If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2000 Volvo S80 electrical NHTSA complaints: Electrical System

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2000 Volvo S80 (Page 1 of 3)

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,753 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 Volvo S80 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Volvo S80:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Volvo S80 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Oct 242012

S80

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2000 Volvo S80 about 20-25mph all the sudden lost power to all my gauges, dashboard lights, power windows, & power locks. The radio was the only device that was working. The following message was displayed SRS-airbag service urgent. I have noticed a difference on my brake pedal that it does not respond as well as it use too there is a short delay when stepped on. Before this incident I had noticed a clicking noise on the driver side when a came to a stop like a relay chattering & also the ac would come on when the car is turned off. At times the following message would appear frequently alarm needs servicing. I don't know what is causing this malfunctions but if its a manufacturing problem Volvo should be liable on correcting the problem & provide us with a safe vehicle.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #41

Mar 042008

S80 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
My 2000 S80 T6 stalls in traffic and loses power while driving. Whenever I stop at a traffic light, I'll have to step harder on the accelerator in order to avoid the vehicle behind me from hitting my car.sometimes it jerks so bad I feel that engine may fall off.there's no engine light on or anything. I have called Volvo and was told the problem is ETM but has been replaced on my car according to their records. I have taken the car to the dealership and had different components tested out and fixed but that did not solve the problem.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #40

Sep 032011

S80

  • 131,329 miles
I was driving along a busy street, when I came to a stop sign the brakes where hard to push, when I finally stopped the car, you could still fill the car trying to move forward I took my foot of the brakes and the car sped up on it's on reaching close to 40 mph again I was barely able to stop the car do to a stiff brake pedal. I put the car in park and shut it off, once I restarted the car it was sputtering and wouldn't idle correctly every time I put the car in gear it would shut off now I'm getting an error message that says service engine system urgent.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #39

Apr 212011

S80

  • 146,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 21,2011 approximately 7:45am, my vehicle failed in accelerating power suddenly while driving. In addition, my vehicle jerk, skip, and shook uncontrollably. I had my car towed to my personal repair shop (reputable Volvo service, Inc.) my mechanic informed me after a diagnostic, that the throttle module needs to be replaced. He tells me that only the Volvo dealer would be the only repair service to replace this part due to the software program that included. So, once again, the car was towed the authorize Volvo dealer. The diagnostic here is the same, the throttle module needs to be replaced. There was a recall on this part, along with other parts. I was not informed about this through the dealer but through research of my own. The service manager tells me that I would have to contact Volvo manufacturer to see rather they would honor the recall of the replacement of this part. I contact the manufacturer and spoke with Mrs. Marilyn and Mrs. Jan and I was told that this part was past the warranty but they would honor the software update for this part. Also the engine cooling fan recall is still open but I have already had this part and labor done at my own expense due to the fact that I was not aware of the recalls. The throttle module is about $700, this does not include labor or another software program. For my total repair cost is $1185 and strongly feel that this is not fair because none of my parts were replaced through the recall. In other words I shouldn't have to pay for a part plus labor that was defective in production. I should be extended the same recall conditions that other Volvo owners were able to received. Volvo Inc knows exactly what cars received their recall parts replacement and also which cars did not through their VIN number. Of course they would extend the software update program because it's less expensive. Please assist me. Thanks

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #38

May 112009

S80

  • 125,300 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Volvo S80. When the contact arrived home, she noticed smoke under the hood of the vehicle. Flames were present soon after. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. Everything under the hood was melted. A firefighter stated that it appeared to be an electrical fire. A report was filed. There were no injuries. The contact stated that she will call Volvo and file a claim. The failure mileage was 125,300.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #37

Jul 252008

S80

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Volvo S80. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact noticed smoke and pulled the vehicle off the road. He opened the hood and noticed flames. He was unsuccessful at extinguishing the fire and called the fire department, who stated that the cooling fan caused an electrical fire. The contact's mechanic informed him of a recall regarding the cooling fan. The VIN and NHTSA campaign id number were unknown. The failure and current mileages were 78,000.

