Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,650 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volkswagen Touareg wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volkswagen Touareg:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volkswagen Touareg Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 252009

Touareg

  • 61,525 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have a 2004 Volkswagen Touareg which has had a continuing problem since June 2009. The tire pressure monitoring system continually comes on with loud and sometimes intermittent and sometimes continuing beeping warning of flat tires, or the system is "learning". each wheel has a battery operated unit (wheel sensor) which will not be replaced under warranty until the battery is completely dead. There is a $75- charge each time to inform you that the battery is not yet dead. In the meantime you drive along with the warning signal going off.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #21

Jun 152010

Touareg 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,285 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Touareg. The contact stated the gear shift selector would not move out of park and he was unable to remove the key from the ignition. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. While the vehicle was being towed, the entire console and warning lights illuminated. In addition, the contact stated water was entering the vehicle and settling in the trunk near the spare tire. The dealer removed the shifter cable and replaced the harness, a wire and the shifter column. The failure mileage was 75,285 and the current mileage was 76,065. Updated 11/02/10. The consumer stated the trunk would not open properly. The tire sensors would come on. The ignition switch was defective and had to be replaced. Updated 11/04/10

- Whitestone, NY, USA

problem #20

May 282010

Touareg

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2004 Touareg and have been having transmission issues hard shifts, bucking and hard downshifts. I have taken this to the VW dealer and they say there is nothing wrong with the transmission. It is very very dangerous when access the highway and in several cases it shifts so hard that it knocks it's self out and you have to pull off the highway until resets to 4th gear from 6th. I now have to shift manually. I have this issu E daily and I know this is a wide spread issue.

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #19

Dec 052008

Touareg 8-cyl

  • 38,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Touareg. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions, the flat tire caution warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle continued to travel three to four miles when the emergency flat tire warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The driver pulled over to the side of the road, but did not notice any flat tires. The warning indicators remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the failure was related to a faulty manufacturer design. There was no repair available. The technician was unable to disengage the tire pressure module to avoid the false warnings displayed on the instrument panel. The failure mileage was 38,200 and current mileage was 40,083. Updated 3/19/09 updated 03/23/09.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #18

Jul 152006

Touareg

  • miles
I have had my 2004 VW Touareg since June 2006 and have had problem after problem with the vehicle. The catalytic converter went out within 6 weeks of buying the car, the drive shaft had to be replaced, the air conditioning compressor had to be replaced, the brakes have had to be replaced and I am getting another "check brake pads" error again, the tire monitoring system continually tells me I have a flat, the radio amplifier was making a loud cracking so the dealership replaced a fuse and blew the 2 back speakers (which they would not fix, hewlett VW in georgetown, Texas), the auto differential is going out. There seems to be no end in sight for repairs.

- Leander, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Nov 232008

Touareg

  • 34,300 miles
The tire pressure monitoring system will periodically display various warning messages indicating a flat tire. Tire pressure has always been normal (unchanged from prior tare), and visual inspection of the tire including soap test has always been normal. Dealer has been unable to fix the problem, citing inability to replicate it.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #16

Nov 062008

Touareg

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For months I listened to "defective tire" warnings and "check tire pressure" warnings - all to no avail - everything was fine. Finally, a light came on - "tire pressure monitor system fault". I took it in the vacaville VW, and they determined it was the TPMS module (not the sensor). I have an extended warranty and was first told that the module was a covered component, while the sensor was not. I left it there for the appropriate repairs on a Thursday (11-6-08). On Friday, I was informed that the repairs had been made, but when test driving the vehicle, the "check engine" light came on. After checking...they find the coil is bad. Vacaville VW replaces the coil and it is ready for pickup on Tuesday, 11-11-08. I pick the vehicle up on Wednesday and two days later, the tire pressure monitor system fault light comes on again. It is now at vacaville VW and I am waiting to find out what is wrong now.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 282008

Touareg

  • 44,000 miles
Multiple engine light failures for over 4 years. Engine light came on and engine shut down immediately while wife was on the freeway. Very dangerous...essentially no warning. Have replaced wiring harness in the vehicle and have had it in the shop for electrical issues many times. Unsafe handling and acceleration...car jumps forward at stops while it is downshifting. Think the transmission, tires and brakes should be tested. Think you will find they are defective. Engine blew up at 44,000 miles. Very dangerous car..and you will find other Touaregs with similar issues. Should be recalled.

- El Dorado Springs, MO, USA

problem #14

Jul 282005

Touareg 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Touareg. The warning tone of the tire pressure monitoring system sounds intermittently. In addition, the headlights failed, and the vehicle pulled to the right sporadically and without warning. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. The contact possessed the repair invoices. The failure mileage began at 100. The consumer stated the failures continue, she has had multiple problems with this vehicle brake rotors replace at 15,000 miles, brake pads had to be replaced at 18,000 miles, two tires replace at 16,000 miles, tps lights continue to go on and off been fixed, four new tires at 30,000 miles. The consumer states that there have been 9 recalls and tps lights still in failure. Update 05/04/07

- Newbury, MA, USA

problem #13

Jul 192006

Touareg 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving the vehicle the passenger side or driver's side headlight darkened. There were no warning indicators or dashboard lights illuminated to indicate there was a failure with the headlight(s). Eventually, the other headlight darkened. The only way the lights would illuminate again is by restarted the ignition. The dealership replaced a computer chip, changed the bulbs and other unknown repairs were made, however the problem still persists. Updated 8/14/2006 - the tire warning light illuminated. The dealer replaced the control unit.

