Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,432 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volvo S60 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volvo S60:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volvo S60 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Nov 202008

S60

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Volvo S60. While driving less than 50 mph and slowing down to make a turn, the vehicle stalled. This became a pattern when attempting to make left and right turns. The dealer stated that there was a recall for the failure; however, his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling). No repairs have been made to date. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were less than 92,000.

- Lodi , CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 262007

S60

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo S60. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically stall without warning. Speed was not a factor during the failures. A mechanic inspected the vehicle, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling). As of October 28, 2008, the vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000 and current mileage was 58,888. Updated 12-02-08 updated 12/02/08.

- Goleta, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 212007

S60

  • 58,000 miles
2004 Volvo S60 2.5 turbo: No warning to the events. On numerous occasions, the car feels as if it has hit a large object, temporarily lurches and appears to momentarily stall creating a temporary loss of vehicle control. This is followed by an immediate loss of all instrument gauges, air conditioner, window controls and door locks. The fan did continue to work. The ABS warning light also indicated as well as a warning that no brakes function existed. The SRS service air bag urgent indication is illuminated. On turning the car off and restarting, the functions of the car return with exception that the SRS service air bag urgent indication remains. This problem can take months to repeat or only a matter of minutes. It seems to be more prevalent in hot weather. The vehicle was taken to the service shop at the Volvo dealer and they could only clear alarms as they said the event created too many alarms/fault codes to troubleshoot. They downloaded new software revisions to each control module in the car. After a period of approximately a month, the events began occurring again. The vehicle has been taken to non oem mechanics as well and they are not able to troubleshoot the fault. The vehicle is scheduled to be taken to the dealers service shop again. Searching the internet chat rooms and blogs, as well as this site, there appears to be numerous other vehicles with this same safety fault that stalls vehicles in traffic and creates very sudden and severe lurches in power ultimately leading to a momentary stall out with loss of all instrument indications to include speed, RPM, turn indicator, etc.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 222008

S60 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was leaving ucla parking garage (I'm an rn there) when I put my Volvo 2004 S60 into gear and it took off backwards like a rocket, car was thrown into a concrete post far away from where I began. I immediately put car in park since I thought I'd get out and see what on earth happened, but it then lunged forward by itself and took off without stopping!!! thank god it was 6pm and not an hour earlier when many staff would have been in garage, I'd have run them over! I also turned off ignition with key, nothing helped!! it kept going along with a mind of its own at approx 15 mph making a growling whirring sound. I was able to steer car and avoid other vehicles but eventually had to make serious decision to purposely crash into another concrete massive post which I did and the "possessed beast". finally came to a halt with fluid pouring out all over, . my brakes did not work during this event, not at all, that's why I couldn't stop the car (along with foot on brake, tried putting car in park gear and turned off ignition key last August when I had only 22, 000 miles on car it took it to Volvo dealer twice, since car was often stalling and stopping on the street while I was driving. I was told they couldn't find it stalling when they test drove it but they mentioned they cleaned the throttle and said that could help (which it did until 2, 500 miles later when this happened. I have dealer paperwork indicating car stalling and that they cleaned throttle box also, they said I should be taking car on the freeway more at high enough speed to "blow off the carbon" I spent Friday night in er with neck/shoulder injuries, but this could have been a disaster. Forgot to mention that when I took car in for service July 2007 dealer replaced fuel pressure sensor as per recall. Don't know if this is significant. Also wrote on form "during inspection found upper engine mount collapsed, cause........ engine repair". updated 03-25-08 the dealer stated rear brake pads had to be replaced. Updated 03/25/08

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #5

Feb 052008

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2004 Volvo S60 2.5T and recently had problems with the engine stalling in the middle of a busy road. This concerns me because of the high risk of being involved in a major accident. I'm worried this may happen again. Iżve contacted my dealer (phillips Volvo 4980 Virginia beach boulevard, Virginia beach, va 23462) and they informed me I do not have a recall on my vehicle. I am still taking my car to the mechanic to see what the problem may be. I've had a "check engine" light on and off for many months now, the dealership has checked this out and said I have no errors and my car is fine. I am very uncomfortable with this diagnosis.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #4

Oct 252007

S60 4WD 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
Cars shut off on two separate occasions with out a moments notice within a two week period, once at a stop sign another time in stop and go traffic on a major highway. I have only owned this car for less than two months. There are no signals or codes listed on the car as to why it shut off. Car doesn't have problem restarting at all. Volvo dealer has listed this car as up to date with all recalls. Issue is yet to be resolved, due to mechanic's not experiencing the shut off point they are failing to diagnose the situation period. My safety is 1st, however my car may shut off at any point, so I do not feel safe in this car at all.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #3

Mar 102007

S60

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,983 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Volvo 60 series engine shuts off while driving. The consumer stated she received a recall in the mail describing the same problem that she experienced.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #2

Aug 302007

S60 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2004 Volvo S60. In the past one year it keeps stalling both in motion and when going into drive from park. This creates a dangerous situation while operating the vehicle, especially when in motion at highway speeds. I have taken the vehicle to Volvo authorized service twice with no resolution. The last stall was on August 30, 2007 resulting in the car being towed to Volvo service. A recall was issued on 2004 S40 due to a similar complaint, but I was told that the recall did not apply since the vehicle was an all wheel drive.

- Tenafly, NJ, USA

problem #1

Jun 152005

S60

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer owned a 2004 Volvo S60. On going since April of 2005 engine rebuilt due to stalling. Vehicle stalled in traffic and did not accelerate properly. Also, vehicle slowed down at once for no reason. While driving after the engine was rebuilt and was merging onto I87 North and vehicle stalled. Consumer pulled off the ramp onto the shoulder. Then paused for about five minutes to regain composure and then restarted engine. Vehicle restarted with no problem. Consumer said that stall only happened twice. Dealer replaced mass airflow sensor, but vehicle still did not operate correctly. Consumer thought that vehicle did not operate properly between 2000 and 3000 rpms. The manufacturer should do something about this problem which was very dangerous. Consumer worried about her life while driving vehicle.

- Albany, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?