reach at the camp ground where we wore and park the car. 20-30 min later my wife want to take a load of laundry to the camp laundry place and wash them, I give her the key for car and when she tried to start, the car wasn't starting. I unplug battery pug it back in nothing was working. I call a toe track to take the car to a VW shop in truro (vantage motors). They told me they fix the problem, they have to change a relay 460 under the driver dash and move a fuse #5 to #7 under the hood and they took the car for a test drive and everything was good, now I can come and pick the car from them 279$ bill. Because I was in a such a hurry to get back home in new brunswick I didn't check to see if car is fully operational, and I didn't have to, because they told me they took it for a test drive. Now on my way down to home I realize my fans are not working, cigarette plugs, windshield pumps on front and back, and windshield wiper on the back are not working, I call the VW shop in truro to find out what is the problem and if is a way for me to fix it.they told me it can be multiple problems to take the car when I reach home to my VW shop in St. John nb.

- St. George, ME, USA

problem #29

Apr 272016


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V441000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 07/01/16

- Jerseyville, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 282014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The epc light came on many times between 2011 and 2014 and the electronic throttle kicked out of cruise control. Miller VW checked the car July 2011, did not have a solution and cleared the codes. I asked our local mechanic about it in July 2013 who identified that there was a tsb for the throttle body wiring harness. We continued to observe the intermittent epc fault response but experienced no problems. The first major incident occurred 28 June 2014 entering I-89 North when entering traffic the epc and engine fault lights came on and the engine lost all power just as we entered the travel lane. The car went into limp mode and would go no faster than 35 mph I switched off the engine while traveling which reset the throttle fault allowing us to continue traveling. This is a short ramp and there is no shoulder at the end of the ramp. I made an appointment for the car at walker VW to repair the car on 2 July. The service department was unable to make the repairs that day as they did not have all of the required parts on hand. On 22 July my wife was preparing to enter I-91 from route 5 South via a left turn on ramp when the epc and engine fault lights came on and the engine went into limp mode just as she was preparing to turn into the on ramp. A tractor trailer was rapidly overtaking her in that lane in a driving rain and the car would not exceed 20 mph. She turned on the flashers and the overtaking trucker veered into the right lane avoiding collision. I then made an appointment with our local car repair shop and trusted mechanic at kingdom imports. They ordered the parts and installed the replacement wiring iaw the tsb on 29 July 2014. Even after ordering two complete sets of parts VW did not include the shrink tape required to stabilize the wiring. VW has chosen the worst solution and should issue a recall and install a purpose built wiring harness.

- East Burke, VT, USA

problem #27

Jul 082014


  • 63,000 miles


I drive a 2009 VW Tiguan 2.0 automatic front wheel drive about 63000 miles situation #1: $782.67 intake manifold (covered under VW warranty extension) de carb fuel pressure sensor pvc valve pressens separator situation #2: $903.20 rear main seal filter oil change after car returned: Issues with power windows, cd player, and sun roof during inspection for above at shop- car over heated while on a test drive issue # 3: about $1000- haven't yet given go ahead cd player may be from 'playing burned cds... see best buy to fix.... sunroof- may be tracking issue- see after market sunroof person to fix... water pump are any of these causing the others" can I hold the mechanics responsible for any of this? is this normal for a car this age/ mileage?" help!!!!

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #26

Jul 252013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 54,939 miles
On July 2013 I was driving on turnpike the car start making loud noise and when I use the brake the noise was loudly, I slow down the noise decrees steady that was oil separator leaking vacuum. On 12-2013 epc light when on. I was driving the car start slow down w/ warning, VW said ignition coil. On March 2014 epc again. On May 2014 epc again, " this time I almost had an accident", car could not go. I pull out and re started car again. My car still the wv services, and paid again. I contact Volkswagen said you have extended guaranteed, that will cover for any repair, they don't care if they customer get kill. My car is not even 5 years to have any unsafe mechanical problems. I bought this car because is one the best, the first 3 years was fine, but now I 'don't know what to do. I still owed $ 12,000.

- Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx, FL, USA

problem #25

Oct 242013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 300,001 miles
There is a panoramic sunroof leakage. Which has possibly cause electrical lighting outage. The leakage has also caused excessive condensation, causing visual impairment when driving.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #24

Jan 152014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


I was driving and got the lamp out warning. More than a few lights were out. Went to the fuse block under the hood and found a bad fuse and melting fuse block. I replaced the fuse with a store bought replacement. The block still is some what melted. I believe this is a fire hazard not to mention unsafe situation at night.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #23

Jan 242014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 65,500 miles
While driving my car, the right low beam headlight went out and the dashboard warning light came on - I stopped the car and looked to see what headlight was out and noticed the right side low beam was out. I went back into the car to head home (only about three miles away 0 but at night), and the other light went out as well - both headlights (low beam) stopped working - I made an appointment with the dealership Monday morning. I had previously received a recall letter and made an appointment two weeks ago to have this looked at - was told it was taken cared of but experienced issues there after. I just wanted this information recorded and make sure the lights do not fail because of a recall issue and safety concerns while driving with the family.

