Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,861 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Volvo S80 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Volvo S80:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Volvo S80 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Nov 042004


  • 55,000 miles


X ref 10131066, 2 etms, smch. 8-26-5 E-mail that is the unit that has caused the car to to be towed twice. Once while driving, and once while starting in a parking lot. The electrical throttle module (ETM) failed.

- Cooksville, MD, USA

problem #39

Feb 242003

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,702 miles
The contact owns 2000 Volvo S80. Purchased it under an extended warranty certified used car program from clayton Volvo in knoxville Tennessee in April 2001. Several months later, while the car was still under warranty, the car died in the middle of an intersection. After towing it to the dealer it was discovered the electronic throttle module wasfilled with carbon. That unit was replaced under warranty. A couple years later, the car again died. This time it happened in a parking lot. Thankfully, in both cases it happened in a safe situation. Again, the ETM was determined to be the problem. But, the warranty had expired. The dealer and the manufacturer refused to recognize that the problem was an ongoing issue. This time the contact was forced to pay nearly $1000 for repairs. It was the contact's understanding that information was being collected on this problem, so he felt compelled to add this complaint. Although had specific dates available, the contact could check my records and provide them if necessary.. X-ref 10131424, 2 etms installed, smch. The throttle body was cleaned twice and the mass air flow sensor was replaced. Updated 12/07/05.

- Oak Ridge, TN, USA

problem #38

Jul 032003


  • 52,008 miles
2001 Volvo S80. Vehicle stalled/died and lost power due to throttle body failure.. the throttle body and gasket have been replaced three times to alleviate the stalling problem. X-ref 10132057, second ETM, smch.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #37

Sep 062005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Well, well - let's see, I bought a 2001 Volvo S-80, T-6 in February 2005 to replace my 1996 740 il BMW - I thought I would get a more economical and safe car. Boy was I wrong! to my disgust I paid almost $20,000 for this used car and within weeks it started acting up. It turned out to be the mass airflow sensor and the throttle body. I finally - 9 months after purchasing the car - have had to get it fixed - over $1200. I, like another person who filed a complaint, was making a left hand turn on a very busy road, and the car died while in the middle of my turn. Luckily I was able to put it in neutral quick enough and restart it before I got hit. The car also surges dangerously at stops. If you don't have your foot on the brake 110%, the car would lurch forward and hit the car in front of it. I'm so disappointed in this car I will never buy another Volvo. So much for looking forward to "one day purchasing this safe car". now that I have dumped lots of money into this car, taken vacation time to pick it up and drop it off, it works okay. The throttle body was replaced about 2 weeks ago, but the car still feels like its not giving me 100% - but at least it isn't stalling or surging. I still have my BMW - thank goodness. I'll be getting rid of this Volvo. Ford bought Volvo and they are responsible for making this unreliable car. I also understand that there a class action lawsuit against Volvo (Ford) - it's time they do the right thing and reimburse customers who have been subjected to this dangerous and poorly designed fuel system.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #36

Oct 202005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
ETM bad/ electronic throttle module this has been a nightmare and it's not resolved yet! I bought my used Volvo S-80 T6 October 20 th with 76,000 miles. Within the day of ownership the service engine required light came on, and I failed mass inspection. I tried to get my money back, but I bought out of state, and they refuse to return calls. I researched the problem and found it was the ETM. On Wednesday Nov 10th 2005, I called my local dealer pioneer Volvo in South deerfield mass 1 800 680 2140, and was informed that the ETM warranty expired at 70,000 miles, at 76,000 mile, there was no warranty. I asked him about known problems with the ETM, and denied that he was aware of any! I asked him for an appointment, explained that he is the closest dealer at 47 minutes away, and that I needed help asap due to failed emissions. He told me "bring it 9 30 am and maybe I'll look at it....when I asked him for a guaranteed time....he said..."maybe in 2 weeks" I decided to fix the problem myself by cleaning the ETM, which I understand helps temporarily. I had no choice being I am extremely busy in an unflexible job and financially strapped. However, when reinstalling the ETM, the bolts are designed to sheer. The bolt snapped and I have been under my car for 3 days....still can't extract it. I need my car! I need it to pass inspection! why won't Volvo cover this?

- Belchertown, MA, USA

problem #35

Jun 032003


  • 49,500 miles
While driving on an interstate highway at 65-70 mph, 2001 Volvo S80 T6 displayed a message indicating reduced power. Was able to steer the car, but pushing the accelerator pedal it had no effect. The contact was forced to maneuver to the shoulder, and had the car towed to local dealer. The car would start and continued to run, but the car would not go. It was as if the accelerator pedal had been disconnected. This happened at all speeds. The mechanic determined that the electrical throttle module (ETM) malfunctioned.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #34

Jul 282005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Electronic throttle module (ETM )replaced second time, 50 mph, stalled X ref 10131141, smch. Updated 1/4/2006 -

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #33

Sep 132004

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,287 miles
I was driving down a us highway when I noticed my car was 'lurching' forward then would loose speed all together kind of like it wanted to stall. I would push on the accelerator and nothing would happen, then all of a sudden the car would drive normally. I was about a mile from my work, so I didn't pull over immediately. The next two stop lights I almost stalled, but didn't. at the third traffic light on another us highway, I wasn't so lucky - my car stalled and would not re-start. I had to call for a tow truck. My service report states that the code ECM-130A was detected. I figured for sure this would be covered under my extended warranty. Volvo said no as it was 'just a dirty throttle unit'. they supposedly took it apart, cleaned it, replaced a gasket, upgraded the ECM pet, and put it all back together and told me to be sure to use premium gasoline by only a reputable gas station, and once every few months use a fuel system cleaner and I shouldn't have any more problems.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #32

