Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: VW gave the Tiguan a facelift with new headlights, a fancier grille, and improved performance. Unfortunately they didn't address what gave most 2010 owners headaches --- engine problems.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Sep 112016

Tiguan

  • 57,836 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light appeared 09/11/16. Vehicle was stationary at the time the light engaged. Dropped off at dealer who informed me that the tensioner had failed and the following had to be replaced: Tensioner, timing case, sealent, gasket, bracket, valve, and rail needed to be replaced. He stated that the problem was caught early enough that upon inspection of the engine they found no damage to the engine. There is no maintenance schedule in the manual for the tensioner. He also stated that due to the tensioner failing, the timing chain was skipping links which would have lead to engine failure. There were no dash board messages indicating why the check engine light was triggered. Please see enclosed invoice as attached.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 152016

Tiguan

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle shook and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine failed due to the timing change tensioner and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #21

Jul 252016

Tiguan

  • 130,000 miles
Reference tsb 15-12-01 (NHTSA 10045560) and tsb 15-11-04 (NHTSA 10043276) where the timing chain sensor fails prematurely resulting in timing chain slippage and catostrophic engine damage. See VW complaint case # 160737061 whereby VW denies financial responsibility due to vehicle mileage. This is a known and recurring issue to a vehicle component that is designed to last the life of the vehicle by the oem's admission. VW needs to extend warranty coversage for damages related to timing chain slippage to a reasonable vehicle life expectancy and not a convenient life expectancy.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #20

Jul 032016

Tiguan

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Tiguan only running 50K miles broke down in the middle of the highway. The engine light went on and the car stopped accelerating. When I towed it to the mechanic, I was told the timing chain tensioner and crankshaft sensor were bad. The timing chain tensioner defect caused complete engine failure. I now do not have an engine. After looking into this issue and talking to some lawyers all over the us, it seems like many people with VW Tiguans (2.0L engines) have this issue and there are a few class action law suits in the us regarding this matter. I spoke to VW of America and they said there was no recall issued, although they are aware of this defect. VW dealership now tells me the estimated cost to repair the engine and timing chain tensioner is around $10,000. If the timing chain tensioner was not defective, my engine would have never failed. I showed them proof of oil changes over the last 3 years in which were all done in a timely manner. I am now fighting with VW of America about this issue. There should be a recall on these vehicles. My car immediately broke down on the highway and I was very lucky that no one crashed into me. This is a very dangerous problem.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #19

Jul 012016

Tiguan

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan. While driving various speeds, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Shortly after, the vehicle failed to accelerate any further. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the crankshaft sensor and timing chain tensioner failed and needed to be replaced. While the vehicle was at the dealer, the technician had the vehicle running with the timing chain tensioner failure, which caused the engine to fail. The engine would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000...updated 10/26/16

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #18

May 312016

Tiguan

  • 64,700 miles
After an oil check and replacement, within 4 weeks the check engine light came on and car has exaggerated sounds after shut down (told this is the fan cooling down car). The symbol appearing on the dash as indicated in the manual, states there may be a problem with the catalytic converter, but when taken to the dealer was told it was the turbo bypass valve $359.11 + tax and cooling fans $949+tax, plus the need for a software update $129.50 +tax and may be the turbo has to be replaced $2233.16 + tax, after they do the initial repairs. Now the car is over heating when in traffic and on hot days. Please note we were told that a new engine was put in the car in 2014, because they could not find out what was wrong with the car while it was under warranty after it stalled and would not turn back on. Since the repairs are so expensive for these latest issues we have not done the repairs. Wrestling with keeping the car, since it has had multiple issues. Just before it stalled previously there was a epc light and a catalytic converter light. Took it to the dealer and it remained there for a few days and was told problem was resolved. About a month later the epc light came back on. This time the car stayed with the dealer for over a month and eventually we were told a 2014 engine would be placed in the car. They could not find out what the exact problem was. We were told it may be due to slug in the engine. Despite this the cost for the engine was covered under the warranty. Later the catalytic converter light came on and it was changed and for a while no problems until now. Now we have a very expensive fan and turbo problem with no warranty to cover the cost. This car has had too many issues, most occurring within just 5 years of the purchase. We usually just leave it at home and use our son's car for long distances.

