Georgia Lemon Law Information
The Georgia Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 12,000 miles (whichever comes first - the "Lemon Law rights period") following delivery of the new vehicle:
- the dealer has attmpted to repair a serious safety defect in the braking or steering system at least once during the Lemon Law rights period, or
- the dealer has attmpted to repair any serious safety defect at least twice during the first 2 years or 24,000 miles, with at least one repair occuring during the Lemon Law rights period, or
- the dealer has attempted to repair any nonconformity during the first two years or 24,000 miles, with at least one repair occuring during the Lemon Law rights period, or
- the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 30 or more calendar days, with at least 15 days having occured during the "Lemon Law rights period."
There are also special circumstances that can extend the Lemon Law rights period. Contact the base legal office to see if they apply.Georgia Lemon Law information from the Governor's Office of Consumer Protection »
Recommended Georgia Lemon Law Attorneys
We have partnered with JustAnswer.com to offer help and advice from expert Lemon Law lawyers.
Describe your lemon law case in the text box to the right, & receive an answer in 10 minutes or less!
The fee is typically $9 to $15, and you do not have to pay anything unless you accept the answer.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.