- Parkville, MD, USA

problem #22

Jan 112014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Exterior lights went out completely on the right side of the car. Driving down the highway this could have been a dangerous situation. My fuse under the hood was melted and panel also shows signs of melting.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #21

Dec 152013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Smelled something burning. Passenger noticed their seat was hot. Discovered burn spots in the passenger seat.

- Oxford, PA, USA

problem #20

Dec 012011


  • 54,000 miles


The front right headlamp and the rear right backup light on our 2009 Tiguan have stopped working. The dealer says the fuse box is melting and needs to be replaced but they ccantguarantee it won't happen again. ! this is a fire hazzard and ridiculous that VW wont fix it !! help !

- Rhoadesville, VA, USA

problem #19

Nov 092013


  • 50,000 miles
Hello - I started my 2009 VW Tiguan on Nov. 9, 2013. After placing the car in drive, all of my dashboard lights for "lighting failures" came on, a total of 8 different error messages - license plate lights, driver and passenger taillights, backup lights, front headlights, turn signals. At this point I was on the road, and quickly pulled over to the closest parking lot I could find. I was about to head on the highway. I immediately turned around and drove home and did some research. I opened the interior fuse panel, but that was ok. I went in under the hood and saw the 30 amp fuse was completely melted. (I took a picture, and have it for reference.) this could have been a very dangerous scenario, and there were no warning signs. I can't help but wonder how that fuse has impact the lighting system overall in my Tiguan.

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

problem #18

Aug 012013


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan. The contact was driving 40 mph when the driver's side headlight failed to operate properly. The vehicle was taken for inspection where the contact was informed that there was an electrical issue with the fuse. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate mileage was 40,000.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 222013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 70,798 miles
Drivers side head light went out took car to dealer for replacement and was told that the engine compartment fuse box was melting and it needed to be replaced which we did so that the car would not catch on fire at a cost of over $500.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #16

Oct 152012

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Lighting fuses melted - had the vehicle in multiple times for light bulb issues, etc and had the radio swapped out and it still continues to go off and on. Lights worked here and there but seemed to always go out after driving a significant amount of time and usually at night and then after sitting would work again in the morning *until it was driven a bit* - lighting melted to the engine and was told all fuses needed to be replaced but the car continues to have issues with the electrical system. I called the dealership - a second dealership and then corporate office and no one would do anything to fix the issue and I was told they never heard of this happening - come to find out it is a common issue in these cars.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 112013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
While driving down the highway in dark, snowy, and icy conditions with medium traffic, some of the vehicle lights went out and VW warning indicator came on saying multiple lights were out. After pulling over in a safe location, found right high beam, right low beam, right front blinker, right fog lamp, right rear blinker, and taillight out. Upon further research and troubleshooting, found 30 amp lighting fuse in under-hood fuse box severely melted. Additional research revealed that this is a common VW problem and should be recalled.

- Ester, AK, USA

problem #14

Oct 082013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 53,600 miles
Driving on the hwy, check engine light came on and epc light, engine starts to run very rough, took it to the dealer, they said it is a coil, replaced it, a week later the same thing happened again on the hwy doing 70 with family, took it to the dealer, they said all the other 3 coils went bad at the same time!!!!!! I am really afraid to take this car for a long trip, the other issue : the fuse melted causing the license brake light harness and trunk opening to fail twice.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #13

Oct 192013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
For the 2nd time in less than a year, we had a front headlight go out, the bulb wasn't bad but the fuse was. The first time the fuse was blown and looked like it had slightly been melted. The most recent time this happened on 10/19/13 the fuse was almost totally melted and also slightly damaged the fuse next to it. This is a 2009 model and we've already had to replace the O2 sensor, accelerator coil and now two fuses for the headlights.

- Lafayette, CO, USA

problem #12

Jul 162012


  • 38,000 miles
My headlights and daytime running lights would intermittently work and not work. Sometimes I would turn my car on and all of my lights would work, and other times all of them would fail, or just one side. Sometimes they would fail while driving. I took the car into royal automotive group in san francisco and they initially claimed it was bad bulbs, it took them 2 weeks to work out it was a faulty main fuse box. This was replaced under warranty but I have still had continuing problems with my headlights, indicators and day time running lights going out constantly dying out and requiring replacement.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 132013

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Warnings and errors showed up on the dash board concerning headlight, blinker and brake-light outages. Researched online, turns out the fuse box started melting causing one of the fuses to melt which caused the electrical malfunction with the lights. This can apparently cause a fire.

- San Deigo, CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?