- Mount Vernon, NY, USA

problem #17

May 152016

Tiguan

  • 58,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My VW 2011 Tiguan's timing belt skipped and end up damaging the engine. The car was stationary, my wife, a couple of hours before came back from a meeting in the car and parked it. Then when she went back to the car it cranked but didn't turn on. It only has 58K miles but VW is not responding because it was 5 month past the warranty end date. This happened in 5/2016... most of the recommended scheduled maintainance were performed and most have been performed in the dealership but the last one that was performed in Firestone. Still no resolution from VW other than telling us that we are out of luck and that we have to pay for the repairs, about $12K.

- Fulton, MD, USA

problem #16

Feb 072016

Tiguan

  • 54,000 miles
Car stalled driving on highway speed, luckily no accident occurred it's very common failure of ignition coil on almost all VW models, failure will cause your car to be inoperable. VW didn't issue a recall or at least notify owners of VW cars to change their defective ignition coils.

- Brentwood, NY, USA

problem #15

Mar 252016

Tiguan

  • 55,000 miles
Common failed timing chain tensioner on many VW's tsi engines, caused complete engine damage and costly repair, luckly no injuries happened VW refused to repair even though car was still under warranty when damage occurred.

- Brentwood Ny, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 012016

Tiguan

  • 70,000 miles
Timing chain tensioner failure at 70,000 miles. Suffered a catastrophic engine failure when the timing chain jumped time. The tensioner failure is a known and confirmed issue since 2012.

- Derry, PA, USA

problem #13

Jan 012016

Tiguan

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle decelerated and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the manifold was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the crank case breather valves needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #12

Feb 012016

Tiguan

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under an unknown manufacturer recall, which was directly related to the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the turbo charger needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- Sparrows Point, MD, USA

problem #11

Dec 302014

Tiguan

  • 40,407 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the engine stalled. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that two of the ignition coils were not firing well. The technician replaced the coils. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,407.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 292015

Tiguan

  • 68,000 miles
I was turning left off of a hwy. I attempting to accelerate to 40 miles and the car hesitated like it was switching gears, decreased in speed and started shaking. I pulled over, checked the gas cap, - it was closed. Turn car off for a few minutes, restarted, car still shaking. I drove the car to safe place off the road. The car would not accelerate past 20 miles hours. I put the hazard lights on, but they kept going off. Then I called the tow truck. The car had received scheduled maintenance including spark plug changes two days ago, but then this happened. Volkswagon dealer service folks said the problem was the ignition coil misfired. Originally charged 300 to have it fix, then discounted and paid 200. I see there are numerous recent complaints about the ignition coils in the years around my model year, and volkswagon recalled the ignition coil a few years ago for older models. I think they need to extend the recall to cover the 2011 year. This is a safety hazard. I reported it to volkswagon. The car behind me almost hit me in the back. A block further I would have been on a highway driving 70 miles per hour. I love my volkswagon, but this was a dangerous situation.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 182012