- Tuallatin, OR, USA

problem #36

Jun 012008

S80 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I understand it, the electronic throttle module (ETM) on my 2000 Volvo S80 is in the process of failing. Two years ago, I had my vehicle serviced when it began surging forward when idling, even when I was braking. An ETM software upgrade was done at that time and the ETM was cleaned. Now, just short of two years later, I am having exactly the same problem again. As I am coming to a stop, my vehicle will suddenly and unexpectedly surge forward, even when my foot is on the brake. I am petrified that I am going to strike the back of another vehicle before I can arrange to get my car in for service. Further, when I put my car in park or use the ac system, my car comes to a near stall and just lurches all over the place. It simply cannot maintain an even idle when in park. Last week, for the first time, I became aware of the November 2006 recall concerning etms. This led me to look at my old service records, since I was having the same frightening problem that I had two years ago. Sure enough, there it was again - "customer states at idle revs up and surges." I have already paid for this repair once. This is an extremely serious matter and my vehicle simply is not safe to drive.

- Scotia, NY, USA

problem #35

Oct 012005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
1. following download of recall software performance has been vastly reduced and now only achieves 8.2 mpg. 2. the ABS control module functions intermittently and usually in the failure mode. ABS brakes do not function properly-replacement $950 3. while backing (cold engine), brakes fail to stop the car for several seconds (feet). 4. the vehicle stalls mostly on turns but on straight away. A. car now shuts off approx 6-8 times while driving, dangerous while driving at interstate/highway speeds. It "surges" forward and the lights (dash and headlights) fade - vehicle stalls with no power steering or power brakes. 5. cruise control fails "? up hills/down hills shuts down. Now is inoperable. 6. the electronic door locks malfunction intermittently. 7. following error codes display and total mileage, trip 1 & 2 mileage displays default to ?? --------?" and mileage does not log on the odometer: A.brake failure stop asap B.coolant level low stop asap C.ABS failure / service required D.stc service required E.power steering failure - service required F.emission system service required G.stop safely and restart engine H.alarm system service required I.alarm triggered J.emission system service required K.no oil pressure stop asap L.check engine. The ball joint, driver side window motor, sunroof switch were replaced. Numerous bulb replacements and replacement of mass flow sensor. The cooling fan malfunctioned. The ABS control module would function intermittently which would cause the ABS to not function. The power steering failed. The vehicle will completely shut off while driving. The cruise control was inconsistent, the vehicle would loose power with the cruise activated. The electronic doors malfunctioned, the fob does not always open the door and at times when closing the driver side door. Updated 12/15/06.

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #34

Oct 252006

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,900 miles
Erratic throttle post 10 minutes of drive, much acceleration, not enough acceleration, hesitation, backfires lean. Gets stuck 2nd gear. Cel on. "transmission service urgent" warning message displayed. Cruise control is lost and cannot be turned back on. Obdii pcodes stored 10-29-2006 10:21:18.464 read stored dtc: P0756 dtc: P1171 dtc: P1181 dtc: P1618 10-29-2006 10:21:18.474 read stored dtc: P1184 10-29-2006 10:21:18.474 read stored dtc: P1174 the first code always displayed when the fault occurs. Subsequent continued driving results in the second code pending or permanent. The remaining codes will be added in pairs. First dealer reports I have 18 codes but factory vadis indicates can only store 15 codes maximum. Requested additional $300 to adjust fuel trims, check exhaust and intake leaks, check O2 sensors, work declined. Second dealer reports needs complete transmission. No attempt to solve complaints by dealer, contacted Volvo customer service and they declined to discuss problems, they declined any further involvement. Car had salvage title 2+ years ago from minor accident which prematurely deployed air bags, repaired and returned to service. I am retired ase master mechanic, service manager, and sae member, this is not a transmission issue but caused by the erratic actions of the throttle body system and module. Transmission passes all conventional tests. Results stuck in gear can be corrected by cycling the ignition switch off and back on. This can be done by pulling to the side of the road and stopping to cycle the key or traffic permitting placing in neutral and restarting and then back to drive. No observed failures above 65 mph. Tsb send wrong signals to "network" are translated as instructions resulting in poor fuel consumption, high emissions, abnormal wear and tear on transmission, ignition switch, starter, and related components for normal operation, plus a dangerous driving condition.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #33