- Wilmette, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 022006

Touareg 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,880 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Volkswagen 2004 Touareg sport utility 4D has serious alignment problems resulting in premature tire wear on all 4 tires! front 2 tires are down to metal showing with only 19,880 miles. Car has been in for all scheduled services and rotations. Almost lost control of car while driving! also, pre-mature wear of front & back brakes & pads due to the alignment/tire problems! condensation on front windshield that defogger does not remove. Fuel injection recall that on service bulletin stated it could result in a fire if not fixed! tire pressure monitoring system failure, esp failure, computer software failure!

- Newport Beach, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 092004

Touareg 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I took delivery of my 2004 VW Touareg on 7-11-04. By 9-9-04 it was having problems. It has been in 6 times for electrical problems, 3 times for the ac, 3 times for the battery, and 1-2 times for other things. Tomorrow, I will be taking it in again for further A/C problems, brakes that catch on their own while in drive, intermittent faulty triggering of tire pressure monitoring system, and a hole that I discovered only day in the fire blanket under the hood. Apparently the engine heat has been burning a hole in it and has burned away a hole right through the blanket to the hood itself, but not through the hood yet. This car has meant time lost from work and an inordinate amount of time spent in the shop and paying for rental cars. This car is a fire and safety hazard. Fairfax county consumer protection (roy seger) had contacted VW as this car falls under the lemon law. VW responded that they would not comply, stating that they had fixed the battery. Their response failed to account for the multitude of other problems...and now this. I have never felt so powerless. Is there anything you can do to help??

- Dunn Loring, VA, USA

problem #10

Apr 182005

Touareg 8-cyl

  • miles
2004 Volkswagen Touareg loss power own 3 occasions at 780 miles. Windshield wipers did not work in the intermittent mode, tire pressuring monitoring system malfunctioned. ** answer required*** the tire pressuring monitoring system was giving a false reading as if there was a problem with the tires.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #9

Oct 222005

Touareg 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Our 2004 VW Touareg V-8 has the following problems despite five trips to the dealer: I) hesitation during acceleration; II) pulls hard to the right; and III) shifts roughly at low speeds. Past problems include: Iv) the latch on the rear door broke, such that it came crashing down on my wife's head; V) the rear seat belt latch wouldn't work; vi) the car shuddered badly when you tried to make a turn at low speeds (e.g., while parking) and vii) the flat tire indicator went on even though the tire was neither flat nor low. We have an arbitration scheduled for 11/9/05 under California's lemon law.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #8

May 112004

Touareg 10-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45 miles
The contact stated there was a problem with the tire pressure monitoring system. It gave incorrect readings. The warning indicator light stayed on. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership six times. The tire pressure has been checked, and the monitor has been reset. The dealership has been unable to correct the problem.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #7

Aug 012005

Touareg

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Tire pressure monitoring system failure (TPMS) no events led to failure, system just disappeared from car...tells me I have a flat tire when I don't....tires losing pressure now and alignment is off for a second time after being serviced, tires wearing incorrectly and at a fast rate...there is a serious problem here that need to be investigated with VW before another Ford/tire situation/death happens to all of us now VW Touareg owners. (2004 VW Touareg V6 owner: Brand new!)

- Newport Beach, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 232004

Touareg 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
My 2004 Touareg with less than 5000 miles has been in for servicing 7 times. The brakes have been worked on and looked at three times. They still squeal but the problem has lessened. Of more concern are the safety issues that have affected me. I have been locked out of my vehicle twice, each time with a different resolution. Updated software was the latest fix. My airbag fault light is now on. Another software resolution is on the way. I have no confidence in the quality or safety of this vehicle or when the next issue will arise. Volkswagen told me my car was not problematic and I had "buyers remorse". I am in awe of their lack of concern especially when I know I am not the only Touareg owner out there with problems.

- Princeton Jct, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 092004

Touareg 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles
The computer program controlling the tire pressure monitoring system is flawed. The computer will indicate (on dash display) that a tire is flat when the actual pressure is about 4 pounds either high or low. It will not show the actual tire involved or condition. It also causes an audio alarm to be sounded continually until the car is pulled over, stopped and the system disabled from the on dash controls. This is not always possible when on a freeway. The alarm is totally and completely in error.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #4

Sep 192003

Touareg 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,297 miles
The vehicle comes equipped with a tire pressure sensor. This sensor failed and registered that the tire pressure was low in one or more tires when the tire pressure is fine. The dealership has replaced the sensor and rotated the tires but the failure still occurs. Also the entire body of the vehicle shok at about 40 mph. Please provide additional information.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #3

Oct 182003

Touareg 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,079 miles
2004 Touareg that has experienced multiple battery failures due to excessive draw. The vehicle cannot be left unattended for more than 3-4 days w/out experiencing battery failure. Has been to VW service on 3 occassions for a total of 40 business days. The car has also experienced multiple tire pressure monitoring system failures which could provide erroneous information directly related to the tire condition. Accordingly, the vehicle iss unreliable, prone to electrical system malfunctions which could impact operator, passenger and other motorist safety.

- Cape Carteret, NC, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?