Tiguan

  • 15,324 miles
Problems started at 15,822 miles. Parking brake switch jamming. At 44,690 miles engine and epc. Lights comes on, engine stalls while driving. Found 2 faults set inecm for random cylinder miss fires (P0300) and miss fires on cyl 2 (P0302). Checked freeze from data and found fault were set at engine start up. Performed de-carban service, at 45,400 oil leak from drain plug washer. Long-life washer on drain plug leaking. Bluetooth malfunctioning and had to be replaced at 49,084. Also problem and found internal malfunction in new model. At 50,011 miles, found faults for intake manifold runner position sensor/switch circuit range performance. Replaced intake manifold and reseal fuel injectors. At 54,618 miles, driver side headlight bulb replaced. Found valve cover gasket leaking. At 54,902 miles found valve cover and upper chain cover gasket leaking. Replaced valve cover sealant, upper timing chain cover and vacuum pump gasket. At 63,186 miles. Fuel rail pressure too low, determined high pressure pump internally faulty. At 68.222 miles driver door hinges loose. At 68,222 miles fuse problems. F16 burned as well as panel. Had also replaced fuel pressure regulator fuse. Problems are on going. Car is unsafe to drive. It still looses power and stalls while driving. Engine and epc lights come on intermittently. VW usa is aware of the problem, but will not take responsibility and declare the car unsafe. It is just a matter of time before a major accident with fatalities occur.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 232014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 43,719 miles
While operating the vehicle it began to shake, lose speed--the ECM warning light came on--was determined that an ignition coil had failed--have had a another ignition coil failure in Feb. 2015.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 152014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 35,953 miles
We bought 2011 VW Tiguan SE in May 2011, and this notorious ignition-coil issue happened twice to us already. Below is the timeline & details. On 4/19/2014, we finished the last manufacturer-covered-service at a dealership (3 years/36K miles), and we were told our car is in very good condition. On 5/15/2014, the car's engine light came on and the car cannot increase its speed. On 5/16/2014, the staff of the same dealership as above checked the car & told us #1 & #2 ignition coils were dead. After they replaced them, the issue has gone. On 9/13/2014, we finished the recall service for the car regarding to the fuel bubbles issue. According to the staff of the same dealership as above, the software related to the issue has been corrected, and everything else checked was ok. On 9/15/2014, the car's engine light came on and the car cannot increase its speed again! it behaved exactly the same way as it did in May. We have to tow the car to the same dealership as above. On 9/16/2014, the staff of the dealership checked the car & told us #4 ignition coil was dead. I asked them to replace both #3 and #4 ignition coils this time. After they replaced them, the issue has gone. I also asked the staff, "is it normal to have this ignition coil so often for a 3 year old car" how frequently we have to replace the ignition coil? I don't want my wife and baby stuck in traffic like this time.". however, no answer or suggestion was given since the staff claimed he's not a mechanics. This time, we have to pay for the towing service, parts, and the labor cost (1.5 hours"!). the staff suggested us to save the receipt for future just in case there would be a recall related to this issue. I searched the VW ignition coil issue online and found this website and other resources to file the complaints. Then I realized this notorious ignition coil issue has been there for a while with VW cars.

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #6

May 152014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 32,407 miles
We bought 2011 VW Tiguan SE in May 2011, and this notorious ignition-coil issue happened twice to us already. Below is the timeline & details. On 4/19/2014, we finished the last manufacturer-covered-service at a dealership (3 years/36K miles), and we were told our car is in very good condition. On 5/15/2014, the car's engine light came on and the car cannot increase its speed. On 5/16/2014, the staff of the same dealership as above checked the car & told us #1 & #2 ignition coils were dead. After they replaced them, the issue has gone. On 9/13/2014, we finished the recall service for the car regarding to the fuel bubbles issue. According to the staff of the same dealership as above, the software related to the issue has been corrected, and everything else checked was ok. On 9/15/2014, the car's engine light came on and the car cannot increase its speed again! it behaved exactly the same way as it did in May. We have to tow the car to the same dealership as above. On 9/16/2014, the staff of the dealership checked the car & told us #4 ignition coil was dead. I asked them to replace both #3 and #4 ignition coils this time. After they replaced them, the issue has gone. I also asked the staff, "is it normal to have this ignition coil so often for a 3 year old car" how frequently we have to replace the ignition coil? I don't want my wife and baby stuck in traffic like this time.". however, no answer or suggestion was given since the staff claimed he's not a mechanics. This time, we have to pay for the towing service, parts, and the labor cost (1.5 hours"!). the staff suggested us to save the receipt for future just in case there would be a recall related to this issue. I searched the VW ignition coil issue online and found this website and other resources to file the complaints. Then I realized this notorious ignition coil issue has been there for a while with VW cars.

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #5

Jul 202014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Timing chain tensioner failed causing the timing to jump destroying the engine.

- Glenwood Springs, CO, USA

problem #4

Apr 242014

Tiguan

  • 44,000 miles
Twice while driving, the car has shut off. Once when leaving a parking lot. Once on the interstate in traffick, going under 20 mph. The dealership replaced the J519 module.

- Mt Pleasant, SC, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?