Dec 012004

S80

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,374 miles
I want to add my documentation about the failure of the throttle module and subsequent lack of appropriate action. The unit in the 2000 Volvo S80 failed to bring the car to a complete halt in traffic in December 2004. Subsequent repairs to solve the problem were $845. If Volvo sent out a notice for ETM repair refunds last winter, I did not receive it despite living at the same address as when I purchased the vehicle in Dec 1999. I also want to call your attention to the increasing problem with the dstc system as evidence by activity in the chat rooms. Our vehicle shows a persistent dstc service message that the dealer claims can not be adequately diagnosed without first replacing the yaw sensor for $668. Others with this problem have turned to buying and self installing rebuilt ABS units which the NHTSA should be proactively seeking to understand. The cause of the ABS unit failure? some claim it is the vibration and pounding from the entirely inadequate front end suspension and wheel system causing the electronic parts to fail. I can attest to the suspension problem having spent $1790 yesterday to replace front bushings, stabilizer links, struts and spring seats on a car with 64K miles. The front struts previously were replace in Jan '04 at a cost of $726 when mileage was 40K. I've also had to replace the ball joints several times already.

- Hinsdale, IL, USA

problem #32

Jul 092006

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,050 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yr 2000 Volvo S80 2.9L. Two safety related complaints follow: 1. dash board (speedometer, tach, lights, etc), electric windows and door locks, and turn signals just stop working all at the same time! I have to unhook the battery to reset. Common problem from looking at internet forums. 2. airbag malfunction light message comes on when the airbag has not deployed. This occurred after the mysterious electrical malfunction described above. The dealer wants a fee to reset and check the airbag function. This is also common from looking at internet forums. I think the dealers should be made to fix these problems free of charge.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #31

Jun 132004

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,104 miles
June 13, 2004: Car lost power on I-70 in Ohio. Time - 10:00 pm; conditions clear. Vehicle dropped into "limp home mode" requiring that we drive in the breakdown lane to the nearest exit which was about 8 miles. Vehicle speed was about 20 mph max. - a dangerous situation on an interstate at night since both debris, dead animals and highway construction barriers required temporarily leaving the breakdown lane. Neither my wife nor I knew what was happening at the time. We were able to find a motel and had the car towed to the nearest Volvo dealership for repairs the next day. Car repairs included an ETM, throttle body, the main control module (part #8601630), various diagnostic tests and software downloads. Time constraints necessitated our returning to Connecticut by the next day so we ended up leaving the car and obtaining a rental. The dealership finished the repairs and had the car driven to us a couple of days later. A good part of the repair costs were absorbed by Volvo, however we did pay some. The reason for this complaint is concern for my wife's safety. She is the primary driver of this car, using it to commute to/from work on heavily traveled roads. We have since learned that these repairs do not permanently solve this problem. The car now has 95,000 miles on it - about 35, 000 more miles since the original failure. We are aware of Volvo's 10 year/200,000 mile warranty on the ETM, but Volvo needs to find a permanent fix rather than risk my wife's or my safety.

- Norfolk, CT, USA

problem #30

Jan 032006

S80

  • 48,000 miles
I have been having problems with my 2000 Volvo S80 hesitating as if it's not getting any gas when first beginning to drive it everyday. I have complained about this problem since purchasing this vehicle but the Volvo repair shop have not been able to fix the problem and they say they do not know what the problem is. Also my check engine light, stc light, and ABS light keeps coming on. I have also noticed that when these lights come on my car becomes hard to steer sometimes. After checking into this problem I have found that many other Volvo S80 's built around the same time as mine are having the same problems. I have complained about my car suspension making weird noises since having this vehicle and the Volvo repair shop says they can not find any thing wrong but when enquiring with others who own Volvo S80's, built around the same time as mine, many are saying they are having this problem also. The below information asks for an incident date but the problem with my 2000 Volvo S80 hesitating and being hard to steer occur often probably over 100 times.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #29

Nov 162005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,561 miles
While driving in highway traffic, the car has a sudden loss of speed & steering & completely stalls. 1st time 3/17/04 throttle body control unit was replaced. 2nd time 11/26/05 mass air flow meter was replaced. Both times was able to restart car after coasting to shoulder. One other time as well, date not noted. These are the same symptoms as reported under complaint PE05041 involving the electronic throttle control module (ETM).