Oct 292005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,566 miles
For the past year (10/04-10/05), my 2001 Volvo S80 sedan has had repeated problems with stalling and loss of power steering. It has occurred at slow speeds and up to 40 mph in traffic. I have taken the car to the dealer twice. They can not find any fault codes during the computer troubleshooting, so my warranty will not cover any repair. They suggested it might be "bad gas" and have sent me home twice having done nothing. The stalling problem has occurred five times in the last month. The car has 66,500 miles on it.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #31

Oct 192005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,366 miles
No acceleration at times. From time to time when merging on freeways or traffic car would not accelerate. Sometimes it would serge. Had a few close calls. First had throttle body (ETM) cleaned which didn't work then had throttle body replaced two days later at cost of $1,177.16.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #30

Jun 012005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles


Surging idle speed. Car lurches forward at times when accelerating from a stop. Car almost stalls when idling in bumper to bumper traffic, requiring you to press on the gas to keep it from stalling, but this makes the car lurch forward even more. Several times I have almost hit the car in front of me. This problem is due to a faulty ETM (electronic throttle module) that is described in the NHTSA defect investigation shown below. The ETM in my car was replaced two years ago at 46K miles but the same symptoms are recurring. NHTSA action number : PE05041 NHTSA recall campaign number : N/a make : Volvo model: S80 manufacturer : Volvo cars of N.a. llc. Year : 2001 component : vehicle speed control date investigation opened : July 26, 2005 date investigation closed : open summary: The Office Of Defects Investigation (ODI) has received one hundred and thirty-one (131) consumer complaints alleging a variety of concerns resulting from failure of the electronic throttle control module (ETM) in the subject vehicles, including a sudden loss of speed and steering assist when driving in highway traffic and sudden and complete stall without warning. In some instances, it has been reported that the vehicles would restart, and in some cases the vehicles were towed. Some consumers allege that after having the ETM replaced the new component failed in a similar manner. A preliminary evaluation has been opened to determine the scope, frequency, and potential safety-related consequences of the alleged defect.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #29

Oct 182005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,769 miles
Purchased 2001 Volvo S80 about a month and a half ago. In the past two weeks the vehicle has developed an engine surge and on two occasions has simply lost power while traveling at 55 miles per hour. Both times a message was displayed stating reduced performance but the vehicle had no power at all. After pulling on to the shoulder I was able to get it started again. The problem has subsequently been diagnosed as the ETM. The car is now parked while I try to raise the money to have it fixed. As a retired state trooper I can only say that this is a very dangerous situation and I hope the NHTSA and Volvo will not wait until there are injuries or fatalities to correct the problem.

- Clements, MD, USA

problem #28

Feb 072005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
While driving lost steering power and engine completely shut down, unsafe on the turnpike, I scared. Took car to dealership while under warranty replaced throttle unit. Car shut down and lunges forward at a light/took to dealer and fixed reset valve sticking and gasket happened again replaced box and pipe removed trap box in pipe, shut down again replaced did total can up grade failed again. Until today car still shuts down very dangerous this car is a death trap and my warranty is over and they want to pay $3,000 dollars to fix, I feel they are responsible they sold me a lemon and a very dangerous car. And the customer service of Volvo claim they care about customer service very untrue they got your money and the don't care my problems still exist and I get scared just getting into this car.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #27

Aug 102005


  • miles
I was driving a 2001 Volvo S80 T6 on the highway preparing to pass a vehicle in order to make my exit. At this time the car lost power and I received a message "performance reduction". after dodging a couple of cars I was able to make it to the side of the road. At that time the car would not start back up, I decided to let the car sit and cool down for about 15 minutes. The car would still not start. I had the vehicle towed to the dealership and they informed me that the ETM had failed and the oxygen sensor which cost me about $1300 to repair.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #26

Oct 032005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,875 miles
Volvo S80 electronic throttle module (ETM) production defect not covered under warranty as the defect occurred just outside of warranty. Dealer cost to correct is outrageous given this is clearly a manufacturer engineering defect within the throttle body mechanism itself.

- York, ME, USA

problem #25

Sep 282005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have experienced repeated problems with the electronic throttle module on my 2000 S80 Volvo. For the last couple years I have taken my vehicle to the Volvo service dealer for repeated problems with the car engine surging when coming to a stop. The Volvo dealer service worked on the issue multiple throughout the warranty period, stating they knew of a problem with the ETM and to watch it. Now my vehicle is out of warranty and the problem was definitely diagnosed and I had to pay over $900 to get it fixed.

- Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #24

Oct 152004

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The caller said that while driving vehicle sputtered and stalled. The caller said that when the problem started it would happen about once a week, and it got progressively worse. It would stall applying the brakes. He said this problem made it very hard to drive in daily traffic. The caller was able to get vehicle off the road. Then, it started back up. He had the electronic throttle module replaced. Dealer said the problem was common in this vehicle, and they fixed it. Manufacturer said to call dealer. The caller had the problem fixed about six months ago. He just wanted to let NHTSA know about this problem.

- Sagamore Hills, OH, USA

problem #23

Aug 242005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
Car stalled in traffic and then failed to accelerate at an intersection. Paid $900 for a new electronic throttle module and the learned Volvo is well aware of problem with the part and that many, many vehicles have the problem.

- Franklin Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #22

Sep 172005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
Vehicle stalls without warning. It has occurred while driving at different speeds, on straight aways, on corners and when coming to a stop. The car, on occasion, will attempt to lurch forward while coming to a stop with the foot on the brake.

- Marstons Mills, MA, USA

problem #21

Jan 032005

S80 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles
The throttle surges at times without me changing the throttle pedal...electronic throttle body may be bad....

- Berthoud, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?