Delaware Lemon Law Information
The Delaware Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or manufacturer's warranty period term (whichever is shorter), following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times
- the vehicle has been out of service for repair at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more calendar days.
To qualify for the Delaware Lemon Law, you must provide the manufacturer (not the dealer) with written notice of your lemon law claim, and give the manufacturer one last chance to arrange for your vehicle be repaired.
The defect must substantially impair the use, market value, or safety of the vehicle, and must also not be the result of abuse, neglect, or unauthorized modifications or alterations of the vehicle by anyone except a dealer.Delaware Attorney General's Lemon Law FAQ (PDF format) » Delaware Lemon Law summary »
Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Delaware Lemon Law Attorneys
We have partnered with JustAnswer.com to offer help and advice from expert Lemon Law lawyers.
Describe your lemon law case in the text box to the right, & receive an answer in 10 minutes or less!
The fee is typically $9 to $15, and you do not have to pay anything unless you accept the answer.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.