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #28

Oct 092005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
In July 2005, I noticed the car surging, particularly at highway speeds. It cut off, giving a message of "reduced performance" but no "check engine" message. The "reduced performance" message is not listed in the owner's manual. I was able to drive the car at about 5 mph to a turnoff point. I cut the car off to consult the owner's manual and it restarted without a problem. I attributed the problem to perhaps faulty gasoline. On Oct. 9, the car abruptly cut off on the interstate, giving the same warning message but this time also displaying a "check engine" light. Fortunately I was able to safely coast across two lanes of traffic to the emergency lane. When I took the car in for diagnostics (to an independent dealer), he said that the throttle body was bad and directed me to several web sites that discussed the problem and the class-action lawsuit in California. On Oct. 17, "john" with Volvo North America's customer care hotline said that the problem was probably not covered under my extended warranty because of the car's age. I pointed out that it has fewer than 60,000 miles. I asked him about a recall and he told me about the pending investigation by the NHTSA. I also asked him for NHTSA's telephone number, which he gave me. I have not taken the car to my local dealer yet. I am appalled that a company that prides itself on safety would allow people to drive their vehicles knowing that the cars might cut off at any time.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #27

Oct 142005

S80

  • miles
The major problem with Volvo's computerized throttle (ETM, S80 1999-2001, e.g.) is to describe the symptoms. It's blurry like a stomach disorder if you don't find an exact description. In my case it's like the engine looses power and you can't compensate fast enough by giving more throttle. It's impossible to meet clutch and throttle no matter what. Now, if you take it really slowly so the computer manages to react, it's no problem but if you are the slightest to hasty.... results: Engine stops, sometimes on critical spots and changing of gear like a new driver. I've been on a Volvo garage to discuss the matter and I've been treated like an idiot. I know I'm right and they know they're wrong. It's time to put pressure on Volvo and make them correct their mistake. If not, in the future, choose another car! I'm saying this although I'm swedish!

- Malmo, Sweden, 00, USA

problem #26

Sep 262005

S80 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,203 miles
2000 S80 Volvo T6, has stalled in traffic nine times, including a sudden loss of speed and power steering while driving in highway traffic without warning. I have had car towed to our dealer several times, they keep it for a week, trying to see if the car will stall for them. We are frustrated with the dealer, will it take a death before there is any action. Can you please help us?

- Middletown, RI, USA

problem #25

May 282005

S80

  • miles
I own a Volvo S80 and have seen some performance problems similar to those described by vexedvolvo.org/. stalling on a highway is one of the biggest problems although my stalls usually donżżT cause the car to totally stop. I recently contacted Volvo since I feel that this type of situation is unsafe. They never responded to my request, which was for a replacement part, that I would pay for, that wouldn't fail over time. I have sent them two emails so far with no results. I am a 9-year Volvo owner and because of the problems they have ignored I fee L Volvo has given up on trying to make their cars safe and reliable. If I can help with your investigation please let me know. The car has 88000 miles on it.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #24

Sep 262005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
Surging engine RPM noted on numerous occasions while stopped. Seems to be when using air conditioner our safety concern is the possibility of the engine overpowering the brakes. Dealer says it is the electronic throttle module and noted it is an on-going problem with this model car as well as a safety and reliability concern.

- Woodstock, CT, USA

problem #23

Aug 052005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,500 miles
On three occasions (between Jan. 2005 and Aug. 2005), while driving my 2000 Volvo S80 it has cut off on me. The first time I was pulling into a parking spot at a shopping center. While giving the car gas and pulling into the parking spot the car shut off on me. The second time I had coasted probably 20 feet and was going to pull into a driveway and when I gave the car gas it shut down on me. The third time I was stuck in traffic and I was giving it gas to move up a little and the car cut off. I am reporting this because I saw an article related to these occurrences in the greensboro news & record.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?